DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units” in lines 12-13, but claim 1 recites a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units for each of the two adjacent sub-cell packs, and it’s unclear which of the positive electrode tabs, the negative electrode tabs, and the plurality of cell units are being referenced in lines 12-13. As such the scope of claim 1 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the plurality of cell units includes “a substrate” in line 13 where it’s unclear if this means each sub-cell pack which comprises a plurality of cell units includes a separate substrate or share the same substrate. For this reason, the scope of claim 1 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection” in lines 14-16 but it’s unclear if the recited “sub-cell packs” in this recitation are new sub-cell packs or mean to reference the sub-cell packs recited in lines 1-2 of claim 1. It’s unclear if these two adjacent cell units are part of the same sub-cell pack or separate but adjacent sub-cell packs. For these reasons, the scope of claim 1 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 further recites “leftmost” and “rightmost” sub-cell packs in lines 27-28 but “leftmost” and “rightmost” are relative terms and claim 1 does not define along what axis or direction the “leftmost” and “rightmost” are being compared against (horizontal or longitudinal directions).
Claims 4-5 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “between two adjacent sub-cell packs” in line 8 but claim 2 defines “a plurality of sub-cell packs” and “two adjacent sub-cell packs” in lines 1-3 and is open to multiple adjacent sub-cell packs, thus it’s not clear if “between two adjacent sub-cell packs” in line 8 is referencing the “two adjacent sub-cell packs” in line 3 or different adjacent sub-cell packs. As such the scope of claim 2 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 2 recites “an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units” in lines 13-14, but claim 2 recites a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units for each of the plurality of sub-cell packs, and it’s unclear which of the positive electrode tabs, the negative electrode tabs, and the plurality of cell units are being referenced in lines 13-14. As such the scope of claim 2 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 2 recites the plurality of cell units includes “a substrate” in line 14 where it’s unclear if this means each sub-cell pack which comprises a plurality of cell units includes a separate substrate or share the same substrate. For this reason, the scope of claim 2 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 2 recites “and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection” in lines 15-17 but it’s unclear if the recited “sub-cell packs” in this recitation are new sub-cell packs or mean to reference the sub-cell packs recited in lines 1-2 of claim 2. It’s unclear if these two adjacent cell units are part of the same sub-cell pack or separate but adjacent sub-cell packs. For these reasons, the scope of claim 2 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 2 further recites “leftmost” and “rightmost” sub-cell packs in lines 27-29 but “leftmost” and “rightmost” are relative terms and claim 2 does not define along what axis or direction the “leftmost” and “rightmost” are being compared against (horizontal or longitudinal directions).
Claims 6-7 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 2.
Claim 3 is also rendered indefinite for the same reasons as claims 1 and 2 set forth above, as claim 3 recites these same limitations as claims 1 and 2.
Claim 3 also recites “the internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and the internally opposite-side series- connected perovskite solar cell module” in lines 1-2 but lacks antecedent basis for these limitations as an internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and an internally opposite-side series- connected perovskite solar cell module were never previously defined and it’s unclear what perovskite solar cell modules are being referenced in claim 3 rendering claim 3 indefinite.
Claim 8 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 3.
Claim 4 recites “scribing the P4 line” but claim 4 lacks antecedent basis for this recitation as a P4 line was never previously defined in claim 4 or a claim from which claim 4 depends. As such, the scope of claim 4 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 5 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 4.
Claim 8 recites “connecting a prepared internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and a prepared internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module as needed” where “as needed” which renders claim 8 unclear as to whether or not this limitation is optional. As such, the scope of claim 8 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 8 further recites “…and conductively laying the positive electrode busbar on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of one of the sub-cell pack, and conductively laying the negative electrode busbar on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of another sub-cell pack” but claim 3 from which claim 8 depends recites for the internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module “a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a same side of the perovskite solar cell module” and for the internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module recites “a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a front side and a rear side of the perovskite solar cell module, respectively” thus it’s unclear which positive electrode busbar and negative electrode busbar are being referenced in claim 8. As such, the scope of claim 8 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niira (US 2011/0304002) and in further view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151).
Regarding claim 1 Niira discloses an internally same-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged longitudinally ([0023]-[0025], [0081], Fig. 10 see: a first unit 60, a second unit 70, a third unit 80 and a fourth unit 90 arranged longitudinally along the Y-axis), wherein,
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are reversed ([0081], Figs. 10-11 see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 positive to negative or negative to positive and adjacent units have polarities facing opposite directions (Figs. 11A-11B)), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0084], Figs. 11A-11B see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 between connection wirings 15 or first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively (Figs. 11A-11B see: first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs at front and back surfaces respectively), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab (see cells 2 between the beginning first conductive layer 11 and last back electrode layer 14), and negative electrode tab and positive electrode tab between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through an intermediate connection strap ([0084], Figs. 10-12 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 connected only through inter unit connecting region 6/connection wiring 15 forming the intermediate connection strap), respectively, and remaining portions between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are isolated from each other through an intermediate insulation strap ([0084], Figs. 10-12 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 are otherwise isolated from each other by inter-unit separation region 50); and
an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate (board/substrate 1), a front electrode layer (first conductive layer 11), a light-absorbing layer (photoelectric conversion layer 12), and a back electrode layer (back electrode layer 14) from bottom to top (Fig. 11), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 (Figs. 10 and 11A-11B), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer (Figs. 11A-11B see: first electrode separation groove 21), the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer ([0039], Figs. 11A-11B see: through hole 22), the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (Figs. 11A-11B see: back electrode layer 14 filling through hole 22), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in a same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time ([0041], Fig. 4 see: second electrode separation groove 23), and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a same side of the solar cell module ([0081], Figs. 10 and 11A-11B see: pair of positive and negative output terminals 7 provided on the back electrode surfaces of the rightmost and leftmost solar cells 2 in the Y-axis direction and provide the same side in the x-axis direction).
Niira does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
Shibasaki and Niira are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Shibasaki such that the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Regarding claim 4 modified Niira discloses a method for preparing the internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module of claim 1, comprising:
preparing the front electrode layer on the substrate (Fig. 3A see: first conductive layer 11 formed on board/substrate 1), scribing the P1 line at a position of each cell unit on the front electrode layer (para [0054] Fig. 3B), the P1 line scribing off the front electrode layer, and exposing the substrate at the bottom of the groove formed by the P1 line (para [0054] Fig. 3B);
laying the light-absorbing layer on the front electrode layer and in the groove formed by the P1 line (para [0057], Fig. 3C), scribing the P2 line on the light-absorbing layer close to the P1 line, and the P2 line scribing off the light-absorbing layer and exposing the front electrode layer at the bottom of the groove formed by the P2 line (para [0058], Fig. 3D);
laying the back electrode layer on the light-absorbing layer and in the groove formed by the P2 line (para [0060], Fig. 3E), scribing the P3 line on the back electrode layer close to the P2 line, and the P3 line scribing off the back electrode layer and light-absorbing layer, exposing the front electrode layer at the bottom of the groove formed by the P3 line (para [0061], Fig. 3F), and obtaining the sub-cell pack composed of a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally (see Figs. 3F and Figs. 10-12);
scribing the P4 line at a position of the intermediate insulation strap on the back electrode layer, and the P4 line exposing the substrate at a bottom of the intermediate insulation strap ([0081], Figs. 10 and 11C see: inter-unit separation region 50 formed to expose substrate 1), and retaining a position of the intermediate connection strap on the back electrode layer ([0081] see: Figs. 10 and 11C or 12 and 13C see: inter-unit connecting region 6 is maintained between adjacent units);
isolating edges around a region where the sub-cell pack is located to expose the substrate at a bottom of an isolated region ([0050], Fig. 1(A) see: outer frame groove 8 is provided around the unit cells exposing surface of board/substrate 1), and obtaining a plurality of sub-cell packs that are arranged horizontally and sequentially series-connected through the intermediate connection strap (Figs. 1(A), 10 or 12), with positions of positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs of two adjacent sub-cell packs being reversed (Figs. 11A-11B); and
conductively laying the positive electrode busbar on the surface of the back electrode layer of the positive electrode tab of the leftmost sub-cell pack, and conductively laying the negative electrode busbar on the surface of the back electrode layer of the negative electrode tab of the rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar being both located on the same side of the perovskite solar cell module ([0081], Figs. 10 and 11A-11B see: pair of positive and negative output terminals 7 provided on the back electrode surfaces of the rightmost and leftmost solar cells 2 in the Y-axis direction and provide the same side in the x-axis direction).
Regarding claim 5 modified Niira discloses the method for preparing the internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module of claim 4, wherein in two adjacent sub-cell packs, the P1 line, the P2 line, and the P3 line in each of the two adjacent sub-cell packs are arranged in different orders, and in one of the sub-cell packs, the P1 line, the P2 line, and the P3 line are arranged in a front-to-back order, while in the other sub-cell pack, the P1 line, the P2 line, and the P3 line are arranged in a back-to-front order (See Figs. 11A-11B showing adjacent cell units have lines 21, 22, 23 arranged in different orders).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2010/0186796) and in further view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151).
Regarding claim 2 Lee discloses an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged horizontally (Fig. 1 see: equivalent first and second sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2), wherein
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are the same ([0031]-[0032], [0071] Figs. 1 and 2 see: the unit cells of the two adjacent sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 are disposed in the same direction and thus the position of the polarities of these adjacent sub-modules are the same), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: first electrode 110 at a front of the modules and second electrode 150 at a rear side), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), and negative electrode tabs and positive electrode tabs between two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through a series connection strap, respectively ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: second electrode 150 of one end cell C50 of SUB1 connected to first electrode 110 of first cell C51 of SUB2 through transverse pattern HP), insulation grooves and sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are arranged on two sides of the series connection strap, respectively, the insulations grooves and the sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are insulated from each other ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: transverse pattern HP has a first insulating pattern I1 and a second insulating pattern I2 each comprising a fourth groove 4 insulating the transverse pattern HP from adjacent sub-modules SUB1, SUB2);
an internal structure (para [0068], Fig. 2) of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate (substrate 100), a front electrode layer (first electrode 110), a light-absorbing layer (semiconductor layer 140), and a back electrode layer (second electrode layer 150) from bottom to top (Fig. 2), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 ([0070]-[0071], Figs. 1-2 see: first longitudinal pattern VP1 and second longitudinal pattern VP2 of pattern regions P1, P2, P3, also referenced as grooves G1, G2, G3 respectively in Fig. 2), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer, the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (first groove G1 exposing substrate 100 through first electrode 110), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer, the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed, and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (front electrode 110 exposed at a bottom of second groove G2 through semiconductor layer 140 filled with second electrode 150 material), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in the same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time, and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (front electrode 110 exposed in third groove G3 through second electrode 150 and semiconductor layer 140); and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a front side and a rear side of the solar cell module, respectively ([0082]-[0083], Fig. 7 see: positive terminal connected to front electrode 110 of C1 of SUB1 and thus at a front side of the module and negative terminal connected to second electrode 150 of C100 of SUB2 and thus at a rear side of the module).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
Shibasaki and Lee are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Lee in view of Shibasaki such that the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2010/0186796) in view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Niira (US 2011/0304002).
Regarding claim 6 modified Lee discloses the method for preparing the internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module of claim 2, comprising:
preparing the front electrode layer on the substrate, scribing the P1 line at a position of each cell unit on the front electrode layer, the P1 line scribing off the front electrode layer and exposing the substrate at the bottom of the groove formed by the P1 line ([0078], Fig. 4 see: depositing first electrode layer 110 on substrate 100 and scribing to form first grooves G1);
laying the light-absorbing layer on the front electrode layer and in the groove formed by the P1 line, scribing the P2 line at a position of the light-absorbing layer close to the P1 line, and the P2 line scribing off the light-absorbing layer and exposing the front electrode layer at the bottom of the groove formed by the P2 line ([0079], Fig. 5 see: depositing semiconductor layer 140 on front electrode layer 110 and in G1 and scribing second grooves G2 through layer 140 to expose layer 110);
laying the back electrode layer on the light-absorbing layer and in the groove formed by the P2 line, scribing the P3 line at a position of the back electrode layer close to the P2 line, and the P3 line scribing off the back electrode layer and light-absorbing layer, exposing the front electrode layer at the bottom of the groove formed by the P3 line ([0080], Fig. 6 see: depositing second electrode 150 on layer 140 and in G2 and further scribing third grooves G3 through layers 150 and 140 to expose layer 110), and obtaining the sub-cell pack composed of a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally (see Figs. 1-2);
scribing a P4 line at a position of the insulation groove on the back electrode layer, and the P4 line exposing the substrate at a bottom of the insulation groove and retaining a position of the series connection strap on the back electrode layer ([0081], [0072]-[0075], Figs 1-3 see: forming insulating patterns I1 and I2 including fourth grooves G4 exposing substrate 100);
obtaining a plurality of sub-cell packs that are arranged horizontally and sequentially series-connected through the series connection strap, with positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs being same ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: second electrode 150 of one end cell C50 of SUB1 connected to first electrode 110 of first cell C51 of SUB2 through transverse pattern HP the unit cells of the two adjacent sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 are disposed in the same direction and thus the position of the polarities of these adjacent sub-modules are the same); and
conductively laying the positive electrode busbar on the surface of the back electrode layer of the positive electrode tab of the leftmost sub-cell pack, and conductively laying the negative electrode busbar on the surface of the back electrode layer of the negative electrode tab of the rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar being both located on the front side and the rear side of the perovskite solar cell module, respectively ([0082]-[0083], Fig. 7 see: positive terminal connected to front electrode 110 of C1 of SUB1 and thus at a front side of the module and negative terminal connected to second electrode 150 of C100 of SUB2 and thus at a rear side of the module) (Shibasaki at Fig. 7B also discloses arranging busbars 12 at a front and rear side of solar sub-cells in such a manner).
Modified Lee does not explicitly disclose isolating edges around a region where the sub-cell pack is located to expose the substrate at a bottom of the isolated region.
Niira discloses a solar cell module manufacturing method including isolating edges around a region where the sub-cell pack is located to expose the substrate at a bottom of the isolated region (Niira, [0050], Fig. 1(A) see: outer frame groove 8 is provided around the unit cells exposing surface of board/substrate 1) where Niira teaches this isolated region reduces leakage current of the module and provides improved moisture resistance (Niira, [0050]).
Niira and modified Lee are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Lee in view of Niira such that the manufacturing method including isolating edges around a region where the sub-cell pack is located to expose the substrate at a bottom of the isolated region as in Niira (Niira, [0050], Fig. 1(A) see: outer frame groove 8 is provided around the unit cells exposing surface of board/substrate 1) as Niira teaches this isolated region reduces leakage current of the module and provides improved moisture resistance (Niira, [0050]).
Regarding claim 7 modified Lee discloses the method for preparing the internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module of claim 6, wherein in two adjacent sub-cell packs, the P1 line, the P2 line, and the P3 line in each of the two adjacent sub-cell packs are arranged in a same order ([0031]-[0032], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 1-2 see: first longitudinal pattern VP1 and second longitudinal pattern VP2 of pattern regions P1, P2, P3, also referenced as grooves G1, G2, G3 respectively in Fig. 2 are both arranged in a same order).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niira (US 2011/0304002), and further in view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151) and in further view of Lee et al (US 2010/0186796).
Regarding claim 3 Niira discloses an internally series-connected solar cell module, comprising the internally same-side series-connected solar cell module,
the internally same-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged longitudinally, wherein,
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are reversed ([0081], Figs. 10-11 see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 positive to negative or negative to positive and adjacent units have polarities facing opposite directions (Figs. 11A-11B)), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0084], Figs. 11A-11B see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 between connection wirings 15 or first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively (Figs. 11A-11B see: first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs at front and back surfaces respectively), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab (see cells 2 between the beginning first conductive layer 11 and last back electrode layer 14), and negative electrode tab and positive electrode tab between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through an intermediate connection strap ([0084], Figs. 10-12 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 connected only through inter unit connecting region 6/connection wiring 15 forming the intermediate connection strap), respectively, and remaining portions between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are isolated from each other through an intermediate insulation strap ([0084], Figs. 10-12 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 are otherwise isolated from each other by inter-unit separation region 50); and
an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate (board/substrate 1), a front electrode layer (first conductive layer 11), a light-absorbing layer (photoelectric conversion layer 12), and a back electrode layer (back electrode layer 14) from bottom to top (Fig. 11), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 (Figs. 10 and 11A-11B), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer (Figs. 11A-11B see: first electrode separation groove 21), the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer ([0039], Figs. 11A-11B see: through hole 22), the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (Figs. 11A-11B see: back electrode layer 14 filling through hole 22), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in a same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time ([0041], Fig. 4 see: second electrode separation groove 23), and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a same side of the solar cell module ([0081], Figs. 10 and 11A-11B see: pair of positive and negative output terminals 7 provided on the back electrode surfaces of the rightmost and leftmost solar cells 2 in the Y-axis direction and provide the same side in the x-axis direction).
Niira does not explicitly disclose the internally same-side series-connected solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
Shibasaki and Niira are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Shibasaki such that the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Modified Niira does not explicitly disclose where the solar cell module comprises the internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module as recited claim 3.
Lee discloses an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged horizontally (Fig. 1 see: equivalent first and second sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2), wherein
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are the same ([0031]-[0032], [0071] Figs. 1 and 2 see: the unit cells of the two adjacent sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 are disposed in the same direction and thus the position of the polarities of these adjacent sub-modules are the same), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: first electrode 110 at a front of the modules and second electrode 150 at a rear side), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), and negative electrode tabs and positive electrode tabs between two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through a series connection strap, respectively ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: second electrode 150 of one end cell C50 of SUB1 connected to first electrode 110 of first cell C51 of SUB2 through transverse pattern HP), insulation grooves and sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are arranged on two sides of the series connection strap, respectively, the insulations grooves and the sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are insulated from each other ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: transverse pattern HP has a first insulating pattern I1 and a second insulating pattern I2 each comprising a fourth groove 4 insulating the transverse pattern HP from adjacent sub-modules SUB1, SUB2);
an internal structure (para [0068], Fig. 2) of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate (substrate 100), a front electrode layer (first electrode 110), a light-absorbing layer (semiconductor layer 140), and a back electrode layer (second electrode layer 150) from bottom to top (Fig. 2), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 ([0070]-[0071], Figs. 1-2 see: first longitudinal pattern VP1 and second longitudinal pattern VP2 of pattern regions P1, P2, P3, also referenced as grooves G1, G2, G3 respectively in Fig. 2), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer, the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (first groove G1 exposing substrate 100 through first electrode 110), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer, the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed, and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (front electrode 110 exposed at a bottom of second groove G2 through semiconductor layer 140 filled with second electrode 150 material), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in the same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time, and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (front electrode 110 exposed in third groove G3 through second electrode 150 and semiconductor layer 140); and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a front side and a rear side of the solar cell module, respectively ([0082]-[0083], Fig. 7 see: positive terminal connected to front electrode 110 of C1 of SUB1 and thus at a front side of the module and negative terminal connected to second electrode 150 of C100 of SUB2 and thus at a rear side of the module).
Modified Niira and Lee are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Lee such that the solar cell module further comprises an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module as recited by Lee above for the express purpose or further including an additional solar cell module to provide additional power generation.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Shibasaki such that the internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module in Niira as modified by Lee is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Regarding claim 8 modified Niira discloses a method for preparing the internally series-connected perovskite solar cell module of claim 3, comprising:
preparing the front electrode layer on the substrate (Niira, Fig. 3A see: first conductive layer 11 formed on board/substrate 1), scribing the P1 line at a position of each cell unit on the front electrode layer (Niira, para [0054] Fig. 3B), the P1 line scribing off the front electrode layer, and exposing the substrate at the bottom of the groove formed by the P1 line (Niira, para [0054] Fig. 3B);
laying the light-absorbing layer on the front electrode layer and in the groove formed by the P1 line (Niira, para [0057], Fig. 3C), scribing the P2 line on the light-absorbing layer close to the P1 line, and the P2 line scribing off the light-absorbing layer and exposing the front electrode layer at the bottom of the groove formed by the P2 line (Niira, para [0058], Fig. 3D);
laying the back electrode layer on the light-absorbing layer and in the groove formed by the P2 line (Niira, para [0060], Fig. 3E), scribing the P3 line on the back electrode layer close to the P2 line, and the P3 line scribing off the back electrode layer and light-absorbing layer, exposing the front electrode layer at the bottom of the groove formed by the P3 line (Niira, para [0061], Fig. 3F), and obtaining the sub-cell pack composed of a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally (Niira, see Figs. 3F and Figs. 10-12);
dividing the back electrode layer into a region of internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module (Niira, Fig. 10) and a region of internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module (Lee, Figs. 1-2),
scribing a P4 line at a position of an intermediate insulation strap on a back electrode layer in the region of internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module (Niira, [0081], Figs. 10 and 11C see: inter-unit separation region 50 formed to expose substrate 1), and retaining a position of the intermediate connection strap on the back electrode layer (Niira, [0081] see: Figs. 10 and 11C or 12 and 13C see: inter-unit connecting region 6 is maintained between adjacent units);
isolating edges around a region where the sub-cell pack is located to expose the substrate at a bottom of an isolated region (Niira, [0050], Fig. 1(A) see: outer frame groove 8 is provided around the unit cells exposing surface of board/substrate 1), and obtaining a plurality of sub-cell packs that are arranged horizontally and sequentially series-connected through the intermediate connection strap (Niira, Figs. 1(A), 10 or 12), with positions of positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs of two adjacent sub-cell packs being reversed (Niira, Figs. 11A-11B); and
scribing a P4’ line at a position of the insulation groove on the back electrode layer, and the P4’ line exposing the substrate at a bottom of the insulation groove and retaining a position of the series connection strap on the back electrode layer (Lee, [0081], [0072]-[0075], Figs 1-3 see: forming insulating patterns I1 and I2 including fourth grooves G4 exposing substrate 100);
isolating edges around a region where the sub-cell pack is located to expose the substrate at a bottom of the isolated region (Niira, [0050], Fig. 1(A) see: outer frame groove 8 is provided around the unit cells exposing surface of board/substrate 1), and obtaining a plurality of sub-cell packs that are arranged horizontally and sequentially series-connected through the series connection strap, with positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs being same (Lee, [0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: second electrode 150 of one end cell C50 of SUB1 connected to first electrode 110 of first cell C51 of SUB2 through transverse pattern HP the unit cells of the two adjacent sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 are disposed in the same direction and thus the position of the polarities of these adjacent sub-modules are the same); and
connecting a prepared internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and a prepared internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module as needed, and conductively laying the positive electrode busbar on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of one of the sub-cell pack, and conductively laying the negative electrode busbar on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of another sub-cell pack (Niira, [0081], Figs. 10 and 11A-11B see: pair of positive and negative output terminals 7 provided on the back electrode surfaces of the rightmost and leftmost solar cells 2 in the Y-axis direction and provide the same side in the x-axis direction).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KIM et al (US 2018/0182963) discloses an internally same-side series-connected solar cell module in Figs. 1-3, and 5(b).
Oswald et al (US 5,593,901) discloses an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell modules in Figs. 4 and 6 where adjacent submodules 304 interconnected through a middle region isolated by scribes 301 through first bus means 310.
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726