DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0112564 (CYZEN).
As to claims 1 and 3, CYZEN teaches an alcoholic beverage that comprises inorganic salts/electrolytes such as sodium chloride and sodium bicarbonate [0042]. A distilled spirit such as vodka [0019]. If bottled, the vodka is bottled at 40 % alcohol by volume, that is , 80 proof [0019].
As to claims 4-5, single or multiple flavors can be added [0017]. In [0053], an 80 proof vodka is added with honey, and ginger. It is noted that claim 4 uses the transitional phrase “comprising”. Thus, additional flavors can be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6-8, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CYZEN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2010/0183736 (HAYS).
As to claim 2, CYZEN teaches an alcoholic beverage that contains distilled spirits such as vodka [0018].
CYZEN teaches the alcoholic beverage can contain electrolytes [0042] but silent as to using electrolytes such as potassium chloride, potassium bicarbonate and potassium phosphate. CYZEN is also silent as to what amount of electrolytes to add.
[0036] of HAYS teaches that the electrolytes can be added in amount of 10mg/8oz (0.01 g/236 ml; 8oz water = 236ml) which equals 0.004 %w/v to 500mg/8oz (0.5g/235ml) which equals 0.2 % w/v (i.e., at least 0.02% as claimed).
As to claims 6-8, 14 and 19, HAYS teaches that electrolytes can be used in beverages to relieve hangover symptoms (abstract, [0010], [0036]). In particular, the multiple electrolytes can be added in the form of a salt such as sodium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, potassium chloride, potassium bicarbonate and potassium phosphate (abstract, [0036], [0010]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add electrolyte salts to a beverage composition, and especially an alcoholic beverage composition to inhibit hangovers.
As to the recited amounts, HAYS teaches that the electrolytes can be added in amount of 10mg/8oz (0.01 g/236 ml; 8oz water = 236ml) which equals 0.004 %w/v to 500mg/8oz (0.5g/235ml) which equals 0.2 % w/v (i.e., at least 0.02% as claimed). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05. Thus, the claimed ranges for the electrolytes of claims 6-8, 14 and 19 are obvious given the disclosed ranges of HAYS in [0036].
The applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
Claim(s) 9-13, 15-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CYZEN and HAYS as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 5,830,523 (TAKAICHI).
Claims 9-13, 15-18 and 20 recite additional electrolytes along with their respective ranges.
CYZEN teaches an alcoholic beverage [0018] that may comprise inorganic salts/electrolytes such as sodium chloride and sodium bicarbonate [0042].
CYZEN is silent as to the amount of electrolytes.
HAYS teaches that the electrolytes can be added in amount of 10mg/8oz (0.01 g/236 ml; 8oz water = 236ml) which equals 0.004 %w/v to 500mg/8oz (0.5g/235ml) which equals 0.2 % w/v. It would have been obvious to add electrolytes within this range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
CYZEN and HAYS are silent as to adding sodium aspartate and potassium aspartate.
As to col. 2, lines 18-46, TAKAICHI teaches that inorganic electrolytes can be incorporated into beverage compositions to provide inorganic electrolyte cations and anions. Inorganic electrolytes are typically present as salts of inorganic acids. These salts are usually used in combination with sodium or potassium salt. Examples of useful salts of organic acids include aspartic acid. Given TAKAICHI teaches the addition of aspartic acid and that these organic acids can be in the form of sodium and potassium salts, it would have been obvious to use sodium aspartate and potassium aspartate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use potassium aspartate and sodium aspartate in the beverages above to provide inorganic electrolyte cations and anions. Given HAYS teaches that the electrolytes can be added in amount of 10mg/8oz (0.01 g/236 ml; 8oz water = 236ml) which equals 0.004 %w/v to 500mg/8oz (0.5g/235ml) which equals 0.2 % w/v, it would have been obvious to add electrolytes within the claimed ranges.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,722 (722 Patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the present application and that of the 722 Patent are both directed to electrolyte enhanced spirits. As to claims 1-2, and 6-20, the 722 Patent recites similar electrolytes (i.e., a combination of sodium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, potassium chloride, potassium bicarbonate, and potassium phosphate in a close-ended claim utilizing the transitional phrase “consisting of”) in similar amounts, respectively. It would have been obvious that the electrolytes of the 722 Patent could be added to alcoholic beverages comprising other ingredients. For example, as to claims 4-5, it would have been obvious to add one more flavors to an alcoholic beverage.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791