DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the rotating piece" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No further examination is made to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al (US 5,672,874 A) in view of Bauer et al (US 4030834 A).
Regarding claim 1, Fujii et al discloses a power transformer fault detection device (infrared oil-concentration meter) (See Fig. 1) comprising: a detection component (51) for detecting transformer oil composition (sample S, i.e. heavy oils) (col. 4,lines 10-28), the oil sample (sample S) is provided with a light-transmitting window (2a). Fujii et al is silent with regards to rotating member and connected to oil outlets at different heights. Bauer et al discloses a dynamic multistation photometer (See Fig. 1 and comprising: a rotatable member (19) featuring a plurality of evenly spaced sample pools (cuvetes) (30) (cuvete 4 to cuvete 17) (col. 3, lines 36-64) wherein the plurality of oil pools (4-17) are connected to oil outlets at different heights on the transformer with light-transmitting windows; optical detection components measure fluid compositions through the windows as the assembly rotates (col. 2, lines 39-54); and the oil pools (30) are provided with a light- transmitting window (11), wherein the detection component (24) is mounted on the rotating member (19) and is capable of detecting the composition of the liquid in the oil pool (30) through the light-transmitting window (See Fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii et al of a power transformer fault detection device (infrared oil-concentration meter) with Bauer et al of a dynamic multistation photometer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable a check multiple oil pools and multiple heights without manual sampling.
Regarding claim 2, Fujii et al in discloses characterized in that the detection component (4)(5) comprises an infrared generator (3) for emitting infrared rays and a detector (4)(5) for detecting infrared rays (col. 4, lines 16-18) and further comprises a reflector (7) (interference filter formed of a wide band pass filter) disposed on a side of the oil sample (sample S), wherein the reflector (7) is provided with a reflective surface (7) capable of reflecting light, and wherein the reflective surface (231) is capable of guiding the light to extend toward the detector (4)(5). Bauer et al discloses a dynamic multistation photometer (See Fig. 1 and comprising: a rotatable member (19) featuring a plurality of evenly spaced sample pools (cuvetes) (30) (cuvete 4 to cuvete 17) (col. 3, lines 36-64) wherein the plurality of oil pools (4-17) are connected to oil outlets at different heights on the transformer with light-transmitting window, as disclose supra. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii et al of a power transformer fault detection device (infrared oil-concentration meter) (See Fig. 1) with Bauer et al of a dynamic multistation photometer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable a means to check multiple oil pools without manual sampling.
Regarding claim 3, Fujii et al discloses characterized in that: it also includes a protective cover (2) (cell window) (See Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 65-col. 4, line 9), wherein the protective cover (2) is arranged outside the oil sample (S) (See Fig. 1). Fujii et al is silent with regards to the rotating member as claimed. Bauer et al discloses wherein the rotatable member (19) is connected to the inner wall of a protective cover (See Fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii et al of a power transformer fault detection device (infrared oil-concentration meter) (See Fig. 1) with Bauer et al of a dynamic multistation photometer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to enable means to test multiple oil pools while being shielded from the environment.
Regarding claim 10, Fujii et al in view of Bauer et al discloses wherein the protective cover is also provided with an adjustment component (12), wherein the adjustment component (7) is used to drive the infrared generator (29) to rotate (col. 2, lines 24-25), wherein the adjustment component comprises an adjustment rod (copper-tipped pin) fixed on the protective cover (See Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 21-38) and wherein a connecting member connected to the infrared generator (29), the adjustment rod is provided with an adjustment groove, wherein one end of the connecting member away from the infrared generator is inserted into the adjustment groove, and the rotation of the rotating member can drive the infrared generator to rotate around its own rotation axis (See Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 24-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4-8, the prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest wherein characterized in that: each group of the oil pools includes at least two oil pools (1), and the multiple oil pools are interconnected, wherein the infrared generator is movably connected to the rotating member, and the movement of the infrared generator can make the infrared rays emitted by it pass through multiple oil pools at the same time or pass through any one oil pool alone; multiple oil pools in the same group of the oil pools are arranged in sequence along a direction perpendicular to the rotation axis of the rotating member, and two mutually parallel side surfaces of the oil pool are each provided with a light-transmitting window, wherein a detection channel for light to pass through is formed between the light- transmitting windows on the two side surfaces, and the detection channels are arranged in plurality, and wherein the detection channels include a data channel and a blank channel, and at least one blank channel is arranged such that the data channel (41) is filled with transformer oil, and the blank channel is not filled with transformer oil, and the blank channels on the two oil pools are arranged in an alternating manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bustamante et al (US 9835607 B2) discloses a system and method for testing transformer oil comprising: automated multi-port transformer oil sampling.
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884