DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW113149086, filed on 12/17/2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be “and” added before the last concentration. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the additives" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-7 are also indefinite as dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is not clear if the all the listed additives listed in the claim are required or these are merely alternatives, because claim 1 requires alternatives not all of the additives at once and there is no example in speciation using all the listed additives together. For the purpose of further examination, the claim will be interpreted in spirit of claim 1 and the specification, using an additive alternative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 20240413347 A1).
Considering claim 1, Song discloses a manufacturing method of an electrolytic copper foil [0007], comprising: providing an electrolytic device comprising a cathode and an anode; soaking the cathode in an electrolyte (inherent in electroplating); adding an additive into the electrolyte; and performing electroplating to form an electrolytic copper foil on a surface of the cathode, wherein the additives comprise ethylene thiourea [0052].
Considering claims 2 and 3, Song discloses ethylene thiourea (ETU) in the amount of 1.8 ppm (Ex 1, Table 1, [0058]).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (US 20240097139 A1).
Considering claim 1, Moon discloses a manufacturing method of an electrolytic copper foil [0110], comprising: providing an electrolytic device comprising a cathode and an anode; soaking the cathode in an electrolyte [0110]; adding an additive into the electrolyte; and performing electroplating to form an electrolytic copper foil on a surface of the cathode, wherein the additives comprise hydroxyethyl cellulose [0111].
Considering claims 2 and 3, Moon discloses hydroxyethyl cellulose in the amount of 10 ppm [0111].
Considering claim 4, Moon discloses the electrolyte is a copper sulfate plating solution, in the copper sulfate plating solution, the concentration of 70 g/L [0111], which is within the claimed range of 60g/L to 80 g/L, and the concentration of sulfuric acid is 100 g/L [0111], which is within the claimed range of 60g/L to 110g/L.
Considering claim 7, Moon discloses the plating solution temperature is at 60° C [0111], which is within the claimed range of from 50°C to 70°C, and the current density is 60 ASD ([0112], [0114], Table 1), which is within the claimed range of from 40 ASD to 60 ASD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20240413347 A1).
Considering claim 4, Song discloses the electrolyte is a copper sulfate plating solution, in the copper sulfate plating solution, the concentration of 200-452 g/L of CuSO4 5H2O (corresponds to 50-112 g/L of copper ions), [0052] which overlaps the claimed range of 60g/L to 80 g/L, and the concentration of sulfuric acid is 30-250 g/L [0052], which overlaps the claimed range of 60g/L to 110g/L.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the recited range because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Song discloses 10-30 ppm chlorine ions [0052], which is within the claimed range of 5 ppm to 30 ppm.
Considering claim 7, Song discloses the plating solution temperature is at 50-60° C [0052], which is within the claimed range of from 50°C to 70°C, and the current density is 50-70 ASD [0052], which overlaps the claimed range of from 40 ASD to 60 ASD.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20240413347 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chiu (US 20220102730 A1).
Considering claim 6, Song is silent about the construction of the anode and cathode.
However, Chiu discloses forming a copper foil using titanium drum as a cathode titanium coated iridium oxide (IrO2/Ti) is adopted as anode and the titanium drum speed being 800 rpm [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the anode and cathode in the forming of copper foil in the method of Song, because Song is silent about the apparatus used for electroplating the copper foil, and Chiu discloses using titanium drum as a cathode titanium coated iridium oxide (IrO2/Ti) is adopted as anode and the titanium drum speed being 800 rpm in order to form copper foil.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 20240097139 A1).
Considering claim 5, Moon discloses 1-100 ppm halogens such as chlorine [0090], which overlaps the claimed range of 5 ppm to 30 ppm.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 20240097139 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chiu (US 20220102730 A1).
Considering claim 6, Moon discloses titanium coated with iridium oxide [0080] and a rotating cathode drum [0079], wherein the drum speed is adjusted according to desired copper film thickness [0112].
Mood does not disclose the drum is titanium when rotating at 500 to 1000 rpm.
However, Chiu discloses forming a copper foil using titanium drum as a cathode titanium coated iridium oxide (IrO2/Ti) is adopted as anode and the titanium drum speed being 800 rpm [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use titanium drum rotating at 800 rpm to form copper foil in the method of Moon, because Moon teaches adjusting speed to the desired thickness, and Chiu discloses substantially similar electroplating anode and the cathode comprising titanium drum revolving at 800 rpm in order to form copper foil. Moon teaches that the drum cathode is not limited to the exemplary chromium coated steel. Therefore, one would have an option of using a titanium drum as the cathode revolving at 800 rpm, or optimize the rotation speed for desired copper film thickness with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1794