DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be an improper underscore in part (b), line 4, e.g., Tetanus COVID (TC2) _recombinant protein. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and definite because the name alone “one or more SARS-CoV epitopes embedded in a detoxified forms of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT) sequence” is not adequate to fully describe the invention. It is unclear what structures are encompassed by the term epitopes as epitopes can read on as few as a couple amin acids. It is also what is encompassed by ‘forms of tetanus neurotoxin” The mere recitation of a name to describe the invention is not sufficient to satisfy the Statute's requirement of adequately describing and setting forth the inventive concept. The claim should provide any structural properties, such as the amino acid sequence of the recombinant protein or nucleic acid encoding it, which would allow one to identify the invention without ambiguity. The mere recitation of a name to describe the invention is not sufficient to satisfy the Statute's requirement of adequately describing and setting forth the inventive concept. The claim should provide any structural properties, such as the amino acid sequence of the recombinant protein or nucleic acid encoding it, which would allow one to identify the invention without ambiguity. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the vector”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no vector in claim 1 from which it depends. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 5 is vague and indefinite for the term “derived” does not provide the character or properties from the source that are to be retained in the final product, e.g., paper is derived from wood but is very different from wood. Further, it is unclear what is encompassed by the ‘neurotoxin associated proteins (NAPs). The metes and bounds of this language is not readily understood. The mere recitation of a name to describe the invention is not sufficient to satisfy the Statute's requirement of adequately describing and setting forth the inventive concept. The claim should provide any structural properties, such as the amino acid sequence of the recombinant protein or nucleic acid encoding it, which would allow one to identify the invention without ambiguity. The mere recitation of a name to describe the invention is not sufficient to satisfy the Statute's requirement of adequately describing and setting forth the inventive concept. The claim should provide any structural properties, such as the amino acid sequence of the recombinant protein or nucleic acid encoding it, which would allow one to identify the invention without ambiguity. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 7 is vague and confusing because it appears it should be part of claim 1 as it is broader than the base claim. The claim is vague and indefinite for use of the term “or a variant thereof” in parts a) and b0 of the claim because it is unclear who the protein varies. Is it structural and if so in what way? Is it a functional variant? Is it a variant from another source? The claim should provide any structural properties, such as the amino acid sequence of the variant, which would allow for one to identify the invention without ambiguity. Claim 7 is also vague and indefinite for the term “derived” does not provide the character or properties from the source that are to be retained in the final product, e.g., paper is derived from wood but is very different from wood. Further, it is unclear what is encompassed by the ‘neurotoxin associated proteins (NAPs). The metes and bounds of this language is not readily understood. The domains recited in the claim are also unclear because the peptide is not adequately described and no sequence is provided which describes said domains. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 7 part (c) is vague and confusing due to the wording of the claim. The preamble recites a ‘mutated protein vaccine’. Part c) recites “wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein composition comprises the protein having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 3, 5, 6, or 7. It is unclear how this is related to parts a) and b) of the claim. There is no sequence provided for a full-length protein comprising one or more forms of a tetanus neurotoxin. SEQ ID NO: 6 is a sequence with a backbone (SEQ ID NO: 6 is SEQ ID NOS: 3 and 5 embedded in DrTeNT sequence= TC2), SEQ ID NO: 7 is SEQ ID NO: 2 (RBD domain) plus SEQ ID NO: 6 (TC2) embedded in the DrTeNT backbone, however, SEQ ID NO: 3 is the N terminus on the surface of S protein, so the claim when just relying on SEQ ID NO: 3 or 5 because these are just individual epitopes, for instance, and do not properly define the full-length vaccine. They are not equivalent to the other members in this Markush grouping. While the specification can be used to provide definitive support, the claims are not read in a vacuum. Rather, the claim must be definite and complete in and of itself. Limitations from the specification will not be read into the claims. The claims as they stand are incomplete and fail to provide adequate structural properties to allow one to identify what is being claimed. The DrTeNT embedded SAR-CoV2 recombinant protein vaccines should be claimed with the full sequence, e.g., SEQ ID NO: 6 or 7.
Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri et al (WO 2018/118974-A1; 6/20/19) in view of Zhao et al (Viral Immunol. 2006. 19(3): 518-524).
Barbieri teaches a mutated recombinant vaccine composition comprising one or more detoxified forms of a whole or part of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT) proteins (para [0026], tetanus toxins and botulinum toxins (BoNT) having engineered defects that hinder catalysis and receptor binding provide a platform for vaccine development for toxin-mediated diseases. For example, no toxicity was detected with modified tetanus toxin and BoNT rendered non- catalytic and incapable of receptor binding via engineered mutations.), and one or more epitopes derived from a toxin, a pathogen, or a disease, wherein the vaccine composition is able to immunize a human or a non-human mammal against the toxin, the pathogen, or the disease (abstract, conjugate vaccine carriers comprising engineered tetanus toxin variants and methods of using such conjugate vaccines to elicit T-cell dependent immune memory responses which can target a broad spectrum of microbial pathogens as a single vaccine.; [00124], The PNAG oligosaccharide, GBS polysaccharide, and flu peptides will be individually conjugated to 8M-TT vaccine. Subsequent experiments will combine GBS and PNAG to produce a multiplex polysaccharide conjugate- 8M-TT vaccine. Next, the flu peptides and PNAG will be combined to make a multiplex-peptide-polysaccharide conjugate- 8M-TT vaccine. These experiments will test the potential of 8M-TT as a vaccine carrier.). Instant claim 1 is drawn to a composition, not a method of using. The term ‘vaccine’ is an intended use only. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Barbieri teaches the vaccine composition wherein the toxin, pathogen, or disease is derived from animals, plants, fungi, bacteria, or viruses (para [00122], Authenticated polysaccharides and peptides will be crosslinked to 8M-TT: (i) Group B streptococcus (GBS).....(2) Ro1n-b-(1-6)-N-acetyl-glucosamine (PNAG) which mediates biofilm formation as a candidate broad spectrum vaccine for Klebsiella pneumoniae, Enterobacter cloacae, Stenotrophomonas maltophilia, and the Burkholderia cepacia complex (BCC); (3) Peptides currently being tested in flu vaccines. ).
Barbieri teaches the vaccine composition wherein the epitopes are derived from one or more diseases comprising: tuberculosis, malaria, cancer, flu, pneumonia, psoriasis, itch, and lime disease (para [00122], Authenticated polysaccharides and peptides will be crosslinked to 8M-TT.....(3) Peptides currently being tested In flu vaccines.).
Barbieri teaches the vaccine composition wherein the detoxified form of the whole or the part of the tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT) comprises at least one mutated light chain and at least one native heavy chain (para [0075], To hinder catalytic activity, genetic modifications are introduced into the light chain at amino acid residues required or important for neurotransmitter release via the SNARE complex.).
Barbieri teaches the vaccine wherein formaldehyde is not present (Note, Barbieri does not teach formaldehyde.). This reads on ‘excludes’ (does not contain) formaldehyde
Barbieri teaches the vaccine composition may comprise an adjuvant comprising one or more of: alum, polylactic acid, polyglycolic acid, Vitamin E, and colloidal particle (Barbieri, para (00123), Table 10, Alum).
Although Barbieri teaches the vaccine composition comprising the DrTeNT as a carrier protein (abstract, conjugate vaccine carriers comprising engineered tetanus toxin variants and methods of using such conjugate vaccines to elicit T-cell dependent immune memory responses which can target a broad spectrum of microbial pathogens as a single vaccine.), they do not specifically teach and one or more epitopes of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
Zhao teaches a vaccine composition comprising tetanus toxin epitope and one or more epitopes or subunits of the SARS-CoV virus (pg 519, col 1, para 2, According to the SARS-CoV genomic sequence reported in GenBank (accession number NC_004718), the gene encoding S1 protein (2260 bp) and the designed ISS (195 bp), which included an extended Kozak sequence, a PADRE helper T (Th) cell epitope sequence, and a tetanus toxin (TT) Th epitope sequence, were synthesized by chemical methods, and the fusion gene, by incorporating the ISS into the N-terminus of the S1 protein-encoding gene, was constructed.). Given that vaccine comprising SARS-CoV spike protein using tetanus toxin epitope to increase vaccine efficacy, as taught by Zhao (abstract, Results showed that the counts of spleen CD4+ and CD8+ T lymphocytes were increased, that the T cell-mediated immune responses showed antigen specificity, and that IgG was significantly induced with DNA vaccines pIRES-ISS-S1 and pIRES-S1 at titers of 1:320 and 1:160, respectively. These results are promising for the protective immunization of humans.), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied DrTeNT as a carrier protein for SARS-CoV-2 virus.
Barbieri and Zhao do not specifically teach a hybrid protein linking a receptor binding domain (RBD) epitope of a SARS-CoV-2 pathogen with a TeNT-Cov2 protein. Given that Barbieri teaches conjugated vaccine with TeNT as a carrier protein (abstract) and Zhao teaches tetanus toxin epitope in vaccine comprising spike protein from SARS CoV (pg 519, col 1, para 2), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided a hybrid protein linking a receptor binding domain (RBD) epitope of a SARS-CoV-2 pathogen with a TeNT-Cov2 protein. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Barbieri and Zhao teach the vaccine composition comprising a S1 subunit of a SARS-CoV spike (S) protein comprising a receptor-binding domain (RBD) epitope (Zhao, pg 519, co! 1, para 2, According to the SARS-CoV genomic sequence reported in GenBank (accession number NC_004718), the gene encoding S1 protein (2260 bp).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri et al (WO 2018/118974-A1; 6/20/19) and Zhao et al (Viral Immunol. 2006. 19(3): 518-524) in view of Singh et al (US 2019/0076518 A1).
The teachings of Barbieri and Zhao et al are set forth above.
However, they do not specifically teach an adjuvant comprising one or more neurotoxin associated proteins (NAPs) derived from a botulinum neurotoxin (BONT) produced by a Clostridium botulinum. Singh teaches an adjuvant comprising one or more NAPs derived from a BoNT produced by a Clostridium botulinum (para [0038], the use of neurotoxin associated protein (NAPs) for the oral or nasal delivery of the vaccine.; [0039], the use of neurotoxin associated protein (NAPs) of Clostridium botulinum.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied NAPs as adjuvant for the vaccine of Barbieri, since NAP is a known adjuvant, as taught by Singh, and would be reasonably expected to enhance the immune response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Written Description
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instantly amended claims are drawn, for example, to:
1. A method of immunizing a mammal against COVID-19 by administering a protein vaccine composition comprising one or more SARS-CoV epitopes embedded in a detoxified forms of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT) sequence.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the vaccine composition is administered subcutaneously or intramuscularly.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the vaccine composition further comprises an adjuvant and/or a carrier to protect the vector from degradation.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the carrier is a lipid molecule or a nanocarrier comprising one or more synthetic polymers or biopolymers under a suitable pH and salt conditions for biological systems.
5. The method of claim 3, wherein the adjuvant further comprises one or more neurotoxin associated proteins (NAPs) derived from a botulinum neurotoxin (BoNT) produced by a Clostridium botulinum.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising administering the vaccine composition orally, sublingually, or intranasally.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the protein vaccine composition comprises, a recombinant or a conjugate protein vaccine composition for treating or preventing a COVID- 19 infection, comprising:
a) one or more proteins, or a variant thereof, comprising detoxified forms of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT);
b) wherein the one or more proteins, or the variant thereof, are embedded with or chemically attached to one or more epitopes and/or domains encoding a targeted immunogenic peptide derived from a Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-CoV2) disease or a variant thereof, to create a Tetanus COVID (TC2) _recombinant protein vaccine, or a TC2 or DrTeNT conjugate protein vaccine;
c) wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein vaccine composition comprises the one or more proteins having at least 90% sequence identity to the full length of SEQ ID NOS: 3, 5, 6 or 7; and
d) wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein vaccine composition is able to activate memory cells against Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-CoV2) without an adverse immune response while excluding formaldehyde.
It is understood for the instant specification that:
SEQ ID NO: 6 is the created DrTeNt protein with epitopes Seq. ID. 03 and 05 (from S1 domain of SARS-CoV-2) embedded in the DrTeNT sequence known as “TC2”.
SEQ ID NO: 7 is SEQ ID NO: 2 (RBD domain) plus SEQ ID NO: 6 (TC2) embedded in the DrTeNT backbone, for which data from a rabbit model is disclosed in FIG. 6 and [0053-0059] on pages 13-14.
This ^ inventive concept is not conveyed in any of the instant claims.
- SEQ ID NO: 1 is S1 sequence of SARS-CoV2;
- SEQ ID NO: 2 is RBD sequence of S1 domain of SARS-CoV2
^these SEQ ID NOS. are also not conveyed in any of the claims.
To fulfill the written description requirements set forth under 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, the specification must describe at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, or alternatively describe a representative member of the claimed genus, which shares a particularly defining feature common to at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, which would enable the skilled artisan to immediately recognize and distinguish its members from others, so as to reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant has possession the claimed invention. Applicants have not described the genus of claimed vaccines/epitopes such that the specification might reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicants had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
The purpose of the "written description" requirement is broader than tomerely explain how to "make and use"; the applicant must convey with reasonableclarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was inpossession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the "writtendescription" inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar,935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC § 112 is severable fromits enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than amere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential methodfor isolating it. The nucleic acid itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actualreduction to practice, or by showing the invention was 'ready for patenting' such asby disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention" (Id. at 1104). Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of variant species, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was "ready for patenting" by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus'" (Id. at 1106); accordingly, it follows that an adequate written description of a genus cannot be achieved in the absence of a disclosure of at least one species within the genus.
As evidenced by Greenspan et al (Nature Biotechnology 7: 936-937, 1999), defining epitopes is not as easy as it seems. Greenspan et al recommends defining anepitope by the structural characterization of the molecular interface between theantigen and the antibody is necessary to define an "epitope" (page 937, column 2).According to Greenspan et al, an epitope will include residues that make contactswith a ligand, here the antibody, but are energetically neutral, or even destabilizingto binding. Furthermore, an epitope will not include any residue not contacted by the antibody, even though substitution of such a residue might profoundly affectbinding. Chothia et al (THE EMBO JOURNAL, 1986, 5/4:823-26) also teach thatthere is a limit to how much substitution can be tolerated before the originaltertiary structure is lost. Therefore, absent a detailed and particular description of arepresentative number, or at least a substantial number of the members of thegenus of fragments or variants of the eleven peptides, the skilled artisan could notimmediately recognize that Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus ofpeptides at the time of filing.
Therefore, because the art is unpredictable, in accordance with the WrittenDescription Guidelines, the recitation of any epitopes from an toxin, pathogen or disease and any modifications or insertion of the epitopes into the composition or any modification of biological activities as recited in the instant claim are not supported by adequate written description in the instant specification. Additionally, vaccines comprising any epitopes having 90% identity to any one or more of SEQ ID NOS: 3, 5, 6 or 7 do not have adequate written support. The scope of the claim includes numerous structural variants (i.e. fragments, insertions, different combinations), and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between genus members is permitted. The specification does not describe any members of the claimed genus by complete structure. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus, and thus, that the applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus. The claimed subject matter is not supported by an adequate written description because a representative number of species has not been described.
There are no drawings or structural formulas disclosed of any of thesefragments or variants of the claimed polynucleotides. There is no teaching in thespecification regarding which 10% of the structure can be varied and still produce a structure with the function to immunize against any disease. Although the disclosure of SEQ ID NOs combined with the knowledge in the art, may put one in possession of peptides that are at least 90% identical, the level of skill and knowledge in the art is such that one of ordinary skill would not be able to identify without further testingwhich of these variants could meet the functional requirements Based on the lack of knowledge and predictability in the art, those of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of vaccines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for:
A method of immunizing a mammal against COVID-19 by administering a recombinant protein comprising administering:
a recombinant or a conjugate protein vaccine composition comprising:
a) one or more proteins comprising detoxified forms of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT);
b) wherein the one or more proteins, are embedded with or chemically attached to one or more epitopes and/or domains encoding a targeted immunogenic peptide derived from a Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-COV2) disease, to create a Tetanus COVID (TC2) recombinant protein vaccine, or a TC2 or DrTeNT conjugate protein vaccine;
c) wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein vaccine composition comprises the one or more proteins having at least 90% sequence identity to the full length of SEQ ID NOS: 6 or 7; and
d) wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein vaccine composition is able to activate memory cells against Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-COV2) without an adverse immune response while excluding formaldehyde.
does not reasonably provide enablement for the scope of the current claims:
1. A method of immunizing a mammal against COVID-19 by administering a protein vaccine composition comprising one or more SARS-CoV epitopes embedded in a detoxified forms of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT) sequence.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the protein vaccine composition comprises, a recombinant or a conjugate protein vaccine composition for treating or preventing a COVID- 19 infection, comprising:
a) one or more proteins, or a variant thereof, comprising detoxified forms of a tetanus neurotoxin (DrTeNT);
b) wherein the one or more proteins, or the variant thereof, are embedded with or chemically attached to one or more epitopes and/or domains encoding a targeted immunogenic peptide derived from a Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-CoV2) disease or a variant thereof, to create a Tetanus COVID (TC2) _recombinant protein vaccine, or a TC2 or DrTeNT conjugate protein vaccine;
c) wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein vaccine composition comprises the one or more proteins having at least 90% sequence identity to the full length of SEQ ID NOS: 3, 5, 6 or 7; and
d) wherein said recombinant or conjugate protein vaccine composition is able to activate memory cells against Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-CoV2) without an adverse immune response while excluding formaldehyde.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
It is understood for the instant specification that:
SEQ ID NO: 6 is the created DrTeNt protein with epitopes Seq. ID. 03 and 05 (from S1 domain of SARS-CoV-2) embedded in the DrTeNT sequence known as “TC2”.
SEQ ID NO: 7 is SEQ ID NO: 2 (RBD domain) plus SEQ ID NO: 6 (TC2) embedded in the DrTeNT backbone, for which data from a rabbit model is disclosed in FIG. 6 and [0053-0059] on pages 13-14.
The instant claims are drawn to vaccines comprising combinations of many different epitopes from many different sources. They also recite variant sequences of the epitopes that are presented by SEQ ID NOS. The specification states that substitutions, additions, or deletions, may be made to the defined sequences; however, the specification provides no guidance as to what the nucleotides/amino acids may be changed without causing a detrimental effect to the polypeptide epitopes and with the added features of immunizing against disease. It is unpredictable as to which amino acids could be removed and which could be added. While it is known that many amino acid substitutions are possible in any given protein, the position within the protein’s sequence where amino acid substitutions can be made with a reasonable expectation of success are limited. Other positions are critical to the protein’s structure/function relationship, e.g., such as various positions or regions directly involved in binding, catalysis in providing the correct three-dimensional spatial orientation of binding and catalytic sites. These regions can tolerate only very little or no substitutions. Selective point mutation to one key residue could eliminate the function of the polypeptide. It could eliminate its functional properties. If the range of decreased binding ability after single point mutation of a protein antigen varies, one could expect point mutations in the protein antigen to cause varying degrees of loss of protection/function, depending on the relative importance to the binding interaction of the altered residue. Alternatively, the combined effects of multiple changes, as instantly claimed, in an antigenic determinant could again result in loss of function. A protein having multiple antigenic sites, multiple point mutations, or accumulated point mutations at key residues could create a new antigen that is precipitously or progressively unrecognizable by any of the antibodies in the polyclonal pool. As stated above, Applicants have not shown the particular substitution and the result it produces. Applicants have provided no guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art how to determine, without undue experimentation, the effects of different amino substitutions and the nature and extent of the changes that can be made. It is expensive and time consuming to make amino acid substitutions at more than one position, in a particular region of the protein, in view of the many fold possibilities for change in structure and the uncertainty as to what utility will be possessed. See Mikayama et al. (Nov.1993. Proc.Natl.Acad.Sci. USA, vol. 90 : 10056-10060) which teaches that the three-dimensional structure of molecules is important for their biological function and even a single amino acid difference may account for markedly different biological activities. Rudinger et al. (June 1976. Peptide Hormones. Biol.Council. pages 5-7) also teaches that amino acids owe their ‘significance’ to their inclusion in a pattern which is directly involved in recognition by, and binding to, the receptor and the significance of the particular amino acids and sequences for different amino acids cannot be predicted a priori, but must be determined from case to case by painstaking experimental study. The instant claims allow for substitutions with amino acids of vastly different properties and they do not recite the specific changes in the claims.
The specification does not provide working examples of a method of immunizing against COVID-19 with the exception of the use of a protein comprising the amino acid of SEQ ID NO: 6 (DrTeNt protein with epitopes Seq. ID. 03 and 05 (from S1 domain of SARS-CoV-2) embedded in the DrTeNT sequence known as “TC2”) or a protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 7 (SEQ ID NO: 2 (RBD domain) plus SEQ ID NO: 6 (TC2) embedded in the DrTeNT backbone, for which data from a rabbit model is disclosed in FIG. 6 and [0053-0059] on pages 13-14). The breadth of the claims is much greater and not enabled given the unpredictability in the COVID-19 vaccine art.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CAFC) 42 USPQ2d 1001 clearly states: “Patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable. See Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 536, 148 USPQ 689, 696 (1966) (stating, in context of the utility requirement, that "a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.") Tossing out the mere germ of an idea does not constitute enabling disclosure. While every aspect of a generic claim certainly need not have been carried out by an inventor, or exemplified in the specification, reasonable detail must be provided in order to enable members of the public to understand and carry out the invention.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 12-20 of copending Application No. 18/485.300 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims recite recombinant cells for producing proteins with one or more epitopes for subunits of the SARS-CoV-2 embedded in the backbone of detoxified recombinant tetanus toxin (DrTeNT). Methods for producing a protein of interest which is a recombinant protein with one or more epitopes for subunits of the SARS-CoV-2 embedded in the backbone of detoxified recombinant tetanus toxin (DrTeNT) are also recited. Although the language of the instant claims and the co-pending claims varies, both sets of claims contain a protein with SARS-CoV2- embedded in the backbone of detoxified recombinant tetanus toxin (DrTeNT) and, therefore, the scope of the claims is not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Status of Claims:
No claims are allowed.
The copies of all prior art cited on the PTO-892 form are found in parent application 18/060,401.
Correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 1645. Papers related to this application may be submitted to Group 1600 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Group 1600 via the PTO Fax Center located in Remsen. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notice published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (November 15,1989). The Group 1645 Fax number is 571-273-8300 which is able to receive transmissions 24 hours/day, 7 days/week.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-0500.
/JENNIFER E GRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 9/9/26