DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 4, 6, and 7, Chen discloses a projection device (see fig.4), comprising: a light source device (see at least 51), wherein the light source device comprises: a light source (see 511-513), a light splitting element (see 33 in fig.4 or 5 and 6), a quarter wave plate (see 37 in fig.4), a reflective element (see 38 in fig.4), and a homogenizing element (see 36 in fig.4), wherein, the light source is used to emit an illumination beam (see the illumination beam of 511-513), wherein the illumination beam has at least two different colors of light (see 511-513), the illumination beam has a first linear polarization direction (see disclosed by the operation of beam splitter 335 on the light of 51), and the light splitting element (see 355), the quarter wave plate (see 37), and the reflective element (see 38 in fig.4 ) are located on a transmission path of the illumination beam; after the illumination beam passes through the light splitting element (see 33 in fig.4), the illumination beam is incident on the quarter wave plate (see quarter wave plate of 37) and the reflective element (see 38 in fig.4) in sequence, and after being reflected by the reflective element, the illumination beam passes through the quarter wave plate (see the quarter wave plate of 37) and the light splitting element in sequence (see 33/335), wherein when the illumination beam passes through the quarter wave plate via the reflecting element (see the structure of fig.4), the illumination beam has a second linear polarization direction (see the operation of 36), and the first linear polarization direction is perpendicular to the second linear polarization direction (see the operation of polarization beam splitter 33/335), the homogenizing element (see 36) is disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam and located between the light splitting element (see 33/335) and the reflecting element (38 in fig.4), and the homogenizing element (see 36 in fig.4) is used to homogenize the illumination beam incident on the homogenizing element, and the illumination beam passes through the homogenizing element twice (see the operation in fig.4), wherein the light splitting element is used to let the illumination beam having a first linear polarization direction pass through (see the operation of 33/ 335) and used to reflect the illumination beam having a second linear polarization direction (see the operation in fig.4), wherein the homogenizing element is located between the light splitting element (see 335 and 33) and the quarter wave plate (see 37), wherein the homogenizing element is a fly eye lens (see 36 in fig.4).
With respect to claims 16-18, Chen discloses the projection device of claim 1, further comprising: a refractive element (see 34, 41, or 35 or comprised by 41a-f in fig.6), a light valve (see 39), and a projection lens (40), wherein after the illumination beam passes through the refractive element (see 34, 41 or 35 or comprised by 41a-f in fig.6), the illumination beam is incident on the light valve (see the light valve of 39), the light valve converts the illumination beam into an image beam (see the operation of 39), and the projection lens (see 40 in fig.4 or 5) is disposed on the transmission path of the image beam, wherein the refractive element is a lens (see the lens of 34, 35, or 41) or a curved mirror having a positive refractive power, further comprising a refractor (see 41), wherein the refractor is located on the transmission path of the illumination beam (see 34, 35 or 41), and the refractor (41) is located between the light splitting element (see 335) and the refractive element (comprised by 41a-f in fig.6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (JP 2015227998 A) in view of Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1).
With respect to claims 1-3 and 5, Maeda discloses a projection device (see fig.2), comprising: a light source device (1), wherein the light source device comprises: a light source (1), a light splitting element (2), a quarter wave plate (4), a reflective element (5), and a homogenizing element (3), wherein, the light source is used to emit an illumination beam (see 1), the illumination beam has a first linear polarization direction (see the operation of 1 and 2), and the light splitting element (see 2), the quarter wave plate (4 in fig.2), and the reflective element (5) are located on a transmission path of the illumination beam; after the illumination beam passes through the light splitting element, the illumination beam is incident on the quarter wave plate and the reflective element in sequence (see the configuration fig.2), and after being reflected by the reflective element, the illumination beam passes through the quarter wave plate and the light splitting element in sequence (again see the operation of fig.2), wherein when the illumination beam passes through the quarter wave plate via the reflecting element (see 4 and 5), the illumination beam has a second linear polarization direction, and the first linear polarization direction is perpendicular to the second linear polarization direction (see the S and P polarization of fig.2), the homogenizing element (3 in fig.2) is disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam and located between the light splitting element and the reflecting element, and the homogenizing element (3) is used to homogenize the illumination beam incident on the homogenizing element, and the illumination beam passes through the homogenizing element twice (see the position of 3), wherein the light splitting element is used to reflect the illumination beam having the first linear polarization direction and used to let the illumination beam having the second linear polarization direction pass through (again see the operation of fig.2), wherein the light source and the reflective element are located at a same side of the light splitting element (see the configuration of fig.2), wherein the light source and the reflective element are respectively located at two sides of the light splitting element (see wherein the side is defined the a axis of symmetry through the center of the reflection surface of fig.2).
But Maeda does not explicitly disclose wherein the illumination beam has at least two different colors of light.
Chen discloses wherein the illumination beam has at least two different colors of light (see 511-513).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Maeda in view of Chen so that wherein the illumination beam has at least two different colors of light to enhance the color gamut.
With respect to claim 16, Maeda in view of Chen discloses the projection device of claim 1, Maeda discloses further comprising: a refractive element, (5) a light valve (7), and a projection lens (see 1800 in fig.1), wherein after the illumination beam passes through the refractive element (5), the illumination beam is incident on the light valve (7), the light valve converts the illumination beam into an image beam, and the projection lens(see the projection lens of 1800 in fig.1) is disposed on the transmission path of the image beam.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1) in view of Van (CN 202011062515).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Chen discloses the projection device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the homogenizing element is located between the quarter wave plate and the reflective element, wherein the homogenizing element is a light guide pillar, wherein the homogenizing element is a light guide pillar.
Van discloses wherein the homogenizing element (see 1810 in fig.18) is located between the quarter wave plate (see 1808) and the reflective element (1806a), wherein the homogenizing element is a light guide pillar (see 1810).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the homogenizing system of Chen with the teaching of Van so that the homogenizing element is located between the quarter wave plate and the reflective element, wherein the homogenizing element is a light guide pillar, wherein the homogenizing element is a light guide pillar to enhance uniformity while preserving brightness.
With respect to claim 13, Chen in view of Van disclose the projection device of claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the reflective element (38 in Chen) is located at an end opposite to a light incident side of the homogenizing element (see 36 in fig.5 in view of Van).
With respect to claim 15, Chen in view of Van discloses the projection device of claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the illumination beam comprises two or more of a red light, a blue light, and a green light (see [0023]: FIG. 6 is a schematic view of another embodiment of a projection display apparatus of the invention. The projection display apparatus 70 of this embodiment is similar to that in FIG. 5. Similarly, the light source 71 includes a blue laser 711, a green laser 712, and a red laser 713, thus, there is no P-S converter in this embodiment.).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1) in view of Van (CN 202011062515) and Du (WO 2023115893).
With respect to claims 10 and 11, Chen in view of Van discloses the projection device of claim 9, but does not disclose wherein the light guide pillar is hollow or solid, wherein an opening area of the lightguide pillar at the reflective element side is A1 and an opening area of the light guide pillar at another side is A2, and A1 ≥ A2.
Du discloses wherein the light guide pillar is hollow or solid (see the para. starting with “The first light guide” : the first light guide 181 can be a solid light guide, and the light entrance and the light exit of the solid light guide are rectangles with the same shape and area), wherein an opening area of the lightguide pillar at one side is A1 and an opening area of the light guide pillar at another side is A2, and A1 ≥ A2 (see the para. starting with “The first light guide” : the first light guide 181 can be a solid light guide, and the light entrance and the light exit of the solid light guide are rectangles with the same shape and area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Van with the teaching of Du so that the light guide pillar is hollow or solid, wherein an opening area of the lightguide pillar at the reflective element side is A1 and an opening area of the light guide pillar at another side is A2, and A1 ≥ A2 to reduce cost by simplifying manufacture while maintaining the homogeneity of the light source.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1) in view of Van (CN 202011062515) and Yasui (United States Patent Publication 11, 720, 012 B2).
With respect to claim 12, Chen in view of Van discloses the projection device of claim 8, but does not disclose wherein a surface of the reflective element has a diffusion device.
Yasui discloses wherein a surface of the reflective element has a diffusion device (see 112 in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Van with the teaching of Yasui so that a surface of the reflective element has a diffusion device to improve uniformity.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1) in view of Van (CN 202011062515) and Tanaka (WO 2020012751 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Chen in view of Van discloses the projection device of claim 8, but does not disclose wherein a diffusion sheet located between the quarter wave plate and the homogenizing element.
Tanaka further comprising a diffusion sheet (37; See embodiment 1: 8th para.:” The second diffusion plate 37 has a diffusion angle of about 4 degrees for one transmission light to the diffusion surface, and maintains polarization characteristics”) located between the quarter wave plate (28) and the reflective element (see 39),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Van with the teaching of Tanaka so a diffusion sheet located between the quarter wave plate and the reflective element to improve uniformity while maintaining polarization characteristics.
Chen in view of Van and Tanaka does not explicitly disclose a diffusion sheet located between the quarter wave plate and the homogenizing element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Chen in view of Van and Tanaka so that a diffusion sheet located between the quarter wave plate and the homogenizing element, since it would predictably enhance uniformity and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1) in view of Van (CN 202011062515), Fujii (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0004279 A1) and Thomas (United States Patent Application Publication 20070206390 A1) .
With respect to claim 19, Chen in view of Van discloses the projection device of claim 16, but does not disclose the homogenizing element is located between the quarter wave plate and the reflective element, when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the light splitting element, the illumination beam is imaged at the reflective element, when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the reflective element, the illumination beam is imaged at the light valve.
Van discloses wherein the homogenizing element (see 1810 in fig.18) is located between the quarter wave plate (see 1808) and the reflective element (1806a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the homogenizing system of Chen with the teaching of Van so that the homogenizing element is located between the quarter wave plate and the reflective element to enhance uniformity while preserving brightness.
Chen in view of Van does not disclose when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the light splitting element, the illumination beam is imaged at the reflective element, when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the reflective element, the illumination beam is imaged at the light valve.
Fujii discloses the illumination beam is imaged at the reflective element (see para.[0250]: “the irradiation spot can be formed on the phosphor by disposing the phosphor on the phosphor wheel 17 at a position optically conjugate with the position of the light source 11a by adjusting the condenser lens 12, the condenser lens 16a, and the condenser lens 16b.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Van with the teaching of Fujii so that when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the light splitting element, the illumination beam is imaged at the reflective element to enhance light utilization efficiency and brightness.
Chen in view of Van and Fujii does not disclose when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the reflective element, the illumination beam is imaged at the light valve.
Thomas discloses the illumination beam is imaged at the light valve (see para.[0011]: “The near field of the collected and combined LED light is then imaged onto a video modulation device such as a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) form Texas Instruments or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Van, and Fujii with the teaching of Thomas so that when the illumination beam is incident on the homogenizing element via the reflective element, the illumination beam is imaged at the light valve to enhance light utilization efficiency and brightness.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (JP 2015227998 A) in view of Chen (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0213333 A1) and Homma (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0219821 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Maeda in view of Chen discloses the projection device of claim 16, but does not disclose further comprising a total reflection lens, wherein the total reflection lens is located on the transmission path of the illumination beam, and the total reflection lens is located between the refractive element and the light valve.
Homma discloses a total reflection lens (71 in fig.13), wherein the total reflection lens is located on the transmission path of the illumination beam (see the imaging beam of RGB in fig.13), and the total reflection lens is located between a refractive element (23) and the light valve (73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Maeda in view of Chen with Homma so that a total reflection lens, wherein the total reflection lens is located on the transmission path of the illumination beam, and the total reflection lens is located between the refractive element and the light valve to make the projection system more compact.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882