DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection is applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03-20-2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114464885 A hereinafter Chou in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0388884 hereinafter Kawakami and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0340739 hereinafter Klaehn.
Regarding Claim 1, Chou teaches a flame-retardant sodium-ion battery electrolyte (paragraph 4), the electrolyte comprising: trimethyl phosphate [TMP]; vinylene carbonate; bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether [BTFE] and (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)phosphate [TTFP] (paragraphs 4-11 and Examples 1-4).
Chou further teaches that the electrolyte comprises ester solvent and mixture solvent (paragraph 11 describes a mixing ratio including 1:9 to 4:1).
Chou teaches that the electrolyte comprises trimethyl phosphate [TMP] but does not specify tris(trimethylsilyl) phosphite.
However, Kawakami teaches an electrolyte for a sodium battery (paragraph 388), the electrolyte comprises tris(trimethylsilyl) phosphite (paragraph 155) and vinylene carbonate (paragraph 198). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a flame-retardant sodium-ion battery electrolyte that comprises such solvent combination as described above before the effective filing date of the claimed invention such configuration can form an organic flame-retardant electrolyte for sodium ion battery in order to improve the safety of the sodium ion battery (paragraph 4 of Chou).
In addition, the simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., tris(trimethylsilyl) phosphite for trimethyl phosphate [TMP]) is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Klaehn further teaches that the electrolyte can be used in a sodium-ion battery or a sodium metal battery (paragraphs 25, 57) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such energy storage device before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 2-4, the combination teaches that the fluoroether diluent is bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether [BTFE] and characterized in that, at 25°C, the solubility of sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide in the fluoroether diluent is expected to be less than 10g (paragraphs 4-11).
Regarding Claims 7-9, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises tris(trimethylsilyl) phosphite (paragraph 155 of Kawakami).
Regarding Claims 10-13, the combination teaches that the mixture solvent comprises a fluoroether diluent (bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether [BTFE]) and a flame retardant ((2,2,2-trifluoroethyl)phosphate [TTFP]) (paragraphs 4-11 and Examples 1-4).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises 5% to 60% of mixture solvent (paragraphs 4-11).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination teaches that the electrolyte comprises sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NaFSI) in an amount of 10% to 40% (paragraphs 4-11).
Regarding Claims 16-20, the combination teaches an electric apparatus comprising a sodium-ion secondary battery that includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte as described above (see Examples 1-4). In addition, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (see MPEP § 2143, A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752