CTNF 19/017,858 CTNF 84399 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 6 and 17, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Goldfarb et al. (US 2010/0022823; cited in parent application 15/154578) . Regarding claim 9 , Goldfarb et al. disclose a prosthetic device comprising: a spacer body (19/16; Figures 3 and 11B) having a non-cylindrical shape (16 has a non-cylindrical shape - Figure 3) and being configured to be positioned within a native valve orifice of a native valve having at least two native leaflets (Figures 1A-1C), the spacer body having an atrial end (at 17; Figure 1B), a ventricular end (distal end of 74; Figure 3), and a side surface; a pair of anchors (18/68; Figure 3), each anchor configured to secure the device to one of the native leaflets such that the spacer body is positioned between the at least two native leaflets (evident from Figures 3A-3C and 11B), wherein each anchor is attached to the spacer body at a location adjacent the ventricular end of the spacer body (Figure 11B) and configured to be positioned behind a native valve leaflet of the at least two native leaflets such that the native leaflet is captured between the anchor and the spacer body (evident from Figures 3A-3C and 11B); and wherein each anchor comprises a first foldable portion (18) having one end (see unlabeled hinge connecting ends 52 in Figure 3; ¶[0070]) connected to the ventricular end of the spacer body and a second foldable portion (68) having one end connected to an end cap (69; Figure 5B). Regarding claim 10 , the spacer body narrows as the spacer body extends from the atrial end to the ventricular end (e.g. members 16 narrow as claimed - Figure 7B). Regarding claim 11 , the spacer body is a bulbous spacer body (e.g. at 249; Figure 34B). Regarding claim 12 , the anchors are movable to a closed, fully deployed position (Figure 4B or 5B), wherein the first and second foldable portions are folded upwardly alongside the spacer body such that the native leaflets can be captured between the spacer body and the first and second foldable portions. Regarding claim 13 , the anchors are movable to at least one partially deployed state in which the anchors are partially folded (Figures 4B or 5B can each be regarded as partially folded). Regarding claim 14 , the anchors are adapted to be unfolded to a delivery configuration in which the end cap is spaced axially away from the spacer body (Figure 5B) and the first and second foldable portions are folded away from the spacer body. Regarding claim 15 , the side surface of the spacer body has a first radial distance (e.g. at 16 in Figure 3) from a longitudinal axis of the prosthetic spacer device at the atrial end, a second radial distance (e.g. at 74 in Figure 3) from the longitudinal axis of the prosthetic spacer device at the ventricular end, and a third radial distance (e.g. at distal end of members 16) from the longitudinal axis of the prosthetic spacer device at a location between the atrial end and the ventricular end. Regarding claim 16 , the device has a non-circular cross-sectional profile in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the prosthetic spacer device (e.g. at 18 in Figure 3). Regarding claim 18 , at least one securing member (100) having barbs (¶[0107]) is coupled to a respective anchor of the pair of anchors, wherein the at least one securing member is configured to engage native leaflet tissue and to secure the native leaflet tissue to the respective anchor . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldfarb et al. (US 2010/0022823) . Regarding claims 17 and 19 , Goldfarb et al. disclose a prosthetic device comprising: a spacer body configured (19/16; Figures 3 and 11B) to be positioned within a native valve orifice of a native valve having at least two native leaflets (Figures 1A-1C), the spacer body having an atrial end, a ventricular end, and a side surface; a pair of anchors (18), each anchor configured to secure the device to one of the native leaflets such that the spacer body is positioned between the at least two native leaflets (capable of this as evident from Figures 1A-1C and 11B); wherein each anchor is attached to the spacer body at a location adjacent the ventricular end of the spacer body (at unlabeled hinge on proximal ends 52 - Figure 3) and configured to be positioned behind a native valve leaflet of the at least two native leaflets such that the native leaflet is captured between the anchor and the spacer body (evident from Figures 1A-1C and 11B). Goldfarb et al. fail to disclose that the spacer body and the anchors comprise a metal braid or metal weave as claimed. Goldfarb et al. disclose providing the entire prosthetic device with a cloth made of titanium thread to enhance visibility (¶[0115]). Goldfarb et al. further disclose that a metallic threaded structure can be formed by weaving (¶[0092]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the entire prosthetic device of Goldfarb et al. with a braided cloth covering of titanium thread in order to enhance visibility of the device during deployment. Regarding claim 20 , the spacer body is a bulbous metal weave spacer body (it is bulbous at least due to members 104 in Figure 9B and a metal weave as explained above) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldfarb et al. (US 2006/0089671; hereinafter “Goldfarb ‘671”; cited in parent application 16/522600) in view of Goldfarb et al. (US 2010/0022823; hereinafter “Goldfarb ‘823”) . Regarding claim 1 , Goldfarb ‘671 discloses a prosthetic device (10; Figures 14A, 14B) comprising: a spacer body (19 or 19/16) having a cylindrical or non-cylindrical shape (it must be one or the other or both) and being configured to be positioned within a native valve orifice of a native valve having at least two native leaflets and to reduce and/or prevent regurgitation between native heart valve leaflets (Figures 3A-3C); a pair of anchors (53), each anchor configured to secure the device to one of the native leaflets such that the spacer body is positioned between the at least two native leaflets (evident from Figures 3A-3C; 14B and 16); wherein each anchor is configured to be positioned behind a native valve leaflet of the at least two native leaflets such that the native leaflet is captured between the anchor and the spacer body (evident from Figures 3A-3C; 14B and 16); at least two securing members (two members each being 130/132) having first end portions (at 134) that are coupled to first end portions of the anchors, and having hinge portions (at 136) disposed between the first end portions and opposite second end portions of the securing members, wherein the securing members are configured to pivot at the hinge portions to move the securing members from a first undeflected configuration to a second deflected configuration and vice versa (evident from Figures 14A and 14B). Goldfarb ‘671 fails to disclose that the securing members have a plurality of projections extending radially from the second end portions of the securing members. Goldfarb ‘823 discloses providing securing members (18) with projections (214) extending along a length of the securing members (Figure 26A) in order to better grip a heart valve leaflet (¶[0111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the securing members of Goldfarb ‘671 with the projections of Goldfarb ‘823 along the length of member 130 (including the second end portion) in order to improve gripping of a heart valve leaflet. Regarding claim 2 , the spacer body narrows as the spacer body extends from an atrial end to a ventricular end (members 16 narrow as claimed - Figure 10A of Goldfarb ‘671). Regarding claim 3 , the spacer body is a bulbous spacer body (e.g. at 69 in Figure 14A of Goldfarb ‘671). Regarding claim 4 , the prosthetic device has a non-circular cross-sectional profile in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the prosthetic spacer device (e.g. members 53 are c-shaped in this cross-section - Figure 3 of Goldfarb ‘671). Regarding claim 5 , the spacer body has an ovular cross-sectional shape or an elliptical cross-sectional shape (if taken at a non-perpendicular angle to the longitudinal axis). Regarding claim 6 , Goldfarb ‘671 fails to disclose that the spacer body and the anchors comprise a braided or weaved structure, such as a metal braid or weave. Goldfarb ‘823 discloses providing the entire prosthetic device with a cloth made of titanium thread to enhance visibility (¶[0115]). Goldfarb ‘823 further disclose that a metallic threaded structure can be formed by weaving (¶[0092]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and in view of Goldfarb ‘823 to have provided the entire prosthetic device of Goldfarb ‘671 with a braided cloth covering of titanium thread in order to enhance visibility of the device during deployment. Regarding claim 7 , the spacer body comprises a structure that is impervious to blood (metal; ¶[0059], [0060] of Goldfarb ‘671). Regarding claim 8 , Goldfarb ‘671 discloses that the spacer body is compressible to a radially compressed state (Figure 5B) and self-expandable to a radially expanded state (Figure 7B; ¶[0057]) when compressive pressure is released. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas McEvoy whose telephone number is (571) 270-5034 and direct fax number is (571) 270-6034 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:00 am – 6:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please contact the examiner’s supervisor, Elizabeth Houston at (571) 272-7134 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 2 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 4 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 5 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 6 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 7 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 8 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 19/017,858 Page 9 Art Unit: 3771