Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kosakai (JP 2006049352 A).
Regarding claim 2, Kosakai teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a member for a semiconductor manufacturing equipment (“plasma processing apparatus”) comprising a ceramic substrate (dielectric plate 21),
wherein the ceramic substrate comprises an upper surface (36) having a plurality of protrusions (protrusions 31) for placing a wafer (W), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (31) has an upper end surface (32a), and at least one of the upper end surfaces has a patterned concave-convex shape, wherein at least one of the upper end surfaces having the patterned concave-convex shape has a pattern composed of a plurality of dimples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai in view of Liao (US 11448955 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kosakai teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a member for a semiconductor manufacturing equipment (“plasma processing apparatus”) comprising a ceramic substrate (dielectric plate 21),
wherein the ceramic substrate comprises an upper surface (36) having a plurality of protrusions (protrusions 31) for placing a wafer (W), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (31) has an upper end surface (32a), and at least one of the upper end surfaces has a patterned concave-convex shape, wherein at least one of the upper end surfaces having the patterned concave-convex shape has a pattern composed of a plurality of dimples.
Liao teaches a mask support (Fig. 6F) with a plurality of streak-like convex portions extending from a center of gravity of the upper surface of the ceramic substrate toward an outer periphery (col. 8, lines 2-4: “as shown in FIG. 6F, the bumps viewed from the top direction are in a radial-strip distribution”; col. 8, lines 11-13: “ said patterns would make said surface uneven, so that the connection between the mask and the electrostatic chuck becomes more difficult”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make bumps/dimples of Kosakai streak-like convex shape. Doing so would reduce connection between the ceramic substrate and the wafer.
Regarding claims 4-5, both Kosakai and Liao teach the patterned concave-convex shape has a convex portion region and a concave portion region, the concave portion region has a first height, the convex portion region has a second height, the first height is lower than the second height. However they are silent regarding the claimed ratio.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the claimed ratio, based support gap needed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai in view of Park (KR 20020058558 A).
Regarding claim 3, Kosakai teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a member for a semiconductor manufacturing equipment (“plasma processing apparatus”) comprising a ceramic substrate (dielectric plate 21),
wherein the ceramic substrate comprises an upper surface (36) having a plurality of protrusions (protrusions 31) for placing a wafer (W), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (31) has an upper end surface (32a), and at least one of the upper end surfaces has a patterned concave-convex shape, wherein at least one of the upper end surfaces having the patterned concave-convex shape has a pattern composed of a plurality of dimples.
Park teaches a wafer supporting substrate (chuck 20) with a net-like convex portion in which a plurality of linear convex portions intersect (see Fig. 6) to reduce contact between the wafer and the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use net-like convex shape pattern to reduce contact between the wafer and the ceramic substrate.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai in view of Liao and Park.
Regarding claim 6, Kosakai teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a member for a semiconductor manufacturing equipment (“plasma processing apparatus”) comprising a ceramic substrate (dielectric plate 21),
wherein the ceramic substrate comprises an upper surface (36) having a plurality of protrusions (protrusions 31) for placing a wafer (W), wherein each of the plurality of protrusions (31) has an upper end surface (32a), and at least one of the upper end surfaces has a patterned concave-convex shape, wherein at least one of the upper end surfaces having the patterned concave-convex shape has a pattern composed of a plurality of dimples.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ichinose (CN 105408991 B) teaches wafer support with streak-like convex portions.
Sasaki (US 20070217114 A1) teaches ceramic wafer support with plurality of protrusions (31) and dimples (32).
Moriya (WO 2014156619 A1) teaches a ceramic substrate (2) with a plurality of dimples (42).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723