DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Application #19/017,918 filed on 13 January 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-8 recites the limitation "said rigid outer shell". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-15, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8,434,411 issued to Daoud et al (Daoud).
Regarding Claims 1, 11-12, Daoud discloses a device for producing focused explosions in a fluid, comprising:
a rigid outer shell (30);
an explosive body (fig.3) / filling (26) comprising a plurality of hollows lined with a coating of copper or aluminum or alloys (at least column 1 lines 19-21), extending inwardly along respective axes towards an apex (at least column 7 lines 2-5);
at least one detonation point within said explosive body, each axis and corresponding apex being aligned with at least one said detonation point (22/54, see fig.4 center point 52 of each liner aligning with center point 54); and
wherein said fluid extends inwardly of said hollows (see fig.7 inside area opposite charge 26).
Regarding Claims 2, 13, Daoud discloses hollows are symmetrical along an axis extending into said explosive filling and/or cone shaped (see fig.7).
Regarding Claims 3, 14, Daoud discloses the hollows have bases at the surface of the explosive filling each base having a respective radius (see figs. 3, 7).
Regarding Claims 4, 15, Daoud discloses the explosive filling is covered with an outer coating extending into said hollows (at least column 6 lines 54-55 disclose the housing 30 is fabricated from aluminum; and the liners 36 into the hollows are coated with copper, aluminum, etc… see at least column 7 lines 27-35).
Regarding Claims 7, 18-19, Daoud discloses the rigid outer shell comprises one member of the group consisting of metal and comprises aluminum (at least column 6 lines 54-55).
Regarding Claim 8, Daoud discloses the rigid outer shell describes at least part of a sphere (see figure 3).
Regarding Claims 9-10, Daoud discloses the fluid is water and the device is configured for use in an underwater environment (at least column 3 lines 62-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,434,411 issued to Daoud et al (Daoud).
Regarding Claims 5, 16, Daoud discloses the explosive filling is covered with an outer coating but fails to disclose electroplating. However, the structural limitation is met, and the method of electroplating would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill as selecting one of a known number of options for applying the coating.
Regarding Claims 6, 17, Daoud discloses the outer coating comprises one member of the group consisting of copper and aluminum alloys (at least column 6 lines 54-55 disclose the housing 30 is fabricated from aluminum; and the liners 36 into the hollows are coated with copper, aluminum, etc… see at least column 7 lines 27-35).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,196,532. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patent contains all of the claimed limitations with the exception of claims 9-10. However, utilizing the patented invention in any environment would have been an obvious use and the intended use of an apparatus without a structural difference would have been rendered obvious by the patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for pertinent art.
/JOHN COOPER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641