Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akkarakakaran et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 20200351047 A1.
Consider Claims 1 and 14 and 20 (see architecture in at least figure 2), Akkarakaran teaches a positioning reference signal (PRS) measurement method, comprising: performing, by a terminal, PRS measurement on at least one of a plurality of carriers to obtain a positioning measurement result when the terminal is configured to simultaneously perform PRS measurement on the plurality of carriers, wherein the positioning measurement result is used for positioning the terminal (e.g., see figures 6-9 - UE transmits capability – BS transmits the PRS that spans multiple component carriers – the UE may generate a timing measurement a timing measurement report to the base station- the BS may determine location estimation for the UE- see at least 0175-0302).
Consider Claims 9, Akkarakaran teaches positioning reference signal (PRS) measurement method, comprising: receiving, by a network side device, a positioning measurement result sent by a terminal, wherein the positioning measurement result is a result obtained by performing PRS measurement on at least one of a plurality of carriers when the terminal is configured to simultaneously perform PRS measurement on the plurality of carriers; and positioning, by the network side device, the terminal based on the positioning measurement result(e.g., see figures 6-9 - UE transmits capability – BS transmits the PRS that spans multiple component carriers – the UE may generate a timing measurement a timing measurement report to the base station- the BS may determine location estimation for the UE- see at least 0175-0302 ).
Consider Claims 2, 10 and 15, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the positioning measurement result comprises at least one of the following: a reference signal time difference (RSTD); a receiving and sending time difference between receiving a PRS and sending an uplink reference signal by the terminal; positioning reference signal-reference signal received power (PRS-RSRP); positioning reference signal-reference signal received path power (PRS-RSRPP); or a carrier phase (e.g., this is met based on the timing information at least 0149).
Consider Claims 3, 11 and 16, Akkarakaran teaches wherein carrier aggregation of the plurality of carriers comprises one of the following: intra-band contiguous carrier aggregation; intra-band non-contiguous carrier aggregation; or inter-band carrier aggregation (e.g., see at least intra-band 0049, 0060 and 0176 - :For instance, base station 105-e may transmit one or more PRS spanning different component carriers, but may use a different radio frequency chain for each of the multiple component carriers (e.g., in inter-band carrier aggregation cases, or in intra-band carrier aggregation cases when using frequencies included in a first frequency range FR1 in NR”).
Consider Claims 4, 13 and 17 Akkarakaran teaches wherein when the carrier aggregation comprises the intra-band contiguous carrier aggregation, a PRS on each carrier meets at least one of the following: having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS); having a same cyclic prefix (CP) type; having a same reference point; having a same PRS periodicity;having a same slot offset within a PRS periodicity;having a same PRS resource repetition factor;having a same system frame number (SFN);being in a same slot;being on a same symbol;having a same comb size; or having a same PRS sequence (e.g., see at least slots and symbol periods noted in at least 0224).
Consider Claims 5, 12 and 18, Akkarakaran teaches wherein before the performing, by a terminal, PRS measurement on at least one of a plurality of carriers, further comprising: sending, by the terminal, first capability information of the terminal to a network side device when the carrier aggregation comprises the intra-band contiguous carrier aggregation, wherein the first capability information of the terminal comprises at least one of the following: a frequency band in which the terminal supports positioning by using multi-carrier aggregation; a quantity of carriers on which the terminal supports positioning by using multi-carrier aggregation; or a maximum bandwidth on which the terminal supports positioning by using multi- carrier aggregation(e.g., see figures 6-9 - UE transmits capability – BS transmits the PRS that spans multiple component carriers – the UE may generate a timing measurement a timing measurement report to the base station- the BS may determine location estimation for the UE- see at least 0175-0302 ).
Consider Claims 6 and 19, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, PRS measurement on at least one of a plurality of carriers comprises: for each of the carrier aggregation, performing, by the terminal, PRS measurement on one of the plurality of carriers to obtain the positioning measurement result; or performing, by the terminal, PRS measurement on the plurality of carriers to obtain a measurement result corresponding to each PRS, and determining the positioning measurement result based on a measurement result corresponding to at least one of a plurality of PRSs(e.g., see figures 6-9 - UE transmits capability – BS transmits the PRS that spans multiple component carriers – the UE may generate a timing measurement a timing measurement report to the base station- the BS may determine location estimation for the UE- see at least 0175-0302 ).
Consider Claims 7, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, PRS measurement on at least one of a plurality of carriers comprises: performing, by the terminal, PRS measurement on the at least one of the plurality of carriers during PRS measurement time(e.g., see figures 6-9 - UE transmits capability – BS transmits the PRS that spans multiple component carriers – the UE may generate a timing measurement a timing measurement report to the base station- the BS may determine location estimation for the UE- see at least 0175-0302 ).
Consider Claims 8, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the PRS measurement time is determined based on the following parameters: a PRS periodicity, a duration of an available PRS resource, and a maximum quantity of PRS resources in a slot, wherein: the PRS periodicity is a least common multiple of PRS periodicities on all carriers; the duration of the available PRS resource is a largest value among durations of PRS resources on all carriers; and the maximum quantity of PRS resources in the slot is a largest value among quantities of PRS resources in all slots on all carriers(e.g., see at least slots and symbol periods noted in at least 0224).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TW 202027544 A teaches determining a location of a mobile device are provided. An example of a method according to the disclosure includes determining, on the mobile device, beam identification information for one or more radio beams, transmitting, with the mobile device, the beam identification information to a network node, receiving, at the mobile device, positioning reference signal beam information for one or more positioning reference signals, generating, with the mobile device, one or more receive beams based on the positioning reference signal beam information, obtaining, with the mobile device, at least one measurement from at least one of the one or more positioning reference signals, and facilitating location determination of the mobile device at a location-capable device based at least in part on the at least one measurement.
US 20240284211 A1 teaches a positioning signal measurement method includes: transmitting, from a user equipment to a network entity, a positioning measurement gap indication corresponding to a positioning measurement gap supported by the user equipment for measurement of a positioning reference signal; receiving, at the user equipment from the network entity, an indication of a scheduled positioning measurement gap; receiving, at the user equipment, the positioning reference signal; and measuring, at the user equipment, the positioning reference signal.
US 20240357538 A1 teaches a user equipment (UE) may receive a first indication to perform a first positioning measurement having a first measurement method type and targeting a first positioning frequency layer (PFL). The UE may receive, prior to completion of measurements associated with the first positioning measurement, a second indication to perform a second positioning measurement having a second measurement method type and targeting a second PFL. The UE may determine an order in which to perform the measurements associated with the first indication and measurements associated with the second indication. The UE may perform the measurements associated with the first indication and the measurements associated with the second indication according to the order.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646