DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to communication(s) filed on 01/13/2025. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Double Patenting
The table below enumerates the status of the instant claims with respect to the claims of the US Patent 12,405,749. The highlighted portion shows the difference.
Status
Instant Claims
US Patent 12,405,749
Obvious in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625
1. A system, comprising: a plurality of memory devices; a processing device operatively coupled to the memory devices, the processing device to perform operations, comprising: receiving a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream, the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
1. A system, comprising: a plurality of memory devices; a processing device operatively coupled to the memory devices, the processing device to: receive a write command specifying a data item and an identifier of a data stream comprising the data item; determine, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute shared by data items comprised by the data stream; apply a configurable rule that, responsive to evaluating a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute, identifies, among the plurality of memory devices, a memory device corresponding to the data stream attribute, wherein evaluating the logical expression further comprises: comparing the data stream attribute to each of a plurality of constant values to determine a corresponding memory device type from a group comprising: Not-And (NAND) flash memory for data stream attributes matching a first logical condition comprising a first constant value, Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM) for data stream attributes matching a second logical condition comprising a second constant value, and Static Random Access Memory (SRAM) for data stream attributes matching a third logical condition comprising a third constant value; and transmit, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
Same scope
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the storage media type is represented by one of: negative- and (NAND) flash memory, dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), or 3D cross point memory.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the storage media type is represented by one of: negative-and (NAND) flash memory, dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), or 3D cross point memory.
Same scope
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
5. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
Same scope
6. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
Claim 1.
Same scope
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
8. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
Obvious in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625
9. A method, comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream, the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
8. A method, comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a write command specifying a data item and an identifier of a data stream comprising the data item; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute shared by data items comprised by the data stream; applying a configurable rule that, responsive to evaluating a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute, identifies, among a plurality of memory devices, a memory device corresponding to the data stream attribute, wherein evaluating the logical expression comprises: comparing the data stream attribute to each of a plurality of constant values to determine a corresponding memory device type from a group comprising: Not-And (NAND) flash memory for data stream attributes matching a first logical condition comprising a first constant value, Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM) for data stream attributes matching a second logical condition comprising a second constant value, and Static Random Access Memory (SRAM) for data stream attributes matching a third logical condition comprising a third constant value; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
Same scope
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
12. The method of claim 9, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
Same scope
13. The method of claim 9, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
Claim 8.
Same scope
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
15. The method of claim 9, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
Obvious in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations, comprising: receiving a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream, the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
14. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to: receive a write command specifying a data item and an identifier of a data stream comprising the data item; determine, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute shared by data items comprised by the data stream; apply a configurable rule that, responsive to evaluating a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute, identifies, among a plurality of memory devices, a memory device corresponding to the data stream attribute, wherein evaluating the logical expression comprises: comparing the data stream attribute to each of a plurality of constant values to determine a corresponding memory device type from a group comprising: Not-And (NAND) flash memory for data stream attributes matching a first logical condition comprising a first constant value, Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM) for data stream attributes matching a second logical condition comprising a second constant value, and Static Random Access Memory (SRAM) for data stream attributes matching a third logical condition comprising a third constant value; and transmit, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
Same scope
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
Same scope
20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
Claim 14.
As shown above, all instant dependent claims have the same scope with respect to the claims of the patents.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,405,749 in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625 (“Pandurangan”).
As per independent claims 1, 9, and 16, taking claim 1 as exemplary, Pandurangan teaches the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item (“A write command may contain one or more data items.” Para 0038), wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream (“the attribute code is a stream identifier classifying the write command into one of a plurality of categories based on estimated data item lifetime.” Para 0009).
Given the teaching of Pandurangan, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the US Patent with “the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream”.
The table below enumerates the status of the instant claims with respect to the claims of the US Patent 11,803,325. The highlighted portion shows the difference.
Status
Instant Claims
US Patent 11,803,325
Obvious in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625
1. A system, comprising: a plurality of memory devices; a processing device operatively coupled to the memory devices, the processing device to perform operations, comprising: receiving a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream, the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
1. A system, comprising: a plurality of memory devices; a processing device operatively coupled to the memory devices, the processing device to: receive a write command specifying a data item and an identifier of a data stream comprising the data item, wherein a bit string comprising a pre-defined number of bits of the identifier of the data stream specifies a data stream attribute reflecting an anticipated retention time of data items comprised by the data stream, wherein the bit string starts from a pre-defined bit position within the identifier of the data stream; determine, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, the data stream attribute shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identify, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmit, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
Same scope
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the storage media type is represented by one of: negative- and (NAND) flash memory, dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), or 3D cross point memory.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the storage media type is represented by one of: negative-and (NAND) flash memory, dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), or 3D cross point memory.
Same scope
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
5. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
Same scope
6. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies a memory device to be utilized responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
Same scope
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream.
Claim 1.
Same scope
8. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
Claim 14
Obvious in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625
9. A method, comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream, the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
9. A method, comprising: receiving, by a processor, a plurality of data items to be written to a memory system; identifying, among the plurality of data items, a first data item and a second data item sharing a data stream attribute, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream; determining, based on the data stream attribute, a storage media type to be utilized for storing the first data item and the second data item; and transmitting, to a controller of the memory system, one or more write commands specifying data comprised by the first data item and the second data item, wherein each write command comprises a data stream identifier, and wherein the storage media type is encoded by a bit string comprising a pre-defined number of bits of the data stream identifier, wherein the bit string starts from a pre-defined bit position within the identifier of the data stream.
Same scope
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
Claim 9.
Same scope
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
Claim 9.
Same scope
12. The method of claim 9, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
Claim 9.
Same scope
13. The method of claim 9, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
Claim 6.
Same scope
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
15. The method of claim 9, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time.
Obvious in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations, comprising: receiving a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream, the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item, wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
7. A method, comprising: receiving a write command specifying a data item and an identifier of a data stream comprising the data item, wherein a bit string comprising a pre-defined number of bits of the identifier of the data stream specifies a data stream attribute shared by data items comprised by the data stream, wherein the bit string starts from a pre-defined bit position within the identifier of the data stream; determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, the data stream attribute shared by data items comprised by the data stream; identifying, using a memory data structure mapping data stream attribute values to corresponding memory device identifiers, a memory device corresponding to the data stream attribute; and transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item.
Same scope
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream.
Claim 7.
Same scope
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream.
Same scope
19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device.
Same scope
20. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies a memory device to be utilized responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,325 in view of Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625 (“Pandurangan”).
See page 10 of this Office Action for the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandurangan et al. US 2017/0242625 (“Pandurangan”) in view of Lee et al. US 2019/0004736 (“Lee”).
As per independent claim 1, Pandurangan teaches A system (“a host 100 is connected to a solid state drive (SSD) 105,” para 0035 and FIG. 1A), comprising:
a plurality of memory devices (“A flash memory 125 in the solid state drive 105”, para 0035 and FIG. 1A. “the solid state drive 105 contains a quantity of non-flash memory such as DRAM 140”, para 0040 and FIG. 1A);
a processing device operatively coupled to the memory devices (“a storage controller 130 (e.g., a microcontroller) in the solid state drive 105.” Para 0036 and FIG. 1A), the processing device to perform operations (“The storage controller 130, under the control of firmware in the solid state drive 105, may manage the DRAM 140, e.g., it may perform read, write, erase and refresh operations on the DRAM 140.” Para 0040 and FIG. 1A), comprising:
receiving a write command specifying a data item and comprising a dedicated field specifying an identifier of a data stream (“the storage controller 130 may assign dedicated stream identifiers to the DRAM 140, so that when a write command including one of these dedicated stream identifiers is received, the solid state drive 105 will save the data item in the write command into the DRAM 140, if possible.” Para 0047 and FIG. 1A), the data stream comprising a plurality of data items including the data item (“A write command may contain one or more data items.” Para 0038), wherein the identifier of the data stream is enhanced by one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream (“the attribute code is a stream identifier classifying the write command into one of a plurality of categories based on estimated data item lifetime.” Para 0009);
determining, by parsing the identifier of the data stream, a data stream attribute of the one or more data stream attributes shared by data items comprised by the data stream (“the attribute code is a stream identifier”, para 0009. “Referring to FIG. 3 … a stream identifier may be a 16-bit unsigned integer, and the two most significant bits (MSBs) 310 may be reserved to communicate lifetime codes, with, e.g., the value 00b … indicating cold data items … the value 01b … indicating warm data items, and the value 10b … indicating hot data items.” Para 0048 and FIG. 3);
identifying, based on the data stream attribute, a memory device managed by the processing device (“the estimated lifetime is compared, in an act 230, to the lifetime threshold. If the estimated lifetime is longer than the lifetime threshold, the data item is saved in the flash memory 125; otherwise it is saved in the DRAM 140.” Para 0046 and FIG. 2).
Pandurangan inherently teaches “transmit, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item” since stream data is eventually written or programmed to flash memory or non-flash memory. For explicit teaching of transmitting or transferring data to a memory device, an analogous art in the same field of endeavor, Lee is cited herein.
Lee teaches transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item (“the program unit data accumulated with regard to the stream identifier of “1” may be transferred to a memory area which is indicated by the allocated physical address of the memory region MR1.” Para 0103).
Given the teaching of Lee, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Pandurangan with “transmitting, to the memory device, an instruction specifying the data item”. The motivation would be that the cost of manufacturing a storage device may decrease, para 0011 of Lee.
As per dependent claim 2, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Pandurangan teaches wherein the data stream attribute specifies a storage media type to be utilized for storing data items comprised by the data stream (“the storage controller 130 may assign dedicated stream identifiers to the DRAM 140, so that when a write command including one of these dedicated stream identifiers is received, the solid state drive 105 will save the data item in the write command into the DRAM 140, if possible.” Para 0047 and FIG. 1A).
As per dependent claim 3, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 2. Pandurangan teaches wherein the storage media type is represented by one of: negative- and (NAND) flash memory (NAND flash memory, para 0037 and FIG. 1A), dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (DRAM 140, para 0040 and FIG. 1A), static random access memory (SRAM) (SRAM, para 0040 and FIG. 1A), or 3D cross point memory.
As per dependent claim 5, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Pandurangan teaches wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: mapping, using a memory data structure, the data stream attribute to an identifier of the memory device (“the storage controller 130 may assign dedicated stream identifiers to the DRAM 140, so that when a write command including one of these dedicated stream identifiers is received, the solid state drive 105 will save the data item in the write command into the DRAM 140, if possible.” Para 0047 and FIG. 1A).
As per dependent claim 6, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Pandurangan teaches wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: applying a configurable rule that specifies a logical expression dependent upon the data stream attribute and identifies the memory device responsive to successfully evaluating the logical expression (“the attribute code is a stream identifier”, para 0009. “Referring to FIG. 3 … a stream identifier may be a 16-bit unsigned integer, and the two most significant bits (MSBs) 310 may be reserved to communicate lifetime codes, with, e.g., the value 00b … indicating cold data items … the value 01b … indicating warm data items, and the value 10b … indicating hot data items.” Para 0048 and FIG. 3. It is noted that each bit pattern noted above constitutes a logical expression since each bit pattern corresponds to a min-term).
As per dependent claim 7, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Pandurangan teaches wherein the data stream attribute reflects a media usage pattern of the data items comprised by the data stream (“the storing of the data item in the flash memory or in the non-flash memory, based on the attribute code includes: inferring an estimated lifetime of the data item from the attribute code; storing the data item in the flash memory when the estimated lifetime is greater than a lifetime threshold; and storing the data item in the non-flash memory when the estimated lifetime is not greater than a lifetime threshold.” Para 0010).
As per dependent claim 8, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Pandurangan teaches wherein identifying the memory device further comprises: choosing a low latency memory device for the data stream responsive to determining that the data stream attribute specifies a low anticipated retention time (“storing the data item in the flash memory when the estimated lifetime is greater than a lifetime threshold; and storing the data item in the non-flash memory when the estimated lifetime is not greater than a lifetime threshold.” Para 0010. For example, “the solid state drive 105 writes hot data items to the DRAM 140, and writes other data items (warm or cold data items) to physical blocks 110 in the flash memory.” Para 0041 and FIG. 1A).
As per claims 9-10 and 12-15, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected claims 1-2 and 5-8.
As per claims 16-17 and 19-20, these claims are respectively rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected claims 1-2 and 5-6. For computer program product on a non-transitory computer readable medium, see para 0055 of Pandurangan.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandurangan in view of Lee and in further view of Thomas et al. US 2017/0285948 (“Thomas”).
As per dependent claim 4, Pandurangan in combination with Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Pandurangan and Lee may not explicitly disclose, but in an analogous art in the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream (“One example of how the controller 102 may map the access frequency attribute information of Table 1 to a data type classification is shown in Table 2.” Para 0053. See Table 2 for details).
Given the teaching of Thomas, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Pandurangan and Lee with “wherein the data stream attribute further specifies a workload type of data items comprised by the data stream”. The motivation would be that the accuracy of selecting the coldest data for filling heavily worn blocks may be improved, para 0063 of Thomas.
As per dependent claims 11 and 18, these claims are rejected based on arguments provided above for similar rejected claim 4.
Conclusion
/ZUBAIR AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132