Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crosson (US 20220271623 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Crosson discloses an electric motor comprising: a stator having a stator core (fig. 3, stator 128), a plurality of stator teeth extending radially from the stator core, and a plurality of windings wound around the plurality of stator teeth (figs. 2-3, 31, windings wrapped around stator 128); a rotor rotatably positioned relative to the stator and having a rotor core (fig. 2-3, rotor 126) and a plurality of permanent magnets secured to the rotor core in magnetic interface with the plurality of stator windings (fig. 19, magnets 188); a motor spindle coupled to the rotor and extending along a center axis (fig. 2, shaft 130); a first end cap formed on a first side of the stator (fig. 2, bracket 108); a second end cap formed on a second side of the stator and secured to the first end cap to form a compartment around the stator and the rotor (fig. 2, second housing portion 110); a plurality of motor wires electrically coupled to the plurality of stator windings (paragraph 77 “Stator 128 and electrical components 136 are connected with wiring”) and extending out of the compartment through a wire lid (fig. 3, second housing portion 114); and a terminal box mounted to the wire lid to receive the plurality of motor wires (fig. 3, terminal box 104), the terminal box comprising a box base fastened to the second end cap and forming a first sealed coupling to the wire lid (fig. 3, base 138), and a cover that makes a second sealing coupling with the box base (fig. 3, lid 140), wherein the terminal box is arranged to receive a plurality of power wires external to the electric motor and electrically couple the plurality of power wires to the plurality of motor wires within the box base (paragraph 43 and throughout “the terminal box 104 are electrically coupled to the plurality of electrical components 136 within the second compartment 132 by a second plurality of wires extending through the second compartment 132 and into the terminal box 104.”).
With respect to claim 2, Crosson discloses: a plurality of stator terminals electrically coupled to the plurality of windings and projecting axially from the stator through at least one slot of formed in the second end cap such that a distal end of the plurality of stator terminals projects from a surface of the second end cap facing away from the stator (paragraph 77 “Stator 128 and electrical components 136 are connected with wiring (not shown) that extends through guide structure 234 of mid-frame 112.”), wherein the plurality of power wires is coupled to the distal end of the plurality of stator terminals to supply electric power to the plurality of stator windings via the plurality of stator terminals (paragraph 78 “The mid-frame 112 includes a guide structure 234 for guiding a plurality of wires through the second compartment 132 toward the electrical component 136”); and a motor cover mounted on the second end cap to form a second compartment around the distal end of the plurality of stator terminals and at least a portion of the plurality of power wires (fig. 3 and fig. 30, mid-frame 112).
With respect to claim 3, Crosson discloses the first end cap, the second end cap, and the motor cover form a substantially watertight seal around the stator, the rotor, and the position sensor assembly (paragraph 50 “the first end and the second end overlap with opposing ends of the groove 164 to prevent moisture ingress into the housing 106.”).
With respect to claim 4, Crosson discloses the wire lid is formed at least partially by the motor cover (see figures 2-3, second housing portion 114 and mid-frame 112 combine to interface with terminal box 104).
With respect to claim 6, Crosson discloses the box base includes a first face shaped to be mounted on an outer surface of the second end cap (fig. 7, outer wall 160), and a second face opposite the first face and including a peripheral wall forming a compartment (fig. 7, troughs 148), the box base further including an opening between the first face and the second face through which the plurality of motor wires is received into the compartment (fig. 5, opening 154).
With respect to claim 7, Crosson discloses the cover is mounted around the peripheral wall with a layer of sealing material in between to make the second sealing coupling (paragraph 46 “Specifically, outer wall 160 extends about the perimeter of inner walls 158 and forms a partial seal between terminal box 104 and housing 106”).
With respect to claim 9, Crosson discloses the box base includes a plurality of interior walls forming channels for electrical connections between the respective ones of the plurality of motor wires and the plurality of power wires (paragraph 45 “The rise portion 152 is defined between troughs 148 and includes a central opening 154 that allows for wiring to extend therethrough to drive components 136 within second housing portion 132”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosson in view of Fujii (US 20230191645 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Crosson teaches the above-mentioned limitations, but does not teach “a grommet disposed around the plurality of motor wires within the wire lid, wherein the grommet includes a seal lip comprising elastically-deformable material projecting out of an end of the wire lid, and wherein the box base is pressed against the seal lip to make the first sealed coupling.”
Fujii teaches a grommet disposed around the plurality of motor wires within the wire lid (fig. 4, seal 23), wherein the grommet includes a seal lip comprising elastically-deformable material projecting out of an end of the wire lid (fig. 3, seal 23 projects out of press assembly 24, paragraph 104 “The seal 23 is formed from rubber.”), and wherein the box base is pressed against the seal lip to make the first sealed coupling (paragraph 104 “the seal 23 seals between each power line 46 and the motor case 13.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor of Crosson with the grommet of Fujii in to further seal the electronic components from ingress or egress thereby protecting the electronics from damage.
With respect to claim 8, Crosson teaches the plurality of power wires is received through a recessed portion of the peripheral wall (fig. 5, opening 154).
Crosson does not teach “a grommet disposed around the plurality of power wires and captured within the recessed portion.”
Fujii teaches a grommet disposed around the plurality of power wires and captured within the recessed portion (fig. 3, seal 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor of Crosson with the grommet of Fujii in to further seal the electronic components from ingress or egress thereby protecting the electronics from damage.
With respect to claim 10, Crosson teaches a power tool comprising: a primary housing (fig. 1, housing 106); an electric motor mounted on the primary housing (fig. 1, motor assembly 100) and drivably coupled to an output mechanism wherein the electric motor comprises: a stator having a stator core (), a plurality of stator teeth extending radially from the stator core (fig. 3, stator 128), and a plurality of windings wound around the plurality of stator teeth (figs. 2-3, 31, windings wrapped around stator 128); a rotor rotatably positioned relative to the stator and having a rotor core (fig. 2-3, rotor 126) and a plurality of permanent magnets secured to the rotor core in magnetic interface with the plurality of stator windings (fig. 19, magnets 188); a motor spindle coupled to the rotor and extending along a center axis (fig. 2, shaft 130); a first end cap formed on a first side of the stator and mounted to the primary housing (fig. 2, bracket 108); a second end cap formed on a second side of the stator and secured to the first end cap to form a compartment around the stator and the rotor (fig. 2, second housing portion 110); a plurality of motor wires electrically coupled to the plurality of stator windings and extending out of the compartment through a wire lid (paragraph 77 “Stator 128 and electrical components 136 are connected with wiring”); and a terminal box mounted to the wire lid to receive the plurality of motor wires (fig. 3, terminal box 104), the terminal box comprising a box base fastened to the second end cap and forming a first sealed coupling to the wire lid (fig. 3, base 138), and a cover that makes a second sealing coupling with the box base (fig. 3, lid 140), wherein the terminal box is arranged to receive a plurality of power wires from the control module and electrically couple the plurality of power wires to the plurality of motor wires within the box base (paragraph 43 and throughout “the terminal box 104 are electrically coupled to the plurality of electrical components 136 within the second compartment 132 by a second plurality of wires extending through the second compartment 132 and into the terminal box 104.”).
Crosson does not teach “a battery compartment that receives a removable battery pack and a control housing that supports a control module configured to regulate supply of electric power from the removeable battery pack to the electric motor.”
Fujii teaches a battery compartment that receives a removable battery pack ( paragraph 36 “the battery holder 15 holds a battery pack (not shown). The battery holder 15 includes a battery mount to which the battery pack is attached. The battery holder 15 holds the battery pack with the battery mount in between. The battery holder 15 is connected to the rear end of the motor compartment 14. The battery cover 5 covers the battery pack held in the battery holder 15.”); and a control housing that supports a control module configured to regulate supply of electric power from the removeable battery pack to the electric motor (fig. 1 and paragraph 45 “The controller 6 outputs control signals for controlling the electric work machine 1. The controller 6 controls a drive current supplied from the battery pack to the motor 12. The controller 6 is accommodated in the motor compartment 14.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor of Crosson with the removable battery and battery control of Fujii in order to power the motor such that it can be used for work.
With respect to claim 11, Crosson teaches the above-mentioned limitations, but does not teach “a handle mounted to the primary housing, wherein the handle supports the control housing proximate the terminal box”
Fujii teaches a handle mounted to the primary housing, wherein the handle supports the control housing proximate the terminal box (fig. 1, front grip 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor of Crosson with the handle and control of Fujii in order to control the motor such that it can be used for work.
With respect to claim 12, Crosson in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Crosson further teaches the electric motor further comprises: a plurality of stator terminals electrically coupled to the plurality of windings and projecting axially from the stator through at least one slot of formed in the second end cap such that a distal end of the plurality of stator terminals projects from a surface of the second end cap facing away from the stator (paragraph 77 “Stator 128 and electrical components 136 are connected with wiring (not shown) that extends through guide structure 234 of mid-frame 112.”), wherein the plurality of power wires is coupled to the distal end of the plurality of stator terminals to supply electric power to the plurality of stator windings via the plurality of stator terminals (paragraph 78 “The mid-frame 112 includes a guide structure 234 for guiding a plurality of wires through the second compartment 132 toward the electrical component 136”); and a motor cover mounted on the second end cap to form a second compartment around the distal end of the plurality of stator terminals and at least a portion of the plurality of power wires (fig. 3 and fig. 30, mid-frame 112).
With respect to claim 13, Crosson in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Crosson further teaches the first end cap, the second end cap, and the motor cover form a substantially watertight seal around the stator, the rotor, and the position sensor assembly (paragraph 50 “the first end and the second end overlap with opposing ends of the groove 164 to prevent moisture ingress into the housing 106.”).
With respect to claim 14, Crosson in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Crosson further teaches the wire lid is formed at least partially by the motor cover (see figures 2-3, second housing portion 114 and mid-frame 112 combine to interface with terminal box 104).
With respect to claim 15, Crosson teaches the above-mentioned limitations, but does not teach “a grommet disposed around the plurality of motor wires within the wire lid, wherein the grommet includes a seal lip comprising elastically-deformable material projecting out of an end of the wire lid, and wherein the box base is pressed against the seal lip to make the first sealed coupling.”
Fujii teaches a grommet disposed around the plurality of motor wires within the wire lid (fig. 4, seal 23), wherein the grommet includes a seal lip comprising elastically-deformable material projecting out of an end of the wire lid (fig. 3, seal 23 projects out of press assembly 24, paragraph 104 “The seal 23 is formed from rubber.”), and wherein the box base is pressed against the seal lip to make the first sealed coupling (paragraph 104 “the seal 23 seals between each power line 46 and the motor case 13.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor of Crosson with the grommet of Fujii in to further seal the electronic components from ingress or egress thereby protecting the electronics from damage.
With respect to claim 16, Crosson in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Crosson further teaches the box base includes a first face shaped to be mounted on an outer surface of the second end cap (fig. 7, outer wall 160), and a second face opposite the first face and including a peripheral wall forming a compartment (fig. 7, troughs 148), the box base further including an opening between the first face and the second face through which the plurality of motor wires is received into the compartment (fig. 5, opening 154).
With respect to claim 17, Crosson in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Crosson further teaches the cover is mounted around the peripheral wall with a layer of sealing material in between to make the second sealing coupling ((paragraph 46 “Specifically, outer wall 160 extends about the perimeter of inner walls 158 and forms a partial seal between terminal box 104 and housing 106”).
With respect to claim 18, Crosson teaches the plurality of power wires is received through a recessed portion of the peripheral wall (fig. 5, opening 154).
Crosson does not teach “a grommet disposed around the plurality of power wires and captured within the recessed portion.”
Fujii teaches a grommet disposed around the plurality of power wires and captured within the recessed portion (fig. 3, seal 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor of Crosson with the grommet of Fujii in to further seal the electronic components from ingress or egress thereby protecting the electronics from damage.
With respect to claim 19, Crosson in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Crosson further teaches the box base includes a plurality of interior walls forming channels for electrical connections between the respective ones of the plurality of motor wires and the plurality of power wires (paragraph 45 “The rise portion 152 is defined between troughs 148 and includes a central opening 154 that allows for wiring to extend therethrough to drive components 136 within second housing portion 132”).
Conclusion
/R.O.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834