DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
130
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0090], lines 12-13, the reference character 26’ was used to describe both the gaps/chambers and the panel.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 1, the recitation “claim 11” appears to be a typo since claim 10 cannot depend from claim 11 and appears should depend from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation of claim 14 contradicts the recitation of claim 13. Claim 14 appears to broaden claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,439,716 to Larsen.
Regarding claim 1, a method of preparing a spacer for an insulated glazing unit, comprising roll-forming a metal sheet into an elongate unit (Column 4, line 60 – Column 5, line 5) comprising: an elongate corrugated portion (18) comprising two or more longitudinal ridges (ridges, Fig.4); a first elongate lateral wall (20 on left), having a major planar portion (vertical portion of 20) and extending from a first major edge of the corrugated portion (19); a second lateral elongate wall (opposite 20), having a major planar portion (vertical portion) and extending from a second major edge of the corrugated portion (opposite 19) in the same direction as the first elongate wall; a first lip (58, Fig.6) extending from the first elongate lateral wall opposite the corrugated portion and extending towards the second elongate lateral wall; and a second lip (58) extending from the second elongate lateral wall opposite the corrugated portion and extending towards the first elongate lateral wall and defining a gap (between 58 and 58, Fig.6) between the first lip and the second lip; the corrugated portion comprising two or more longitudinal ridges (left and right ridge X, X, Fig.4), with a first lateral valley portion (left horizontal portion) between and connecting the first elongate lateral wall (20) and an adjacent ridge (19) and defining a first lateral valley (left horizontal portion), a second lateral valley portion (right horizontal portion) between and connecting the second elongate lateral wall (20 on right, Fig.4) and an adjacent ridge (right 19) and defining a second lateral valley (right horizontal), and one or more central valley portions (lower portions between 92 and X) between and connecting adjacent longitudinal ridges and defining one or more central valleys (lower portions between 92 and X), each ridge comprising a plurality of walls (sidewalls of each ridge), with peak portions connecting adjacent walls (92).
Regarding claim 2, further comprising forming corner clearances in the metal sheet or roll-formed spacer at corner locations in the metal sheet or spacer (lower corners of Fig.4 have clearances).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising applying one or more adhesives (38) to the exterior side of the longitudinal walls.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising bending the spacer into a spacer frame using one or more internal dies (102, Fig.10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,439,716 to Larsen.
Regarding claim 6, Larsen discloses further comprising applying a desiccant matrix (42) to a central valley of the interior side of the formed spacer.
Larsen does not disclose no desiccant matrix applied to corner locations of the spacer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have reduced the amount of material needed to fill the spacer knowing that with less material/cost-saving leads to the spacer losing stiffness and strength of the metal spacer.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,439,716 to Larsen in view of US 9,428,953 B2 to Briese et al.
Regarding claim 3, Larsen does not disclose further comprising forming swaged ends in the metal sheet or roll-formed spacer.
Briese et al. discloses forming swaged ends (34) in the metal sheet or roll-formed spacer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the ends of the spacer of Larsen with swaged ends as taught by Briese et al. so to enable the manufacture of the spacer to be completed without additional keys or inserts, thereby allowing the ends to nest within one another providing a completed frame.
Regarding claim 4, Larsen does not specifically disclose cutting the spacer into a single frame length after roll-forming the spacer.
Briese et al. disclose cutting (110) the spacer into a single frame length after roll-forming the spacer (Fig.2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have cut the spacer frames to length post rolling so to enable multiple spacers to be rolled in one manufacturing step, thereby saving time and reducing costs of manufacture.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,439,716 to Larsen in view of US 2016/0108659 A1 to Stark et al.
Regarding claim 10, Larsen does not specifically disclose wherein the spacer is formed in a continuous, automated process in a single manufacturing line.
Stark discloses forming an evacuated glazing in an automated assembly (Paragraph [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the spacer of Larsen with a continuous, automated manufacturing process so to efficiently manufacture the spacers with a more precise and consistent output. Further, automated manufacturing lines can produce longer hours and increase productivity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No.12,264,533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elements of the instant claims are included within the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.11,859,439. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elements of the instant claims are included within the patented claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowable pending the Double Patenting rejection and the rejections under 112.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635