DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 20 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 August 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 13 January 2025 and 23 June 2025, have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received on 13 January 2025 are accepted.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears applicant is claiming the protective member is a mixture of a raw polymer material and a recycled polymer material. However, applicant’s written description at pages 2-3, paragraphs 0005-0006 and page 4, paragraph 0017, does not further define the term “a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material”. Thus, the examiner is not sure to what the metes and bounds of the claimed invention is since the written description fails to define “a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material”. Is “a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material” 99.9% resin material and 0.1% recycled material, 0.1% resin material and 99.9% recycled material, or somewhere in between? Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the term “a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material”.
2. Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being dependent upon claim 1 with the above addressed 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) problems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fascio (US 2011/0279588).
With respect to claim 1, Fascio discloses a liquid storage container comprising:
a storage member (Fig. 1, element 3) having a storage unit (Fig. 2, element 8) for storing a liquid (paragraph 0032) and a supply unit (Fig. 1, element 9) for supplying the liquid stored in the storage unit to an outside (paragraph 0002, i.e. large format inkjet printer); and
a protective member (Fig. 1, element 6) capable of being assembled to one end portion of the storage member (paragraph 0031),
wherein the protective member contains a recycled plastic material (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, Polyethylene, or Polypropylene) or a resin material mixed with a recycled plastic material, and has an opening (Fig. 2, element 6, i.e. central portion geometry) configured to expose the supply unit (paragraph 0032), and
wherein as the liquid storage container (Fig. 2, element 1) is viewed from a side on which the supply unit (Fig. 2, element 9) is provided, a central portion (Fig. 2, element 6, i.e. ribs) of a first side surface (Fig. 2, one portion of element 4) that is farthest from the supply unit exposed through the opening among side surfaces of the protective member (Fig. 2, element 6) has a convex shape (Fig. 2, elements 12, 14) in a direction farther away from the supply unit than an end portion (Fig. 2, element 17).
The examiner notes to applicant that the limitations concerning the “central portion”, “first side surface”, and “end portion” are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Fascio as applied above.
With respect to claim 2, Fascio discloses as the liquid storage container (Fig. 2, element 1) is viewed from the side on which the supply unit (Fig. 2, element 9) is provided, a second side surface (Fig. 2, another portion of element 4) that is closest to the supply unit exposed through the opening (Fig. 2, element 6, i.e. central portion geometry) among the side surfaces of the protective member (Fig. 2, element 6) faces the first side surface (Fig. 2, one portion of element 4).
With respect to claim 3, Fascio discloses the recycled plastic material (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, Polyethylene, or Polypropylene) has a Charpy impact value of 15 kJ/m2 or more (paragraph 0035, i.e. intrinsic property of the recycled plastic material). In addition, the examiner notes to applicant that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
With respect to claim 4, Fascio discloses the recycled plastic material (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, Polyethylene, or Polypropylene) has an MFR value of 10 g/10 min or more and 20 g/10 min or less (paragraph 0035, i.e. intrinsic property of the recycled plastic material). In addition, the examiner notes to applicant that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
With respect to claim 5, Fascio discloses the recycled plastic material (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, Polyethylene, or Polypropylene) has a flexural modulus of 2000 MPa or more and 3000 MPa or less (paragraph 0035, i.e. intrinsic property of the recycled plastic material). In addition, the examiner notes to applicant that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
With respect to claim 6, Fascio discloses the recycled plastic material (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, Polyethylene, or Polypropylene) has a Charpv impact value of 15 kJ/m2 or more, an MFR value of 10 g/10 min or more and 20 g/10 min or less, and a flexural modulus of 2000 MPa or more and 3000 MPa or less (paragraph 0035, i.e. intrinsic property of the recycled plastic material). In addition, the examiner notes to applicant that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
With respect to claim 7, Fascio discloses the recycled plastic material contains any of a polyethylene material, a polypropylene material, and a copolymer resin material of acrylonitrile, butadiene, and styrene (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, Polyethylene, or Polypropylene).
With respect to claim 8, Fascio discloses the recycled plastic material contains a copolymer resin material of acrylonitrile, butadiene, and styrene (paragraph 0035, i.e. Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene).
Conclusion
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
/GEOFFREY S MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 09/17/2026