Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO2024255580) in view of Buttner (WO2018178175).
As to independent claim 1, Xu teaches a chainsaw (100), comprising: a housing (10); a guide plate (22) having one end supported on the housing (10) and another end extending out of the housing (10) along a lengthwise direction of the housing (10); a chain (21) disposed around a periphery of the guide plate (22); a motor (200), having a rotor (220) and an output shaft (226) , configured to drive the chain (21) to cut as shown in figure 1;
However Xu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except an housing having an air guide portion configured to guide a heat dissipation airflow a position detection assembly configured to detect a position of the rotor comprising a magnetic member disposed on an end portion of the output shaft and a position sensor disposed on the air guide portion.
However Buttner teaches an housing (22) having an air guide portion (24) configured to guide a heat dissipation airflow a position detection assembly (42, 44) configured to detect a position of the rotor (14) comprising a magnetic member (38) disposed on an end portion of the output shaft (18) and a position sensor (44) disposed on the air guide portion (24) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu by using an housing having an air guide portion configured to guide a heat dissipation airflow a position detection assembly configured to detect a position of the rotor comprising a magnetic member disposed on an end portion of the output shaft and a position sensor disposed on the air guide portion, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
As to claim 4/1, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a fan disposed on the output shaft, wherein the fan is located between the magnetic member and the motor and the magnetic member is located between the position sensor and the fan along an axial direction of the output shaft.
However Buttner teaches a fan (48) disposed on the output shaft (18), wherein the fan (48) is located between the magnetic member (38) and the motor (10) and the magnetic member (38) is located between the position sensor (44) and the fan (48) along an axial direction of the output shaft (18) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using a fan disposed on the output shaft, wherein the fan is located between the magnetic member and the motor and the magnetic member is located between the position sensor and the fan along an axial direction of the output shaft, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
As to claim 6/1, Xu teaches wherein a straight line in which the output shaft (226) is located is substantially perpendicular to a plane where the guide plate (22) is located as shown n figure 1.
As to claim 7/1, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the housing comprises an air guide cover, and the air guide portion is located on the air guide cover.
Buttner teaches the housing (22) comprises an air guide cover (26), and the air guide portion (28) is located on the air guide cover (26) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using the housing comprises an air guide cover, and the air guide portion is located on the air guide cover, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
As to claim 8/7, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the air guide cover is formed with a slot away from the motor, the position sensor is disposed in the slot, and the slot has an opening through which a circuit cable and the heat dissipation airflow are capable of passing.
However Buttner teaches the air guide cover (26) is formed with a slot away from the motor (10), the position sensor (44) is disposed in the slot, and the slot has an opening through which a circuit cable (50) and the heat dissipation airflow are capable of passing as shown in figures 14 and 15, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using the air guide cover is formed with a slot away from the motor, the position sensor is disposed in the slot, and the slot has an opening through which a circuit cable and the heat dissipation airflow are capable of passing, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
As to claim 9/8, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the end portion of the output shaft mounted with the magnetic member at least partially extends into the slot.
However Buttner teaches the end portion of the output shaft (18) mounted with the magnetic member (44) at least partially extends into the slot as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using the end portion of the output shaft mounted with the magnetic member at least partially extends into the slot, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
As to claim 11/1, Xu teaches wherein output power of the chainsaw is greater than or equal to 1000 W (see page 3, line 20).
As to claim 13/1, Xu teaches wherein a power density of the motor is greater than 1000 W/kg (see page 3, line 30).
As to claim 14/1, Xu teaches wherein an outer diameter of the motor is larger than or equal to 50 mm (see page 5, line 9).
As to claim 15/1, Xu teaches wherein the motor (200) comprises a stator (210) and the rotor (220) that rotates relative to the stator (210), wherein a support member (240) comprising a rim portion (241) and a spoke portion (242) is disposed at a radial center of the stator (210) as shown in figures 14, 20-22 .
As to independent claim 20, Xu teaches a chainsaw (200), comprising: a housing (10) and a guide plate (22) having one end supported on the housing (10) and another end extending out of the housing (10) along a lengthwise direction of the housing (10); a chain (21) disposed around a periphery of the guide plate (22); a motor (200), having a rotor (220) and an output shaft (226), configured to drive the chain to cut as shown in figure 1.
However Xu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except an housing having an air guide portion configured to guide a heat dissipation airflow a position detection assembly configured to detect a position of the rotor comprising a magnetic member disposed on an end portion of the output shaft and a position sensor disposed on the air guide cover.
However Buttner teaches an housing (22) having an air guide portion (24) configured to guide a heat dissipation airflow a position detection assembly (42, 44) configured to detect a position of the rotor (14) comprising a magnetic member (38) disposed on an end portion of the output shaft (18) and a position sensor (44) disposed on the air guide cover (26) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu by using an housing having an air guide portion configured to guide a heat dissipation airflow a position detection assembly configured to detect a position of the rotor comprising a magnetic member disposed on an end portion of the output shaft and a position sensor disposed on the air guide cover, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO2024255580) and Buttner (WO2018178175) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Mori et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0351669).
As to claim 2/1, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein a mounting member capable of being mounted with the magnetic member is disposed on the end portion of the output shaft, and the magnetic member is connected to the end portion of the output shaft through the mounting member.
However Mori et al. teaches a mounting member (234) capable of being mounted with the magnetic member (232) is disposed on the end portion of the output shaft (22), and the magnetic member (232) is connected to the end portion of the output shaft (22) through the mounting member (234) as shown in figure 7, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using a mounting member capable of being mounted with the magnetic member is disposed on the end portion of the output shaft, and the magnetic member is connected to the end portion of the output shaft through the mounting member, as taught by Mori et al., to enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
As to claim 3/2, Xu and Buttner in view of Mori et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mounting member is sleeved on the end portion of the output shaft away from the chain and the guide plate and has a mounting slot into which the magnetic member is capable of being embedded.
However Mori et al. teaches the mounting member (234) is sleeved on the end portion of the output shaft (22) and has a mounting slot (234a) into which the magnetic member (232) is capable of being embedded as shown in figure 7, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu and Buttner in view of Mori et al. by using the mounting member is sleeved on the end portion of the output shaft away from the chain and the guide plate and has a mounting slot into which the magnetic member is capable of being embedded, as taught by Mori et al., to enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
As to claim 5/1, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein a projection of the magnetic member and a projection of the position sensor in an axial direction of the output shaft at least partially overlap.
However Mori et al. teaches a projection of the magnetic member (30) and a projection of the position sensor (40) in an axial direction of the output shaft (22) at least partially overlap as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using a projection of the magnetic member and a projection of the position sensor in an axial direction of the output shaft at least partially overlap, as taught by Mori et al., to enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO2024255580) and Buttner (WO2018178175) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Yamaoka (WO2022048532) and Buttner (WO2018178175).
As to claim 10/1, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a circuit board assembly and an oiler, wherein an orthographic projection of the motor and an orthographic projection of the oiler in a plane perpendicular to the guide plate are substantially within an orthographic projection of the circuit board assembly in the plane perpendicular to the guide plate.
However Yamaoka teaches an oiler (161), wherein an orthographic projection of the motor (181) and an orthographic projection of the oiler in a plane perpendicular to the guide plate (see figure 3 and 4) are substantially within an orthographic projection of in the plane perpendicular to the guide plate as shown n figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing a chain saw with a compact structure and convenient storage, which can be easily hung or stored.
Buttner teaches the output shaft (18) and the circuit member (42) is on the axis (16) , so it obvious an the same axis of the guide plate of Yamaoka as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner. by using a circuit board assembly and an oiler, wherein an orthographic projection of the motor and an orthographic projection of the oiler in a plane perpendicular to the guide plate are substantially within an orthographic projection of the circuit board assembly in the plane perpendicular to the guide plate, as taught by Yamaoka and Mori et al., to provide a chain saw with a compact structure and convenient storage, which can be easily hung or stored and enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO2024255580) and Buttner (WO2018178175) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of XU (WO2025001865) hereinafter Xu’865.
As to claim 12/1, Xu in view of Buttner teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein a chain speed of the chainsaw is higher than or equal to 10 m/s.
However Xu ‘865 teaches a chain speed of the chainsaw is higher than or equal to 10 m/s (see paragraph [0088]), for the advantageous benefit of improving performance of the chain saw.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner. by using a chain speed of the chainsaw is higher than or equal to 10 m/s, as taught byXu’865, to improve performance of the chain saw.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO2024255580) in view of Buttner (WO2018178175) and Mori et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0351669).
As to independent claim 16, Xu teaches a chainsaw, comprising: a housing (10); a guide plate (22) having one end supported on the housing (10) and another end extending out of the housing (10) along a lengthwise direction of the housing (10); a chain (21) disposed around a periphery of the guide plate (22); a motor (200), having a rotor (220) and an output shaft (226), configured to drive the chain to cut;
However Xu teaches the claimed limitation as dissed above except a position detection assembly configured to detect a position of the rotor of the motor comprising a magnet member, a position sensor, and a mounting member disposed on an end portion of the output shaft and carrying the magnetic member.
Buttner teaches a position detection assembly (42, 44) configured to detect a position of the rotor (14) of the motor comprising a magnet member (38), a position sensor (44) as shown in figure 1 for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
Mori et al. teaches a mounting member (234) disposed on an end portion of the output shaft (22) and carrying the magnetic member (232) as shown in figure 7, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner by using a position detection assembly configured to detect a position of the rotor of the motor comprising a magnet member, a position sensor, and a mounting member disposed on an end portion of the output shaft and carrying the magnetic member, as taught by Buttner and Mori et al., to improve the reliability of the motor and enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle .
As to claim 17/16, Xu in view of Buttner and Mori et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mounting member is sleeved on the end portion of the output shaft away from the chain and the guide plate and has a mounting slot into which the magnetic member is capable of being embedded.
However Mori et al. teaches the mounting member (234) is sleeved on the end portion of the output shaft (22) and has a mounting slot (234a) into which the magnetic member (232) is capable of being embedded as shown in figure 7, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner and Mori et al. by using the mounting member is sleeved on the end portion of the output shaft away from the chain and the guide plate and has a mounting slot into which the magnetic member is capable of being embedded, as taught by Mori et al., to enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
As to claim 18/16, Xu in view of Buttner and Mori et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein a projection of the magnetic member and a projection of the position sensor in an axial direction of the output shaft at least partially overlap.
However Mori et al. teaches a projection of the magnetic member (30) and a projection of the position sensor (40) in an axial direction of the output shaft (22) at least partially overlap as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of enhancing the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner and Mori et al. by using a projection of the magnetic member and a projection of the position sensor in an axial direction of the output shaft at least partially overlap, as taught by Mori et al., to enhance the accuracy of detecting a rotational angle.
As to claim 19/18, Xu in view of Buttner and Mori et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a fan disposed on the output shaft, wherein the fan is located between the magnetic member and the motor.
However Buttner teaches a fan (48) disposed on the output shaft (18), wherein the fan (48) is located between the magnetic member (38) and the motor (10) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving the reliability of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu in view of Buttner and Mori et al. by using a fan disposed on the output shaft, wherein the fan is located between the magnetic member and the motor, as taught by Buttner, to improve the reliability of the motor.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 July 24, 2026