DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gannamaneni et al. (US 2023/0121220 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, a system (100) for supplying a low DC voltage (LV) to a vehicle (Fig. 1; electric vehicle 1) from at least one high voltage battery (HV1) of the vehicle (Par 0040), the system (100) comprising: a first DC-DC converter (110, 120) configured to convert a high DC voltage (output high DC voltage of HV1) from the at least one battery (HV1) of the vehicle to a low DC voltage (Par 0040-0041); and a second DC-DC converter (150, 160) with a lower power compared to the first DC- DC converter (110, 120) (Par 0047; DC/DC converters 150, 160 are low power DC-DC modules and configured to supply power to the low voltage system loads during a non-operating mode (key-off) and DC/DC converters 110, 120 are high voltage DC-DC modules and configured to supply power to the low voltage system loads during a non-failure operating mode (key-on), thus low power DC-DC modules 150, 160 have a lower power compared to high voltage DC-DC modules 110, 120) and configured to convert a high DC voltage from the at least one battery (HV1) of the vehicle to the low DC voltage (Par 0047), wherein the first DC-DC converter (110, 120) and the second DC-DC converter (150, 160) are configured to be connected to the at least one high voltage battery (HV1) (See Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 2, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the first DC-DC converter (110, 120) is configured to provide the low DC voltage in a key-on state of the vehicle (Par 0041, 0052; high voltage DC-DC modules 110, 120 are configured to supply power to the low voltage system loads during a non-failure operating mode (key-on state)) and the second DC- DC converter (150, 160) is configured to provide the low DC voltage in a key-off state of the vehicle (Par 0047; low power DC-DC modules 150, 160 are configured to supply power to the low voltage system loads during a non-operating mode, where the non-operating mode may also be referred to as key-off state of the vehicle 1).
In regards to claim 5, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 3, the system of claim 1, wherein the second DC-DC converter (150, 160) is configured to be electrically connected directly to the at least one high voltage battery (HV1) without any switches in between (See Fig. 3; second DC-DC converter 150 is electrically connected directly to the high voltage battery HV1 without any switches in between).
In regards to claim 6, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one power distribution unit (112, 122) configured to provide the low DC voltage to a plurality of loads (Par 0008; “The first low voltage interface and the second low voltage interface may be also connected to same low voltage system loads or to different low voltage system loads. The low voltage system loads may be control components for opening a door or a window to open, starting the motor, steering and braking loads etc.”), wherein the power distribution unit (112, 122) is electrically connected to the first DC-DC converter (110, 120) and the second DC-DC converter (150, 160) (Par 0042-0043, see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 7, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 6, wherein the power distribution unit (112, 122) is configured to electrically connect each load (LV 1 – LV 11) of the plurality of loads to either the first DC-DC converter (110, 120) or to the second DC-DC converter (150, 160) (Par 0008; The first low voltage interface 112 and the second low voltage interface 122 electrically connects each load LV1 – LV11 of the low voltage system loads to either the first DC-DC converter 110, 120 or second DC-DC converter 150, 160).
In regards to claim 14, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the low DC voltage is a nominal voltage of 60V or less (Par 0039; “the low voltage (LV) system may have a voltage of <60 V, for example about 12V, 24V or 48V”).
In regards to claim 15, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the low DC voltage is a nominal voltage of 12V, 24V, or 48V (Par 0039; “the low voltage (LV) system may have a voltage of <60 V, for example about 12V, 24V or 48V”).
In regards to claim 16, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the high DC voltage is a nominal voltage of more than 60V (Par 0039; “The high voltage (HV) system may have a voltage of 60 V<U≤1500 V, for example of about 200V or 400V”).
In regards to claim 17, Gannamaneni discloses, in figure 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the high DC voltage is a nominal voltage of 200V, 400V, 800V, or higher (Par 0039; “The high voltage (HV) system may have a voltage of 60 V<U≤1500 V, for example of about 200 V or 400V”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gannamaneni et al. (US 2023/0121220 A1) in view of Fukuoka et al. (US 2022/0209561 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Gannamaneni disclose the system of claim 2. Gannamaneni further discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first DC-DC converter (110, 120) is configured to provide electrical power in the key-on state in a high power mode (Par 0041, 0052; high voltage DC-DC modules 110, 120 are configured to supply power to the low voltage system loads during a non-failure operating mode (key-on state)) but does not disclose with active cooling.
However, Fukuoka discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first DC-DC converter (110, 120 as discussed in Gannamaneni) is configured to provide electrical power in the key-on state in a high power mode with active cooling (Par 0054; the circuit cooling fan 27 can cool at least a first DC-DC converter 31 and a second DC-DC converter 41, thus the circuit cooling fan 27 provides active cooling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gannamaneni’s first DC-DC converter by including a circuit cooling fan which provides active cooling as taught by Fukuoka in order to suppress heat generation and overheat of the first converter and/or the second converter (Par 0009, 0169; Fukuoka).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gannamaneni et al. (US 2023/0121220 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2008/0310109 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Gannamaneni disclose the system of claim 2. Gannamaneni further discloses, in figure 2, wherein the second DC-DC converter (150, 160) is configured to provide electrical power in the key-off state (Par 0047; low power DC-DC modules 150, 160 are configured to supply power to the low voltage system loads during a non-operating mode, where the non-operating mode may also be referred to as key-off state of the vehicle 1) but does not disclose with passive cooling only.
However, Park discloses, in figure 5, wherein the second DC-DC converter (150, 160 as discussed in Gannamaneni) is configured to provide electrical power in the key-off state with passive cooling only (Par 0037; “a second heat sink 51 for cooling the DC-DC converter 54 are disposed between the inverter 53 and the DC-DC converter 54. In this case, the cross sections of the first and second heat sinks 50 and 51 have projections in the form of comb teeth” thus the heat sink 51 provides passive cooling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gannamaneni’s second DC-DC converter by including a heat sink which provides passive cooling only as taught by Park in order to provide a cooling structure of high voltage electrical parts for a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) that can reduce the length between an inlet and an outlet of cooling air and supply cooling air at the same temperature to all electrical parts (Par 0022; Park).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gannamaneni et al. (US 2023/0121220 A1) in view of Djelassi-Tscheck et al. (US 2022/0166422 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Gannamaneni disclose the system of claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the power distribution unit includes at least one switch to separate quality management loads from safety-critical loads.
However, Djelassi-Tscheck discloses, in figure 2, wherein the power distribution unit (112, 122 as discussed in Gannamanen) includes at least one switch (smart switch 1.1-1.4) to separate quality management loads from safety-critical loads (Par 0046; smart switches are switched to separate non-safety critical loads (e.g. air conditioning) from safety critical loads (e.g. power steering) where the non-safety-critical loads are switched off earlier than safety-critical loads in case of an under-voltage state).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gannamaneni’s power distribution unit by including at least one switch to separate quality management loads from safety-critical loads as taught by Djelassi-Tscheck in order to provide a load current limitation function and over-current shut down which may be triggered at higher load currents well above the current threshold value (Par 0004, 0046; Djelassi-Tscheck).
Claims 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gannamaneni et al. (US 2023/0121220 A1) in view of Gronau et al. (US 2023/0001869 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Gannamaneni disclose the system of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: a first electric main fuse box (eMFB) selectively electrically connected to either the first DC-DC converter or the second DC-DC converter.
However, Gronau discloses, in figure 1, a first electric main fuse box (eMFB) (7a; Par 0035) selectively electrically connected to either the first DC-DC converter (2a) (Par 0015-0016; electric main fuse box 7a is selectively electrically connected to the first DC-DC converter 2a with switch 5a) or the second DC-DC converter.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gannamaneni’s converter system by including a first electric main fuse box (eMFB) selectively electrically connected to either the first DC-DC converter or the second DC-DC converter as taught by Gronau in order to provide short circuit protection and overcurrent protection (Par 0034-0035; Gronau).
In regards to claim 10, Gannamaneni and Gronau disclose the system of claim 9. Gronau further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the first eMFB (7a) is electrically connected to a first power distribution unit (13a; Par 0037) and a second power distribution unit (13b; Par 0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gannamaneni’s converter system by including wherein the first eMFB is electrically connected to a first power distribution unit and a second power distribution unit as taught by Gronau in order to provide short circuit protection and overcurrent protection (Par 0034-0035; Gronau).
In regards to claim 13, Gannamaneni and Gronau disclose the system of claim 9. Gronau further discloses, in figure 1, further comprising a second eMFB (7b) electrically connected to the second DC-DC converter (2b) (Par 0034-0035), the first power distribution unit (13a; Par 0037), and the second power distribution unit (13b; Par 0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gannamaneni’s converter system by including a second eMFB electrically connected to the second DC-DC converter, a first power distribution unit, and a second power distribution unit as taught by Gronau in order to provide short circuit protection and overcurrent protection (Par 0034-0035; Gronau).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEX W LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2842 12/09/2025