DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species C of Group I, Species A of Group II, Species A of Group III, Species B of Group IV, readable on claims 23-41 in the reply filed on 8/14/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 23-41 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Wang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0170846).
In regard to claim 23, Wang discloses an illumination control system (102,201, Fig. 1) for a medical imaging device (100), the illumination control system comprising:
a control device (102,201) communicatively coupleable to a plurality of illumination devices (20A,20B) positioned at a distal end of the medical imaging device (Fig. 1), the control device having a processor configured to execute instructions to perform operations (Par. 40), including:
receiving an image of a site from the medical imaging device, wherein the image is captured by the medical imaging device as light is emitted by the plurality of illumination devices, at a first emitted light intensity, onto a plurality of regions of the site to illuminate the plurality of regions (Par. 40);
analyzing the image to determine an illumination intensity of each of the plurality of regions in the image ; (Par. 40)
for a first region of the plurality of regions, determining a difference from a target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for the first region (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20A)); and
causing a first illumination device, of the plurality of illumination devices, configured to emit the light onto the first region to vary an intensity of the light emitted from the first emitted light intensity to a second emitted light intensity based on the difference (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20A)).
In regard to claim 24, Wang teaches wherein the difference is a first difference, the target illumination intensity is a first target illumination intensity (Par. 40), and the operations further include:
for a second region of the plurality of regions, determining a second difference from a second target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for the second region (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20B)); and
causing a second illumination device, of the plurality of illumination devices, configured to emit the light onto the second region to vary an intensity of the light emitted from the first emitted light intensity to a third emitted light intensity based on the second difference (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20A)).
In regard to claim 25, Wang teaches wherein the third emitted light intensity is different than the second emitted light intensity (the second and third emitted light intensities are determined independent of each other and therefore could be different, Par. 40).
In regard to claim 26, Wang teaches wherein one of the third emitted light intensity or the second emitted light intensity is higher than the first emitted light intensity, and wherein the other of the third emitted light intensity or the second emitted light intensity is lower than the first emitted light intensity (the second and third emitted light intensities are determined independent of each other and therefore are able to have different intensities from each other, Par. 40).
In regard to claim 27, Wang teaches wherein both of the third emitted light intensity and the second emitted light intensity are one of higher or lower than the first emitted light intensity (the second and/or third light intensity can be higher or lower than the first emitted light intensity if over or under exposure is detected).
In regard to claim 28, Wang teaches wherein one or more characteristics of the light, including an intensity of the light, emitted by each of the plurality of illumination devices are independently controllable such that only the first illumination device, of the plurality of illumination devices, is caused to emit the light at the second emitted light intensity (via independently controlling the intensity of LEDS 20A, 20B, Par. 40).
In regard to claim 29, Wang teaches wherein, when the illumination intensity determined for the first region is lower than the target illumination intensity, the second emitted light intensity is higher than the first emitted light intensity to cause the first region to brighten (Par. 40, when underexposure is detected the intensity of light from LED (20A) would be increased).
In regard to claim 30, Wang teaches wherein, when the illumination intensity determined for the first region is higher than the target illumination intensity, the second emitted light intensity is lower than the first emitted light intensity to cause the first region to darken (Par. 40, when overexposure is detected the intensity of light from LED (20A) would be decreased).
In regard to claim 31, Wang teaches wherein the operations further include:
determining the target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for each of the plurality of regions (Par. 40).
In regard to claim 32, Wang teaches wherein, for the first region of the plurality of regions, determining the difference from the target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for the first region includes:determining the difference is above a threshold (Par. 40).
In regard to claim 33, Wang teaches wherein the plurality of regions of the site include the first region and a second region, and wherein the first region and the second region overlap (Par. 15).
In regard to claim 34, Wang discloses an illumination system (102,201, Fig. 1) for a medical imaging device (100), comprising:
a plurality of illumination devices (20A,20B) positioned at a distal end of the medical imaging device and configured to emit light onto a site, wherein the light emitted from each illumination device of the plurality of illumination devices illuminates a corresponding region of a plurality of regions of the site (Fig. 1, Par. 40); and
a control device (102,201) communicatively coupled to the plurality of illumination devices, and having a processor configured to execute instructions to perform operations to provide illumination control for the medical imaging device (Par. 40), the operations including:
causing the plurality of illumination devices to emit the light onto the site (Par. 40);
receiving an image of the site captured by the medical imaging device as the plurality of illumination devices are emitting the light (Par. 40);
determining an illumination intensity of each region of the plurality of regions of the site in the image (Par. 40);
for one or more regions of the plurality of regions, determining a difference from a target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for the one or more regions (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20A)); and
varying an intensity of the light emitted by one or more illumination devices, of the plurality of illumination devices, configured to emit the light onto the one or more regions, wherein the intensity of the light is varied based on the difference (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20A)).
In regard to claim 35, Wang teaches wherein the operations further include:
determining the target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for each of the plurality of regions (Par. 40, via detecting over or under exposure of the region associated with LED (20A) or LED (20B)).
In regard to claim 36, Wang teaches wherein determining the difference from the target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for the one or more regions comprises:
determining at least one region of the one or more regions is of higher illumination intensity than the target illumination intensity, causing the at least one region to appear brighter in the image (via determining overexposure of the region using LED (20A), Par. 40).
In regard to claim 37, Wang teaches wherein varying the intensity of the light emitted by the one or more illumination devices comprises:
decreasing the intensity of the light emitted by at least one illumination device, of the one or more illumination devices, configured to emit the light onto the at least one region to darken the at least one region (via decreasing the intensity of light from LED (20A) when overexposure is determined, Par. 40).
In regard to claim 38, Wang teaches wherein determining the difference from the target illumination intensity based on the illumination intensity determined for the one or more regions comprises:
determining at least one region of the one or more regions is of lower illumination intensity than the target illumination intensity, causing the at least one region to appear darker in the image (via determining underexposure of the region using LED (20A), Par. 40).
In regard to claim 39, Wang teaches wherein varying the intensity of the light emitted by the one or more illumination devices comprises:
increasing the intensity of the light emitted by at least one illumination device, of the one or more illumination devices, configured to emit the light onto the at least one region to brighten the at least one region (via decreasing the intensity of light from LED (20A) when overexposure is determined, Par. 40).
In regard to claim 40, Wang teaches wherein the one or more regions of the plurality of regions include a first region and a second region, and wherein the varying of the intensity of the light emitted reduces a difference in the illumination intensity of the first region relative to the second region (Par. 40, via adjusting the intensity of light of each LED (20A,20B) to be within a threshold range).
In regard to claim 41, Wang teaches wherein the plurality of illumination devices include a plurality of light-emitting diodes (20A,20B, Fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 23-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,277,855 (hereinafter ‘855). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-18 of ‘855 contain all of the features of the claims of the current application with only minor differences in claim language.
Claims 23-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,274 (hereinafter ‘274). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-20 of ‘274 contain all of the features of the claims of the current application with only minor differences in claim language.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 September 4, 2026