DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 13, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maccaferri (U.S. Patent No. 2,287,529, hereinafter Maccaferri).
Regarding claim 1, Maccaferri discloses a reed (10, Figs. 1-11) for a mouthpiece of a wind instrument (“for clarinet, saxophone and like musical instruments,” col. 1:1-6), the reed (10) comprising: a base part (“rear portion extending from the rear end [13] to the central portion 12,” col. 2:5-8) extending in a first direction (from left to right in Figs. 1-6, 10 and 11) and comprising a first surface (planar bottom surface 46, col. 3:33-36) and a second surface (top surface; see Figs. 1-3) opposite to the first surface, the second surface (i.e., the top surface) including at least one groove (cutout 20, Figs. 1-3, col. 2:39-52; or alternatively cutout 28, Figs. 4 and 7; 30, Figs. 5 and 8; 31, Figs. 6 and 9; or 32, Figs. 10-11, col. 2:53-30) extending along a second direction that intersects the first direction (“transversely across the reed,” col. 2:33-39); and a vamp (thin front end “vibrated by the air column emitted by the player,” from tip 11 to central portion 12) extending from the base part along the first direction (see Figs. 1-2, 4-6, 10, and 11).
Regarding claim 2, Maccaferri further discloses the first surface comes into contact with the mouthpiece in a state where the reed is attached to the mouthpiece (“[t]he bottom surface of the reed is flat or in a plane and seats itself upon the plane surface of the mouthpiece,” col. 2:11-14), and the at least one groove (20, 28, 30, 31, or 32) is disposed on a side of the second surface (e.g., on the side of the second surface toward the vamp; see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Maccaferri further discloses the at least one groove comprises a plurality of grooves (32, Figs. 10-11) spaced along the first direction (col. 3:9-14).
Regarding claim 5, Maccaferri further discloses distances (26, Fig. 11) between bottoms of the plurality of grooves (32) and the first surface (46) decrease as a distance between the vamp and each of the plurality of grooves decreases (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Maccaferri further discloses the at least one groove comprises a groove (28, Fig. 4 or Fig. 7; 30, Fig. 8; or 31, Fig. 6 or Fig. 6) whose width is not constant. The crescent-shaped cutouts (28) in Fig. 4 and lentil-shaped cutouts (31) in Fig. 6 each have a narrower width at the ends than at the middle. The u-shaped cutout (28) on Fig. 7, the V-shaped cutout (30) in Fig. 8, and the wedge-shaped cutout (31) in Fig. 9 each have a narrower width at the bottom than at the top. Any one of these grooves would read on the claimed groove whose width is not constant.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Maccaferri further discloses each of the base part and the vamp is made of a resin composition (claim 7) comprising an engineering plastic (“plastic material,” col. 1:18-19) (claim 8). The term “engineering plastic” is a broad term, and the specification does not provide a special definition limiting the plastic to any particular engineered composition or form. Maccaferri’s plastic material is therefore understood to read on engineering plastic, as broadly claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Maccaferri further discloses the at least one groove (20, Figs. 1-2; or 32, Figs. 10-11) is not disposed on a side of the vamp.
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dallhammer et al. (WO 2023/161151 A1, hereinafter Dallhammer).
Regarding claim 1, Dallhammer discloses a reed (10, Fig. 10; ¶ 55) for a mouthpiece of a wind instrument (¶ 2), the reed (10) comprising: a base part (shaft 12) extending in a first direction and comprising a first surface (flat underside 18) and a second surface (convex upper surface 20) opposite to the first surface (18), the second surface (20) including at least one groove (slot-shaped transverse recesses 40) extending along a second direction that intersects the first direction (“transverse,” ¶ 55); and a vamp (tongue 14) extending from the base part along the first direction (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Dallhammer further discloses the first surface (18) comes into contact with the mouthpiece in a state where the reed is attached to the mouthpiece (by engagement of flat underside 18 with a mouthpiece, as is well understood in the art; see, e.g., ¶ 10), and the at least one groove (40) is disposed on a side of the second surface (20).
Regarding claim 4, Dallhammer further discloses the at least one groove (40) comprises a plurality of grooves (40) spaced along the first direction (“spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction,” ¶ 55).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Dallhammer further discloses each of the base part (12) and the vamp (14) is made of a resin composition (claim 7) comprising an engineering plastic (“thermoplastic or thermosetting plastic material,” e.g., engineered to include various fillers as described in ¶ 21) (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Dallhammer further discloses the at least one groove (40) is not disposed on a side of the vamp (14; see Fig. 10).
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiron et al. (U.S. Patent No. 1,506,364, hereinafter Chiron).
Regarding claim 1, Chiron discloses a reed (5, Fig. 3; pg. 1:35-75) for a mouthpiece (1, Fig. 1) of a wind instrument (pg. 1:1-15), the reed (5) comprising: a base part (thick rear end portion 7, pg. 1:50-51) extending in a first direction (from left to right in Fig. 3) and comprising a first surface (flat bottom surface 6) and a second surface (“top face,” pg. 1:54-57) opposite to the first surface (6), the second surface including at least one groove (angularly transverse grooves 11, pg. 1:63-69) extending along a second direction that intersects the first direction (“angularly transverse,” pg. 1:65-67); and a vamp (thin tip portion 8) extending from the base part along the first direction (pg. 1:70-75).
Regarding claim 2, Chiron further discloses the first surface comes into contact with the mouthpiece (“bottom surface 6 of the reed is flat to lie in secure contact with a similar flat surface formed on the mouthpiece,” pg. 1:48-50) in a state where the reed (5) is attached to the mouthpiece (1), and the at least one groove (11) is disposed on a side of the second surface (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Chiron further discloses a distance between a bottom of the at least one groove (11) and the first surface (6) decreases from a center toward an end of the base part in the second direction, as shown with respect to the longitudinal grooves (9) in Fig. 4. In Fig. 3, the bottom of the transverse grooves (11) is shown to be substantially even with the bottom of the longitudinal grooves (9) and is understood to similarly decrease from the center (at d1 in annotated Fig. 4 below) toward the end (i.e., the edge) of the base part in the second direction (at d2, Fig. 4 below), as a result of the tapering shape of the convex upper surface in which the grooves (9, 11) are formed relative to the flat bottom surface. Fig. 4 is annotated below to include a dashed line showing the bottom of the transverse groove (11).
Regarding claim 4, Chiron further discloses the at least one groove comprises a plurality of grooves (11) spaced along the first direction (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Chiron further discloses the at least one groove (11) is not disposed on a side of the vamp (at tip 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kingsbury (U.S. Patent No. 1,795,219), Nemcek, Jr. (U.S. Patent No. 2,318,515, Fig. 2), and Gomez (U.S. Patent No. 4,172,482, Fig. 5(iii)) each disclose a reed comprising transverse grooves on the top surface of the base part.
/Laura Davison/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993