DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 01/23/2026.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12 and 15-25 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10-11, 16, 18-19 and 22 have been amended.
Claim(s) 3, 13 and 14 have been canceled.
Claim(s) 23-25 have been added.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 10, 16 and 18-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11/749,761 in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0029040 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 10, 16 and 18-24
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claim 1, 4 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11/749,761 except for a conductive channel formed in the passivation layer.
Yin teaches a solar cell comprising a doped region (see layers 2 and 3) wherein a conductive channel is formed in a passivation layer (2) of the doped region (the passivation layer 2 comprises a plurality of through holes which define a conductive channel through which a doped layer is disposed) [Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0037, 0203-0205]. The conductive channel of Yin ensures the passivation effect while improving the carrier transmission capacity by allowing carriers to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers, reduces the series resistance of the solar cell and increases the fill factor thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [paragraphs 0202-0205].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passivation layer of the instant invention to comprise a conductive channel formed therein, as in Yin, so that carriers are able to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers while also ensuring the passivation effect thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [Yin, paragraphs 0202-0205].
With regards to the doping conductivity of the first and second doped regions, one of ordinary skill would recognize that there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e., P- or N-type), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with reasonable expectation of success [see MPEP 2143]. The selection of the order of the conductivity within a PN junction is not of innovation but within ordinary skill and common sense [see MPEP 2143].
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 18, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-10, 15 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11/837,671 in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0029040 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 18, 21-22 and 24
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claims 1, 15 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11/837,671 except for a conductive channel formed in the passivation layer.
Yin teaches a solar cell comprising a doped region (see layers 2 and 3) wherein a conductive channel is formed in a passivation layer (2) of the doped region (the passivation layer 2 comprises a plurality of through holes which define a conductive channel through which a doped layer is disposed) [Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0037, 0203-0205]. The conductive channel of Yin ensures the passivation effect while improving the carrier transmission capacity by allowing carriers to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers, reduces the series resistance of the solar cell and increases the fill factor thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [paragraphs 0202-0205].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passivation layer of the instant invention to comprise a conductive channel formed therein, as in Yin, so that carriers are able to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers while also ensuring the passivation effect thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [Yin, paragraphs 0202-0205].
With regards to the doping conductivity of the first and second doped regions, one of ordinary skill would recognize that there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e., P- or N-type), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with reasonable expectation of success [see MPEP 2143].
The selection of the order of the conductivity within a PN junction is not of innovation but within ordinary skill and common sense [see MPEP 2143].
Regarding claims 4, 5, 7 and 9
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claims 2, 3 and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11/837,671.
Claims 1, 2, 4-16, 18, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 11, 13-16, 18-20, 23-27 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12/009,440 in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0029040 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 15, 18 ,22, 24 and 25
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claims 1, 20, 27 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12/009,440 except for a conductive channel formed in the passivation layer.
Yin teaches a solar cell comprising a doped region (see layers 2 and 3) wherein a conductive channel is formed in a passivation layer (2) of the doped region (the passivation layer 2 comprises a plurality of through holes which define a conductive channel through which a doped layer is disposed) [Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0037, 0203-0205].
The conductive channel of Yin ensures the passivation effect while improving the carrier transmission capacity by allowing carriers to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers, reduces the series resistance of the solar cell and increases the fill factor thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [paragraphs 0202-0205].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passivation layer of the instant invention to comprise a conductive channel formed therein, as in Yin, so that carriers are able to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers while also ensuring the passivation effect thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [Yin, paragraphs 0202-0205].
With regards to the doping conductivity of the first and second doped regions, one of ordinary skill would recognize that there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e., P- or N-type), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with reasonable expectation of success [see MPEP 2143].
The selection of the order of the conductivity within a PN junction is not of innovation but within ordinary skill and common sense [see MPEP 2143].
Regarding claims 4-14 and 16
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claims 4, 11, 13-16, 18, 19 and 23-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12/009,440.
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 and 15-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 12, 14 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/218,258 in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0029040 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 15, 16 and 18-25
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claims 1, 12 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/218,258 except for a conductive channel formed in the passivation layer.
Yin teaches a solar cell comprising a doped region (see layers 2 and 3) wherein a conductive channel is formed in a passivation layer (2) of the doped region (the passivation layer 2 comprises a plurality of through holes which define a conductive channel through which a doped layer is disposed) [Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0037, 0203-0205].
The conductive channel of Yin ensures the passivation effect while improving the carrier transmission capacity by allowing carriers to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers, reduces the series resistance of the solar cell and increases the fill factor thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [paragraphs 0202-0205].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passivation layer of the instant invention to comprise a conductive channel formed therein, as in Yin, so that carriers are able to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers while also ensuring the passivation effect thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [Yin, paragraphs 0202-0205].
With regards to the doping conductivity of the first and second doped regions, one of ordinary skill would recognize that there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e., P- or N-type), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with reasonable expectation of success [see MPEP 2143]. The selection of the order of the conductivity within a PN junction is not of innovation but within ordinary skill and common sense [see MPEP 2143].
Regarding claims 4-12 and 17
All of the limitations of the instant claims can be found in claims 2-10 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12/218,258.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 11 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112635592 A, Tong et al. (hereinafter “Tong”) in view of US 2022/0029040, Yin et al. (hereinafter “Yin”).
Regarding claim 1
Tong teaches a cell assembly, comprising a solar cell [Fig. 15], the solar cell comprising:
a silicon substrate (10) [Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0101];
a first doped region (corresponding to region including n-type doped layer 28, doped semiconductor layer 22, and passivation layer 21) and a second doped region (corresponding to p-type doped layer 27) having opposite polarities [Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0101]; wherein:
the first doped region (28/22/21) is an N-type doped region (see n-type doped layer 28) [Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0101];
the first doped region (28/22/21) comprises a first doped layer (28), a passivation layer (21), and a second doped layer (22) [Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0101]; and
the passivation layer (21) of the first doped region (28/22/21) is provided on the first doped layer (28) of the first doped region (28/22/21) [Fig. 15], and
wherein:
grooves spaced apart are provided on the back side of the silicon substrate (10) [Tong, Fig. 15 below];
one of the first doped region (28/21/22) and the second doped region (27) is disposed in one of the grooves (See region 27) [Fig. 15], and the other of the first doped region (28/21/22) and the second doped region (27) is disposed outside the grooves (See region including layers 28, 21 and 22) [Fig. 15].
Tong does not teach a conductive channel formed in the passivation layer of the first doped region.
Yin teaches a doped region (see layers 2 and 3) of a solar cell comprising a passivation layer (2) and a doped layer (see carrier collection layer 3 comprising doped polysilicon or doper amorphous silicon which is analogous to the second doped layer in Tong) [Fig. 2, paragraphs 0037 and 0203], wherein a conductive channel is formed in the passivation layer (2) of the doped region (2/3) (the passivation layer 2 is a porous structure comprises a plurality of through holes, wherein the doped layer 3 is disposed in said through holes) [Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0203-0205].
The conductive channel of Yin ensures the passivation effect while improving the carrier transmission capacity by allowing carriers to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layers, reduces the series resistance of the solar cell and increases the fill factor thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [paragraphs 0202-0205].
Tong and Yin are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells comprising rear doped passivating structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the passivation layer of Tong to comprise conductive channel formed therein, as disclosed in Yin, so that carriers are able to pass through the interface between the silicon substrate and the doped layer while also ensuring the passivation effect thereby improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the cell [Yin, paragraphs 0202-0205].
Regarding claim 2
Modified cell assembly teaches the assembly as set forth above, further comprising a first dielectric layer (14) disposed on a front side of the silicon substrate (10) [Tong, Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0093-0094], and a second dielectric layer (23) [Tong, Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0093-0094];
wherein an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of the second dielectric layer (23) onto the silicon substrate (10) is disposed between orthogonal projections of the first doped region (28/22/21) and the second doped region (27) along a lateral direction of the silicon substrate (portions of passivation layer 23 are between the first doped region 28/21/22 and the second doped region 27) [Tong, Fig. 15].
Regarding claim 4
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein a thickness of the passivation layer (21) of the first doped region (28/22/21) is in a range of 0.5-10 nm (0.5 nm to 5 nm) [Tong, paragraph 0079; Yin, paragraph 0223].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 5
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein a doping concentration of the first doped layer (28) of the first doped region (28/22/21) is between a doping concentration of the silicon substrate (10) and a doping concentration of the second doped layer (22) of the first doped region (28/22/21) (the surface doping concentration of the first doped layer 28 is 1×1018 cm−3 to 1×1020 cm−3, the doping concentration of the silicon substrate is 1×1018 cm−3 to 4×1020cm−3, and the doping concentration of the second doped layer is 2 ×1020cm−3 to 4 ×1021cm−3) [Tong, paragraphs 0047, 0065-0066, 0076, 0086 and 0089].
Regarding claim 6
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein a doping concentration of the first doped layer (28) of the first doped region is smaller than a doping concentration of the second doped layer (22) of the first doped region (28/22/21) (the surface doping concentration of the first doped layer 28 is in a range of 1×1018 cm−3 to 1×1020 cm−3 and the doping concentration of the second doped layer is in a range of 2 ×1020cm−3 to 4 ×1021cm−3) [Tong, paragraphs 0047, 0065-0066, 0076, 0086 and 0089].
Regarding claim 7
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein the first doped layer (28) and the second doped layer (22) have a same doping polarity (the first doped layer, 28, is n-type and the second doped layer, 22, having a doping type opposite to that of p-type doped layer 27 i.e., doped layer 22 is n-type) [Tong, Fig. 15, paragraphs 0041, 0043, 0076, 0089 and 0101].
Regarding claim 8
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein the first doped layer (28) of the first doped region and the second doped layer (22) of the first doped region have a same kind of dopant (dopants from the doping source layer 12 are pushed into the protective film to form the doped semiconductor layer 22, wherein said doping source layer 12 is also used to form m-type doped layer 28) [Tong, paragraphs 0086 and 0101-0102].
Regarding claim 11
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, further comprising a trench (see Fig. 15 below) provided between the first doped region (28/22/21) and the second doped region (27), wherein the second dielectric layer (23) is provided on the trench [Tong, Fig. 15], and the trench is configured to separate the first doped region (28/22/21) from the second doped region (27) [Tong, Fig. 15].
Regarding claim 15
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein the first doped layer (28) of the first doped region (28/22/21) is a part of the silicon substrate (10) (doped surface of the silicon substrate) [Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0101];
Regarding claim 16
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein the passivation layer (23) of the first doped region (28/22/21) is of a porous structure [Yin, Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0203-0205], and wherein the porous structure comprises a hole region (X) [Yin, Figs. 2, 3a and 3b, paragraphs 0203-0205].
Regarding claim 17
Modified Tong does not teach the hole region comprising nano-level holes having a pore size less than 1000 nm.
However, modified Tong discloses that the holes allow carriers to pass through the interface between the substrate and the carrier collection layer [para. 0361].
Accordingly, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the pore size of the holes (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired carrier transmission while ensuring the surface passivation effect. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of Yin as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11 and 15-17 above, and further in view of US 2016/0336468, Chung et al.
Regarding claims 9
Modified Tong teaches the cell assembly as set forth above, wherein the second doped layer (22) of the first doped region comprises a polysilicon doped layer or an amorphous silicon doped layer, or a combination thereof [Tong, paragraph 0089].
Modified Tong further teaches the first doped layer (28) of the first doped region (28/22/21) comprising a silicon wafer doped with a group-V element (doped surface of the silicon substrate) [Tong, paragraphs 0066-0067, 0076, 0086 and 0101].
Tong is silent to monocrystalline silicon.
Chung shows that the crystalline structure of silicon base areas and doped silicon regions therein can be selected from polycrystalline or monocrystalline semiconductors [paragraphs 0026 and 0029].
Therefore, because Chung teaches choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable crystalline structures, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with reasonable expectation of success [see MPEP 2143]. Since Chung teaches that monocrystalline silicon leads to the anticipated success (i.e., base area and doped semiconductor region therein), said structure is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense [see MPEP 2143].
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of Yin as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11 and 15-17 above, and further in view of US 2016/0343885, Nasuno.
Regarding claim 10
Modified Tong teaches the assembly as set forth above, wherein the first doped region (28/22/21) is a N-type doped region, the second doped region (27) is a P-type doped region [Tong, Fig. 15, paragraphs 0035 and 0101].
Modified Tong does not teach a thickness of the passivation layer of the first doped region is smaller than a thickness of a passivation layer of the second doped region.
However, the thickness of such passivation layers is recognized as a result effective variable by Nasuno.
Nasuno teaches that the thickness of the passivation layer position over N-type and P-type regions is selected such that the desired passivation effect and series resistance between electrode layers and doped regions is achieved [paragraph 0055].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the thickness of the passivation layer position over N-type and P-type regions (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired passivation effect and series resistance between electrode layers and doped regions is achieved [Nasuno, paragraph 0055]. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of Yin as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11 and 15-17 above, and further in view of US 2009/0308457 A1, Smith.
Regarding claim 12
Modified Tong does not teach a surface shape of the trench in contact with the silicon substrate further has a rough texture structure.
Smith teaches a solar cell assembly comprising a trench (304) which separates first and second doped regions (301 and 302) [See Fig. 10, paras. 0025 and 0031], wherein a surface shape of the trench (304) in contact with the silicon substrate further has a rough texture structure [Fig. 10]. The rough texture structure increases solar radiation collection thereby increasing the solar cell efficiency [para. 0025].
Modified Tong and Smith are analogous inventions in the field of solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the surface shape in contact with the substrate of the trench in modified Tong to have a rough texture structure, as in Smith, in order to increase solar radiation collection thereby increasing the solar cell efficiency [Smith, para. 0025].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 18 and 22
The prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the limitation: “the second doped region comprises a first doped layer, a passivation layer, and a second doped layer”, in the context of other limitations recited in the claims.
Claims 19-21 and 23-25 are allowed based on their dependency on claim 18 thereby incorporating the allowable subject matter as set forth above.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the objection to claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 16-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 16-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Regarding the double patenting rejection(s), applicant states that a terminal disclaimer has been submitted with their response. However, the Examiner has not been able to find a terminal disclaimer in the file. Accordingly, the double patenting rejection(s) of the claims are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and original (now canceled) claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the p-type doped region 27 of Tong is not disposed in a groove, but is formed by doping a local area of the substrate 10 of Tong.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. The claims recite “one of the first doped region and the second doped region is disposed in one of the grooves”. The claims are not directed to the method by which these structures are formed. Accordingly, while Tong forms the p-type region (27) by locally doping an area of the substrate, Fig. 15 of Tong clearly shows doped region (27) located within a recessed portion i.e., groove, of the substrate relative to adjacent regions (see regions including layers 28, 21 and 22).
Examiner notes that none of Yin, Harley, Chung, Nasuno nor Smith were relied upon to meet with the claimed grooves. It is noted that the arguments directed to claim 13 are moot in view of the cancellation of the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721