DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 07/29/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-122167 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control unit” in claims 1-2, 5, and 9.
“an arithmetic unit” in claim 1 and 6-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michio et al. (JP 2019-15675 A) (hereinafter Michio) (cited in IDS dated 13 January 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Michio teaches a detection device [gas sensor] comprising a vibrator [quartz resonator 2] having a sensitive membrane [sensitive membrane]; a heater configured to heat the sensitive membrane [refresh mechanism 21; infrared light source 46 emits infrared light L and the center of the sensitive film 10 is heated by the infrared light L]; a detector configured to detect a detection value related to a resonance frequency of the vibrator [resonance frequency f]; and a control unit configured to cause the heater to start heating the sensitive membrane, acquire a first detection value detected by the detector in a state where the sensitive membrane is heated, and cause the heater to stop heating the sensitive membrane based on the first detection value and a first reference value [control unit 38 controls operation of refresh mechanism 21 on basis of acquired resistance value R and resonance frequency f; determines whether difference (f2-f1) is greater than reference frequency, refresh deemed to have ended, proceeds to S11 where control unit turns off auto refresh mode] (Pgs. 8-9, see Abstract, Figs. 11 and 16), and an arithmetic unit configured to acquire a second detection value related to a gas to be measured detected by the detector and calculate determination information about the gas based on the second detection value [processor 33; gas concentration m corresponding to a change in resonance frequency from the resonance frequency] (Pgs. 7-8, see Figs. 10-12).
Michio fails to teach wherein the arithmetic unit is configured to acquire the second detection value related to a gas to be measured detected by the detector after heating of the sensitive member is stopped. Michio additionally teaches wherein the detection process is followed by the refresh process in order to restore the surface state of the sensitive membrane to the initial state where gas concentration can be measured (Pgs. 4 and 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Michio such that the arithmetic unit is configured to acquire a gas detection value after the refresh cycle and calculate the concentration of the gas based on the gas detection value, in order to ensure that the gas concentration detection is performed on a sensitive membrane where no foreign substance is adsorbed.
Regarding claim 2, Michio as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition wherein the control unit causes the heater to stop heating the sensitive membrane when a difference between the first detection value and the first reference value greater than a threshold value [determines whether difference (f2-f1) is greater than reference frequency, refresh deemed to have ended, proceeds to S11 where control unit turns off auto refresh mode] (Pgs. 8-9, see Abstract, Figs. 11 and 16). Michio fails to teach wherein the heating is stopped when the difference becomes equal to or less than a threshold value. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Michio such to choose a baseline threshold comparison in order to be able to determine when the membrane has been refreshed.
Regarding claims 3-4, Michio as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the first reference value is an initial value or smaller than an initial value of a detection value related to the resonance frequency detected by the detector in the state where the sensitive membrane is heated. Michio teaches wherein the first reference value is a detection value related to the resonance frequency detected by the detector in the state when the sensitive membrane is being heated (Pg. 9). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Michio such that the reference value is a chosen value, such as equal to or smaller than an initial value of a detection value, in order to set a comparison threshold for determining when the refresh cycle is finished. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Michio as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein if the threshold is not met, the heating of the sensitive membrane continues in a loop, and that overheating the membrane negatively affects sensor sensitivity and structural stability (Pg. 11, see Fig. 11). Michio fails to teach wherein the control unit determines that there is an abnormality when the difference does not become equal to or less than the threshold value even after a predetermined period of time has elapsed since the start of the sensitive membrane. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Michio such that the control unit determines that there is an abnormality when the difference does not become equal to or less than the threshold value even after a predetermined period of time has elapsed since the start of the sensitive membrane, in order to prevent overheating of the sensitive membrane.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 10-2017-0024634) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 7, Michio as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the arithmetic unit acquires a second reference value related to a reference gas detected by the detector after heating of the sensitive membrane is stopped, and calculates the determination information based on the second detection value and the second reference value. Lee teaches a gas detection device configured to correct a sensor value based on a calibration and re-calibration reference value based on a reference gas (Pg. 1, see Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Michio with Lee such that wherein the arithmetic unit acquires a second reference value related to a reference gas detected by the detector after heating of the sensitive membrane is stopped, and calculates the determination information based on the second detection value and the second reference value, in order to correct the determination information based on the calibration values.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mihara et al. (JP 2012-220454 A) (hereinafter Mihara) (cited in IDS dated 13 January 2025).
Regarding claims 8-9, Michio as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the vibrator is provided in a plurality, wherein the heater is provided in a plurality to heat sensitive membranes of the vibrators respectively, and wherein the arithmetic unit calculates the determination information based on the second detection value corresponding to each of the vibrators, wherein the control unit heats the sensitive membrane of at least one of the vibrators to a temperature different from that of the sensitive membrane of another vibrator. Mihara teaches a gas detection device comprising a plurality of vibrators and associated sensitive membranes and heaters, the sensitive membranes having different adsorption temperatures (Pgs. 2-4, see Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Michio with Mihara such that the vibrator is provided in a plurality, wherein the heater is provided in a plurality to heat sensitive membranes of the vibrators respectively, and wherein the arithmetic unit calculates the determination information based on the second detection value corresponding to each of the vibrators, wherein the control unit heats the sensitive membrane of at least one of the vibrators to a temperature different from that of the sensitive membrane of another vibrator, in order to better monitor gas adsorption conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding wherein the arithmetic unit corrects the second detection value based on the first detection value and the first reference value and calculates the determination information based on the second detection value that has been corrected, when the difference does not become equal to or less than the threshold value even after a predetermined period of time has elapsed since start of heating of the sensitive membrane, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in claims 1-2, from which it depends upon.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855