Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit to Provisional Application # 63/620823 filed on 01/14/2024.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 15 recites “A computer program product comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable media; and computer-executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable media, the computer-executable instructions executable by the processor to: . . .” (Emphasis added). As “media” is the plural of “medium,” the broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of specification Paragraphs 104-05 (Paragraph 105 states “The computer-readable recording medium can also be distributed over network-coupled computer systems so that the computer-readable code is stored and executed in a distributed fashion.”), of the “non-transitory computer-readable media” includes a plurality of computer memory hardware units.
The interpretation of Claim 15 above is extended to dependent Claims 16-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 10-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “The computer system of claim 1, wherein the media player comprising a tag application configured to decode and render the visual tag content that includes the retail information to be displayed on the digital display device.” (Emphasis added). Depended upon Claim 1 recites “A computer system comprising: a retail information server configured to: receive tag provisioning information from a mobile device; retrieve retail information associated with one or more goods based on the tag provisioning information; generate a digital signal based on the tag provisioning information and the retail information; a media player configured to: receive the digital signal; and render, based upon the digital signal, visual tag content including the retrieved retail information; and a digital display device . . . configured to receive the rendered visual tag content and to display the visual tag content . . .” (Emphasis added). The common English interpretation of the limitation Claim 3 would be that the “tag application” (1) “decode[s] the visual tag content” and (2) “render[s] the visual tag content.” However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that decoding and rendering are (normally) sequential operations applied to different data, e.g. compressed data is “decoded” to raw data, then the raw data is used to “render” the output of drawn pixels. In light of depended upon Claim 1, the “visual tag content” is the result of “render[ing].” Therefore, it is unclear as the scope of the limitation of “a tag application configured to decode and render the visual tag content,” as the explicit language states that the “visual tag content” is decoded, which conflicts with the other limitations of rendering and displaying the “visual tag content.” Put plainly, it is unclear as to what is being “decoded” in order to render the “visual tag content.” Because the scope of Claim 3 is indefinite, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). In service of compact prosecution, Claim 3 will be interpreted herein, solely for examination purposes, as if stating “The computer system of claim 1, wherein the media player comprising a tag application configured to render the visual tag content that includes the retail information to be displayed on the digital display device.”
Claims 4-5 are rejected via dependency on Claim 3.
Claims 10-12 recite substantially similar language to Claims 3-5 rejected above. Therefore, Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by similar justification to Claims 3-5 discussed above.
Claim 15 recites “A computer program product comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable media; and computer-executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable media, the computer-executable instructions executable by the processor to: . . .” (Emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In service of compact prosecution, Claim 15 will be interpreted herein, solely for examination purposes, as if stating “. . . the computer-executable instructions executable by one or more processors to: . . .” Such interpretation is consistent with the Claim interpretation of “non-transitory computer-readable media” discussed above and Specification Paragraph 10.
Dependent Claims 16-20 Claims 16-20 are rejected via dependency on Claim 15.
Claim 18 recites “The computer program product of claim 15, wherein the tag application is . . .” (Emphasis added). Examiner notes that Claim 18 is dependent on Claim 15, not Claim 17, which introduces “a tag application.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In service of compact prosecution, Claim 18 will be interpreted herein, solely for examination purposes, as if stating “The computer program product of claim 15, wherein a tag application is . . .”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20140139548-A1 (“Byers”) in view of US-20160328767-A1 (“Bonner”).
Regarding Claim 1, Byers teaches “computer system” (Paragraph 6 shows “FIG. 3 illustrates and example system for retail digital signage.” See also Paragraph 78 stating “while procedures 800-1000 [in FIGS. 8-10] are described separately, certain steps from each procedure may be incorporated into each other procedure, and the procedures are not meant to be mutually exclusive.”) “comprising:”
“a retail information server” (Fig. 3-4 and Paragraphs 26-31 shows “control computer 300.” Fig. 8 shows a cyclical process comprising “Input Received? [Yes] 825,” “Send Input Information 830,” “Receive Input Information and Determined Additional Graphics/Video Information 835,” “Send Additional Graphics/Video Information 840,” “Generate Graphics/Video 815,” and then “Display Graphics/Video 820.” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 66 shows “Control computer 300 receives the input information at Step 835 [(i.e. receive tag provisioning information)] and determines additional graphics and/or video information [(i.e. retail information)] that may be required based on the customer input.”) “configured to:”
“receive tag provisioning information from a . . . device” (Fig. 8 and Paragraph 65 show “Alternatively, rather than a customer input, the input received at Step 825 could also be a change in the data or algorithms stored in memory 430, such as the price or description of a particular item. In this case, in Step 835 control computer 300 could process a refresh order using management process 497 an refresh the graphics/video to be sent to digital displays.” Thus, “customer input,” may alternatively be another type of input. Paragraphs 26, 51, 68, 73, and 76 show a variety of peripherals that provide “inputs” to “control computer 300” including “a website or app on a smartphone,” “security cameras 330 or “cameras 115 in digital displays 100” or alternatively “security cameras 330,” or merely “input devices” used by an employee to verify inventory. See also Paragraphs 57-59 discussing inventory mode where an employee (1) can access “control computer 300” to verify how many products are determined to be left on each shelf based on an image of the shelf received by the “control computer 300” from a camera or (2) can reconfigure where products are located on the shelves. At least the inventory of what product is located at which location on the shelf, or a mere product identifier, teaches “tag provisioning information” (i.e. information used to provision a tag under the broadest reasonable interpretation). See also Fig. 1-5 and Paragraph 24-29, 42, and 62 showing that the “control computer 300” knows, and therefore must have received, the location of each product on the shelf. Although the “tag provisioning information” could be received from a “mobile device,” Byers does not explicitly teach such configuration.);
“retrieve retail information associated with one or more goods based on the tag provisioning information” (Fig. 4 and Paragraph 28 shows “FIG. 4 is a schematic block diagram of an example control computer 300 [(i.e. retail information server)] that may be used with one or more embodiments described herein.” Fig. 4 and Paragraph 30 shows “Memory 430 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by processor 420 and the network interface(s) 410 for storing software programs, graphics/video 460 [(i.e. retail information)], inventory/price information 461 [(i.e. retail information)], and customer data 462, associated with the embodiments described herein.” Use of data stored in “memory 430” teaches “retriev[ing]” that data. Paragraph 62 shows “Graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. retail information)] may be stored in compressed . . . data state, in which case processor 420 can perform decompression . . . processes to convert the stored data to graphics/video. Further, control computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100 [(i.e. based on the tag provisioning information)], taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain.” (Emphasis added). Thus, Byers teaches that the “retail information” is based on the “tag provisioning information.”); and
“generate a digital signal based on the tag provisioning information and the retail information” (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 67 shows “Once control computer 300 has determined the additional graphics/video information required [(i.e. based on the tag provisioning information)], at Step 840 control computer 300 sends [(i.e. generate a digital signal)] the additional graphics/video information [(i.e. retail information)] to digital displays 100, . . . through media players 320, and the process continues with Step 815.” Fig. 3-4 and Paragraph 42 shows “In price tag mode, control computer 300 can use pricing process 470 and inventory/price information 461 [(i.e. retail information)] to prepare and send graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. retail information)] related to products [(i.e. tag provisioning information)] and pricing for display by digital displays 100. When used in a system such as that shown in FIG. 3, control computer 300 can send the information to a particular media player 320 associated with a particular set of digital displays 100, through router 310. Media player 320 can then generate the requested graphics/video pursuant to the information received and send the corresponding graphics/video to the appropriate digital displays 100. . . As shown in FIG. 5, based on the graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. digital signal)] sent by control computer 300, digital displays 100 can display price tag graphics 500, which can include product logos or names and a prices for each product stocked near each digital display 100. . . Since digital displays 100 show price tag graphics 500 for all the items located on the shelves and are controlled by central control computer 300, the information provided in price tag graphics 500 should never be missing or incorrect and can be instantly updated. The format, font, shape, color, border, and animation of price tag graphic 500 can also be customized per product to highlight specific products, for example those on sale. In addition to price tag graphics 500, other possible graphics/video 460 information could include information for special offer graphics 510, such as manufacturer's coupon offers, promotions, social networking tie-ins, etc., product information graphics 520, such as recipe suggestions, etc., or even full motion video advertisements 530 for selected products, which can be displayed in the space between price tags or in any other open space on digital displays 100. Control computer 300 can also send information to display . . . an interactive icon 550, which could allow the user to . . . scan a barcode, report out of stock items, send a message to a manager, create a video chat session, etc.”);
“a media player configured to: receive the digital signal and render, based upon the digital signal, visual tag content including the retrieved retail information” (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 27 shows “Media Player 320.” See also Paragraphs 43, 62-65, and 71-72 further discussing “Media Player 320.”) Fig. 3 and Paragraph 27 shows “Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. . . Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which . . . sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100.” (Emphasis added). The instructions from central control computer 300 teaches the received digital signal. Further, because the instructions are for the media player 320 to render the graphics/video, Byers teaches that rendering the “visual tag content” is “based upon the digital signal.” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 64 shows “At Step 815, once the graphics/video information [(i.e. retail information)] is received [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “visual tag content”)] are generated [(i.e. “render[ed]”)] and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” Thus, any graphics/video displayed teaches “visual tag content.”); and
“a digital display device” (Fig. 1-3 and Paragraphs 24-27 shows “digital display 100.”)
“positioned on a product display shelf in a retail environment” (Fig. 2 and Paragraph 25 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a continuous band of digital displays 100 can be installed up and down each aisle of a retail store. Each digital display 100 can be installed on a shelf 200 of each shelving unit 210 at approximately eye level [(i.e. “positioned on a product display shelf in a retail environment”)], which would allow the digital displays 100 to be easily observed by customers and provide information regarding all of the products 220 on each shelving unit 210.” See also Paragraph 42 showing that the “digital displays 100 could be attached to the front of the [shelf].”) and
“configured”
“to receive the rendered visual tag content” (Fig. 8 and Paragraph 64 shows “At Step 815, once the graphics/video information is received [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “visual tag content”)] are generated [(i.e. “render[ed]”)] and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” Paragraphs 26-27 shows “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. . . If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one . . . Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100.” Thus, Byers teaches that the digital display device (i.e. “digital display 100”) receives the rendered content.) and
“to display the visual tag content at a location on the digital display device corresponding to a location of the associated one or more goods on the product display shelf” (Fig. 5 and Paragraph 42 shows “As shown in FIG. 5, based on the graphics/video 460 information sent by control computer 300, digital displays 100 can display price tag graphics 500, which can include product logos or names and a prices for each product stocked near each digital display 100. In the example shown, price tag graphics 500 are rendered as actual product price tags, with each tag arranged to correspond with a single item on shelves above or below digital display 100.” (Emphasis added). Fig. 2 and Paragraph 25 shows “Providing digital displays 100 on nearly all of the shelving units 210 of a retail store permits customers to be in close proximity to a digital display 100 no matter where they are in the store, insures that each product 220 offered for sale throughout the store is has some dedicated screen area for information, and could improve customer convenience and create new revenue opportunities.” (Emphasis added).).
Byers does not explicitly teach, but Bonner teaches that “a retail information server configured to: receive tag provisioning information from a mobile device . . .” (Fig. 2 and Paragraph 30 shows “computing system 300” and “store computing system 400” (i.e. “retail information server”) connected with “a retail associate device 230, a personal assistant and liaison device 240, [and] a mobile computing device 250” (i.e. “mobile device”) and “display units 118” that “graphically present[s] information.” Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46 shows “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the data storage component 336 [of enterprise computing system 300 ] may store an enterprise data repository 336 a, which may include product data pertaining to products to be sold at one or more store locations, pricing data pertaining to the products to be sold at the one or more store locations, planogram data pertaining to the placement of products on shelves [(i.e. tag provisioning information)], and label data to be displayed on shelf display units at the one or more store locations, multimedia content (e.g., pictures, video, sound, or the like). The enterprise data repository 336 a may be stored in one or more data storage devices. In another embodiment, the enterprise computing system 300 may be coupled to a remote server or data storage device that includes at least some of the data in the enterprise data repository 336 a. Other data may be stored in the data storage component 336 to provide support for functionalities described herein.” Fig. 6 and Paragraphs 64-70 shows a process of setting a “planogram” stored in “store computing system 400” or “enterprise computing system 300” (i.e. “a retail information server configured to: receive tag provisioning information”) by receiving input from “retail associate device 230” or “mobile computing device 250” (i.e. “from a mobile device”). Specifically, Paragraph 69 shows “Still referring to FIG. 6 (and FIGS. 1 and 2), at block 610, input indicative of a completion of the planogram set may be received. For example, in some embodiments, an associate tasked with setting products on the plurality of shelves 116 according to the particular planogram may provide input indicative of the completion of the planogram set via manipulation of a touchscreen or tactile input device of the retail associate device 230 when the associate has completed setting the planogram. In other embodiments, the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set may be received via manipulation of a touchscreen or tactile input device of the mobile computing device 250. . . In some embodiments, the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set may be transmitted by the retail associate device 230, the mobile computing device 250, or the plurality of display units 118 to the store computing system 400 via the store computing network 225. In such embodiments, the store computing system 400 may receive the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bonner with Byers because Byers teaches that inventory can be updated and reconfigured by an employee (Paragraphs 28-29 and 57-59.) and Bonner teaches that an employee can update the database storing where each product is on the shelf with a mobile device (Fig. 6 and Paragraphs 64-70.). Thus, combining Bonner with Byers furthers the interest taught in Byers, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer system of claim 1,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the digital display device is positioned on a front edge of the product display shelf in the retail environment” (Fig. 1 and Paragraph 24 shows “[D]igital display 100 . . . has a visible display area 105 having a height “h” of approximately 3 inches, a width “w” of approximately 48 inches, . . .” Paragraph 23 shows “This panel size and aspect ratio could be used for big box retail environments, since the shelf units are typically 48″ wide. The 3″ height should also fit well in the front of shelf space usually reserved for price tags, without hanging down too low into the volume of the next lower shelf.” (Emphasis added). Paragraph 42 shows “the digital displays 100 could be attached to the front of the [shelf].” See also Fig. 2 showing digital display 100 at the front of the shelf.).
Regarding Claim 3, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer system of claim 1,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the media player comprising a tag application configured to decode and render the visual tag content that includes the retail information to be displayed on the digital display device” (Paragraphs 27 and 42 show that “medial player 320” “render[s]” what is displayed on “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 79 shows “[I]t is expressly contemplated that the components and/or elements described herein can be implemented as software being stored on a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable medium (e.g., disks/CDs/RAM/EEPROM/etc.) having program instructions executing on a computer, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof.” Therefore, “Media Player 320” includes software (i.e. a “tag application”) executing on hardware that performs the functionality of the “media player 320.” Fig. 8 and Paragraphs 62-64 shows “[0062] FIG. 8 illustrates an example simplified procedure for operating in price tag mode in accordance with one or more embodiments described herein. . . As discussed above, the graphics/video information [(i.e. “retail information”)] could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information, social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements, various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc. In addition, if suggestive selling mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information identifying additional items that the customer may be interested in, or, if ad rental mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information regarding graphic and/or video advertisements for a product. . . [C]ontrol computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100, taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain. [0063] Once the graphics/video information has been prepared, control computer 300 sends the information at Step 810. If a media player 320 is being used in the system, control computer 300 can send the information to media player 320. If media player 320 is not being used, control computer 300 can send the information directly to digital displays 100. [0064] At Step 815, once the graphics/video information is received, [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “the retail information to be displayed on the digital display device”)] are generated and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” (Emphasis added).).
Regarding Claim 4, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer system of claim 3,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag application is configured to create a visualization for display on the digital display device, the visualization including static graphics and/or animated graphics corresponding to the retail information” (As discussed above, Paragraphs 27, 42, and 62-64 show that the “media player 320” (i.e. “tag application”) “render[s]” and “generate[s]” the “graphics/videos” (i.e. “visualizations” “corresponding to the retail information”) “displayed on” “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 62 shows “As discussed above, the graphics/video information could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information [(i.e. static graphics)], social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements [(i.e. animated graphics)], various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc.” See also Fig. 5-7 and Paragraphs 42, 47, 50, and 53 showing detailed examples of the display, which includes static and animated graphics.).
Regarding Claim 5, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer system of claim 3,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag application is configured to generate timed or event-driven visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device” (As discussed above, Paragraphs 27, 42, and 62-64 show that the “media player 320” (i.e. “tag application”) “render[s]” and “generate[s]” the “graphics/videos” (i.e. “visualizations” “corresponding to the retail information”) “displayed on” “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 62 shows “As discussed above, the graphics/video information could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information, social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements, various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc. In addition, if suggestive selling mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information identifying additional items that the customer may be interested in, or, if ad rental mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information regarding graphic and/or video advertisements for a product.” (Emphasis added). Paragraph 56 shows “Another example of a possible service mode, which can be used on its own or in addition to the price tag mode described above, is a video help mode. Upon request by the customer [(i.e. an “event”)], a pre-recorded video can be displayed on digital displays 100 that provides the user with additional information about a particular product [(i.e. “visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device”)], such as suggestions on how to cook an item, suggested recipes, use instructions, advertisements for the item, etc. In video help mode, the displays are configured to accept an input from the customer indicating that the customer is requesting additional information or help. For example, the displays on digital displays 100 could be set up such that a customer can double click on the price tag graphic 500 [(i.e. an “event”)] described above in price tag mode to obtain the additional information [(i.e. “visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device”)] , a separate icon can be provided to obtain the additional information, a touch screen gesture can be detected to obtain additional information, or any other desired input method.). Thus, by providing additional information upon user input, Byers teaches that “the tag application is configured to generate . . . event-driven visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer system of claim 1,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag provisioning information comprises information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device” (Paragraphs 26-27 show “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. Referring to FIG. 3, digital displays 100 are networked with a control computer 300 through routers 310 and media players 320 via a local network, such as a LAN, to provide an integrated, customizable, and highly engaging shopping experience. . . Those skilled in the art will understand that any number of digital displays 100, media players 320, routers 310, control computers 300, and other peripherals may be used and that the view shown herein is for simplicity. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. Each digital display 100 can have a configuration setting that selects its position in the chain and the particular group. For example, the first digital display 100 in a chain can display lines 1-120 of a 1080 line graphic/video, the second digital display 100 can display lines 121-140, etc. Alternative resolutions could also be used to support is displays of different pixel array size or a different number of signs per chain or group. If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one aisle (approximately twenty media players 320 would be required for the example “big box” store described above). Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100. . .” (Emphasis added). Thus, the “instructions” sent from the “control computer 300” to “media player 320” must include “information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device.” Therefore, Byers teaches that “the tag provisioning information comprises information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device,” particularly in light of the inventory and reconfiguration processes discussed in Paragraphs 28-29. See also Paragraph 62 showing “control computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100, taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain.).
Regarding Claim 7, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer system of claim 1,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag provisioning information comprises information representing the slicing of the retail information horizontally and/or vertically” (Paragraphs 26-27 show “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. Referring to FIG. 3, digital displays 100 are networked with a control computer 300 through routers 310 and media players 320 via a local network, such as a LAN, to provide an integrated, customizable, and highly engaging shopping experience. . . Those skilled in the art will understand that any number of digital displays 100, media players 320, routers 310, control computers 300, and other peripherals may be used and that the view shown herein is for simplicity. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. Each digital display 100 can have a configuration setting that selects its position in the chain and the particular group. For example, the first digital display 100 in a chain can display lines 1-120 of a 1080 line graphic/video, the second digital display 100 can display lines 121-140, etc [(i.e. “slicing”)]. Alternative resolutions could also be used to support is displays of different pixel array size or a different number of signs per chain or group. If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one aisle (approximately twenty media players 320 would be required for the example “big box” store described above). Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100. . .” (Emphasis added).). Because the displayed retail information must be sliced vertically to be displayed on multiple “daisy-chained,” the location of each product on the shelf (i.e. tag provisioning information) teaches “information representing the slicing of the retail information horizontally and/or vertically” (emphasis added).).
Regarding Claim 8, Byers teaches “A computer-implemented method for displaying tag content” (Paragraph 6 shows “FIG. 3 illustrates and example system for retail digital signage.” Fig. 8 shows a cyclical process comprising “Input Received? [Yes] 825,” “Send Input Information 830,” “Receive Input Information and Determined Additional Graphics/Video Information 835,” “Send Additional Graphics/Video Information 840,” “Generate Graphics/Video 815,” and then “Display Graphics/Video 820.” See also Paragraph 78 stating “while procedures 800-1000 [in FIGS. 8-10] are described separately, certain steps from each procedure may be incorporated into each other procedure, and the procedures are not meant to be mutually exclusive.”), “the computer- implemented method comprising:”
“receiving, by a retail information server, tag provisioning information from a . . . device” (Fig. 3-4 and Paragraphs 26-31 shows “control computer 300” (i.e. “retail information server”). Fig. 8 and Paragraph 65 show “Alternatively, rather than a customer input, the input received at Step 825 could also be a change in the data or algorithms stored in memory 430, such as the price or description of a particular item. In this case, in Step 835 control computer 300 could process a refresh order using management process 497 an refresh the graphics/video to be sent to digital displays.” Thus, “customer input,” may alternatively be another type of input. Paragraphs 26, 51, 68, 73, and 76 show a variety of peripherals that provide “inputs” to “control computer 300” including “a website or app on a smartphone,” “security cameras 330 or “cameras 115 in digital displays 100” or alternatively “security cameras 330,” or merely “input devices” used by an employee to verify inventory. See also Paragraphs 57-59 discussing inventory mode where an employee (1) can access “control computer 300” to verify how many products are determined to be left on each shelf based on an image of the shelf received by the “control computer 300” from a camera or (2) can reconfigure where products are located on the shelves. At least the inventory of what product is located at which location on the shelf, or a mere product identifier, teaches “tag provisioning information” (i.e. information used to provision a tag under the broadest reasonable interpretation). See also Fig. 1-5 and Paragraph 24-29, 42, and 62 showing that the “control computer 300” knows, and therefore must have received, the location of each product on the shelf. Although the “tag provisioning information” could be received from a “mobile device,” Byers does not explicitly teach such configuration.);
“retrieving, by the retail information server, retail information associated with one or more goods based on the tag provisioning information” (Fig. 4 and Paragraph 28 shows “FIG. 4 is a schematic block diagram of an example control computer 300 [(i.e. retail information server)] that may be used with one or more embodiments described herein.” Fig. 4 and Paragraph 30 shows “Memory 430 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by processor 420 and the network interface(s) 410 for storing software programs, graphics/video 460 [(i.e. retail information)], inventory/price information 461 [(i.e. retail information)], and customer data 462, associated with the embodiments described herein.” Use of data stored in “memory 430” teaches “retriev[ing]” that data. Paragraph 62 shows “Graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. retail information)] may be stored in compressed . . . data state, in which case processor 420 can perform decompression . . . processes to convert the stored data to graphics/video. Further, control computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100 [(i.e. based on the tag provisioning information)], taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain.” (Emphasis added). Thus, Byers teaches that the “retail information” is based on the “tag provisioning information.”);
“generating, by the retail information server, a digital signal based on the tag provisioning information and the retail information” (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 67 shows “Once control computer 300 has determined the additional graphics/video information required [(i.e. based on the tag provisioning information)], at Step 840 control computer 300 sends [(i.e. generate a digital signal)] the additional graphics/video information [(i.e. retail information)] to digital displays 100, . . . through media players 320, and the process continues with Step 815.” Fig. 3-4 and Paragraph 42 shows “In price tag mode, control computer 300 can use pricing process 470 and inventory/price information 461 [(i.e. retail information)] to prepare and send graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. retail information)] related to products [(i.e. tag provisioning information)] and pricing for display by digital displays 100. When used in a system such as that shown in FIG. 3, control computer 300 can send the information to a particular media player 320 associated with a particular set of digital displays 100, through router 310. Media player 320 can then generate the requested graphics/video pursuant to the information received and send the corresponding graphics/video to the appropriate digital displays 100. . . As shown in FIG. 5, based on the graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. digital signal)] sent by control computer 300, digital displays 100 can display price tag graphics 500, which can include product logos or names and a prices for each product stocked near each digital display 100. . . Since digital displays 100 show price tag graphics 500 for all the items located on the shelves and are controlled by central control computer 300, the information provided in price tag graphics 500 should never be missing or incorrect and can be instantly updated. The format, font, shape, color, border, and animation of price tag graphic 500 can also be customized per product to highlight specific products, for example those on sale. In addition to price tag graphics 500, other possible graphics/video 460 information could include information for special offer graphics 510, such as manufacturer's coupon offers, promotions, social networking tie-ins, etc., product information graphics 520, such as recipe suggestions, etc., or even full motion video advertisements 530 for selected products, which can be displayed in the space between price tags or in any other open space on digital displays 100. Control computer 300 can also send information to display . . . an interactive icon 550, which could allow the user to . . . scan a barcode, report out of stock items, send a message to a manager, create a video chat session, etc.”);
“receiving, by a media player, the digital signal; rendering, by the media player, visual tag content including the retail information based on the digital signal” (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 27 shows “Media Player 320.” See also Paragraphs 43, 62-65, and 71-72 further discussing “Media Player 320.”) Fig. 3 and Paragraph 27 shows “Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. . . Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which . . . sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100.” (Emphasis added). The instructions from central control computer 300 teaches the received digital signal. Further, because the instructions are for the media player 320 to render the graphics/video, Byers teaches that rendering the “visual tag content” is “based upon the digital signal.” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 64 shows “At Step 815, once the graphics/video information [(i.e. retail information)] is received [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “visual tag content”)] are generated [(i.e. “render[ed]”)] and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” Thus, any graphics/video displayed teaches “visual tag content.”);
“receiving, at a digital display device positioned on a product display shelf in a retail environment, the rendered visual tag content” (Fig. 1-3 and Paragraphs 24-27 shows “digital display 100.” Fig. 2 and Paragraph 25 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a continuous band of digital displays 100 can be installed up and down each aisle of a retail store. Each digital display 100 can be installed on a shelf 200 of each shelving unit 210 at approximately eye level [(i.e. “positioned on a product display shelf in a retail environment”)], which would allow the digital displays 100 to be easily observed by customers and provide information regarding all of the products 220 on each shelving unit 210.” See also Paragraph 42 showing that the “digital displays 100 could be attached to the front of the [shelf].” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 64 shows “At Step 815, once the graphics/video information is received [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “visual tag content”)] are generated [(i.e. “render[ed]”)] and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” Paragraphs 26-27 shows “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. . . If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one . . . Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100.” Thus, Byers teaches that the digital display device (i.e. “digital display 100”) receives the rendered content.); and
“displaying, on the digital display device, the visual tag content at a location on the digital display device corresponding to a location of the associated one or more goods on the product display shelf” (Fig. 5 and Paragraph 42 shows “As shown in FIG. 5, based on the graphics/video 460 information sent by control computer 300, digital displays 100 can display price tag graphics 500, which can include product logos or names and a prices for each product stocked near each digital display 100. In the example shown, price tag graphics 500 are rendered as actual product price tags, with each tag arranged to correspond with a single item on shelves above or below digital display 100.” (Emphasis added). Fig. 2 and Paragraph 25 shows “Providing digital displays 100 on nearly all of the shelving units 210 of a retail store permits customers to be in close proximity to a digital display 100 no matter where they are in the store, insures that each product 220 offered for sale throughout the store is has some dedicated screen area for information, and could improve customer convenience and create new revenue opportunities.” (Emphasis added).).
Byers does not explicitly teach, but Bonner teaches that “receiving, by a retail information server, tag provisioning information from a mobile device” (Fig. 2 and Paragraph 30 shows “computing system 300” and “store computing system 400” (i.e. “retail information server”) connected with “a retail associate device 230, a personal assistant and liaison device 240, [and] a mobile computing device 250” (i.e. “mobile device”) and “display units 118” that “graphically present[s] information.” Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46 shows “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the data storage component 336 [of enterprise computing system 300 ] may store an enterprise data repository 336 a, which may include product data pertaining to products to be sold at one or more store locations, pricing data pertaining to the products to be sold at the one or more store locations, planogram data pertaining to the placement of products on shelves [(i.e. tag provisioning information)], and label data to be displayed on shelf display units at the one or more store locations, multimedia content (e.g., pictures, video, sound, or the like). The enterprise data repository 336 a may be stored in one or more data storage devices. In another embodiment, the enterprise computing system 300 may be coupled to a remote server or data storage device that includes at least some of the data in the enterprise data repository 336 a. Other data may be stored in the data storage component 336 to provide support for functionalities described herein.” Fig. 6 and Paragraphs 64-70 shows a process of setting a “planogram” stored in “store computing system 400” or “enterprise computing system 300” (i.e. “a retail information server configured to: receive tag provisioning information”) by receiving input from “retail associate device 230” or “mobile computing device 250” (i.e. “from a mobile device”). Specifically, Paragraph 69 shows “Still referring to FIG. 6 (and FIGS. 1 and 2), at block 610, input indicative of a completion of the planogram set may be received. For example, in some embodiments, an associate tasked with setting products on the plurality of shelves 116 according to the particular planogram may provide input indicative of the completion of the planogram set via manipulation of a touchscreen or tactile input device of the retail associate device 230 when the associate has completed setting the planogram. In other embodiments, the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set may be received via manipulation of a touchscreen or tactile input device of the mobile computing device 250. . . In some embodiments, the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set may be transmitted by the retail associate device 230, the mobile computing device 250, or the plurality of display units 118 to the store computing system 400 via the store computing network 225. In such embodiments, the store computing system 400 may receive the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bonner with Byers because Byers teaches that inventory can be updated and reconfigured by an employee (Paragraphs 28-29 and 57-59.) and Bonner teaches that an employee can update the database storing where each product is on the shelf with a mobile device (Fig. 6 and Paragraphs 64-70.). Thus, combining Bonner with Byers furthers the interest taught in Byers, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 8,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the digital display device is positioned on a front edge of the product display shelf in the retail environment” (Fig. 1 and Paragraph 24 shows “[D]igital display 100 . . . has a visible display area 105 having a height “h” of approximately 3 inches, a width “w” of approximately 48 inches, . . .” Paragraph 23 shows “This panel size and aspect ratio could be used for big box retail environments, since the shelf units are typically 48″ wide. The 3″ height should also fit well in the front of shelf space usually reserved for price tags, without hanging down too low into the volume of the next lower shelf.” (Emphasis added). Paragraph 42 shows “the digital displays 100 could be attached to the front of the [shelf].” See also Fig. 2 showing digital display 100 at the front of the shelf.).
Regarding Claim 10, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 8,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the media player comprising a tag application configured to decode and render the visual tag content that includes the retail information to be displayed on the digital display device” (Paragraphs 27 and 42 show that “medial player 320” “render[s]” what is displayed on “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 79 shows “[I]t is expressly contemplated that the components and/or elements described herein can be implemented as software being stored on a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable medium (e.g., disks/CDs/RAM/EEPROM/etc.) having program instructions executing on a computer, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof.” Therefore, “Media Player 320” includes software (i.e. a “tag application”) executing on hardware that performs the functionality of the “media player 320.” Fig. 8 and Paragraphs 62-64 shows “[0062] FIG. 8 illustrates an example simplified procedure for operating in price tag mode in accordance with one or more embodiments described herein. . . As discussed above, the graphics/video information [(i.e. “retail information”)] could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information, social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements, various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc. In addition, if suggestive selling mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information identifying additional items that the customer may be interested in, or, if ad rental mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information regarding graphic and/or video advertisements for a product. . . [C]ontrol computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100, taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain. [0063] Once the graphics/video information has been prepared, control computer 300 sends the information at Step 810. If a media player 320 is being used in the system, control computer 300 can send the information to media player 320. If media player 320 is not being used, control computer 300 can send the information directly to digital displays 100. [0064] At Step 815, once the graphics/video information is received, [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “the retail information to be displayed on the digital display device”)] are generated and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” (Emphasis added).).
Regarding Claim 11, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 10,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag application is configured to create a visualization for display on the digital display device, the visualization including static graphics and/or animated graphics corresponding to the retail information” (As discussed above, Paragraphs 27, 42, and 62-64 show that the “media player 320” (i.e. “tag application”) “render[s]” and “generate[s]” the “graphics/videos” (i.e. “visualizations” “corresponding to the retail information”) “displayed on” “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 62 shows “As discussed above, the graphics/video information could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information [(i.e. static graphics)], social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements [(i.e. animated graphics)], various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc.” See also Fig. 5-7 and Paragraphs 42, 47, 50, and 53 showing detailed examples of the display, which includes static and animated graphics.).
Regarding Claim 12, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 10,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag application is configured to generate timed or event-driven visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device” (As discussed above, Paragraphs 27, 42, and 62-64 show that the “media player 320” (i.e. “tag application”) “render[s]” and “generate[s]” the “graphics/videos” (i.e. “visualizations” “corresponding to the retail information”) “displayed on” “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 62 shows “As discussed above, the graphics/video information could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information, social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements, various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc. In addition, if suggestive selling mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information identifying additional items that the customer may be interested in, or, if ad rental mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information regarding graphic and/or video advertisements for a product.” (Emphasis added). Paragraph 56 shows “Another example of a possible service mode, which can be used on its own or in addition to the price tag mode described above, is a video help mode. Upon request by the customer [(i.e. an “event”)], a pre-recorded video can be displayed on digital displays 100 that provides the user with additional information about a particular product [(i.e. “visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device”)], such as suggestions on how to cook an item, suggested recipes, use instructions, advertisements for the item, etc. In video help mode, the displays are configured to accept an input from the customer indicating that the customer is requesting additional information or help. For example, the displays on digital displays 100 could be set up such that a customer can double click on the price tag graphic 500 [(i.e. an “event”)] described above in price tag mode to obtain the additional information [(i.e. “visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device”)] , a separate icon can be provided to obtain the additional information, a touch screen gesture can be detected to obtain additional information, or any other desired input method.). Thus, by providing additional information upon user input, Byers teaches that “the tag application is configured to generate . . . event-driven visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 8,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag provisioning information comprises information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device” (Paragraphs 26-27 show “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. Referring to FIG. 3, digital displays 100 are networked with a control computer 300 through routers 310 and media players 320 via a local network, such as a LAN, to provide an integrated, customizable, and highly engaging shopping experience. . . Those skilled in the art will understand that any number of digital displays 100, media players 320, routers 310, control computers 300, and other peripherals may be used and that the view shown herein is for simplicity. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. Each digital display 100 can have a configuration setting that selects its position in the chain and the particular group. For example, the first digital display 100 in a chain can display lines 1-120 of a 1080 line graphic/video, the second digital display 100 can display lines 121-140, etc. Alternative resolutions could also be used to support is displays of different pixel array size or a different number of signs per chain or group. If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one aisle (approximately twenty media players 320 would be required for the example “big box” store described above). Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100. . .” (Emphasis added). Thus, the “instructions” sent from the “control computer 300” to “media player 320” must include “information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device.” Therefore, Byers teaches that “the tag provisioning information comprises information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device,” particularly in light of the inventory and reconfiguration processes discussed in Paragraphs 28-29. See also Paragraph 62 showing “control computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100, taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain.).
Regarding Claim 14, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 8,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag provisioning information comprises information representing the slicing of the retail information horizontally and/or vertically” (Paragraphs 26-27 show “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. Referring to FIG. 3, digital displays 100 are networked with a control computer 300 through routers 310 and media players 320 via a local network, such as a LAN, to provide an integrated, customizable, and highly engaging shopping experience. . . Those skilled in the art will understand that any number of digital displays 100, media players 320, routers 310, control computers 300, and other peripherals may be used and that the view shown herein is for simplicity. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. Each digital display 100 can have a configuration setting that selects its position in the chain and the particular group. For example, the first digital display 100 in a chain can display lines 1-120 of a 1080 line graphic/video, the second digital display 100 can display lines 121-140, etc [(i.e. “slicing”)]. Alternative resolutions could also be used to support is displays of different pixel array size or a different number of signs per chain or group. If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one aisle (approximately twenty media players 320 would be required for the example “big box” store described above). Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100. . .” (Emphasis added).). Because the displayed retail information must be sliced vertically to be displayed on multiple “daisy-chained,” the location of each product on the shelf (i.e. tag provisioning information) teaches “information representing the slicing of the retail information horizontally and/or vertically” (emphasis added).).
Regarding Claim 15, Byers teaches “A computer program product comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable media; and computer-executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable media, the computer-executable instructions executable by the processor to” (Paragraph 79 shows “[I]t is expressly contemplated that the components and/or elements described herein can be implemented as software being stored on a tangible (non-transitory) computer-readable medium (e.g., disks/CDs/RAM/EEPROM/etc.) having program instructions executing on a computer, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof.” Paragraph 6 shows “FIG. 3 illustrates and example system for retail digital signage.” Thus, any of the functions of any of the computer components of Fig. 3 teaches operations of the computer-executable instructions executable by the processor.”):
“receive tag provisioning information from a . . . device” (Fig. 3-4 and Paragraphs 26-31 shows “control computer 300.” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 65 show “Alternatively, rather than a customer input, the input received at Step 825 could also be a change in the data or algorithms stored in memory 430, such as the price or description of a particular item. In this case, in Step 835 control computer 300 could process a refresh order using management process 497 an refresh the graphics/video to be sent to digital displays.” Thus, “customer input,” may alternatively be another type of input. Paragraphs 26, 51, 68, 73, and 76 show a variety of peripherals that provide “inputs” to “control computer 300” including “a website or app on a smartphone,” “security cameras 330 or “cameras 115 in digital displays 100” or alternatively “security cameras 330,” or merely “input devices” used by an employee to verify inventory. See also Paragraphs 57-59 discussing inventory mode where an employee (1) can access “control computer 300” to verify how many products are determined to be left on each shelf based on an image of the shelf received by the “control computer 300” from a camera or (2) can reconfigure where products are located on the shelves. At least the inventory of what product is located at which location on the shelf, or a mere product identifier, teaches “tag provisioning information” (i.e. information used to provision a tag under the broadest reasonable interpretation). See also Fig. 1-5 and Paragraph 24-29, 42, and 62 showing that the “control computer 300” knows, and therefore must have received, the location of each product on the shelf. Although the “tag provisioning information” could be received from a “mobile device,” Byers does not explicitly teach such configuration.);
“retrieve retail information associated with one or more goods based on the tag provisioning information” (Fig. 4 and Paragraph 28 shows “FIG. 4 is a schematic block diagram of an example control computer 300 that may be used with one or more embodiments described herein.” Fig. 4 and Paragraph 30 shows “Memory 430 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by processor 420 and the network interface(s) 410 for storing software programs, graphics/video 460 [(i.e. retail information)], inventory/price information 461 [(i.e. retail information)], and customer data 462, associated with the embodiments described herein.” Use of data stored in “memory 430” teaches “retriev[ing]” that data. Paragraph 62 shows “Graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. retail information)] may be stored in compressed . . . data state, in which case processor 420 can perform decompression . . . processes to convert the stored data to graphics/video. Further, control computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100 [(i.e. based on the tag provisioning information)], taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain.” (Emphasis added). Thus, Byers teaches that the “retail information” is based on the “tag provisioning information.”);
“generate a digital signal based on the tag provisioning information and the retail information” (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 67 shows “Once control computer 300 has determined the additional graphics/video information required [(i.e. based on the tag provisioning information)], at Step 840 control computer 300 sends [(i.e. generate a digital signal)] the additional graphics/video information [(i.e. retail information)] to digital displays 100, . . . through media players 320, and the process continues with Step 815.” Fig. 3-4 and Paragraph 42 shows “In price tag mode, control computer 300 can use pricing process 470 and inventory/price information 461 [(i.e. retail information)] to prepare and send graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. retail information)] related to products [(i.e. tag provisioning information)] and pricing for display by digital displays 100. When used in a system such as that shown in FIG. 3, control computer 300 can send the information to a particular media player 320 associated with a particular set of digital displays 100, through router 310. Media player 320 can then generate the requested graphics/video pursuant to the information received and send the corresponding graphics/video to the appropriate digital displays 100. . . As shown in FIG. 5, based on the graphics/video 460 information [(i.e. digital signal)] sent by control computer 300, digital displays 100 can display price tag graphics 500, which can include product logos or names and a prices for each product stocked near each digital display 100. . . Since digital displays 100 show price tag graphics 500 for all the items located on the shelves and are controlled by central control computer 300, the information provided in price tag graphics 500 should never be missing or incorrect and can be instantly updated. The format, font, shape, color, border, and animation of price tag graphic 500 can also be customized per product to highlight specific products, for example those on sale. In addition to price tag graphics 500, other possible graphics/video 460 information could include information for special offer graphics 510, such as manufacturer's coupon offers, promotions, social networking tie-ins, etc., product information graphics 520, such as recipe suggestions, etc., or even full motion video advertisements 530 for selected products, which can be displayed in the space between price tags or in any other open space on digital displays 100. Control computer 300 can also send information to display . . . an interactive icon 550, which could allow the user to . . . scan a barcode, report out of stock items, send a message to a manager, create a video chat session, etc.”);
“render visual tag content including the retail information based on the digital signal” (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 27 shows “Media Player 320.” See also Paragraphs 43, 62-65, and 71-72 further discussing “Media Player 320.”) Fig. 3 and Paragraph 27 shows “Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. . . Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which . . . sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100.” (Emphasis added). The instructions from central control computer 300 teaches the received digital signal. Further, because the instructions are for the media player 320 to render the graphics/video, Byers teaches that rendering the “visual tag content” is “based upon the digital signal.” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 64 shows “At Step 815, once the graphics/video information [(i.e. retail information)] is received [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “visual tag content”)] are generated [(i.e. “render[ed]”)] and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” Thus, any graphics/video displayed teaches “visual tag content.”);
“receive the rendered visual tag content at a digital display device positioned on a product display shelf in a retail environment” (Fig. 1-3 and Paragraphs 24-27 shows “digital display 100.” Fig. 2 and Paragraph 25 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a continuous band of digital displays 100 can be installed up and down each aisle of a retail store. Each digital display 100 can be installed on a shelf 200 of each shelving unit 210 at approximately eye level [(i.e. “positioned on a product display shelf in a retail environment”)], which would allow the digital displays 100 to be easily observed by customers and provide information regarding all of the products 220 on each shelving unit 210.” See also Paragraph 42 showing that the “digital displays 100 could be attached to the front of the [shelf].” Fig. 8 and Paragraph 64 shows “At Step 815, once the graphics/video information is received [by media player 320], the graphics/video to be displayed [(i.e. “visual tag content”)] are generated [(i.e. “render[ed]”)] and are displayed on the particular digital displays 100 at Step 820.” Paragraphs 26-27 shows “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. . . If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one . . . Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100.” Thus, Byers teaches that the digital display device (i.e. “digital display 100”) receives the rendered content.); and
“display the visual tag content at a location on the digital display device corresponding to a location of the associated one or more goods on the product display shelf” (Fig. 5 and Paragraph 42 shows “As shown in FIG. 5, based on the graphics/video 460 information sent by control computer 300, digital displays 100 can display price tag graphics 500, which can include product logos or names and a prices for each product stocked near each digital display 100. In the example shown, price tag graphics 500 are rendered as actual product price tags, with each tag arranged to correspond with a single item on shelves above or below digital display 100.” (Emphasis added). Fig. 2 and Paragraph 25 shows “Providing digital displays 100 on nearly all of the shelving units 210 of a retail store permits customers to be in close proximity to a digital display 100 no matter where they are in the store, insures that each product 220 offered for sale throughout the store is has some dedicated screen area for information, and could improve customer convenience and create new revenue opportunities.” (Emphasis added).).
Byers does not explicitly teach, but Bonner teaches that “receive tag provisioning information from a . . . device” includes “receive tag provisioning information from a mobile device” (Fig. 2 and Paragraph 30 shows “computing system 300” and “store computing system 400” connected with “a retail associate device 230, a personal assistant and liaison device 240, [and] a mobile computing device 250” (i.e. “mobile device”) and “display units 118” that “graphically present[s] information.” Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46 shows “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the data storage component 336 [of enterprise computing system 300 ] may store an enterprise data repository 336 a, which may include product data pertaining to products to be sold at one or more store locations, pricing data pertaining to the products to be sold at the one or more store locations, planogram data pertaining to the placement of products on shelves [(i.e. tag provisioning information)], and label data to be displayed on shelf display units at the one or more store locations, multimedia content (e.g., pictures, video, sound, or the like). The enterprise data repository 336 a may be stored in one or more data storage devices. In another embodiment, the enterprise computing system 300 may be coupled to a remote server or data storage device that includes at least some of the data in the enterprise data repository 336 a. Other data may be stored in the data storage component 336 to provide support for functionalities described herein.” Fig. 6 and Paragraphs 64-70 shows a process of setting a “planogram” stored in “store computing system 400” or “enterprise computing system 300” (i.e. “receive tag provisioning information”) by receiving input from “retail associate device 230” or “mobile computing device 250” (i.e. “from a mobile device”). Specifically, Paragraph 69 shows “Still referring to FIG. 6 (and FIGS. 1 and 2), at block 610, input indicative of a completion of the planogram set may be received. For example, in some embodiments, an associate tasked with setting products on the plurality of shelves 116 according to the particular planogram may provide input indicative of the completion of the planogram set via manipulation of a touchscreen or tactile input device of the retail associate device 230 when the associate has completed setting the planogram. In other embodiments, the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set may be received via manipulation of a touchscreen or tactile input device of the mobile computing device 250. . . In some embodiments, the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set may be transmitted by the retail associate device 230, the mobile computing device 250, or the plurality of display units 118 to the store computing system 400 via the store computing network 225. In such embodiments, the store computing system 400 may receive the input indicative of the completion of the planogram set.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bonner with Byers because Byers teaches that inventory can be updated and reconfigured by an employee (Paragraphs 28-29 and 57-59.) and Bonner teaches that an employee can update the database storing where each product is on the shelf with a mobile device (Fig. 6 and Paragraphs 64-70.). Thus, combining Bonner with Byers furthers the interest taught in Byers, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 16, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer program product of claim 15,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the digital display device is positioned on a front edge of the product display shelf in the retail environment” (Fig. 1 and Paragraph 24 shows “[D]igital display 100 . . . has a visible display area 105 having a height “h” of approximately 3 inches, a width “w” of approximately 48 inches, . . .” Paragraph 23 shows “This panel size and aspect ratio could be used for big box retail environments, since the shelf units are typically 48″ wide. The 3″ height should also fit well in the front of shelf space usually reserved for price tags, without hanging down too low into the volume of the next lower shelf.” (Emphasis added). Paragraph 42 shows “the digital displays 100 could be attached to the front of the [shelf].” See also Fig. 2 showing digital display 100 at the front of the shelf.).
Regarding Claim 17, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer program product of claim 15,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the computer-executable instructions further comprise a tag application executable by the processor to create a visualization for display on the digital display device, the visualization including static graphics and/or animated graphics corresponding to the retail information” (As discussed above, Paragraphs 27, 42, and 62-64 show that the “media player 320” (i.e. “tag application”) “render[s]” and “generate[s]” the “graphics/videos” (i.e. “visualizations” “corresponding to the retail information”) “displayed on” “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 62 shows “As discussed above, the graphics/video information could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information [(i.e. static graphics)], social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements [(i.e. animated graphics)], various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc.” See also Fig. 5-7 and Paragraphs 42, 47, 50, and 53 showing detailed examples of the display, which includes static and animated graphics.).
Regarding Claim 18, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer program product of claim 15,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag application is executable by the processor to generate timed or event-driven visual changes for cycling display of different retail information display on the digital display device” (As discussed above, Paragraphs 27, 42, and 62-64 show that the “media player 320” (i.e. “tag application”) “render[s]” and “generate[s]” the “graphics/videos” (i.e. “visualizations” “corresponding to the retail information”) “displayed on” “digital displays 100.” Paragraph 62 shows “As discussed above, the graphics/video information could be information required in order to display product information, such as product names, logos, and prices, special offer information, manufacturer coupon information, promotion information, social networking tie-in information, full motion video advertisements, various icons, such as keyboard, interactive, and help icons, etc. In addition, if suggestive selling mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information identifying additional items that the customer may be interested in, or, if ad rental mode is being used, the graphics/video information could include information regarding graphic and/or video advertisements for a product.” (Emphasis added). Paragraph 56 shows “Another example of a possible service mode, which can be used on its own or in addition to the price tag mode described above, is a video help mode. Upon request by the customer [(i.e. an “event”)], a pre-recorded video can be displayed on digital displays 100 that provides the user with additional information about a particular product [(i.e. “visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device”)], such as suggestions on how to cook an item, suggested recipes, use instructions, advertisements for the item, etc. In video help mode, the displays are configured to accept an input from the customer indicating that the customer is requesting additional information or help. For example, the displays on digital displays 100 could be set up such that a customer can double click on the price tag graphic 500 [(i.e. an “event”)] described above in price tag mode to obtain the additional information [(i.e. “visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device”)] , a separate icon can be provided to obtain the additional information, a touch screen gesture can be detected to obtain additional information, or any other desired input method.). Thus, by providing additional information upon user input, Byers teaches that “the tag application is configured to generate . . . event-driven visual changes for cycling display of different retail information on the digital display device.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer program product of claim 15,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag provisioning information comprises information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device” (Paragraphs 26-27 show “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. Referring to FIG. 3, digital displays 100 are networked with a control computer 300 through routers 310 and media players 320 via a local network, such as a LAN, to provide an integrated, customizable, and highly engaging shopping experience. . . Those skilled in the art will understand that any number of digital displays 100, media players 320, routers 310, control computers 300, and other peripherals may be used and that the view shown herein is for simplicity. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. Each digital display 100 can have a configuration setting that selects its position in the chain and the particular group. For example, the first digital display 100 in a chain can display lines 1-120 of a 1080 line graphic/video, the second digital display 100 can display lines 121-140, etc. Alternative resolutions could also be used to support is displays of different pixel array size or a different number of signs per chain or group. If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one aisle (approximately twenty media players 320 would be required for the example “big box” store described above). Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100. . .” (Emphasis added). Thus, the “instructions” sent from the “control computer 300” to “media player 320” must include “information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device.” Therefore, Byers teaches that “the tag provisioning information comprises information representing positioning of the retail information on the digital display device,” particularly in light of the inventory and reconfiguration processes discussed in Paragraphs 28-29. See also Paragraph 62 showing “control computer 300 can arrange the graphics/video in a buffer with correct order, position, and orientation such that the images are transmitted to the correct one of digital displays 100, taking into account which digital displays 100 are connected to which media players 320, and their order on the daisy chain.).
Regarding Claim 20, Byers and Bonner teaches “The computer program product of claim 15,” as discussed above.
Byers further teaches “wherein the tag provisioning information comprises information representing the slicing of the retail information horizontally and/or vertically” (Paragraphs 26-27 show “[0026] Driving digital displays 100 in a large retail environment can be done by networking digital displays 100 with media players and routers connected to the store's control computer. Referring to FIG. 3, digital displays 100 are networked with a control computer 300 through routers 310 and media players 320 via a local network, such as a LAN, to provide an integrated, customizable, and highly engaging shopping experience. . . Those skilled in the art will understand that any number of digital displays 100, media players 320, routers 310, control computers 300, and other peripherals may be used and that the view shown herein is for simplicity. . . [0027] Groups of digital displays 100 can be daisy-chained using connectors 120 and multiple groups can be connected to a media player 320. Media player 320 produces a graphic/video output, such as a conventional 1080P output, which would be driven down the chain of digital displays 100. Each digital display 100 can have a configuration setting that selects its position in the chain and the particular group. For example, the first digital display 100 in a chain can display lines 1-120 of a 1080 line graphic/video, the second digital display 100 can display lines 121-140, etc [(i.e. “slicing”)]. Alternative resolutions could also be used to support is displays of different pixel array size or a different number of signs per chain or group. If a multi-head media player 320 is used, each media player 320 can drive enough digital displays 100 for approximately one aisle (approximately twenty media players 320 would be required for the example “big box” store described above). Media players 320 can be networked via Ethernet through routers 310 to central control computer 300, which would run the system software, calculate the graphics/video to display on all of the digital displays 100, and sends instructions to media players 320 to render the graphics/video on particular digital displays 100. . .” (Emphasis added).). Because the displayed retail information must be sliced vertically to be displayed on multiple “daisy-chained,” the location of each product on the shelf (i.e. tag provisioning information) teaches “information representing the slicing of the retail information horizontally and/or vertically” (emphasis added).).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is as follows:
US-20230402020-A1 (“Self”) shows use of a media player to render product information on a shelf-mounted display.
US 20150371321 A1 (“Chapuis”) shows motion activated display of locally stored content at a retail shelf.
US-20260060454-A1 (“Cai” NOT PRIOR ART) shows Fig. 34-35 similar to Fig. 8-9 of the instant application. Although the specification of this co-pending application overlaps with the instant application, the claims of the co-pending application are patentably distinct.
“What does Render Decode Mean?” (“Digital Media Processing” 11/09/2025 – NOT PRIOR ART, https://hub.sivo.it.com/digital-media-processing/what-does-render-decode-mean/) shows that decoding extracts or unravels raw information from received compressed files or information (e.g. MP4 or JPEG), and rendering then transforms that raw data into a visual output that users can experience, e.g. drawing pixels on a display. Plainly, decoding receives input encoded (compressed) files or data streams, and outputs raw uncompressed data; and rendering receives input raw uncompressed data, and outputs visible video.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW PARKER GOODMAN whose telephone number is (571) 272-5698. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:30 AM ET to 6:00 PM ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Zimmerman, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-4602. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MATTHEW PARKER GOODMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/JEFF ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628