Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteley, US20120065923 (hereinafter referred to as Whiteley), in view of Liu, US20090168834 (hereinafter referred to as Liu).
In regards to claim 1, Whiteley teaches an Input/Output (I/O) module (integrate cold junction compensation system or apparatus 110; [Abstract] & [Fig. 3]), comprising: a base (terminal block header 135 & substrate 132; [Fig. 3]); a removable terminal block (RTB) (terminal block plug 140; [Fig. 3]) selectively connected to the base, wherein the RTB includes a plurality of terminals (implicit terminals shown on 140; [Fig. 3]); an I/O circuit (computing device 150 & I/O devices 158; [Fig. 3]) mounted within the base (implicit, the circuit is mounted on the substrate 132; [Fig. 3]); a plurality of contact pairs (implicit, plug and terminal socket pairs; [Fig. 3]), wherein: each contact pair includes a first contact mounted in the RTB (plug contacts in 140; [Fig. 3]) and electrically connected to one of the plurality of terminals (socket contacts in 135; [Fig. 3]), each contact pair includes a second contact mounted in the base (socket contacts in 135; [Fig. 3]) and electrically connected to the I/O circuit (tracings 142; [Fig. 3]); a first cold junction compensation (CJC) sensor (temperature sensor 136A; [Fig. 3]) mounted within the base proximate the second contact from one of the plurality of contact pairs (implicit; [Fig. 3] & [0022]) and operative to generate a first feedback signal (an electrical signal; [0026]) corresponding to a temperature (representing a temperature; [0026]) present at the second contact.
Whiteley does not teach a switch connected between the first CJC sensor and an electrical ground connection, wherein the switch selectively connects the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection.
Liu teaches a switch (relay R21; [Fig. 1]) connected between the first CJC sensor (cold junction compensator 22; [Fig. 1]) (temperature sensor 136A, Whiteley) and an electrical ground connection (ground circuit 10; [Fig. 1]), wherein the switch selectively connects the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection (connected to ground; [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley in order to incorporate a switch connected between the first CJC sensor and an electrical ground connection, wherein the switch selectively connects the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection as taught by Liu. The motivation for doing so would be to add a testing capability to the temperature sensor.
Claim(s) 2 & 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteley, US20120065923 (hereinafter referred to as Whiteley), in view of Liu, US20090168834 (hereinafter referred to as Liu), and in further view of Glyazer et al., US20160010908 (hereinafter referred to as Glyazer).
In regards to claim 2, Whiteley and Liu do not teach the I/O module of claim 1, further comprising a controller operative to generate a control signal for the switch to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection.
Glyazer teaches the I/O module of claim 1, further comprising a controller (temperature controller; [Abstract]) operative to generate a control signal (switched signals; [Abstract]) for the switch to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley and Liu in order to incorporate the I/O module of claim 1, further comprising a controller operative to generate a control signal for the switch to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection as taught by Glyazer. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known way to remotely control the switches taught by Liu.
In regards to claim 10, Whiteley teaches an I/O module (integrate cold junction compensation system or apparatus 110; [Abstract] & [Fig. 3]), comprising: a base (terminal block header 135 & substrate 132; [Fig. 3]) configured to selectively receive either a first removable terminal block (RTB) (terminal block plug 140; [Fig. 3]) or a second RTB; an I/O circuit (computing device 150 & I/O devices 158; [Fig. 3]) mounted within the base; a plurality of first contacts mounted within the base (socket contacts in 135; [Fig. 3]) and electrically connected to the I/O circuit; a first cold junction compensation (CJC) sensor (temperature sensor 136A; [Fig. 3]) mounted within the base proximate one of the plurality of first contacts and operative to generate a first feedback signal (an electrical signal; [0026]) corresponding to a temperature present (representing a temperature; [0026]) at the corresponding first contact;
Whiteley does not teach a controller in the I/O circuit operative to generate a control signal to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to an electrical ground connection; and a switch connected between the first CJC sensor and the electrical ground connection, wherein the switch receives the control signal to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection.
Liu teaches a switch (relay R21; [Fig. 1]) connected between the first CJC sensor (cold junction compensator 22; [Fig. 1]) (temperature sensor 136A, Whiteley) and the electrical ground connection (ground circuit 10; [Fig. 1]), wherein the switch receives the control signal to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection (connected to ground; [0011]).
Liu does not teach a controller in the I/O circuit operative to generate a control signal to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to an electrical ground connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley in order to incorporate a switch connected between the first CJC sensor and the electrical ground connection, wherein the switch receives the control signal to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection as taught by Liu. The motivation for doing so would be to add a testing capability to the temperature sensor.
Glyazer teaches a controller (temperature controller; [Abstract]) in the I/O circuit operative to generate a control signal (switched signals; [Abstract]) to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to an electrical ground connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley and Liu in order to incorporate a controller in the I/O circuit operative to generate a control signal to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to an electrical ground connection as taught by Glyazer. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known way to remotely control the switches taught by Liu.
In regards to claim 11, Whiteley teaches the I/O module of claim 10 further comprising the first RTB selectively connected to the base, wherein the first RTB includes: a plurality of terminals (implicit terminals shown on 140; [Fig. 3]); and a plurality of second contacts (socket contacts in 135; [Fig. 3]), wherein each of the plurality of first contacts corresponds to one of the plurality of second contacts to define a contact pair (implicit, plug and terminal socket pairs; [Fig. 3]) and wherein each of the plurality of second contacts is electrically connected to one of the plurality of terminals (electrically connected with the terminal plug is inserted in the terminal block header; [Fig. 3]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteley, US20120065923 (hereinafter referred to as Whiteley), in view of Liu, US20090168834 (hereinafter referred to as Liu), and in further view of Spiel et al., US20250007250 (hereinafter referred to as Spiel).
In regards to claim 17, Whiteley teaches a method of detecting a cold junction compensation (CJC) sensor in an Input/Output (I/O) module (integrate cold junction compensation system or apparatus 110; [Abstract] & [Fig. 3]), the method comprising the steps of: providing a first cold junction compensation (CJC) sensor (temperature sensor 136A; [Fig. 3]) proximate (implicit, installed on the terminal block header 135; [Fig. 3]) a second contact (socket contacts in 135; [Fig. 3]) from a contact pair (implicit, plug and terminal socket pairs; [Fig. 3]), wherein: a first contact of the contact pair (plug contacts in 140; [Fig. 3]) is mounted in a removable terminal block (RTB) (terminal block plug 140; [Fig. 3]) for the I/O module, the first contact is electrically connected to a terminal for the RTB (inherent of a contact within a terminal header), the second contact is mounted in a base for the I/O module (implicit; [Fig. 3]), and the second contact is electrically connected to an I/O circuit mounted in the base (implicit of tracings 142; [Fig. 3]); generating a first feedback signal (an electrical signal; [0026]) with the first CJC, wherein the first feedback signal corresponds to a temperature (representing a temperature; [0026]) present at the second contact.
Whiteley does not teach selectively connecting the first CJC to an electrical ground connection with a switch; and detecting a first value of the first feedback signal with an analog-to digital (A/D) converter, wherein the first value corresponds to the first CJC present in the base of the I/O module and the switch closed to connect the first CJC to the electrical ground connection.
Liu teaches selectively connecting the first CJC (cold junction compensator 22; [Fig. 1]) (temperature sensor 136A, Whiteley) to an electrical ground connection (ground circuit 10; [Fig. 1]) with a switch (relay R21; [Fig. 1]); and wherein the first value corresponds to the first CJC present in the base of the I/O module and the switch closed to connect the first CJC to the electrical ground connection (connected to ground; [0011]).
Liu does not teach detecting a first value of the first feedback signal with an analog-to digital (A/D) converter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley in order to incorporate selectively connecting the first CJC to an electrical ground connection with a switch; and wherein the first value corresponds to the first CJC present in the base of the I/O module and the switch closed to connect the first CJC to the electrical ground connection as taught by Liu.
Spiel teaches detecting a first value of the first feedback signal (temperature data; [0204]) with an analog-to digital (A/D) converter (ADC 28B; [0204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley & Liu in order to incorporate detecting a first value of the first feedback signal with an analog-to digital (A/D) converter as taught by Spiel. The motivation for doing so would be to transform the temperature data in order to be processed by the processing unit taught by Whitely.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiteley, US20120065923 (hereinafter referred to as Whiteley), in view of Liu, US20090168834 (hereinafter referred to as Liu), and in further view of Spiel et al., US20250007250 (hereinafter referred to as Spiel), and in further view of Glyazer et al., US20160010908 (hereinafter referred to as Glyazer).
In regards to claim 18, Whiteley, Liu, & Spiel do not teach the method of claim 17, further comprising the step of generating a control signal for the switch to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection with a controller in the I/O circuit.
Glyazer teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising the step of generating a control signal (switched signals; [Abstract]) for the switch to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection with a controller (temperature controller; [Abstract]) in the I/O circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Whiteley, Liu, and Spiel in order to incorporate the method of claim 17, further comprising the step of generating a control signal for the switch to selectively connect the first CJC sensor to the electrical ground connection with a controller in the I/O circuit as taught by Glyazer. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known way to remotely control the switches taught by Liu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-9 would be allowed based on dependence of claim 3
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 would be allowed based on dependence of claim 12.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-16 would be allowed based on dependence of claim 14.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 would be allowed based on dependence of claim 19.
Conclusion
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838