DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the application 19/018,350 filed on 07/07/2026.
2. Claims 11-17 have been withdraws. Claims 1-10 and 18-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
3. The Applicant elects the claims of Group I without traverse. Accordingly, claims 1-10 and 18-20 are pending and Claims 11-17 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
4. For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that NO restrictions warranted at applicant’s initial time of filing for patent.
Priority
5. For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that NO foreign priority claimed at applicant’s initial time of filing for patent.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 04/10/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
7. For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Oath/Declaration submitted on 01/26/2025 has been accepted.
Drawings
8. For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the drawings filed on 01/13/2025 has been accepted.
Specification
9. For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant's specification filed on 01/13/2025 has been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-
AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and
distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 18 limitation recites “…a module configured to …”, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written
description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
15. Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sitnikov, document I: WO 2023121505 A1.
Referring to claim 1, Sitnikov teaches a method comprising:
locating, by a processing device, a portion of a document model of digital content that lacks coediting serialization support (abstract, collaborative editing of a digital object, para. 0021);
executing, by the processing device, a detector module configured to inspect a named document state of the digital content as associated with the portion of the document model (para. 0013, determine whether the first user is currently editing the digital object or not.);
selecting, by the processing device, a mode from a plurality of modes based on the named document state (abstract, para. 0011, coediting mode); and
controlling, by the processing device, access to a coediting session with at least one other client device based on the selected mode or whether the detector module detects the named document state (paras. 0048-0050, 0056, 0063-0064 and figs. 1-4, coediting control system).
Referring to claim 2, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the selected mode is an enabled support mode indicating the digital content is coediting compatible (paras, 0013, 0035, from incompatible to compatible).
Referring to claim 3, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the selected mode is a disabled support mode indicating coediting of the digital content is not permitted and output of the digital content for viewing is permitted (paras. 0063-0064 and fig. 4; claim 19).
Referring to claim 4, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the selected mode is a no support mode indicating coediting of the digital content is not permitted and output of the digital content for viewing is permitted (paras. 0063-0064 and fig. 4; claim 19).
Referring to claim 5, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the controlling includes exiting the coediting session responsive to detecting a delta and a fingerprint as associated with the named document state (para. 0035, exclusive locking).
Referring to claim 6, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the fingerprint is generated by locating one or more elements of the digital content corresponding to a change in state described by the delta and generating the fingerprint based on a hash of a serialization of the one or more elements of the delta (abstract, collaborative editing of a digital object, para. 0021).
Referring to claim 7, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the delta includes a version identifier as indicating a version associated with a content editing feature (abstract, para. 0051, version control system).
Referring to claim 8, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the version identifier is usable as part of determining compatibility with the change in state (para. 0051).
Referring to claim 9, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the serialization is generated based on an in-memory stream of the one or more elements of the delta (abstract, para. 0021).
Referring to claim 10, Sitnikov further teaches wherein the fingerprint is generated by identifying session-dependent data and controlling whether to omit the session-dependent data from the fingerprint (paras. 0038, 0061, 0063, unique identifier).
Referring to claim 18, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 19, This claim is similar in scope to claims 2,3 and 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 20, This claim is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 08/06/2026