DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Naik reference (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0308661).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Naik reference discloses:
a device (300) for reducing vibration in a steering system [Abstract], the device (300) comprising:
a boost circuit (320—includes the boost module 322 and 324 and filter 326 and product block so can be interpreted as boost circuit) including an input terminal (FIG. 3—leaving 318) and an output terminal (329);
a filter (326) configured to be positioned at an input terminal (FIG. 3) of a boost circuit (320) and filter an input torque input (302 via 318) to the input terminal of the boost circuit (320) (FIG. 3);
a speed sensor (308); and
a processor (612) configured to control an operation of the filter (326) to reduce vibration [Abstract] and vary a type of the filter based on vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor (Claim 1),
wherein the boost circuit (320) is configured to boost (328) the filtered input torque (302) based on boosting logic [Paragraph 0037] and output a boosted torque (328) at the output terminal (329).
5. Regarding claim 2, the Naik reference further discloses: wherein the filter includes an nth-order filter or a frequency filter for external resonance [Paragraph 0038].
6. Regarding claim 7, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the input torque includes vibration components generated from at least one of driver torque [Paragraph 0013] and disturbances transmitted through a shaft transmission system [Paragraph 0017].
7. Regarding claim 8, the Naik reference further discloses:
a method of reducing vibration in a steering system of a vehicle (FIG. 3), the method comprising:
varying (Claim 1), by a processor (612), a type of a filter (326) positioned at an input terminal (FIG. 3) of a boost circuit (320) based on vehicle speed (Claim 1) measured by a speed sensor (308); and
filtering (326), by the processor (612), an input torque input to the input terminal of the boost circuit using the filter (326) (FIG. 3): and
boosting, by the boost circuit (320), the filtered input torque (302) based on boosting logic [Paragraph 0037], and outputting a boosted torque (328) at an output terminal (329) of the boost circuit (320).
8. Regarding claim 13, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the input torque includes vibration components generated from at least one of driver torque [Paragraph 0013] and disturbances transmitted through a shaft transmission system [Paragraph 0017].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Naik reference.
11. Regarding claim 3, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (612) is configured to use the nth-order filter [Paragraph 0038] to reduce ripple-related order vibration components from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining that the vehicle is stationary based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
12. Regarding claim 5, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (612) is configured to use the frequency filter [Paragraph 0040] to reduce resonant vibration components in an external transmission system from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining that the vehicle is in motion based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
13. Regarding claim 6, the Naik reference further discloses:
and use the frequency filter for external resonance [Paragraph 0040].
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose configured to determine that the vehicle is in motion at creep speeds when the vehicle speed is greater than 0 km/h and less than or equal to 10 km/h. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be travelling at these speeds or not which is two finite
possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
14. Regarding claim 9, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the filtering includes using an nth-order filter [Paragraph 0038] to reduce ripple-related order vibration components from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining, by the processor, whether the vehicle is stationary based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
15. Regarding claim 11, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (612) is configured to use the frequency filter [Paragraph 0040] to reduce resonant vibration components in an external transmission system from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining that the vehicle is in motion based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
16. Regarding claim 12, the Naik reference further discloses:
and use the frequency filter for external resonance [Paragraph 0040].
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose configured to determine that the vehicle is in motion at creep speeds when the vehicle speed is greater than 0 km/h and less than or equal to 10 km/h. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be travelling at these speeds or not which is two finite
possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that item 320 of the cited reference is not a boost circuit. The Office is free to interpret the cited references in a logical manner. The item 320 includes parts such as 322 the boost module which could indicate that naming it a boost circuit is appropriate. The rest of the rejection follows from there as highlighted in the above rejections. Accordingly, all claims are finally rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747