DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Naik reference (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0308661).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Naik reference discloses:
a device (300) for reducing vibration in a steering system [Abstract], the device (300) comprising:
a filter (326) configured to be positioned at an input terminal (FIG. 3) of a boost circuit (320) and filter an input torque input (302 via 318) to the input terminal of the boost circuit (320) (FIG. 3);
a speed sensor (308); and
a processor (612) configured to control an operation of the filter (326) to reduce vibration [Abstract] and vary a type of the filter based on vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor (Claim 1).
5. Regarding claim 2, the Naik reference further discloses: wherein the filter includes an nth-order filter or a frequency filter for external resonance [Paragraph 0038].
6. Regarding claim 7, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the input torque includes vibration components generated from at least one of driver torque [Paragraph 0013] and disturbances transmitted through a shaft transmission system [Paragraph 0017].
7. Regarding claim 8, the Naik reference further discloses:
a method of reducing vibration in a steering system of a vehicle (FIG. 3), the method comprising:
varying (Claim 1), by a processor (612), a type of a filter (326) positioned at an input terminal (FIG. 3) of a boost circuit (320) based on vehicle speed (Claim 1) measured by a speed sensor (308); and
filtering (326), by the processor (612), an input torque input to the input terminal of the boost circuit using the filter (326) (FIG. 3).
8. Regarding claim 13, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the input torque includes vibration components generated from at least one of driver torque [Paragraph 0013] and disturbances transmitted through a shaft transmission system [Paragraph 0017].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Naik reference.
11. Regarding claim 3, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (612) is configured to use the nth-order filter [Paragraph 0038] to reduce ripple-related order vibration components from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining that the vehicle is stationary based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
12. Regarding claim 5, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (612) is configured to use the frequency filter [Paragraph 0040] to reduce resonant vibration components in an external transmission system from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining that the vehicle is in motion based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
13. Regarding claim 6, the Naik reference further discloses:
and use the frequency filter for external resonance [Paragraph 0040].
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose configured to determine that the vehicle is in motion at creep speeds when the vehicle speed is greater than 0 km/h and less than or equal to 10 km/h. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be travelling at these speeds or not which is two finite
possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
14. Regarding claim 9, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the filtering includes using an nth-order filter [Paragraph 0038] to reduce ripple-related order vibration components from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining, by the processor, whether the vehicle is stationary based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
15. Regarding claim 11, the Naik reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (612) is configured to use the frequency filter [Paragraph 0040] to reduce resonant vibration components in an external transmission system from the input torque (FIG. 3).
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose when determining that the vehicle is in motion based on the vehicle speed measured by the speed sensor. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be stationary or moving which is two finite possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
16. Regarding claim 12, the Naik reference further discloses:
and use the frequency filter for external resonance [Paragraph 0040].
The Naik reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Naik reference fails to disclose configured to determine that the vehicle is in motion at creep speeds when the vehicle speed is greater than 0 km/h and less than or equal to 10 km/h. This would be obvious to try. The vehicle would either be travelling at these speeds or not which is two finite
possibilities with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, this claim is obvious over the prior art reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747