DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert et al. (US 6,130,774; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Albert discloses, a shuttering electrophoretic display (Figs. 1-11C) comprising:
a light-transmissive electrode (32, 40);
a back electrode (30, 34);
a layer of electrophoretic medium (20, 25, 50, 52, 54, 56) disposed between the light-transmissive electrode and the back electrode (see Figs. 8-11C), the electrophoretic medium comprising a volume of light-absorbing pigment particles that does not exceed 5% by volume of the total volume of the electrophoretic medium (Col. 8, lines 38-48; note, discloses particles are 0.1% to 20% of the volume).
Regarding claim 2, Albert discloses, the volume of charged light-absorbing pigment particles does not exceed 1% by volume of the total volume of the electrophoretic medium (Col. 8, lines 38-48; note, discloses particles are 0.1% to 20% of the volume).
Regarding claim 3, Albert discloses, the electrophoretic medium additionally comprises a charge control agent (CCA) (Cp;. 14, lines 61-62).
Regarding claim 7, Albert discloses, the electrophoretic medium is encapsuled in microcavities (20) and the light-absorbing pigment particles are packed against walls of the microcavity when the shuttering electrophoretic display is in an open state (Col. 11, lines 31-39).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert et al. (US 6,130,774; already of record) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Paolini et al. (US 2008/0030832).
Albert remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Albert does not disclose 85% of light incident on the shuttering electrophoretic display is transmitted through the shuttering electrophoretic display when the shuttering electrophoretic display is in an open state.
Paolini teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in shuttering electrophoretic display that it would have been desirable to make 85% of light incident on the shuttering electrophoretic display is transmitted through the shuttering electrophoretic display when the shuttering electrophoretic display is in an open state (Para. 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make 85% of light incident on the shuttering electrophoretic display is transmitted through the shuttering electrophoretic display when the shuttering electrophoretic display is in an open state as taught by the shuttering electrophoretic display of Paolini in the shuttering electrophoretic display of Albert since Paolini teaches it is known to include this feature in a shuttering electrophoretic display for the purpose of providing a shuttering electrophoretic display with an improved contrast ratio.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert et al. (US 6,130,774; already of record) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Webber et al. (US 2004/0226820).
Albert remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Albert does not disclose the electrophoretic medium is encapsulated in gelatin microcapsules.
Webber teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a shuttering electrophoretic display that it would have been desirable to make the electrophoretic medium is encapsulated in gelatin microcapsules (Para. 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrophoretic medium is encapsulated in gelatin microcapsules as taught by the shuttering electrophoretic display of Webber in the shuttering electrophoretic display of Albert since Webber teaches it is known to include this feature in a shuttering electrophoretic display for the purpose of providing a shuttering electrophoretic display with improved adhesion and enhanced display performance.
Regarding claim 6, Albert in view of Webber discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Webber further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a shuttering electrophoretic display that it would have been desirable to make the light-absorbing pigment particles are positively charged and the walls of the gelatin microcapsules are negatively charged (Para. 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the shuttering electrophoretic display of Webber in the shuttering electrophoretic display of Albert since Webber teaches it is known to include this feature in a shuttering electrophoretic display for the purpose of providing a shuttering electrophoretic display with improved adhesion and enhanced display performance.
Conclusion
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 09/09/2026