DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species I: a method for capturing sound waves with a facilitating tubular member attached externally to an electronic device, seen in Fig. 7 and associated with Claims 11 and 18-20.
Species II: a method for capturing sound waves with a facilitating tubular member attached internally to an electronic device, seen in Figs. 12A-12B and associated with Claims 21-34.
The species are independent or distinct because the different species recite mutually exclusive characteristics of placement of a tubular member.
. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, 1 generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Attorney Andrew Pettit on September 25, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species II, claims 21-34. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claims 11 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
The Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 30, the term “wherein the microphone is configured to product audio data indicative of sounds internal to the living body,” should be replaced with -- wherein the microphone is configured to produce audio data indicative of sounds internal to the living body,-- to address a typographical error.
In Claim 31, the term “wherein the microphone is configured to product audio data indicative of sounds internal to the living body,” should be replaced with -- wherein the microphone is configured to produce audio data indicative of sounds internal to the living body, -- to address a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required and applicant should carefully review the Claims for any other informalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vernalis et al (US 2021/0338189) (“Vernalis”).
Regarding Claim 1, Vernalis teaches an apparatus for guiding sounds toward a destination (Figs. 28a-28b, Abstract, [0077] cup 178), the apparatus comprising:
A tubular body (Figs. 28a-28b, Abstract, [0077] cup 178 made of elastomeric shroud) that includes –
A distal interface through which the sound waves corresponding to sounds internal to a living body are collected;
A proximal interface through which sounds waves are presented to a microphone of an electronic device to which the tubular body is connected; and
A channel defined by an inner surface of the tubular body extending between the distal and proximal interfaces (Figs. 28a-28b, [0077] if we consider the bottom of the cup 178 that lies horizontally between the bottom of microphone and the top of abutting ridge of housing 66, as highlighted by Examiner below in modified Figs. 28a-28b of Vernalis, we can identify a tubular body as highlighted by Examiner in below in modified tubular structure with distal interface through which the sound waves corresponding to sounds internal to a living body are collected from the bottom of the inverted bell housing 66, and a proximal interface through which sounds waves are presented to a microphone of an electronic device to which the tubular body is connected corresponding to the bottom of microphone 78; and an air channel defined by an inner surface of the tubular body extending between the distal and proximal interfaces ;
Wherein the channel allows the sound waves to travel from the distal interface to the proximal interface (Figs. 28a-28b, an opening is shown through cup 178).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumer et al (US 2005/0124902) (“Baumer”).
Regarding Claim 1, Baumer teaches an apparatus for guiding sounds toward a destination (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, [0018] elastomeric boot 26), the apparatus comprising:
A tubular body (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, [0018] elastomeric boot 26 shown as cylindrical in Fig. 4) that includes –
A distal interface through which the sound waves corresponding to sounds internal to a living body are collected;
A proximal interface through which sounds waves are presented to a microphone of an electronic device to which the tubular body is connected; and
A channel defined by an inner surface of the tubular body extending between the distal and proximal interfaces (Figs. 3-4, [0018] if we consider the bottom of elastomeric boot 26 that lies horizontally between the bottom of microphone 24 and the top of abutting ridge of annular wall 22h, as highlighted by Examiner below in modified Fig. 3 of Baumer, we can identify a tubular body with distal interface through which the sound waves corresponding to sounds internal to a living body are collected from the bottom of the sound collection chamber 22e, and a proximal interface through which sounds waves are presented to a microphone 24 of an electronic device to which the tubular body is connected corresponding to the bottom of microphone 24; and an air channel defined by an inner surface of the tubular body extending between the distal and proximal interfaces;
Wherein the channel allows the sound waves to travel from the distal interface to the proximal interface (Figs. 3-4, an opening is shown through elastomeric boot 26).
Regarding Claim 2, Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tubular body is comprised of a deformable material capable of deforming from an original form under pressure and regaining the original form upon removal of the pressure (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 6, Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Baumer teaches the apparatus further comprising:
a diaphragm that vibrates when struck by the sound waves ([0018] acoustic membrane 30); and
an adhesive film secures the diaphragm to the distal interface of the tubular body ([0025] acoustical membrane 30 adhered to the mouth 22c with an adhesive and secured to the distal interface of the tube body through the membrane’s contact with the mouth 22c and domed-surface 22d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Mansy et al (US 2004/0032957) (“Mansy”).
Regarding Claim 3, while Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 2, Baumer fails to teach wherein the deformable material is urethane foam.
However Mansy teaches an electric stethoscope (Abstract, Fig. 1) where an acoustically-insulating and flexible material utilized is open-cell polyurethane foam sheeting ([0044] and where polyurethane foam can be an example of urethane foam as noted by [0060] of Applicant’s Specification dated 1/13/2025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply polyurethane foam of Mansy as the elastomeric material of Baumer as this provides a material with the desired characteristics of flexibility and acoustic insulation, enabling a consistent standard material to be applied across applications of the invention, ensuring consistency of results.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Riverstone (WO 2022/099380).
Regarding Claim 4, while Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Baumer fails to teach wherein the inner surface is tapered such that the channel narrows toward the proximal interface so as to funnel the sound waves toward the proximal interface.
However Riverstone teaches an acoustic sensor (Abstract, Figs. 1-3) comprising a annular insulating component that insulates an internal passage of sound waves, the annular insulating component narrows toward the proximal upper end so as to funnel the sound waves toward the proximal interface (p9, L. 6-13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to structure the insulating tubular body structure of Baumer with an inner surface that is tapered such that the channel narrows toward the proximal interface to funnel the sound waves toward the proximal interface as taught by Riverstone to “prevent sounds from outside the stethoscope from entering the channel amplifying and transmitting sound waves” as this provides a more reliable and simpler stethoscope.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Sarraf et al (US 2022/0386984) (“Sarraf”) and further in view of Riverstone.
Regarding Claim 5, while Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Baumer fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the distal interface has a concave surface that is representative of a recess at which to collect the sound waves, and wherein the proximal interface has a concave surface that is representative of a recess at which to present the sound waves.
However Sarraf teaches a contacting microphone (Abstract, Fig. 1) where a sound collecting structure has a distal interface with a concave surface to collect the sound waves, and wherein the proximal interface has a concave surface to present the sound waves (Fig. 1, [0044] cavity wall 110 / sound collecting structure interfaces with microphone 106 through aperture 111 where the interface of the cavity wall towards the diaphragm 112 is concave, as shown by front surface 116 and the interface of the cavity wall towards microphone 106 is concave as well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to structure the insulating tubular body structure of Baumer with a tapered distal interface to collect the sound waves and a tapered proximal interface to present the sound waves as taught by Sarraf as a way to collect sound waves with desirable characteristics, a known function of tapered insulating collecting structures (Riverstone: p9, L. 6-13, such a structure “prevent sounds from outside the stethoscope from entering the channel amplifying and transmitting sound waves” as this provides a more reliable and simpler stethoscope.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer.
Regarding Claim 7, while Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Baumer teaches that the diameter of the channel of the tubular portion is roughly between 1-19 mm (See Claim 1 Rejection, [0019], [0025] where the top of the body 22 has an outside diameter of 0.75 inches and bottom through passage 30a has a diameter of about 0.04 inches, which correlate to diameters of about 19 and 1 mm respectively, and tubular portion / bottom of elastomeric boot is shown with a diameter between these values), Baumer fails to positively teach wherein a diameter of the channel at the distal interface is between 2 millimeters (mm) and 7 mm, and wherein a diameter of the channel at the proximal interface is between 2 mm and 7 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when given the range limitation of Baumer of between 1-19 mm to further optimize this range through routine testing to find the ideal diameter (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding Claim 8, Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein a diameter of the tubular body is between 5 mm and 10 mm (See Claim 7 Rejection, optimization would apply for the proximal interface, distal interface, and the open channel).
Regarding Claim 10, while Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Baumer further teaches the use of adhesive layers for coupling the system ([0025]), Baumer fails to explicitly teach the apparatus further comprising: an adhesive film that secures a proximal end of the tubular body to the electronic device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the tubular body of Baumer attached to its position around the microphone by the use of adhesive layers as taught by Vernalis as a positive recitation of how coupling is accomplished, enabling a standardized construction for the invention. Furthermore, it would be obvious that the cross section of Baumer (shown in Claim 1’s Rejection in the modified figure) can be a separated component from the elastomeric boot that surrounds the microphone in the horizontal plane, as this separation would not change the functionality of sound dampening and microphone encapsulation. Finally, in using an adhesive layer as a coupling component, the coupling would naturally occur in a horizontal plane, and therefore would be applicable at either a proximal end or distal end of the tubular body.
Claim(s) 9, 12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Vernalis.
Regarding Claim 9, while Baumer teaches the apparatus of claim 1, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein a length of the tubular body is no more than 5 mm.
However Vernalis teaches an electronic stethoscope that utilizes a surrounding elastomer structure around a microphone for acoustic insulation (Abstract, Figs. 28a-28b, [0077]) where total heights of auscultation sensors may be between 3-5 millimeters based on desired frequency sensing ([0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to recognize that the height of the tubular body of Baumer is limited by the total height of the sensor and thus the overall heights in Vernalis act as a boundary standard for the overall height of the tubular body. And understanding that the height of the tubular portion must be smaller than these given heights, and understanding the distance of the open passage affects the sounds captured by the microphone (Vernalis: [0067]-[0068]), it would be obvious to find the optimal height range of a tubular body for the desired sound characteristics (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding Claim 12, while Baumer teaches a method for manufacturing an acoustic collection device (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, [0018] elastomeric boot 26), the method comprising:
acquiring a block of deformable material that is capable of deforming under pressure and reverting to an original form upon removal of the pressure (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, [0018] elastomeric boot 26 is elastomeric, indicating that a block of an elastomer was previously acquired);
forming a tubular body with a pair of ends from the block of deformable material (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, [0018] elastomeric boot 26 is shown is formed as a tubular body with a pair of ends from the original deformable material),
defining a channel through the tubular body such that (i) a first aperture is accessible along a first end of the pair of ends and (ii) a second aperture is accessible along a second end of the pair of ends (Figs. 1-4, Abstract, [0018] elastomeric boot 26 in Fig. 28b shows two open ends),
and Baumer teaches that the diameter of the channel of the tubular portion is roughly between 1-19 mm (See Claim 1 Rejection, [0019], [0025] where the top of the body 22 has an outside diameter of 0.75 inches and bottom through passage 30a has a diameter of about 0.04 inches, which correlate to diameters of about 19 and 1 mm respectively, and tubular portion / bottom of elastomeric boot is shown with a diameter between these values),
Baumer fails to positively teach wherein the tubular body is no more than 10 millimeters (mm) in width.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when given the range limitation of Baumer of between 1-19 mm to further optimize this range through routine testing to find the ideal diameter (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Yet Baumer fails to teach wherein the tubular body is no more than 5 mm in length.
However Vernalis teaches an electronic stethoscope that utilizes a surrounding elastomer structure around a microphone for acoustic insulation (Abstract, Figs. 28a-28b, [0077]) where total heights of auscultation sensors may be between 3-5 millimeters based on desired frequency sensing ([0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to recognize that the height of the tubular body of Baumer is limited by the total height of the sensor and thus the overall heights in Vernalis act as a boundary suggestion for the overall height of the tubular body. And understanding that the height of the tubular portion must be smaller than these given heights, and understanding the distance of the open passage affects the sounds captured by the microphone (Vernalis: [0067]-[0068]), it would be obvious to find the optimal height range of a tubular body for the desired sound characteristics (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding Claim 15, while Baumer and Vernalis teach the method of claim 12, and Baumer further teaches the use of adhesive layers for coupling the system ([0025]), Baumer fails to explicitly teach the method further comprising: applying an adhesive film to one of the pair of ends of the tubular body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the tubular body of Baumer attached to its position around the microphone by the use of adhesive layers as taught by Vernalis as a positive recitation of how coupling is accomplished, enabling a standardized construction for the invention. Finally, in using an adhesive layer as a coupling component, the coupling would naturally occur in a horizontal plane, and therefore would be applicable at either a proximal end or distal end of the tubular body.
Regarding Claim 16, while Baumer and Vernalis teach the method of claim 12, further comprising:
The outer surface of the tubular body inhibits entry of sound waves into the channel from locations other than the pair of ends (See Claim 12 Rejection), and Vernalis teaches applying a glue coating at an outer surface structure to connect the structures ([0075]), their combined efforts fail to teach applying a coating to an outer surface of the tubular body to inhibit entry of sound waves into the channel from locations other than the pair of ends.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the tubular body of Baumer attached to its position around the microphone by a glue coating as taught by Vernalis as a positive recitation of how coupling is accomplished, enabling a standardized construction for the invention. Furthermore, in adding this glue coating, one is ensuring that the tubular body surrounds the microphone and therefore inhibits entry of sound waves into the channel from locations other than the pair of ends.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Vernalis and further in view of Cusson (US 6,587,564).
Regarding Claim 13, while Baumer and Vernalis teach the method of claim 12, and Baumer teaches wherein the tubular body is in the form of a circular hollow cylinder (See Claim 12 Rejection, the highlighted cross section of 26 is circular as seen in Fig. 4, and has a hollow aperture for directing sound waves to the microphone), their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the tubular body is in the form of a right circular hollow cylinder.
However Cusson teaches an electric stethoscope (Abstract, Fig. 1) where an encapsulating form structure exists in the horizontal place below a microphone and is structured as a right circular hollow cylinder (Fig. 1, cylindrically shaped foam shield 14 has a portion below the microphone as highlighted below that is structured as a right circular hollow cylinder
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to set the rounded bottom edge of the tubular body, interfacing with the stethoscope of Baumer as a right angle bottom edge as taught by Cusson as a simple substitution of one form of structuring a shape around an acoustic passage (Baumer: with a hollow cylinder with a bottom rounded edge) for another (Cusson: with a hollow cylinder with a right angle edge) to obtain predictable results of reliable sound wave guidance.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Vernalis and further in view of Mansy.
Regarding Claim 14, while Baumer and Vernalis teach the method of claim 12, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the deformable material is an open cell foam comprised of urethane, latex, or silicone.
However Mansy teaches an electric stethoscope (Abstract, Fig. 1) where an acoustically-insulating and flexible material utilized is open-cell polyurethane foam sheeting ([0044] and where polyurethane foam can be an example of urethane foam as noted by [0060] of Applicant’s Specification dated 1/13/2025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply polyurethane foam of Mansy as the elastomeric material of Baumer as this provides a material with the desired characteristics of flexibility and acoustic insulation, enabling a consistent standard material to be applied across applications of the invention, ensuring consistency of results.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Vernalis and further in view of Riverstone.
Regarding Claim 17, while Baumer and Vernalis teach the method of claim 12, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the first aperture has a different width than the second aperture.
However Riverstone teaches an acoustic sensor (Abstract, Figs. 1-3) comprising a annular insulating component that insulates an internal passage of sound waves, the annular insulating component narrows toward the proximal upper end so as to funnel the sound waves toward the proximal interface (p9, L. 6-13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to structure the insulating tubular body structure of Baumer with a first aperture has a different width than a second aperture as taught by Riverstone as this enables a sound wave guidance to “prevent sounds from outside the stethoscope from entering the channel amplifying and transmitting sound waves” and provides a more reliable and simpler stethoscope.
Claim(s) 21-23, 27, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Cheng et al (WO 2021/231958) (“Cheng”).
Regarding Claim 21, while Baumer teaches an input unit for an electronic stethoscope system, the input unit comprising:
a printed circuit board having a first side and a second side on which a microphone is mounted (Fig. 3, [0026] printed circuit board 38 having a first top side and a second bottom side on which a microphone 24 is mounted);
a structural body (Fig. 3, [0018] domed surface 22d) that includes
(i) a first section (Fig. 3, [0018]-[0019] domed surface 22d portion vertically above annular wall 22h), and
(ii) a second section with an exterior surface that defines a cavity through which sound waves are guided toward the microphone when the structural body is placed against a surface of a living body (Fig. 3, [0018], [0025] domed surface 22d portion vertically below annular wall 22h defines a collection chamber 22e, through which sound waves are guided toward the microphone when the structural body is placed against a surface of a living body); and
a tubular body that is comprised of a deformable material and is situated between the second side of the printed circuit board and the second section of the structural body (Figs. 3-4, [0018] if we consider the bottom of elastomeric boot 26 that lies horizontally between the bottom of microphone 24 and the top of abutting ridge of annular wall 22h, as highlighted by Examiner below in modified Fig. 3 of Baumer, we can identify a tubular body with distal interface through which the sound waves corresponding to sounds internal to a living body are collected from the bottom of the sound collection chamber 22e, and a proximal interface through which sounds waves are presented to a microphone 24 of an electronic device to which the tubular body is connected corresponding to the bottom of microphone 24; where an elastomeric material is deformable
),
Baumer fails to teach the cavity being a resonator cavity.
However Cheng teaches an electric stethoscope (Abstract) where a cavity for collecting sounds is a conical resonator designed to direct sounds to a microphone (p4, L. 2-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to specifically design the cavity of Baumer to be a resonant cavity as a way to standardize construction of a cavity across applications of the invention that ensures the directing of sound waves to the microphone of Baumer.
Regarding Claim 22, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, wherein the tubular body includes –
a first interface through which the sound waves are collected (See Claim 21 Rejection, bottom of outlined tubular portion that interfaces with annular wall 22h),
a second interface through which the sound waves are presented to the microphone (See Claim 21 Rejection, top of outlined tubular portion that interfaces with microphone 24), and
a channel that is defined by an inner surface and extends between the first and second interfaces, so as to allow the sound waves to travel from the first interface to the second interface (Fig. 3, opening at bottom of boot as confirmed by [0005]).
Regarding Claim 23, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, wherein the deformable material is capable of deforming from an original form under pressure and regaining the original form upon removal of the pressure (See Claim 21 Rejection, material of boot 26 is described as elastomeric, a type of material that is capable of deforming from an original form under pressure and regaining the original form upon removal of the pressure).
Regarding Claim 27, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, and Baumer further teaches the use of adhesive layers for coupling the system ([0025]), Baumer fails to explicitly teach the method further comprising: an adhesive that is situated between the tubular body and the second section of the structural body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the tubular body of Baumer attached to its position around the microphone by the use of adhesive layers as taught by Vernalis as a positive recitation of how coupling is accomplished, enabling a standardized construction for the invention. Finally, in using an adhesive layer as a coupling component, the coupling would naturally occur in a horizontal plane, and therefore would be applicable at either a proximal end or distal end of the tubular body. If applied at the distal end, the adhesive would be situated between the tubular body and the second section of the structural body.
Regarding Claim 30, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, wherein the microphone is configured to product audio data indicative of sounds internal to the living body (See Claim 21 Rejection), and Cheng further teaches wherein an input unit (p11, L. 11-23, p15, L. 3 – p16, L. 5, input units may be individual electronic stethoscope system connecting to a hub unit) further comprises:
a transceiver configured to effect a communication channel to facilitate communication with a destination across a network (p16, L. 6-17, transceiver 406 may establish a communication channel with destination, i.e. hub unit, across a network); and
a processor configured to:
forward the audio data to the transceiver for wireless transmission to the destination via the communication channel (p15, L. 24 – p16, L. 17, audio generated by the input unit 400 / electronic stethoscope is forwarded to a hub unit 450 by way of a a processor 404 and transceiver 406).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the electronic stethoscope of Baumer act as an input unit for network-based health monitoring as taught by Cheng as this enables a remote healthcare professional to review abnormal data before a patient begins developing more serious symptoms. And if this network-based monitoring is desired by a patient, a method to achieve this, as outlined by Cheng, would be to perform forwarding of audio data by a transceiver to the network after processing.
Regarding Claim 31, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 30, and Cheng further teaches wherein the microphone is configured to produce audio data indicative of sounds internal to the living body, and wherein the input unit further comprises:
a second microphone configured to produce second audio data indicative of sounds external to the living body (p4, L. 1 – p6, L. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to introduce a second microphone to monitoring external sounds for compensation as taught by Cheng into the system of Baumer as this enables one to filter out external sounds from body sounds “in an effort to remove the external sound without distorting internal sounds of interest (e.g., those corresponding to inhalations, exhalations, etc.).” (Cheng: p5-6).
Regarding Claim 32, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 31, and Cheng further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
forward the second audio data to the transceiver for wireless transmission to the destination via the communication channel (p11, L. 11-23, p15, L. 3 – p16, L. 17, input units may be individual electronic stethoscope system connecting to a hub unit, transceiver 406 may establish a communication channel with destination, i.e. hub unit, across a network, audio generated by the input unit 400 / electronic stethoscope is forwarded to a hub unit 450 by way of a a processor 404 and transceiver 406).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to electronic stethoscope of Baumer act as an input unit for network-based health monitoring as taught by Cheng as this enables a remote healthcare professional to review abnormal data before a patient begins developing more serious symptoms. And if this network-based monitoring is desired by a patient, a method to achieve this, as outlined by Cheng, would be to perform forwarding of audio data by a transceiver to the network after processing. Finally, it would be obvious to provide the second data to a processing hub unit to ensure the second data can be applied in a compensation step.
Regarding Claim 33, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 32, and Cheng further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
append metadata that identifies the input unit to the audio data and the second audio data (p15, L. 24 – p16, L. 17, audio generated by the input unit 400 / electronic stethoscope is forwarded to a hub unit 450 by way of a a processor 404 and transceiver 406).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the audio data and the second audio data of Baumer and Cheng may have metadata appended that identifies the input unit to the audio data and the second audio data as taught by Cheng to ensure the provided data from various input units across a network can be appropriately matched back to the data’s source.
Regarding Claim 34, Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, wherein the resonator cavity has an outer opening across which a diaphragm extends and an inner opening toward which the microphone is oriented (See Claim 21 Rejection, Baumer has an outer opening with diaphragm / acoustic membrane 30 and inner opening defined by the annular walls of 22h and the inner walls of elastomer boot).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Cheng and further in view of Teegala et al (WO 2018/134844) (“Teegala”) and further in view of Sagi (US 4,651,749).
Regarding Claim 24, while Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the deformable material is nylon foam.
However Teegala teaches an electric stethoscope (Abstract, Fig. 1) where an acoustically-insulating material utilized can be either nylon or a foam (p11, L. 3-8) and Sagi teaches that nylon can be used to make a deformable foam (Col. 5, L. 42-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply have the elastomeric material of Baumer requiring sound insulating properties be a nylon foam as both nylon and foams are recognized as having sound insulating properties (Teegala) and it is known that a foam can be made out of nylon (Sagi). Thus, Teegala and Sagi render obvious the use of a material with the desired characteristics of flexibility and acoustic insulation, enabling a consistent standard material to be applied across applications of the invention, ensuring consistency of results.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Cheng and further in view of Vernalis.
Regarding Claim 25, while Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the tubular body has a height of 2-4 millimeters.
However Vernalis teaches an electronic stethoscope that utilizes a surrounding elastomer structure around a microphone for acoustic insulation (Abstract, Figs. 28a-28b, [0077]) where total heights of auscultation sensors may be between 3-5 millimeters based on desired frequency sensing ([0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to recognize that the height of the tubular body of Baumer is limited by the total height of the sensor and thus the overall heights in Vernalis act as a boundary standard for the overall height of the tubular body. And understanding that the height of the tubular portion must be smaller than these given heights, and understanding the distance of the open passage affects the sounds captured by the microphone (Vernalis: [0067]-[0068]), it would be obvious to find the optimal height range of a tubular body for the desired sound characteristics (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Cheng and further in view of Mansy.
Regarding Claim 26, while Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 21, their combined efforts fail wherein the tubular body has a density of less than 0.4 grams per cubic centimeter.
However Mansy teaches an electric stethoscope (Abstract, Fig. 1) where an acoustically-insulating and flexible material utilized is open-cell polyurethane foam sheeting ([0044] and where polyurethane foam can be an example of urethane foam as noted by [0060] of Applicant’s Specification dated 1/13/2025), where polyurethan foam has a density of less than 0.4 grams per cubic centimeter ([0044] density given as 2 lb / cubic foot which converts to about 0.02 g/cubic centimeter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply polyurethane foam of Mansy as the elastomeric material of Baumer as this provides a material with the desired characteristics of flexibility and acoustic insulation, enabling a consistent standard material to be applied across applications of the invention, ensuring consistency of results.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Cheng and further in view of Telfort et al (US 10,828,007) (“Telfort”) and further in view of Toong et al (US 2021/0268276) (“Toong”).
Regarding Claim 28, while Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 27, and Baumer teaches that an adhesive component can be double-sided ([0025]), their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the adhesive is in the form of a double- sided tape comprising a polyethylene terephthalate backing and an acrylic adhesive.
However Telfort teaches an body sound acoustic sensor (Abstract, Fig. 1) wherein an adhesive can be in the form of tape and utilizing an acrylic adhesive (Col. 42, L. 2-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the adhesive of Baumer be in the form of tape comprising an acrylic adhesive as Telfort teaches these are suitable materials for bonding components of a body-mounted acoustic sensor, thus providing confidence in their function while standardizing construction of the invention across applications.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the adhesive is in the form of a double- sided tape comprising a polyethylene terephthalate backing and an acrylic adhesive.
However Toong teaches a patient-mounted medical device (Abstract) where the medical device may be mounted by a patch with an adhesive protected by a polyethylene terephthalate backing ([0159]-[0160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to protect the adhesive of Baumer and Telfort before application with a polyethylene terephthalate backing as taught by Toong to ensure adhesive ability of the tape is not reduced by interaction with an external environment.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumer in view of Cheng and further in view of Martin et al (US 2019/0099152) (“Martin”).
Regarding Claim 29, while Baumer and Cheng teach the input unit of claim 27, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the adhesive is in the form of a gel.
However Martin teaches an electric auscultatory sensor (Abstract, Fig. 1) where a utilized adhesive for the auscultatory sensor is a hydrogel material ([0076] noted as having acoustically transmissible interface characteristic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the hydrogel of Martin as the adhesive of Baumer as this provides an adhesive material that will not interfere with acoustic transmission.
Conclusion
/JAIRO H. PORTILLO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791