DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 10-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,225,476. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because most of the limitations of the pending claims are also in the claims of the patent.
Regarding Claim 1, the only difference between the pending claim and claim 1 of the patent is stating that X and T are finite non-zero values. All other limitations are the same.
The same applies to claims 7 and 13 which are equally similar to claim 10 of the patent.
Claim 2 is similar to claim 2 of the patent.
Claim 3 is similar to claim 3 of the patent.
Claim 4 is similar to claim 4 of the patent.
Claim 5 is similar to claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 6 is similar to claim 6 of the patent.
Claims 8 and 14 are similar to claim 11 of the patent.
Claims 9 and 15 are similar to claim 12 of the patent.
Claims 10 and 16 are similar to claim 13 of the patent.
Claims 11 and 17 are similar to claim 14 of the patent.
Claims 12 and 18 are similar to claim 15 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2020/0351794).
Referring to Claim 1, Xu teaches a power adjustment method, comprising:
receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is usable to update a pathloss reference signal (see paragraph 357 which shows receiving a pathloss reference signal based on a received MAC CE);
applying the pathloss reference signal no later than n+X+T, where n is a time for sending feedback information, the feedback information is used to feed back indicating that the MAC CE is correctly received, X is fixed duration, and T is variable duration (see paragraph 357 which shows choosing and applying a pathloss signal at T5 which occurs before an uplink transport block is transmitted at T6 where paragraph 236 shows the uplink transport block containing ACK which implies successful and correct reception and further noting that X and T is set to 0 since no detail is given otherwise); and
determining a transmit power of an uplink signal based on the pathloss reference signal (see ABSTRACT which shows transmit power determined based on pathloss).
Claims 7 and 13 have similar limitations as claim 1.
Referring to Claims 2, 8, and 14, Xu also teaches sending the uplink signal at the determined transmit power after the pathloss reference signal takes effect (see ABSTRACT which shows transport block transmitted at a power based on pathloss).
Referring to Claims 3, 9, and 15, Xu also teaches T related to higher-layer filtering capability information of a terminal device (see paragraph 214 which shows transmitting capability information and paragraphs 230 and 233 which shows filtering before transmission).
Referring to Claims 4, 10, and 16, Xu also teaches wherein the higher-layer filtering capability information comprises at least one of higher-layer filtering configuration information, a quantity of measurements, a measurement periodicity, a measurement setting, or time domain information of the pathloss reference signal; and the quantity of measurements is a quantity of measurements of receive power of the pathloss reference signal, the measurement periodicity is a transmission periodicity of the pathloss reference signal, and the measurement setting is a setting related to the pathloss reference signal (see paragraph 350 which shows a quantity of measurements shown as two separate pathloss measurements which equates to a quantity of measurements of receive power of the pathloss reference signal and further noting that the other limitations have no patentable weight since “at least one of” was used).
Referring to Claims 5, 11, and 17, Xu also teaches T as a sum of duration in which the terminal device performs higher-layer filtering, and duration in which the terminal device determines the transmit power of the uplink signal based on the pathloss reference signal (see paragraph 350 which shows the sum of two pathloss signals).
Referring to Claims 6, 12, and 18, Xu also teaches applying the pathloss signal no earlier than n+X (see paragraph 357 which shows choosing and applying a pathloss signal at T5 which occurs before an uplink transport block is transmitted at T6 where paragraph 236 shows the uplink transport block containing ACK which implies successful and correct reception and further noting that X is set to 0 since no detail is given otherwise).
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648