DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “103” has been used to designate both Switch module and Trigger module in fig.1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 11-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12206231. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application claims are anticipated by prior US patent claims as shown below.
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. 12206231
Claim 1
A leakage current detection and interruption device for a power cord, comprising:
a first power supply line and a second power supply line;
a switch module, configured to control an electrical connection of the first power supply line and the second power supply line between an input end and an output end;
a leakage current detection module, including a first leakage current detection line and a second leakage current detection line, wherein the first leakage current detection line covers the first power supply line and is configured to detect a leakage current from the first power supply line and to generate a first leakage signal in response thereto, and wherein the second leakage current detection line covers the second power supply line and is configured to detect a leakage current from the second power supply line and to generate a second leakage signal in response thereto;
a signal processing module, coupled to the leakage current detection module to receive the first and/or second leakage signals, and configured to generate a leakage fault signal in response to the first and/or second leakage signals, wherein the signal processing module includes a comparing unit configured to have a threshold signal, the comparing unit being selected from a group consisting of: a Zener diode, a trigger diode, a comparator, a TVS (Transient Voltage Suppressor) diode, and a photocoupler, wherein the threshold signal is defined by the Zener diode or the trigger diode or the comparator or the TVS diode or the photocoupler; and
a trigger module, coupled to the switch module and the signal processing module, configured to receive the leakage fault signal, and in response thereto, to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end,
wherein in response to an output signal from the leakage current detection module that is below the threshold signal, the signal processing module prevents the trigger module from driving the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end, and in response to at least one of the first leakage signal and the second leakage signal received from the leakage current detection module which is above the threshold signal, the comparing unit generates the leakage fault signal.
Claim 1
A leakage current detection and interruption device for a power cord, comprising:
a first power supply line and a second power supply line;
a switch module, configured to control an electrical connection of the first power supply line and the second power supply line between an input end and an output end;
a leakage current detection module, including a first leakage current detection line and a second leakage current detection line, wherein the first leakage current detection line covers the first power supply line and is configured to detect a leakage current from the first power supply line and to generate a first leakage signal in response thereto, and wherein the second leakage current detection line covers the second power supply line and is configured to detect a leakage current from the second power supply line and to generate a second leakage signal in response thereto;
a signal processing module, coupled to the leakage current detection module to receive the first and/or second leakage signals, and configured to generate a leakage fault signal in response to the first and/or second leakage signals, wherein the signal processing module includes a comparing unit configured to have a threshold signal, the comparing unit being selected from a group consisting of: a Zener diode, a trigger diode, and a TVS (Transient Voltage Suppressor) diode, wherein the threshold signal is defined by the Zener diode or the trigger diode or the TVS diode;
a trigger module, coupled to the switch module and the signal processing module, configured to receive the leakage fault signal, and in response thereto, to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end; and
wherein in response to an output signal from the leakage current detection module that is below the threshold signal, the signal processing module prevents the trigger module from driving the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end, and in response to at least one of the first leakage signal and the second leakage signal received from the leakage current detection module which is above the threshold signal, the comparing unit generates the leakage fault signal.
Claim 2
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, wherein the leakage current detection module is further configured to generate a first open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the first leakage current detection line, and to generate a second open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the second leakage current detection line.
Claim 2
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, wherein the leakage current detection module is further configured to generate a first open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the first leakage current detection line, and to generate a second open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the second leakage current detection line.
Claim 3
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 2, wherein the signal processing module is further configured to receive the first and second open-circuit signals and to generate a self-test fault signal in response to the first and/or second open-circuit signal.
Claim 3
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 2, wherein the signal processing module is further configured to receive the first and second open-circuit signals and to generate a self-test fault signal in response to the first and/or second open-circuit signal.
Claim 4
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 3, wherein the trigger module is further configured to receive the self-test fault signal, and in response thereto, to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end.
Claim 4
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 3, wherein the trigger module is further configured to receive the self-test fault signal, and in response thereto, to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end.
Claim 5
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 4, wherein the trigger module includes:
a solenoid, configured to generate an electromagnetic force in response to a current flowing therethrough to drive the switch module; andat least one semiconductor device, coupled in series with the solenoid, and coupled to the signal processing module, configured to cause a current to flow through the solenoid in response to the leakage fault signal and/or the self-test fault signal.
Claim 5
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 4, wherein the trigger module includes:
a solenoid, configured to generate an electromagnetic force in response to a current flowing therethrough to drive the switch module; andat least one semiconductor device, coupled in series with the solenoid, and coupled to the signal processing module, configured to cause a current to flow through the solenoid in response to the leakage fault signal and/or the self-test fault signal.
Claim 6
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 3, wherein in response to at least one of the first open-circuit signal and the second open-circuit signal received from the leakage current detection module which is above the threshold signal, the comparing unit generates the self-test fault signal correspondingly.
Claim 6
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 3, wherein in response to at least one of the first open-circuit signal and the second open-circuit signal received from the leakage current detection module which is above the threshold signal, the comparing unit generates the self-test fault signal.
Claim 7
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 2, wherein the leakage current detection module further includes:
a self-test unit, coupled to the first leakage current detection line, the second leakage current detection line, the first power supply line, the second power supply line, the signal processing module, and the trigger module, configured to detect an open-circuit condition in the first and/or second leakage current detection line, to cooperate with the first leakage current detection line to generate the first open-circuit signal when the first leakage current detection line has an open-circuit condition, and to cooperate with the second leakage current detection line to generate the second open-circuit signal when the second leakage current detection line has an open-circuit condition.
Claim 7
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 2, wherein the leakage current detection module further includes:
a self-test unit, coupled to the first leakage current detection line, the second leakage current detection line, the first power supply line, the second power supply line, the signal processing module, and the trigger module, configured to detect an open-circuit condition in the first and/or second leakage current detection line, to cooperate with the first leakage current detection line to generate the first open-circuit signal when the first leakage current detection line has an open-circuit condition, and to cooperate with the second leakage current detection line to generate the second open-circuit signal when the second leakage current detection line has an open-circuit condition.
Claim 8
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, further comprising a test module, which includes a test switch coupled to the leakage current detection module;
wherein in response to the test switch being closed and the leakage current detection module having no fault condition, the trigger module is further configured to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end.
Claim 8
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, further comprising a test module, which includes a test switch coupled to the leakage current detection module;
wherein in response to the test switch being closed and the leakage current detection module having no fault condition, the trigger module is further configured to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end.
Claim 11
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, wherein the trigger module includes:
a solenoid, configured to generate an electromagnetic force in response to a current flowing therethrough to drive the switch module; and at least one semiconductor device, coupled in series with the solenoid, and coupled to the signal processing module, configured to cause a current to flow through the solenoid in response to the leakage fault signal.
Claim 11
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, wherein the trigger module includes:
a solenoid, configured to generate an electromagnetic force in response to a current flowing therethrough to drive the switch module; and at least one semiconductor device, coupled in series with the solenoid, and coupled to the signal processing module, configured to cause a current to flow through the solenoid in response to the leakage fault signal.
Claim 12
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor device is selected from a group consisting of: a silicon controlled rectifier, a bipolar transistor, a field effect transistor, and a photocoupler.
Claim 12
The leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor device is selected from a group consisting of: a silicon controlled rectifier, a bipolar transistor, a field effect transistor, and a photocoupler.
Claim 13
An electrical power connection device, comprising:
a body; and the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, disposed inside the body.
Claim 13
An electrical power connection device, comprising:
a body; and the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, disposed inside the body.
Claim 14
An electrical appliance, comprising:
an electrical load; and
an electrical power connection device coupled between a power supply and the electrical load, configured to supply power to the electrical load, wherein the electrical power connection device includes the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1.
Claim 14
An electrical appliance, comprising:
an electrical load; and
an electrical power connection device coupled between a power supply and the electrical load, configured to supply power to the electrical load, wherein the electrical power connection device includes the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zou (US 20240063631 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zou teaches a leakage current detection and interruption device (abstract, power cord leakage detection and protection circuit) for a power cord (abstract, power cord leakage detection and protection circuit), comprising:
a first power supply line (abstract, live wire) and a second power supply line (abstract, neutral wire);
a switch module (abstract, controlled switch), configured to control an electrical connection (e.g. connection along L and N) (fig) of the first power supply line and the second power supply line (implicit, as seen in fig.1) between an input end (e.g. end close to line) (fig) and an output end (e.g. end close to load) (fig);
a leakage current detection module (e.g. module comprising shielded wire 3) (fig), including a first leakage current detection line (e.g. line with shielded wire 3 on L) (fig) and a second leakage current detection line (e.g. line with shielded wire 3 on N) (fig), wherein the first leakage current detection line covers the first power supply line (implicit, as seen in fig) and is configured to detect a leakage current from the first power supply line ([0017], when the shielded wire 3 is detected to be cracked) and to generate a first leakage signal in response thereto ([0017], shielded wire detection circuit 4 … to disconnect the controlled switch 2 when the shielded wire 3 is detected to be cracked) (it is necessarily true that 3 is generating a first leakage signal), and wherein the second leakage current detection line covers the second power supply line (implicit, as seen in fig) and is configured to detect a leakage current from the second power supply line ([0017], when the shielded wire 3 is detected to be cracked) and to generate a second leakage signal in response thereto ([0017], shielded wire detection circuit 4 … to disconnect the controlled switch 2 when the shielded wire 3 is detected to be cracked) (it is necessarily true that 3 is generating a second leakage signal);
a signal processing module (e.g. module comprising shielded wire detection circuit 4) (fig), coupled to the leakage current detection module to receive the first and/or second leakage signals (implicit, as seen in fig), and configured to generate a leakage fault signal ([0017], shielded wire detection circuit 4 is connected with a control circuit 5) in response to the first and/or second leakage signals ([0017], shielded wire 3 is detected to be cracked), wherein the signal processing module includes a comparing unit (e.g. unit comprising photoelectric coupler U1 and bidirectional transient suppression diode Q1) (fig) configured to have a threshold signal (it is necessarily true that photoelectric coupler and transient suppression diode have a threshold signal for turn on), the comparing unit being selected from a group consisting of: a Zener diode, a trigger diode, a comparator, a TVS (Transient Voltage Suppressor) diode (i.e. bidirectional transient suppression diode Q1) (fig), and a photocoupler (e.g. photoelectric coupler U1) (fig), wherein the threshold signal is defined by the Zener diode or the trigger diode or the comparator or the TVS diode or the photocoupler ([0023], The pin 3 and the pin 4 of the photoelectric coupler U1 output power supply. A control signal is sent to a control end of the silicon controlled SCR, so that the silicon controlled SCR is conducted) (it is necessarily true that photoelectric coupler has a threshold signal, above which the diode in the photocoupler turns on);
a trigger module (e.g. module comprising control circuit 5) (fig), coupled to the switch module and the signal processing module (implicit, as seen in fig), configured to receive the leakage fault signal ([0017], control circuit 5 for controlling the tripping coil 1), and in response thereto, to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end ([0017], to disconnect the controlled switch 2 when the shielded wire 3 is detected to be cracked); and
wherein in response to an output signal from the leakage current detection module that is below the threshold signal ([0024], The pin 3 and the pin 4 of the photoelectric coupler U1 output power supply. A control signal is sent to a control end of the silicon controlled SCR, so that the silicon controlled SCR is conducted) (it is necessarily true that SCR is conducted only above a threshold signal), the signal processing module prevents the trigger module from driving the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end ([0023], Thus the tripping coil 1 is energized to work, and the controlled switch 2 is controlled to be switched off), and in response to at least one of the first leakage signal and the second leakage signal received from the leakage current detection module which is above the threshold signal ([0023], The pin 3 and the pin 4 of the photoelectric coupler U1 output power supply. A control signal is sent to a control end of the silicon controlled SCR, so that the silicon controlled SCR is conducted), the comparing unit generates the leakage fault signal ([0023], Thus the tripping coil 1 is energized to work, and the controlled switch 2 is controlled to be switched off).
Regarding claim 8, Zou teaches the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, further comprising a test module (e.g. module comprising test keying circuit 6) (fig), which includes a test switch (e.g. TEST key) (fig) coupled to the leakage current detection module (implicit, as seen in fig);
wherein in response to the test switch being closed ([0025], pressing a TEST key) and the leakage current detection module having no fault condition ([0025], cracking of the shielded wire 3 is simulated), the trigger module is further configured to drive the switch module to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end ([0025], The working principle is the same as the working principle after the above-mentioned shielded wire 3 is cracked) ([0023], Thus the tripping coil 1 is energized to work, and the controlled switch 2 is controlled to be switched off).
Regarding claim 11, Zou teaches the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, wherein the trigger module includes:
a solenoid (i.e. tripping coil 1) (fig), configured to generate an electromagnetic force (abstract, controlled switch controlled) in response to a current flowing therethrough to drive the switch module (abstract, controlled switch controlled by the tripping coil); and at least one semiconductor device (i.e. SCR) (fig), coupled in series with the solenoid (implicit, as seen in fig), and coupled to the signal processing module (implicit, as seen in fig), configured to cause a current to flow through the solenoid ([0023], silicon controlled SCR is conducted. Thus the tripping coil 1 is energized to work) in response to the leakage fault signal ([0023], When the shielded wire 3 on the live wire or neutral wire side is cracked, that is, the shielded wire 3 is cracked).
Regarding claim 12, Zou teaches the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor device is selected from a group consisting of: a silicon controlled rectifier ([0010], silicon controlled SCR).
Regarding claim 13, Zou teaches an electrical power connection device (abstract, power cord), comprising:
a body (it is necessarily true that power cord has a body); and
the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1, disposed inside the body (abstract, power cord leakage detection and protection circuit, comprising a live wire, a neutral wire and a tripping coil).
Regarding claim 14, Zou teaches an electrical appliance ([0002], power cord of the electrical appliance), comprising:
an electrical load (i.e. LOAD) (fig); and
an electrical power connection device (abstract, power cord leakage detection and protection circuit) coupled between a power supply (i.e. LINE) (fig) and the electrical load (implicit, as seen in fig), configured to supply power to the electrical load (implicit, as seen in fig), wherein the electrical power connection device includes the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1 (abstract, power cord leakage detection and protection circuit, comprising a live wire, a neutral wire and a tripping coil).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (US 20240063631 A1), and further in view of Li (US 20200393520 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zou teaches the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 1.
Zou does not teach, wherein the leakage current detection module is further configured to generate a first open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the first leakage current detection line, and to generate a second open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the second leakage current detection line.
Li teaches in a similar field of endeavor of leakage current detection and interruption device for a power cord, wherein a leakage current detection module (e.g. leakage current detection module 142 and detection monitoring module 143) (fig.4A) is further configured to generate a first open-circuit signal ([0039], configured to detect … any open circuit fault condition) in response to an open circuit condition in a first leakage current detection line (i.e. current detection line 241) (fig.4A) ([0039], whether the leakage current detection lines 241 and 242 have any open circuit fault condition), and to generate a second open-circuit signal ([0039], configured to detect … any open circuit fault condition) in response to an open circuit condition in a second leakage current detection line (i.e. current detection line 242) (fig.4A) ([0039], whether the leakage current detection lines 241 and 242 have any open circuit fault condition).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the leakage current detection module is further configured to generate a first open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the first leakage current detection line, and to generate a second open-circuit signal in response to an open circuit condition in the second leakage current detection line in Zou, as taught by Li, as it provides additional protection during open circuit, preventing fire or other safety issues.
Regarding claim 3, Zou and Li teach the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 2, wherein the signal processing module (Zou, e.g. module comprising shielded wire detection circuit 4) (fig) (Li, e.g. module comprising diodes D4A and D4B) (fig.4A) is further configured to receive the first and second open-circuit signals (Li, [0040], When an open circuit condition exists … a current loop is formed from the neutral line N via SOL-D 4B-R6B-R2-R3-D1) and to generate a self-test fault signal (Li, [0040], voltage across resistor R3 increases to a sufficient level) in response to the first and/or second open-circuit signal (Li, [0040], When an open circuit condition exists at any point on the leakage current detection line 241 and/or 242).
Regarding claim 4, Zou and Li teach the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 3, wherein the trigger module (Zou, e.g. module comprising control circuit 5) (fig) (Li, e.g. silicon controlled rectifier SCR) (fig.4A) is further configured to receive the self-test fault signal (Li, [0040], voltage across resistor R3 increases to a sufficient level to trigger the silicon controlled rectifier SCR to be conductive), and in response thereto, to drive the switch module (Zou, abstract, controlled switch) (Li, e.g. switch module 141) (fig.4A) to disconnect the electrical connection between the input end and the output end (Li, [0040], As a result, the solenoid SOL generates a magnetic field to actuate the reset switch RESET, causing the device to trip and cut off power to the load).
Regarding claim 5, Zou and Li teach the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 4, wherein the trigger module includes:
a solenoid (Zou, i.e. tripping coil 1) (fig) (Li, i.e. solenoid SOL) (fig.4A), configured to generate an electromagnetic force (Li, [0041], SOL generates a magnetic field to actuate) in response to a current flowing therethrough (Li, [0041], the current in the solenoid SOL) to drive the switch module (Li, [0041], actuate the reset switch RESET); and
at least one semiconductor device (Zou, i.e. silicon controlled SCR) (fig), coupled in series with the solenoid (Zou, [0010], silicon controlled SCR is respectively connected to one end of the tripping coil), and coupled to the signal processing module (Zou, implicit, as seen in fig), configured to cause a current to flow through the solenoid (Zou, [0023], silicon controlled SCR is conducted. Thus the tripping coil 1 is energized to work) in response to the leakage fault signal (Li, [0023], When the shielded wire 3 on the live wire or neutral wire side is cracked, that is, the shielded wire 3 is cracked).
Regarding claim 6, Zou and Li teach the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 3, wherein in response to at least one of the first open-circuit signal and the second open-circuit signal received from the leakage current detection module which is above the threshold signal (Li, [0040], When an open circuit condition exists), the comparing unit generates the self-test fault signal correspondingly (Li, [0040], voltage across resistor R3 increases).
Regarding claim 7, Zou and Li teach the leakage current detection and interruption device of claim 2, wherein the leakage current detection module further includes:
a self-test unit (Zou, i.e. test keying circuit 6) (fig) (Li, e.g. test module 145) (fig.4A), coupled to the first leakage current detection line, the second leakage current detection line, the first power supply line, the second power supply line, the signal processing module, and the trigger module (Zou, implicit, as seen in fig) (Li, implicit, as seen in fig.4A), configured to detect an open-circuit condition in the first and/or second leakage current detection line (Li, [0041], When any circuit or components on the test current loop has an open circuit condition, the device will not trip when the test switch TEST is closed), to cooperate with the first leakage current detection line to generate the first open-circuit signal (Li, [0039], configured to detect … any open circuit fault condition) when the first leakage current detection line has an open-circuit condition (Li, [0039], whether the leakage current detection lines 241 and 242 have any open circuit fault condition), and to cooperate with the second leakage current detection line to generate the second open-circuit signal (Li, [0039], configured to detect … any open circuit fault condition) when the second leakage current detection line has an open-circuit condition (Li, [0039], whether the leakage current detection lines 241 and 242 have any open circuit fault condition).
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 09/09/2026