DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 11-18 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10, 19 and 20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 07/17/2025 and on 10/01/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 09/09/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Levis (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20220000287 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Levis teaches a mounting device for mounting a framed image to a mounting surface, the mounting device comprising:
a mounting interface (21) that is configured to be secured to a frame of the framed image, thereby moving said mounting interface to an installed configuration;
a mounting plate (31) that is configured to be secured to the mounting surface, thereby moving said mounting plate to an installed configuration; and
a mounting bracket (22) that is configured to be secured to the mounting plate, thereby moving said mounting bracket to an installed configuration,
wherein said mounting interface is configured to engage with said mounting bracket when said mounting interface and said mounting bracket are in respective installed configurations, thereby mounting the framed image to the mounting surface.
Regarding claim 2, Levis teaches said mounting interface (21) comprises a mounting angle, said mounting angle being configured to engage with the frame of the framed image.
Regarding claim 19, Levis teaches a framed image () having a mounting device for mounting the framed image to a mounting surface, the mounting device comprising:
a mounting interface secured to a frame of the framed image;
a mounting plate that is configured to be secured to the mounting surface, thereby moving said mounting bracket to an installed configuration; and
a mounting bracket that is configured to be secured to the mounting plate when the mounting plate is in its installed configuration, thereby moving said mounting bracket to an installed configuration,
wherein said mounting interface is configured to engage with said mounting bracket when said mounting bracket is in its installed configuration, thereby mounting the framed image to the mounting surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levis (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20220000287 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Levis teaches said mounting angle of said mounting interface (21). Levis teaches a location feature (34) on the mounting plate not on the moulnting interface. However, the Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to ohne of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mounting interface comprises a location feature that is configured to facilitate positioning the mounting interface relative to a mark on the frame of the framed image. The motivation would have been to facilitate the installation.
Regarding claim 4, Levis teaches said mounting bracket (22) except for the receptacle. The Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the mounting bracket having a receptacle a receptacle defining a void (33) for receiving at least a portion of said mounting interface, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. The motivation would have been to facilitate the installation. Additionally, it would have been the obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 5, Levis as modified teaches wherein said receptacle includes a bottom wall (lower surface at 33) and a sidewall (side vertical surfaces defining 33) extending therefrom, thereby forming said void.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levis (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20220000287 A1) in view of Azorsky of (U.S. Pat. No. 9901196 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Levis teaches the mounting device. However, Levis is silent to disclose a retaining nut, said retaining nut being configured to engage with a threaded mid-section of said mounting plate. Azorsky teaches a retaining nut (Col. 5; line 2). Wing nuts are known to have threads.
Levis and Azorsky are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a threaded nut configuration with the invention of Lebis as disclosed by Azorsky such that said retaining nut being configured to engage with a threaded mid-section (35) of said mounting plate. The motivation would have been provide appropriate grip during the retention.
Regarding claim 20, Lebis as modfied with respect to claim 4 teaches said mounting bracket (22) comprises a receptacle defining a void (33) for receiving at least a portion of said mounting interface, wherein said receptacle includes a bottom wall and a sidewall extending therefrom, thereby forming said void.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631