DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of the Claims
The pending claims in the present application are originally-filed claims 1-20 of 13 January 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-15, and 28-31 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,700 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent appear to anticipate the claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The paragraphs below provide rationales for the rejection. The rationales are based on the multi-step subject matter eligibility test outlined in MPEP 2106.
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis involves determining whether a claim falls within one of the four enumerated categories of patentable subject matter recited in 35 USC 101. (See MPEP 2106.03(I).) That is, Step 1 asks whether a claim is to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. (See MPEP 2106.03(II).) Referring to the pending claims, the “system” of claims 1-18 constitutes a machine under 35 USC 101, the “method” of claim 19 constitutes a process under the statute, and the “non-transitory computer-readable medium” of claim 20 constitutes a manufacture under the statute. Accordingly, claims 1-20 meet the criteria of Step 1 of the eligibility analysis. The claims, however, fail to meet the criteria of subsequent steps of the eligibility analysis, as explained in the paragraphs below.
The next step of the eligibility analysis, Step 2A, involves determining whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.04(II).) This step asks whether a claim is directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea. (See id.) Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry. (See MPEP 2106.04(II)(A).) Prong One and Prong Two are addressed below.
In the context of Step 2A of the eligibility analysis, Prong One asks whether a claim recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. (See MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1).) Using claim 1 as an example, the claim recites the following abstract idea limitations:
“... associated with an industrial environment, the industrial environment includes a plurality of machines ... determine a first workflow sequence for a primary workflow stage of a workflow unit for a plurality of product items; ...” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.04(a), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes
“... generate one or more second workflow sequences for one or more secondary workflow stages of the workflow unit concurrently with the determination of the first workflow sequence, wherein the generation of the one or more second workflow sequences are based on a transformation of the first workflow sequence according to a combination of: a set of interdependent constraints of the first workflow sequence and the one or more second workflow sequences ..., and a selection of transformation technique associated with a set of computations of one or more sequence parameters, ...” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.04(a), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes
“... wherein the one or more sequence parameters include at least a sequential displacement factor associated with a sequential displacement corresponding to an engineering change boundary (ECB), and the ECB indicates: a boundary ahead of which the sequential displacement is inapplicable, and a boundary condition for segregation of the plurality of product items based on an engineering criteria; ...” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.04(a), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes
“... obtain a global workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages at run time based on at least the determined first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage and the generated one or more second workflow sequences; and ...” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.04(a), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes
“... execute a set of operations on the plurality of machines to produce the plurality of product items, wherein the execution of the set of operations on the plurality of machines is based on the obtained global workflow sequence.” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.04(a), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes
The above-listed limitations of claim 1, when applying their broadest reasonable interpretations in light of their context in the claim as a whole, fall under enumerated groupings of abstract (e.g., the recited “obtain” step), and evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion (e.g., the recited “determine,” “generate,” and “execute” steps), which fall under the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)). Accordingly, for at least these reasons, claim 1 fails to meet the criteria of Step 2A, Prong One of the eligibility analysis.
In the context of Step 2A of the eligibility analysis, Prong Two asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2).) Continuing to use claim 1 as an example, the claim recites the following additional element limitations:
“A system, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor in a computing device ..., wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions, and based on the executed instructions, the processor is further configured to: ...” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.05(a)-(c) and (f)-(h)
“... retrieved from a database ...” - See below regarding MPEP 2106.05(a)-(c) and (f)-(h)
The above-listed additional element limitations of claim 1, when applying their broadest reasonable interpretations in light of their context in the claim as a whole, are analogous to: accelerating a process of analyzing audit log data when the increased speed comes solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer, mere automation of manual processes, which courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (see MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)); a commonplace business method being applied on a general purpose computer, and selecting a particular generic function for computer hardware to perform from within a range of fundamental or commonplace functions performed by the hardware, which courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology (see MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)); a general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions, and merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions, which do not qualify as a particular machine or use thereof (see MPEP 2106.05(b)(I)); a machine that is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(b)(II)); use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method, which does not integrate a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(b)(III)); transformation of an intangible concept such as a contractual obligation or mental judgment, which is not likely to provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(c)); use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea, a commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, and requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, which courts have found to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); mere data gathering in the form of obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify transactions and consulting and updating an activity log, which courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)); and specifying that the abstract idea of monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities that are executed in a computer environment, because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer, which courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). For at least these reasons, claim 1 fails to meet the criteria of Step 2A, Prong Two of the eligibility analysis.
The next step of the eligibility analysis, Step 2B, asks whether a claim recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(II).) The step involves identifying whether there are any additional elements in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions, and evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they contribute an inventive concept. (See id.) The ineligibility rationales applied at Step 2A, Prong Two, also apply to Step 2B. (See id.) For all of the reasons covered in the analysis performed at Step 2A, Prong Two, claim 1 fails to meet the criteria of Step 2B. Further, claim 1 also fails to meet the criteria of Step 2B because at least some of the additional elements are analogous to storing and retrieving information in memory, which courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, and as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). As a result, claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 101 as ineligible for patenting.
Regarding claims 2-18, the claims depend from claim 1, and expand upon limitations introduced by claim 1. The dependent claims are rejected at least for the same reasons as claim 1. For example, the dependent claims recite abstract idea elements similar to the abstract idea elements of claim 1, that fall under the same abstract idea groupings as the abstract idea elements of claim 1 (e.g., the “wherein the obtained global workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages corresponds to a global schedule to produce the plurality of product items, and the global schedule comprises a plurality of time durations for different jobs in the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages” of claim 2, the “wherein the one or more second workflow sequences are dependent on the first workflow sequence based on at least one of an extended lead time, an extended lag time, a pull ahead, a number of flow routes, a re-entrant flow, a partial route, or a variable process time” of claim 3, the “manage a set of parameters for the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages concurrently, wherein the managed set of parameters comprises at least one of an operational delay, a sequential delay, a routing delay, a re-entrant flow delay, or a quality assessment delay” of claim 4, the “control the execution of the set of operations on the plurality of machines to maximize a performance score for the set of operations, and the maximization of the performance score is further based on a penalty score associated with a violation of at least one of a first set of constraints for the primary workflow stage and a one or more second set of constraints for the one or more secondary workflow stages” of claim 5, the “generate the first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage of the workflow unit based on a minimal violation of at least one of a first set of constraints” of claim 6, the “retrieve content ... for the determination of the first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage of the workflow unit” of claim 7, the “wherein the first workflow sequence corresponds to a plurality of primary slots, each of the plurality of primary slots indicates a physical location of one of a component of a corresponding product item from the plurality of product items or a corresponding in-operation product item from the plurality of product items in the primary workflow stage, each of the one or more second workflow sequences correspond to a secondary slot from a plurality of secondary slots, each of the plurality of secondary slots indicates one of a component of a corresponding product item from the plurality of product items or a corresponding in-operation product item from the plurality of product items in one of the one or more second workflow stages, the first workflow sequence further corresponds to a primary lot that indicates one of a type or features of a job to be performed in the primary workflow stage, and each of the one or more second workflow sequences further correspond to a secondary lot that indicates a job to be performed in a corresponding secondary workflow stage of the one or more secondary workflow stages” of claim 8, the “determine a first primary slot from a plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage for each of a plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages based on a correspondence table from the one or more correspondence tables; determine a primary lot for the first primary slot based on an analysis of the first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage; and determine a secondary lot, in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages, that corresponds to the primary lot, wherein the sequential displacement is based on at least one of an extended lead time, an extended lag time, or a variable process time in which the one or more second workflow sequences are determined with respect to the first workflow sequence” of claim 9, the “wherein the sequential displacement is one of a positive sequential displacement in presence of an extended lead time and a negative sequential displacement in presence of the extended lag time” of claim 10, the “wherein the correspondence table corresponds to at least one of a timing correspondence table (TCT) or a routing correspondence table (RCT)” of claim 11, the “wherein the TCT is a data structure that comprises a mapping of each of the plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages with a corresponding second primary slot of the plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage in absence of the sequential displacement” of claim 12, the “wherein the RCT is a data structure that comprises a mapping of each of the plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages with a corresponding second primary slot of the plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage based on the sequential displacement applied to the TCT” of claim 13, the “determine a location of the secondary lot of a corresponding second workflow sequence from the one or more second workflow sequences based on an application of the sequential displacement from a current secondary slot from the plurality of secondary slots” of claim 14, the “generate the one or more second workflow sequences for the one or more secondary workflow stages of the workflow unit in one of a first pass or a second pass” of claim 15, the “evaluate a net sequential displacement for each secondary lot in each secondary workflow stage of the one or more secondary workflow stages; determine a position of the secondary slot from the plurality of secondary slots based on the net sequential displacement; and check whether a number of the secondary slot is one of less than or greater than a defined ECB associated with the ECB, wherein the secondary slot is assigned with one of a first available slot or a specific slot, available next to the defined ECB, in a case where the number of the secondary slot is less than the defined ECB” of claim 16, the “determine the first workflow sequence based on a meta-heuristic technique, and the meta-heuristic technique includes at least one stochastic optimization, ant colony optimization, or particle swarm optimization” of claim 17, and the “monitor the execution of the set of operations based on the global workflow sequence at each of a plurality of pay-points, and each of the plurality of pay-points corresponds to a checkpoint in a virtual flow line for measurement of entry time and exit time of each product item of the plurality of product items” of claim 18). The dependent claims recite further additional elements that are similar to the additional elements of claim 1, that fail to warrant eligibility for the same reasons as the additional elements of claim 1 (e.g., the “system” of claims 2-18; the “wherein the processor is further configured to” of claims 4-7, 9, and 14-18; and the “from a memory device” of claim 7). Accordingly, claims 2-18 also are rejected as ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, while the claims are of different scope relative to claim 1 and to each other, the claims recite limitations similar to the limitations of claim 1. As such, the rejection rationales applied to reject claim 1 also apply for purposes of rejecting claims 19 and 20. Claims 19 and 20 are, therefore, also rejected as ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2017/0327247 A1 to Dike et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Dike”), in view of EP Pat. App. Pub. No. 3 035 256 A1 to Cailliau et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Cailliau”).
Regarding claim 1, Dike discloses the following limitations:
“A system, comprising: ...” - Dike discloses, an “Automated Control System” (title), and “Data processing system 1400” (para. [0143]).
“... a memory configured to store instructions; and ...” - Dike discloses, “instructions for software that may be loaded into memory 1406” (para. [0144]).
“... a processor in a computing device associated with an industrial environment, the industrial environment includes a plurality of machines, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions, and based on the executed instructions, the processor is further configured to: ...” - Dike discloses, “Manufacturing system 524 is a hardware system and is configured to manufacture product 522 which may take various forms, such as an aircraft or other suitable product. As depicted, manufacturing system 524 includes manufacturing equipment 526. Manufacturing equipment 526 includes at least one of fabrication equipment 528 or assembly equipment 530” (para. [0092]), “In addition to generating daily production schedule 520, controller 518 also may be configured to control the operation of manufacturing system 524. In particular, controller 518 may control the operation of at least one of fabrication equipment 528 or assembly equipment 530” (para. [0095]), “The control may take the form of direct control of manufacturing equipment 526. For example, robots, computer-controlled machines, and other equipment may be controlled by controller 518. In other illustrative examples, controller 518 may manage operations performed by human operators 532 in the manufacturing of product 522. For example, controller 518 may assign work items, provide instructions, display models, or perform other operations to manage operations performed by human operators 532. In these illustrative examples, product manager 500 is in communication with controller 518 to manage the manufacturing of product 522” (para. [0096]), and “Processor unit 1404 serves to execute instructions for software that may be loaded into memory 1406” (para. [0144]).
“... determine a first workflow sequence for a primary workflow stage of a workflow unit for a plurality of product items; ...” - Dike discloses, “With reference next to FIG. 6, an illustration of a product workflow map is depicted in accordance with an illustrative embodiment” (para. [0104]), “product workflow map 600 has vertical lines 604. Vertical lines 604 are examples of divisions 202, shown in block form in FIG. 2, representing manufacturing days 114” (para. [0105]), “As depicted, groupings 620 are groupings of vertical lines 604. Groupings 620 represent phases of manufacturing for the commercial aircraft” (para. [0107]), “product workflow map 600 also includes workflows 635. One or more of workflows 635 are present for each of the systems represented in segments 606 of product workflow map 600. For example, workflow 638 is present in wiring system 608. Workflow 640 and workflow 642 are present in environmental control system 610; workflow 644 is present in hydraulic system 612; workflow 646 is present in wing 614; and workflow 648 and workflow 650 are present in fuselage 616. Workflow 652, workflow 654, and workflow 656 are present in engine system 618” (para. [0108]). Determining subsequences of work items that are part of sequences forming phases for manufacturing multiple components, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... generate one or more second workflow sequences for one or more secondary workflow stages of the workflow unit concurrently with the determination of the first workflow sequence, wherein the generation of the one or more second workflow sequences are based on a transformation of the first workflow sequence according to a combination of: ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Dike also discloses, “product plan 108 is a dynamic product plan. In other words, product plan 108 is not fixed and may change during the manufacturing of product 102. In one illustrative example, product manager 110 changes product plan 108 when performance information 130 about the manufacturing of product 102 received during the manufacturing of product 102 affects timing of workflows 124. The timing of workflows 124 may be affected in a number of different ways including, as an example, at least one of delays of work items 122, early completions of work items 122, unavailability of parts, equipment malfunctions, rework of parts, or other events that may change how long or when work is performed” (para. [0051]), and “events may result in a need to change product plan 108” (para. [0053]). Generating other subsequences of work items that are part of other sequences forming other phases for manufacturing, such that the workflow map shows all subsequences, sequences, and phases concurrently, and wherein the workflow map acts as the product plan, with changes to upstream aspects of the plan affecting downstream aspects of the plan in a dynamic fashion, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... a set of interdependent constraints of the first workflow sequence and the one or more second workflow sequences retrieved from a database, and ...” - Dike discloses, “Product plan 108 also includes work items 122 performed by entities 118 during manufacturing days 114. Work items 122 are any operations performed to manufacture product 102. For example, entities 118 may perform work items 122 to perform work on systems 120. Work items 122 may include performing operations for at least one of an assembly task, a certification event, a database update, a design activity, a fabrication activity, an approval of a product configuration, a transfer of an assembly to a new work location, a receipt of a part from a supplier, a creation of an engineering drawing, a release of an engineering drawing, a revision to an engineering drawing, a publication of a coordination memo, a submittal of a purchase order, a management review, a software release, a forming of a system test, and other tasks involved in manufacturing product 102. Work items 122 may include at least one of coordination sheets, decision points, engineering drawings, explanatory notes, or other suitable items that may be used to perform operations in work items 122” (para. [0039]), “product plan 108 organizes work items 122 within workflows 124” (para. [0040]), “some of work items 122 may be performed sequentially in which one work item is performed after another work item is completed. In another example, some of work items 122 may be performed at the same time or substantially the same time” (para. [0041]), “Dependencies 126 may be present between at least one of work items 122 or workflows 124. The dependencies may be for some portion of work items 122, workflows 124, or some combination thereof. Dependencies 126 between at least one of work items 122 or workflows 124 may be used to identify an order in which work items 122 are performed” (para. [0044]), and “product plan 504 is stored in database 506” (para. [0089]). Aspects of the operations and related items that are part of the work items of upstream sequences of work items, and aspects of operations and related items that are part of the work items of downstream sequences of work items, wherein there are dependencies between the upstream and downstream work items, in Dike, read on the recited limitation.]]
“... a selection of transformation technique associated with a set of computations of one or more sequence parameters, ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been cited above. Determining changes to make to downstream work items based on events associated with upstream work items, wherein the determining takes into account the operations and items of all work items, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
The combination of Dike and Cailliau (hereinafter referred to as “Dike/Cailliau”) teaches limitations below of claim 1 that do not appear to be disclosed in their entirety by Dike:
“... wherein the one or more sequence parameters include at least a sequential displacement factor associated with a sequential displacement corresponding to an engineering change boundary (ECB), and the ECB indicates: ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The items and operations considered when dynamically modifying the work items, sequences, and phases in some way by some amount, in Dike, reads on the recited “wherein the one or more sequence parameters include at least a sequential displacement factor associated with a sequential displacement” limitation. Dike does not, however, appear to disclose anything reading on the recited “engineering change boundary (ECB)” limitation. Cailliau discloses, “the start range and the end range both have a minimum value and maximum value, also called "start lower bound", "start upper bound", "end lower bound" and "end upper bound" in the following. The start range and the end range allow flexibility to the task. The specifications also include a schedule of the task. The schedule of the task is a certain (meaning "sure/definite", as in "not uncertain") definition of the period of time within which the piece of work must be accomplished. In other words, the schedule of the task corresponds to one possible realization/instance/occurrence of the task (that is with exact values for the period of time, where uncertainty is removed). The schedule of the task thus includes an exact start value and an exact end value, also called respectively "scheduled start value" and "scheduled end value" in the following. The scheduled start (resp. end) value corresponds to the start (resp. end) datum and thus belongs to the start (resp. end) range. The system ensures this belonging in any known way, for example by forbidding values breaking the rule or by outputting an indication, also referred to as "alert" in the following (e.g. audio and/or visual), when the rule is broken” (para. [0027]), and “a task 90 that may be displayed as on FIG. 9 using the approach of FIG. 7 and defined, at least, by the range of a start bound 92; the range of an end bound 94; the task start value 96; the task end value 98” (para. [0057]). At least the start lower bound, in Cailliau, when applied in the context of the dynamic workflow map modifications, in Dike, reads on the recited “corresponding to an engineering change boundary (ECB), and the ECB indicates” limitation.
“... a boundary ahead of which the sequential displacement is inapplicable, and ...” - See the aspects of Cailliau that have been referenced above. The forbidding of start values that break rules, including the start lower bounds, in Cailliau, reads on the recited limitation.
“... a boundary condition for segregation of the plurality of product items based on an engineering criteria; ...” - See the aspects of Dike and Cailliau that have been referenced above. The bounds, in Cailliau, when used to define and modify the work items used to manufacturing the components, based on the required items and operations of the work items, in Dike, read on the recited limitation.
Cailliau discloses “managing a task” (Abstract), similar to the claimed invention and to Dike. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the scheduled word items, of Dike, to include bounds and ranges for starting and ending, as in Cailliau, for flexibility, per Cailliau (see para. [0015]).
Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“... obtain a global workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages at run time based on at least the determined first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage and the generated one or more second workflow sequences; and ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been cited above. The elements of the workflow map, including upstream and downstream phases, workflows, work item sequences, and sub-sequences, in Dike, read on the recited limitation.
“... execute a set of operations on the plurality of machines to produce the plurality of product items, wherein the execution of the set of operations on the plurality of machines is based on the obtained global workflow sequence.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The controller controlling the operation of manufacturing system, including its various types of equipment, to manufacture components, wherein the control is based on the schedule outlined by the workflow map, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the obtained global workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages corresponds to a global schedule to produce the plurality of product items, and ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The workflow map for manufacturing the components of the system, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... the global schedule comprises a plurality of time durations for different jobs in the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The workflow map including vertical lines indicative of time divisions representing manufacturing days associated with upstream and downstream manufacturing phases, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more second workflow sequences are dependent on the first workflow sequence based on at least one of an extended lead time, an extended lag time, a pull ahead, a number of flow routes, a re-entrant flow, a partial route, or a variable process time.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Downstream sub-sequences of work items that depend from upstream sub-sequences of work items based on flow lines connecting work items of the former to work items of the latter, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 4, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to manage a set of parameters for the primary workflow stage and the one or more secondary workflow stages concurrently, wherein the managed set of parameters comprises at least one of an operational delay, a sequential delay, a routing delay, a re-entrant flow delay, or a quality assessment delay.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The processor utilizing the operations and items of work items in upstream phases and downstream phases at the same time to generate the workflow map, wherein the operations and items relate to delays, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 7, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to retrieve content from a memory device for the determination of the first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage of the workflow unit.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Dike also discloses, “Data processing system 1400 may be used to implement computer system 128 in FIG. 1, computer system 502 in FIG. 5, clients 512 in FIG. 5, and controller 518 in FIG. 5” and “data processing system 1400 includes communications framework 1402, which provides communications between processor unit 1404, memory 1406, persistent storage 1408” (para. [0143]). The communications between the processor unit and the memory, for determining elements of the workflow map, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the first workflow sequence corresponds to a plurality of primary slots, ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The locations of machine equipment associated with upstream work items of the workflow map, of Dike, read on the recited limitation.
“... each of the plurality of primary slots indicates a physical location of one of a component of a corresponding product item from the plurality of product items or a corresponding in-operation product item from the plurality of product items in the primary workflow stage, ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The locations of components at or in the machine equipment associated with upstream work items of the workflow map, of Dike, read on the recited limitation.
“... each of the one or more second workflow sequences correspond to a secondary slot from a plurality of secondary slots, ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The locations of machine equipment associated with downstream work items of the workflow map, of Dike, read on the recited limitation.
“... each of the plurality of secondary slots indicates one of a component of a corresponding product item from the plurality of product items or a corresponding in-operation product item from the plurality of product items in one of the one or more second workflow stages, ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The locations of components at or in the machine equipment associated with downstream work items of the workflow map, of Dike, read on the recited limitation.
“... the first workflow sequence further corresponds to a primary lot that indicates one of a type or features of a job to be performed in the primary workflow stage, and ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The series of work items associated with performance of operations by machine equipment in upstream phases, in Dike, read on the recited limitation.
“... each of the one or more second workflow sequences further correspond to a secondary lot that indicates a job to be performed in a corresponding secondary workflow stage of the one or more secondary workflow stages.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The series of work items associated with performance of operations by machine equipment in downstream phases, in Dike, read on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 14, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a location of the secondary lot of a corresponding second workflow sequence from the one or more second workflow sequences based on an application of the sequential displacement from a current secondary slot from the plurality of secondary slots.” - Dike discloses, “With the different dependencies, changes to one work item may affect other work items within the same workflow and may affect other workflows being performed in parallel to manufacture the aircraft” (para. [0004]), “These events may result in a need to change product plan 108. For example, if a first work item has a dependency on a second work item, a delay in the first work item also may result in a delay in the second work item” (para. [0053]), and “in changing the group of work items 122, product manager 110 performs at least one of changing a flow of work items 122, changing an order in which work items 122 are performed, adding a work item, removing the work item, reassigning the work item to another entity, or some other suitable change. In changing the flow of work items 122, product manager 110 changes a group of workflows 124” (para. [0055]). Determining that a work item should be moved from a current position in a workflow, to a different position, due to upstream delays, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 15, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the one or more second workflow sequences for the one or more secondary workflow stages of the workflow unit in one of a first pass or a second pass.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The creation of modified downstream workflows, or portions thereof, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 16, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: evaluate a net sequential displacement for each secondary lot in each secondary workflow stage of the one or more secondary workflow stages; ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The processor determining modifications to downstream work items of downstream phases due to multiple upstream delays, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... determine a position of the secondary slot from the plurality of secondary slots based on the net sequential displacement; and ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Determining a place for a downstream operation based on upstream delays, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... check whether a number of the secondary slot is one of less than or greater than a defined ECB associated with the ECB, wherein the secondary slot is assigned with one of a first available slot or a specific slot, available next to the defined ECB, in a case where the number of the secondary slot is less than the defined ECB.” - See the aspects of Dike and Cailliau that have been referenced above. Ensuring that the start time of an operation does not violate the bounds, in Cailliau, when applied to scheduling operations in Dike, reads on the recited limitation. The rationales for combining the teachings of the cited references, from the rejection claim 1, also apply for purposes of rejecting claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Dike/Cailliau teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor the execution of the set of operations based on the global workflow sequence at each of a plurality of pay-points, and ...” - See the aspects of Dike and Cailliau that have been referenced above. Monitoring the performance of operations by machine equipment based on the workflow map, in Dike, by keeping track of start and end points and bounds, in Cailliau, reads on the recited limitation.
“... each of the plurality of pay-points corresponds to a checkpoint in a virtual flow line for measurement of entry time and exit time of each product item of the plurality of product items.” - See the aspects of Dike and Cailliau that have been referenced above. The start and end points and bounds for operations, in Cailliau, when applied to the operations, work items, and phases, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation. The rationales for combining the teachings of the cited references, from the rejection of claim 1, also apply to this rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, while the claim is of different scope relative to claim 1, the claim recites limitations similar to those recited by claim 1. As such the rationales applied to reject claim 1 also apply for purposes of rejecting claim 19. Claim 19 is, therefore, also rejected under 35 USC 103 as obvious in view of Dike/Cailliau.
Regarding claim 20, while the claim is of different scope relative to claims 1 and 19, the claim recites limitations similar to those recited by claims 1 and 19. As such the rationales applied to reject claims 1 and 19 also apply for purposes of rejecting claim 20. Claim 20 is, therefore, also rejected under 35 USC 103 as obvious in view of Dike/Cailliau.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dike, in view of Cailliau, and further in view of U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2009/0210076 A1 to Erramilli et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Erramilli”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dike, Cailliau, and Erramilli (hereinafter referred to as Dike/Cailliau/Erramilli”) teaches limitations below that do not appear to be taught in their entirety by Dike/Cailliau:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to control the execution of the set of operations on the plurality of machines to maximize a performance score for the set of operations, and ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The processor of the controller controlling operation of the machine equipment, in Dike, reads on the recited “wherein the processor is further configured to control the execution of the set of operations on the plurality of machines” limitation. Dike does not, however, appear to mention a maximization step (just an “increase the efficiency” step that might lead to maximization (see para. [0100])). In any event, Erramilli discloses, “Processes are found in all industries. Various examples of the processes in manufacturing organizations include but are not limited to planning, scheduling, and the manufacture of products on an assembly line. These processes have to be optimized to attain business advantage in terms of cost and efficiency in execution” and “there can be a large number of rules/constraints that govern the execution of such processes. A violation of any rule or constraint directly translates into increased operational costs. Therefore, it is important to optimize such processes by adhering to all constraints of the environment” (para. [0005]). Sequencing in a way that optimizes sequences by attempting to adhere to constraints and seek the least operational costs, in Erramilli, reads on the recited “to maximize a performance score for the set of operations” limitation.
“... the maximization of the performance score is further based on a penalty score associated with a violation of at least one of a first set of constraints for the primary workflow stage and a one or more second set of constraints for the one or more secondary workflow stages.” - See the aspects of Dike and Erramilli that have been referenced above. The optimization, in terms of cost and efficiency, based on adhering to constraints and avoiding violations that increase costs and reduce efficiency, in Erramilli, when applied in the workflow phases, sequences, and sub-sequences, of Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Erramilli discloses, “generating an optimized solution for a process in a manufacturing” (Abstract), similar to the claimed invention and to Dike/Cailliau. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process of seeking improved efficiency, of Dike/Cailliau, to include consideration of constraints, violations, and effects on costs, as in Erramilli, to seek optimized solutions, per Erramilli (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Dike/Cailliau/Erramilli teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage of the workflow unit based on a minimal violation of at least one of a first set of constraints.” - See the aspects of Dike and Erramilli that have been referenced above. Determining solutions for processes for manufacturing products on the assembly line, based on seeking lower costs, in Erramilli, when applied to the workflow map, phases, sequences, and sub-sequences, of Dike, reads on the recited limitation. The rationales for combining the teachings of the cited references, in the rejection of claim 5, also apply to this rejection of claim 6.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dike, in view of Cailliau, and further in view of Gunawan, Indra, et al. “Project Scheduling Improvement Using Design Structure Matrix.” International Journal of Project Organisation and Management, January 2010 (hereinafter referred to as “Gunawan”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dike, Cailliau, and Gunawan (hereinafter referred to as “Dike/Cailliau/Gunawan”) teaches limitations below that do not appear to be taught in their entirety by Dike/Cailliau:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first primary slot from a plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage for each of a plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages based on a correspondence table from the one or more correspondence tables; ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. The processor determining links of the workflow map that connect upstream work items on upstream phases to downstream work items in downstream phases, in Dike, reads on the recited “wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first primary slot from a plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage for each of a plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages” limitation. Dike does not appear to mention use of tables in that context. Gunawan discloses, on pp. 312 and 313, in Section 2.1, “The DSM is a compressed, matrix representation of a project. The matrix contains a list of all tasks. It shows what information is required to start a certain task and where that information from that task feed into, which other tasks in the matrix use the output information (Eppinger and Ulrich, 2003). In a DSM model, a project task is assigned to a row and a corresponding column.” The intersecting relationship between the tasks listed in the columns and the tasks listed in the rows, in Gunawan, when applied to the work items of the workflows of Dike, reads on the recited “based on a correspondence table from the one or more correspondence tables” limitation.
Gunawan discloses project scheduling (see title), similar to the claimed invention and to Dike/Cailliau. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective fling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the processes for generating the workflow maps and elements thereof, in Dike, to include use of the DSM, matrices, and related processing, of Gunawan, as “The main advantage of the DSM over traditional project management tools is in its compactness and ability to present an organised and efficient mapping among tasks that is clear and easy to read regardless of size,” per Gunawan (see p. 326).
Dike/Cailliau/Gunawan teaches the following limitations of claim 9:
“... determine a primary lot for the first primary slot based on an analysis of the first workflow sequence for the primary workflow stage; and ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Determining which work item to place in a position along an upstream sequence of work items, based on its relationship with related work items of the workflow, in one of the manufacturing phases, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... determine a secondary lot, in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages, that corresponds to the primary lot, ...” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Determining which work item to place in a position along a downstream sequence of work items, based on its relationship with related work items of the workflow, in one of the manufacturing phases, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
“... wherein the sequential displacement is based on at least one of an extended lead time, an extended lag time, or a variable process time in which the one or more second workflow sequences are determined with respect to the first workflow sequence.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. Where a delay to a work item of one sequence results in a delay of a work item of another sequence, wherein one of the sequences has dependencies from the other, in Dike, the scenario reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 10, Dike/Cailliau/Gunawan teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 9, wherein the sequential displacement is one of a positive sequential displacement in presence of an extended lead time and a negative sequential displacement in presence of the extended lag time.” - Dirk discloses, “if a first work item has a dependency on a second work item, a delay in the first work item also may result in a delay in the second work item” (para. [0053]). A delay in one work item that delays a second work item, in Dike, reads on the recited limitation.
Regarding claim 11, Dike/Cailliau/Gunawan teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 9, wherein the correspondence table corresponds to at least one of a timing correspondence table (TCT) or a routing correspondence table (RCT).” - Gunawan discloses, “Figure 2” that is “A DSM representation of a project” (p. 313), “Figure 4” that is a “DSM representation” (p. 317), and “Figure 5” that shows “Topological sorting the DSM” (p. 318). The DSM, of Gunawan, reads on the recited “TCT” limitation because it establishes an order or timing of tasks. Additionally or alternatively, the DSM reads on the recited “RCT” limitation because it establishes task-to-task transitions or routing from one task to another. The rationales for combining the teachings of the cited references, from the rejection of claim 9, also apply to this rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Dike/Cailliau/Gunawan teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 11, wherein the TCT is a data structure that comprises a mapping of each of the plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages with a corresponding second primary slot of the plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage in absence of the sequential displacement.” - Gunawan discloses, “The DSM is a compressed, matrix representation of a project. The matrix contains a list of all tasks. It shows what information is required to start a certain task and where that information from that task feed into, which other tasks in the matrix use the output information (Eppinger and Ulrich, 2003)” (pp. 312 and 313, in Section 2.1). See also, the DSM representation identified as “Figure 4” on p. 317 of Gunawan. In a DSM model, a project task is assigned to a row and a corresponding column. The grid- or table-like arrangement of the DSM, with correspondence between column tasks D-F to row tasks A-C in the DSM, of Gunawan, reads on the recited limitation. The rationales for combining the teachings of the cited references, from the rejection of claim 9, also apply to this rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Dike/Cailliau/Gunawan teaches the following limitations:
“The system according to claim 11, wherein the RCT is a data structure that comprises a mapping of each of the plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages with a corresponding second primary slot of the plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage based on the sequential displacement applied to the TCT.” - Gunawan discloses “Figure 4” is a “DSM representation” (p. 317), “Figure 5” is “Topological sorting the DSM” (p. 318), and “Figure 7” is “The final partitioned matrix” (p. 320). In Gunawan, the DSM of Figure 4 transitions, through various sorting and partitioning processes, into the intermediate form of Figure 5, and then to the final form of Figure 7. The final partitioned matrix, in Gunawan, reads on the recited “wherein the RCT is a data structure that comprises a mapping of each of the plurality of secondary slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages with a corresponding second primary slot of a plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage” limitation, wherein the column headings toward the right of the final partitioned matrix read on the recited “plurality of second slots in each of the one or more secondary workflow stages” limitation, and the row headings toward the top of the final partitioned matrix read on the recited “corresponding second primary slot of a plurality of primary slots in the primary workflow stage” limitation. The final partitioned matrix being generated by changes of sequence of the numbered steps (see row and column headings) of the DSM, in Gunawan, reads on the recited “based on the sequential displacement applied to the TCT” limitation. The rationales for combining the teachings of the cited references, from the rejection of claim 9, also apply to this rejection of claim 13.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dike, in view of Cailliau, and further in view of U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2011/0119604 A1 to Lo et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Lo”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Dike, Cailliau, and Lo (hereinafter referred to as “Dike/Cailliau/Lo”) teaches the following limitations that do not appear to be taught in their entirety by Dike/Cailliau:
“The system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the first workflow sequence based on a meta-heuristic technique, and the meta-heuristic technique includes at least one stochastic optimization, ant colony optimization, or particle swarm optimization.” - See the aspects of Dike that have been referenced above. While Dike discloses enhancing efficiency in a way that likely leads to optimization, that connection is not explicitly clear in Dike. Lo discloses, “When running a scheduling engine, such as Squeaky Wheel Optimization (SWO), the system attempts to produce a solution using an algorithm supplied by the scheduling engine DLL, such as a Greedy Algorithm. The system will evaluate solutions using the Objective Function methods and prioritize the scheduling items according to particular criteria defined in the scheduling engine DLL. The system repeats the processes until an optimum solution is determined or until particular conditions defined in the Exit Method are met. The system may employ other scheduling engines including, but not limited to, "Genetic Algorithm" and "Ant colony optimization".” (Para. [0169].)
Lo discloses, “management, allocation and scheduling” (para. [0002]), similar to the claimed invention and to Dike/Cailliau. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the process involving enhancing efficiency, of Dike/Cailliau, for optimality, per Lo (para. [0169]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such prior art includes the following:
Bettini, Claudio, X. Sean Wang, and Sushil Jajodia. "Temporal reasoning in workflow systems." Distributed and Parallel Databases 11.3 (2002): 269-306.
/THOMAS YIH HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624