DETAILED ACTION
Claims 36, 37-47 and 49-54 have been examined.
Claims 37 and 48 have been canceled.
P = paragraph e.g. P[0001] = paragraph[0001]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the Applicant argues
“The rejection is respectfully traversed. Applicant submits that the term "coupled to" is clear as written. However, without conceding the rejection and to expedite prosecution, claim 35 is amended herein to recite, in part, "a network by a cloud-based computing resource". Claim 44 is also amended to recite "The computer implemented method according to claim 35, performed over the network by the cloud-based computing resource, the cloud-based computing resource coupled to an aerodrome operating one or more displays for provision of Air Traffic Services." Claim 44 now refers back to "the cloud- based computing resource" and "the aerodrome", which have antecedent basis in independent claim 35, clarifying the relationship between these features”.
The arguments are not persuasive. The amendments do not clarify the limitation “coupled to”, and the Applicant provides no explanation of how the amendments clarify “coupled to”. Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection of Claim 44 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is maintained.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, the Applicant argues
“Shapira does not disclose hosting a plurality of distinct pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations, each associated with a respective set of remote users and a respective aerodrome. Shapira instead describes a single shared system where all users access the same system. For example, at paragraph [0093], Shapira describes access points that allow users to access information in system 10, and states that "the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10."2 This description is fundamentally different from a multi-tenant architecture where distinct instantiations are hosted for different aerodromes and different sets of users”.
The arguments are not persuasive. Referring to Claim 35, the amended limitation “hosting a plurality of pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations, each pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation being associated with a respective set of remote users and a respective aerodrome”, and because the claim does not define what is meant by “being associated with”, this limitation encompasses simply the use of a “pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation” by each “remote user” at a “respective aerodrome”, where the invention of Shapira teaches multiple “pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations” or arrangements, such as customized tabs, which may be used by any user any location or “aerodrome” in a particular jurisdiction (“In the arrangement shown, as one example, board page includes a plurality of tabs 42 (or simply “tabs”), see FIG. 5. Tabs 42 can be customized and may vary depending on the setup of each jurisdiction, personal preferences of a user, etc.”, see P[0124] and “…the boards can be customized to a user or particular jurisdiction or desired functionality”, see P[0140] and “…perhaps a controller prefers all aircraft strips in the “Outbound” section automatically be removed from the section once they exit mile radius, or exit a 10,000 feet altitude from the controller…system 10 is capable of machine learning and can adjust to the desires and general customs of a controller or jurisdiction. Additionally, new rules can be added, deleted, and machine learning can be turned off”, see P[0144]). Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive.
The Applicant further argues
“Moreover, amended claim 35 recites that each pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation is configured by "serving an initial electronic flight strip system template for display and user interaction through an aerodrome configurator interface" and "modifying one or more parameters of the electronic flight strip system template in response to user input received through the configurator interface to create an electronic flight strip system configuration." Shapira does not disclose an aerodrome configurator interface for configuring system-level templates. The Office Action cites paragraph [0111] of Shapira, which describes customizing individual flight strips (e.g., adding squad number, parking location, runway fields to a strip).³ However, this customization is a strip-level customization during operation, not a system-level configuration through a dedicated configurator interface that defines flight board layouts with bays”.
Claim 35 does not recite “an aerodrome configurator interface for configuring system-level templates”, therefore, this argument is moot as it is not directed to the claims as written. The argument “Shapira does not disclose an aerodrome configurator interface for configuring system-level templates” is unclear as not only does Claim 35 not recite “configuring system-level templates”, but the Applicant does not clarify what is meant by “system-level” and how the configuration and customization teachings of Shapira do not teach the “modifying one or more parameters of the electronic flight strip system template” that is actually claimed. Regarding what is actually claimed, and the limitation “serving an initial electronic flight strip system template for display and user interaction through an aerodrome configurator interface”, this limitation encompasses simply displaying an interface that may be further modified or customized, which is clearly taught by Shapira (see at least P[0104] and P[0111] of Shapira). Furthermore, regarding the limitation “modifying one or more parameters of the electronic flight strip system template in response to user input received through the configurator interface to create an electronic flight strip system configuration”, this is again clearly taught by Shapira (see at least P[0104] and P[0111] of Shapira). The Applicant does not provide a clear rebuttal to these aspects of Shapira, therefore, the arguments are not persuasive.
The Applicant further argues
“Furthermore, amended claim 35 recites "electronic flight strips having data fields which are determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located." Shapira does not disclose that the data fields displayed on a flight strip change depending on which bay or section the strip is located in. The Office Action cites paragraphs [0111] and [0128] of Shapira,⁴ but paragraph [0111] describes what information a strip can contain generally, and paragraph [0128] describes moving strips between sections. Neither passage teaches that the strip's displayed data fields are dynamically determined based on the bay location. In Shapira, the same strip format appears regardless of which section it occupies”.
The arguments are not persuasive. Claim 35 does nor recite any “dynamic” determination or “displayed data fields are dynamically determined based on the bay location”, therefore, the arguments are moot as they are not directed to the claims as written. Regarding what is actually claimed, the limitation “electronic flight strips having data fields which are determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located” encompasses the creation of a link feature that is equivalent to a “data field” for each strip that is combined in a particular “bay” or section, such as by dragging a first strip over a second strip section, which then creates a link that is represented both visually and in terms of creating a group by the link feature as seen in P[0109]-P[0110] and FIG. 10 of Shapira. The limitation “having data fields” encompasses any collection of data, visual or not, that is associated with the “flight strips”, which encompasses the created link of Shapira.
Additionally, as can be seen in FIGS. 6-12, flight strips located in one section, such as “Before Takeoff” in FIG. 8, are visually distinct from flight strips located in another section such as “After Takeoff” in FIG. 8, which shows that a “data field” or visual data associated with a flight strip is “determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located”, where a “bay” is equivalent to a section. Therefore, these are additional teachings of Shapira that are encompassed by the claim.
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive.
The remaining arguments directed to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. of Claims 42 and 44 are moot for the reasons given above and for the reasons given in the new grounds of rejection.
All claims are rejected. See the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 44 recites “performed over [[a]] the network by [[a]] the cloud-based computing resource, the cloud-based computing resource coupled to an aerodrome operating one or more displays for provision of Air Traffic Services”.
The limitation “coupled to” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear how the “cloud-based computing resource” can be “coupled to” an “aerodrome”, and it is unclear what is required by “coupled to”.
Therefore, the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 37-41, 43-47 and 49-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapira (2023/0074633).
Regarding Claim 35, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method for providing an electronic flight strip system (“…flight strips of aircrafts…”, see Abstract and “So a single strip 100, and as shown as one example in FIG. 6, may also comprise a group strip 132 or plurality of strips 100 that are displayed as a single strip 100 so that a user can quickly and efficiently manage a plurality of aircraft 22”, see P[0106] and FIG. 6) over a network by a cloud-based computing resource (see FIG. 16 and “…cloud computing environments…”, P[0080]), the computer implemented method comprising:
hosting a plurality of pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations, each pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation being associated with a respective set of remote users and a respective aerodrome (“In the arrangement shown, as one example, board page includes a plurality of tabs 42 (or simply “tabs”), see FIG. 5. Tabs 42 can be customized and may vary depending on the setup of each jurisdiction, personal preferences of a user, etc.”, see P[0124] and “…the boards can be customized to a user or particular jurisdiction or desired functionality”, see P[0140] and “…perhaps a controller prefers all aircraft strips in the “Outbound” section automatically be removed from the section once they exit mile radius, or exit a 10,000 feet altitude from the controller…system 10 is capable of machine learning and can adjust to the desires and general customs of a controller or jurisdiction. Additionally, new rules can be added, deleted, and machine learning can be turned off”, see P[0144], where each tab arrangement is equivalent to a hosted “pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation”, as clearly each configuration is “hosted” or stored, otherwise the configuration could not be used);
receiving and authenticating a remote user login request (“Account 14 provides a username and access password and/or code for a user granting the user access to all or partial functions of system 10”, see P[0088]);
identifying a pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation associated with the remote user from the plurality of pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations (“Account: In the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 includes an account 14 (see FIG. 5). Account 14 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with access to the system 10”, see P[0088] and “A user can access account 14 and customize their profile at anytime through the graphical user interface 12”, see P[0089] and “In the arrangement shown, as one example, board page includes a plurality of tabs 42 (or simply “tabs”), see FIG. 5. Tabs 42 can be customized and may vary depending on the setup of each jurisdiction, personal preferences of a user, etc.”, see P[0124]); and[[,]]
serving the pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation for display and user interaction on a remote display located at an aerodrome for managing aircraft movements using electronic flight strips on a digital flight board (see FIG. 16 and P[0080], and see FIG. 5, also see “So a single strip 100, and as shown as one example in FIG. 6, may also comprise a group strip 132 or plurality of strips 100 that are displayed as a single strip 100 so that a user can quickly and efficiently manage a plurality of aircraft 22”, see P[0106] and FIG. 6);
wherein each pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation is configured by:
serving an initial electronic flight strip system template for display and user interaction through an aerodrome configurator interface (“So a single strip 100, and as shown as one example in FIG. 6, may also comprise a group strip 132 or plurality of strips 100 that are displayed as a single strip 100 so that a user can quickly and efficiently manage a plurality of aircraft 22”, see P[0106] and FIG. 6 and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]);
modifying one or more parameters of the electronic flight strip system template in response to user input received through the configurator interface to create an electronic flight strip system configuration which defines one or more flight board layouts each divided into a number of bays, each bay being associated with a respective type of aircraft location (see FIG. 6 and “…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]), and electronic flight strips having data fields which are determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located (“Additionally, and in the arrangement shown, other customization features of boards include, but are not limited to, a group formation feature, a sort by feature, a next to feature, which can control where a strip is moved to in a subsequent pattern, such as movement of a strip from a “landing” section to a “landed” section; an add new aircraft feature, which allows for the activation and creation of aircraft in some sections but not others; a strip type feature, and more, as can be associated with various sections”, see P[0104] and “In this way graphical user interface 12, as is further discussed herein includes a link feature 140 (see FIG. 10). Link feature 140 may be formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to combine groups in an effective utilitarian and visual way. In the arrangement shown, as one example, link 140 appears visually as a small chain link which is connected to two strips 100. In this way, a link 140 visually indicates to a user that any commands sent to one strip 100 will also be sent to the linked strip. In this way, a user can send one group of aircraft to join another group and then link the two groups in a way that doesn't combine all of the aircraft of one group to another”, see P[0109] and FIG. 10 and “…drag feature 141 allows a user to quickly combine two or more aircrafts into a group by dragging a first strip over a second strip 100”, see P[0110], where the links that may be created using Shapira are equivalent to the claimed “data fields”, and additionally, see FIGS. 6-12 of Shapira, where flight strips located in one section, such as “Before Takeoff” in FIG. 8, are visually distinct from flight strips located in another section such as “After Takeoff” in FIG. 8, which shows that a “data field” or visual data associated with a flight strip is “determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located”, where a “bay” is equivalent to a section, therefore, these are additional teachings of Shapira that are encompassed by the claim); and
saving the electronic flight strip system configuration as the pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation for subsequent use by the remote user (“In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111] and “Home Page: In the arrangement shown, as one example, graphical user interface includes a home page. Home page may be formed of any size, shape, and design and may include various features and/or be customized in various ways so as to display information and/or provide a user and/or controller with functions and interactions with the graphical user interface 12 and thus system 10. In the arrangement shown, as one example, home page includes a navigation panel, a plurality of page links, a display, and an account feature, among other options, controls, and components”, see P[0116]).
Shapira does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
hosting a plurality of pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations, each pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation being associated with a respective set of remote users and a respective aerodrome.
However, the limitation “being associated with” encompasses simply the use of a “electronic flight strip system instantiations” from the “plurality of pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations” at a particular “aerodrome” or airport. In view of this, Shapira teaches “associating” a particular customized configuration from a plurality of possible particular configurations at a particular jurisdiction, where a jurisdiction implies a specific location for an airport or any area used for managing aircraft, making a specific jurisdiction equivalent to a “respective aerodrome” (“In the arrangement shown, as one example, board page includes a plurality of tabs 42 (or simply “tabs”), see FIG. 5. Tabs 42 can be customized and may vary depending on the setup of each jurisdiction, personal preferences of a user, etc.”, see P[0124] and “…the boards can be customized to a user or particular jurisdiction or desired functionality”, see P[0140] and “…perhaps a controller prefers all aircraft strips in the “Outbound” section automatically be removed from the section once they exit mile radius, or exit a 10,000 feet altitude from the controller…system 10 is capable of machine learning and can adjust to the desires and general customs of a controller or jurisdiction. Additionally, new rules can be added, deleted, and machine learning can be turned off”, see P[0144] as cited above), and Shapira also teaches airport management performed by an air traffic controller (see P[0099]-P[0101]), and Shapira teaches access points that may be used by any number of users at any location, such as a computer or mobile device (“Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093]),
therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shapira and to simply use a plurality of pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiations, each pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation being associated with a respective set of remote users and a respective aerodrome, in order so that the system may be customized and “may vary depending on the setup of each jurisdiction, personal preferences of a user, etc.” (Shapira; see P[0124]).
Regarding Claim 37, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, wherein the template defines a set of operational values and a set of user permissions (“Account: In the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 includes an account 14 (see FIG. 5). Account 14 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with access to the system 10”, see P[0088] and “A user can access account 14 and customize their profile at anytime through the graphical user interface 12”, see P[0089] and “In the arrangement shown, as one example, board page includes a plurality of tabs 42 (or simply “tabs”), see FIG. 5. Tabs 42 can be customized and may vary depending on the setup of each jurisdiction, personal preferences of a user, etc.”, see P[0124] and “…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]).
Regarding Claim 38, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 37, wherein the set of operational values are preselected from a group comprising: Clearance Limits; Squawks; Approach Types (“…a controller may drag an aircraft and/or group of aircraft from an “away” section to a “Way Back” section to indicate that this particular aircraft and/or group of aircraft are outbound or inbound”, see FIG. 6 and P[0128]); Airways; Taxi Vias; Approach Positions; Runways; Levels; Clearances; Relative Tos; Vehicle Operations; Service Vehicles; Frequency Transfers; Next Frequencies; Custom Waypoints; VOR Waypoints; IFR Waypoints; VFR Waypoints; Orbit Waypoints; Hold Waypoints; En-route Waypoints; Circuits; and Parking.
Regarding Claim 39, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, wherein the bays of the flight board are selected from a group of bays comprising[[:]] Pending Departures, Active, Taxiway, Runway, Inbound/Outbound, Circuit, Overflight, and Pending Arrivals (“As an example, a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off. Additionally, as another example, a controller may drag an aircraft and/or group of aircraft from an “away” section to a “Way Back” section to indicate that this particular aircraft and/or group of aircraft are outbound or inbound”, see P[1029]).
Regarding Claim 40, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, further comprising receiving and storing a mutated electronic flight strip from a remote device corresponding to the remote user (“Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093] and “In this way, a controller can move a plurality of strips (strips 100 located within the approach tab 60), by dragging the strip, from one status dedication (or “section”) to another section. As an example, a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off. Additionally, as another example, a controller may drag an aircraft and/or group of aircraft from an “away” section to a “Way Back” section to indicate that this particular aircraft and/or group of aircraft are outbound or inbound”, see P[0128]).
Regarding Claim 41, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, further comprising: receiving movement logs of an electronic flight strip from a first bay to a second bay; and storing an updated electronic flight strip in memory (“In this way, a controller can move a plurality of strips (strips 100 located within the approach tab 60), by dragging the strip, from one status dedication (or “section”) to another section. As an example, a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off. Additionally, as another example, a controller may drag an aircraft and/or group of aircraft from an “away” section to a “Way Back” section to indicate that this particular aircraft and/or group of aircraft are outbound or inbound”, see P[0128] and P[0093]), where it is implicit that the flight strip that is “updated” by the controller dragging a flight strip into a section is saved by the system of the access point system used to perform the dragging.
Regarding Claim 43, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, further comprising serving the pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation (“Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093]).
Regarding Claim 44, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, performed over [[a]] the network by [[a]] the cloud-based computing resource, the cloud-based computing resource …operating one or more displays for provision of Air Traffic Services (“Embodiments may also be implemented in cloud computing environments”, see P[0080] and “In the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 specializes in creating a formation and/or grouping aircraft so as to make operations of air traffic control more efficient, safe and effective”, see P[0096], and “Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093]).
Shapira does not expressly recite the bolded portion of the claimed
the cloud-based computing resource coupled to an aerodrome operating one or more displays for provision of Air Traffic Services.
However, Shapira is directed to airport management performed by an air traffic controller (see P[0099]-P[0101]), and Shapira teaches access points that may be used by any number of users at any location, such as a computer or mobile device (“Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093]), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shapira and to simply an access point that is using a cloud-based computing resource coupled to an aerodrome “coupled to an aerodrome”, in order to use the “aircraft management system and method” (see Abstract) of Shapira, which would improve “communication of the aerial traffic” (Shapira; see Abstract) at an airport.
Regarding Claim 45, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, further comprising maintaining a stored digital record for electronic flight strips representing aircraft movements over time (see FIGS. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 46, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 45, further comprising:
receiving a query requesting a subset of the stored digital record from the remote user (“Account 14 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with access to the system 10”, see P[0088] and “Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093]);
processing the stored digital record in response to the query to extract the requested subset (“Additionally, and in the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 comprises remote servers, databases, and/or computers that fulfill the functions disclosed and described herein. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 16, system 10 comprises an application server 300. Application server 300 comprises one or more computer systems adapted to transmit and receive data regarding selected datasets related to various users and/or datasets related to multiple users”, see P[0086]); and[[,]]
serving the requested subset to a remote device corresponding to the remote user (“Additionally, and in the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 comprises remote servers, databases, and/or computers that fulfill the functions disclosed and described herein. In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 16, system 10 comprises an application server 300. Application server 300 comprises one or more computer systems adapted to transmit and receive data regarding selected datasets related to various users and/or datasets related to multiple users…GUI 25 and Mobile GUI 27 are user interfaces for desktop and mobile portable devices, respectively, that receive data and data analysis results from the application server 300 for display, monitoring and managing flight control of the aircrafts in an airspace”, see P[0086]).
Regarding Claim 47, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, further comprising providing instructions for displaying a flight creation dialogue on the display, wherein:
the flight creation dialogue comprises a plurality of data entry fields, (see FIGS. 5-12 and “…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]).
Regarding Claim 49, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 35, wherein the electronic flight strip system instantiation includes configuration information, the configuration information including a set of user permissions;[[,]] and wherein the computer implemented method further comprises adapting the pre-configured electronic flight strip instantiation for the remote user according to the set of user permissions (“Account: In the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 includes an account 14 (see FIG. 5). Account 14 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with access to the system 10. In the arrangement shown, as one example, an account 14 is necessary for safety reasons and may be necessary to comply with various regulations. Account 14 provides a username and access password and/or code for a user granting the user access to all or partial functions of system 10. In this way, account 14 or a plurality of accounts assigned to pilots, controllers, and other users allows for customized user interfaces, allows for restricted access, and controls the safety and improves the efficiency of system 10”, see P[0088]).
Regarding Claim 50, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method for configuring an electronic flight strip system configuration over a network, the computer implemented method comprising:
receiving and authenticating a remote user login request (“Account 14 provides a username and access password and/or code for a user granting the user access to all or partial functions of system 10”, see P[0088]);
serving an initial electronic flight strip system template for display and user interaction through a configurator interface on a remote display (“In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]);
modifying a parameter of the initial electronic flight strip system template in response to instructions received from the configuration interface to create an electronic flight strip system configuration which defines a flight board divided into a number of bays, each bay being associated with a respective type of aircraft location (see FIG. 6)[[,]] and electronic flight strips having data fields that are determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located (“…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]); and[[,]]
saving the modified electronic flight strip system configuration and associating the saved modified electronic flight system configuration with a remote user (“In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111] and “Home Page: In the arrangement shown, as one example, graphical user interface includes a home page. Home page may be formed of any size, shape, and design and may include various features and/or be customized in various ways so as to display information and/or provide a user and/or controller with functions and interactions with the graphical user interface 12 and thus system 10. In the arrangement shown, as one example, home page includes a navigation panel, a plurality of page links, a display, and an account feature, among other options, controls, and components”, see P[0116]).
Regarding Claim 51, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 50,
wherein the one or more flight board layouts are each divided into a number of bays, each bay being associated with a respective type of aircraft location, wherein each bay is configured to display electronic flight strips, each electronic flight strip having data fields that are determined and populated according to which bay the electronic flight strip is located (“…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]),
wherein modifying a parameter of the initial electronic flight system template comprises modifying a characteristic of a bay of a flight board layout (“…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]), and wherein the modifiable characteristics of a bay modify one or more of:
the type of aircraft location associated with the bay;
the data fields to be determined and populated on electronic flight strips located in the bay;
a position of the bay on the flight board layout (“…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]);
a size of the bay on the flight board layout;
a sorting order in which electronic flight strips will be located in the bay (“…a controller may drag an aircraft strip from a “after takeoff” section to a “Way to SID” section to indicate that the aircraft has taken off”, see P[0128] and FIG. 6, and “In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]); and[[,]]
a display name of the bay.
Regarding Claim 52, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 50, wherein modifying a parameter of the initial electronic flight system template comprises selecting a bay for the flight board layout from a pre-configured set of bay templates (“In the arrangement shown, strips 100 can be customized to the convenience of a particular application and/or user. In addition to the various bits of information discussed herein, a strip 100, as shown in the examples herein, may also contain a squad number, a parking location (or “parking”), a runway, an SID, an Area, a UHF, a takeoff time, and the like. Additionally, strip 100 may include a delete function which quickly allows a user to delete a strip 100”, see P[0111]).
Regarding Claim 53, Shapira teaches the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 50, wherein serving the initial electronic flight strip system configuration comprises selecting the initial electronic flight strip system template from a set of initial electronic flight strip system templates stored on the configuration server[[,]]; and wherein each initial electronic flight strip system template is associated with a different set of remote users (“Account: In the arrangement shown, as one example, system 10 includes an account 14 (see FIG. 5). Account 14 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with access to the system 10. In the arrangement shown, as one example, an account 14 is necessary for safety reasons and may be necessary to comply with various regulations. Account 14 provides a username and access password and/or code for a user granting the user access to all or partial functions of system 10. In this way, account 14 or a plurality of accounts assigned to pilots, controllers, and other users allows for customized user interfaces, allows for restricted access, and controls the safety and improves the efficiency of system 10”, see P[0088]).
Regarding Claim 54, Shapira renders obvious the claimed computer implemented method according to claim 53, wherein each set of remote users corresponds to a different set of aerodromes, where although Shapira does not expressly recite “wherein each set of remote users corresponds to a different set of aerodromes”, Shapira teaches access points that may be used by any number of users at any location, such as a computer or mobile device (“Access Point: In the arrangement shown in FIG. 5, as one example, system 10 includes an access point 24. Access point 24 is formed of any suitable size, shape, and design and is configured to provide a user with visual access to information related to system 10. Additionally, access point 24 may be designed to allow a user to provide input into system 10 and or make changes to information in system 10. In this way, access point may be a computer, mobile device and/or display screen and/or touch screen that displays a graphical user interface 12 and provides a user with a means to access information and other data in system 10 and or manipulate information and/or data within system 10. In changing information and/or manipulating data, the user may change that data for all who are accessing system 10, depending on the settings and their access levels”, see P[0093]), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shapira and to simply use multiple access points to be used by multiple users at multiple different “aerodromes”, in order to use the “aircraft management system and method” (see Abstract) of Shapira at any number of airports or “aerodromes”, which would improve “communication of the aerial traffic” (Shapira; see Abstract) at all of the airports.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapira (2023/0074633) in view of Resnick et al. (2016/0086496).
Regarding Claim 42, Shapira does not expressly the claimed computer implemented method according claim 35, wherein the pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation defines a set of rules for aircraft movements against which a detected user input on the remote display is validated;[[,]] and wherein the computer implemented method further comprises providing instructions to generate an exception if an invalid aircraft movement is detected.
However, Resnick et al. (2016/0086496) teaches a preconfigured electronic flight strip system instantiation defines a set of rules for aircraft movements against which a detected user input on the remote display is validated, and the method further comprises providing instructions to generate an exception if an invalid aircraft movement is detected (Resnick et al.; “Two other aircraft 300, 318 may be represented by the electronic flight strips 200, 201, respectively, of FIG. 2. One aircraft 318 is holding on the runway 306. This aircraft 318 was given clearance to enter the runway 306. However, the second aircraft 300 was not given clearance to enter the runway 306 but has crossed lines dividing the taxiway 307 from the runway 306. This runway incursion is indicated to the controller on the flight strip 200”, see P[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shapira with the teachings of Resnick et al., and wherein the pre-configured electronic flight strip system instantiation defines a set of rules for aircraft movements against which a detected user input on the remote display is validated, and wherein the computer implemented method further comprises providing instructions to generate an exception if an invalid aircraft movement is detected, as rendered obvious by Resnick et al., in order to provide an “electronic flight strip system and method of detecting and indicating runway incursions” (Resnick et al.; see Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISAAC G SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662