DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 8/10/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 5/13/2026. Applicant’s arguments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application. Claim 1 has been amended to correct a minor typographical error. Claim 17 has been amended to depend upon claim 16 to correct an issue of antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US PGPUB No. 2023/0267099; Pub. Date: Aug. 24, 2023) in view of BAO et al. (China Patent Application No.: CN 119107986 A; Pub. Date: 2024-12-10).
Regarding independent claim 1,
Wang discloses a progressive system for acquiring hot data, being used to access data in a computer and being connected to a data- providing module, the progressive system comprising: a filter device, comprising: a preliminary filter, comprising a preliminary input unit, See FIG. 2 & [0091], (Disclosing a system for obtaining a hot dataset including hot data statistics information of at least one terminal device. FIG. 2 illustrates the hardware structure of the plurality of terminal devices comprising processor 180. Note [0058] wherein the system comprises memory 120 having an associated data storage area for storing data created when a data processing apparatus is used, i.e. a progressive system for acquiring hot data, being used to access data in a computer and being connected to a data-providing module.) See Paragraph [0120], (A filtering function is executed over hot data of the first terminal, , the progressive system comprising: a filter device, comprising: a preliminary filter, comprising a preliminary input unit, i.e. the progressive system comprising: a filter device, comprising: a preliminary filter, comprising a preliminary input unit,)
a preliminary processor unit, a preliminary storage unit, and a preliminary output unit, See FIGs. 1-2 & Paragraph [0091], (FIG. 1 illustrates a plurality of terminals embodied using the hardware structure of FIG. 2. FIG. 2 illustrates the hardware structure of the plurality of terminal devices comprising an I/O subsystem 170, processor 180, memory 120 and RF circuit 110 for facilitating communication with other terminal devices, i.e. a preliminary processor unit, a preliminary storage unit, and a preliminary output unit.)
wherein the preliminary input unit is coupled to the data-providing module and receives a new data record from the data-providing module, in which the preliminary processor unit determines whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record, See Paragraph [0122], (The first terminal traverses each piece of hot data in a first hot data subset to determine whether the hot data exists in the local hot data set of the first terminal, i.e. wherein the preliminary input unit is coupled to the data-providing module and receives a new data record from the data-providing module, in which the preliminary processor unit determines whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record.)
and if yes, the preliminary output unit outputs a preliminary data record, See Paragraph [0129], (First terminal performs data affinity classification on the hot data set to obtain the hot data subset corresponding to each terminal device, i.e. if yes, the preliminary output unit outputs a preliminary data record (e.g. by determining a target hot data subset).)
or if no, the new data record is stored in the preliminary storage unit; See Paragraph [0122], (The filtering function may be applied to hot data of a terminal and may determine that the hot data does not exists in the hot data subset, the hot data is then reserved, i.e. or if no, the new data record is stored in the preliminary storage unit;)
and an advanced filter, being coupled to the data-providing module and the preliminary filter, See Paragraph [0129], (The second terminal may store hot data from another terminal device to implement real-time hot data sharing between terminal devices, i.e. an advanced filter, being coupled to the data-providing module and the preliminary filter (e.g. as illustrated in FIG. 1, the plurality of terminals are connected to each other via a network such as any of those described in [0052]).)
an advanced input unit, an advanced processor unit, an advanced storage unit, and an advanced output unit, See FIGs. 1-2 & Paragraph [0091], (FIG. 1 illustrates a plurality of terminals embodied using the hardware structure of FIG. 2. FIG. 2 illustrates the hardware structure of the plurality of terminal devices comprising an I/O subsystem 170, processor 180, memory 120 and RF circuit 110 for facilitating communication with other terminal devices, i.e. wherein the advanced filter comprises an advanced input unit, an advanced processor unit, an advanced storage unit, and an advanced output unit.)
in which the serial input unit is coupled to the preliminary output unit and receives and stores the preliminary data record into the advanced storage unit, See Paragraph [0052],(The plurality of terminals implement communication and transmission using Bluetooth, NFC technology or by connecting to a same wireless network.) See Paragraph [0129], (Second terminal may store hot data from another terminal device to implement real-time hot data sharing between terminal devices, i.e. which the serial input unit is coupled to the preliminary output unit (e.g. the I/O subsystem of each terminal device is coupled to an RF circuit 110 via processor 180 which facilitates sending and receiving signals including communicating with other terminal devices) and receives and stores the preliminary data record into the advanced storage unit.)
and the advanced input unit is coupled the data- providing module and receives the new data record, after which the advanced processor unit determines whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record, See Paragraph [0148], (The network device filters out hot data locally stored in at least one terminal device from a hot data subset corresponding to the terminal device.) The examiner notes that while FIG. 3 illustrates the method with regard to the first terminal, however Paragraph [0148] makes clear that the process may be performed by or at any of the terminal devices including the second terminal. Therefore, the system may perform the process of [0122] of filtering hot data to determine if hot data exists or does not exist at a terminal device, i.e. the advanced input unit is coupled the data-providing module (e.g. terminals are connected via a network used for transmitting data records including hot data) and receives the new data record, after which the advanced processor unit determines whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record.)
and if yes, the advanced output unit outputs an advanced data record; See Paragraph [0148], (The system may obtain a target hot data subset of a terminal device by executing a filtering function on one terminal device of the plurality of terminal devices, including the second terminal, i.e. if yes, the advanced output unit outputs an advanced data record (e.g. the obtained target hot data subset of the second terminal device);)
and a hot-data storing device, being coupled to the advanced filter and storing the advanced data record. See Paragraph [0128], (Distributed data management capabilities may allow a current terminal device to store hot data from another device suitable for use on the current device, i.e. a hot-data storing device, being coupled to the advanced filter and storing the advanced data record (e.g. terminals may execute the filtering function to obtain a target hot data subset of the terminal device).)
Wang does not disclose the system wherein the advanced filter comprises a serial input unit,
BAO discloses a system wherein the advanced filter comprises a serial input unit, See Pg. 3, Paragraph 2, (Disclosing a memory module for implementing a low-cost memory expansion scheme of a server system via a cold & hot migration scheme. The method comprises a first integrated unit that may read hot data in a target second memory address via a locally integrated memory controller and send the hot data to processor 411 via the serial bus.)
The examiner notes that the provided machine translation of BAO utilizes the term "thermal data" and "hot data", the examiner interpreted the term thermal data in the reference as corresponding to hot data.
Wang and BAO are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, hot and cold data processing. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang to include the method of passing hot data to a serial bus for processing as disclosed by BAO. Pg. 8, Paragraph 5 of BAO discloses that the cold and hot migration scheme, which includes the use of serial busses configured to receive hot data, has the advantage that the second integrated unit is added into an existing memory module, allowing the second integrated unit to migrate frequently accessed data in order to improve the memory performance of the server while introducing as little additional cost as possible to realize the low-cost memory expansion scheme.
Regarding dependent claim 12,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
BAO further discloses a method for recognizing hot data, being used to access data in a computer, the method comprising: a data-inputting step: using the data-providing module to provide the new data record to the filter device; See Pg. 23, Paragraph 7, (The system may receive hot data in the target second storage address sent by any of the first integrated units, i.e. a data-inputting step: using the data-providing module to provide the new data record to the filter device;)
Additionally, Wang further discloses a first data-determining step: determining whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the advanced filter of the filter device, and if no, proceeding with a second data-determining step, or if yes, making the advanced filter output the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record, and performing a hot data-storing step; the second data-determining step: determining whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the preliminary filter of the filter device, and if no, storing the new data record in the preliminary filter, or if yes, making the preliminary filter output the preliminary data record corresponding to the new data record to the advanced filter; See Paragraph [0148], (The network device filters out hot data locally stored in at least one terminal device from a hot data subset corresponding to the terminal device.) The examiner notes that while FIG. 3 illustrates the method with regard to the first terminal, however Paragraph [0148] makes clear that the process may be performed by or at any of the terminal devices including the second terminal. Therefore, the system may perform the process of [0122] of filtering hot data to determine if hot data exists or does not exist at a terminal device, i.e. the advanced input unit is coupled the data-providing module (e.g. terminals are connected via a network used for transmitting data records including hot data) and receives the new data record, after which the advanced processor unit determines whether the new data record is a previously-stored data record.)
The examiner notes that the process of “proceeding with a second data-determining step” is optional as it is performed based on the determination of whether a new data record is a previously-stored data record. The claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives (e.g. the second data-determining step may or may not be performed based on the determining), the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art, see MPEP 2143.03.
and the hot data-storing step: using the hot-data storing device to store the advanced data record. See Paragraph [0128], (Distributed data management capabilities may allow a current terminal device to store hot data from another device suitable for use on the current device, i.e. a hot-data storing device, being coupled to the advanced filter and storing the advanced data record (e.g. terminals may execute the filtering function to obtain a target hot data subset of the terminal device).)
Regarding dependent claim 19,
As discussed above with claim 12, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang further discloses the step wherein at the first data-determining step, if the new data record is a previously-stored data record, the advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to an advanced determination threshold; and at the second data-determining step, if the new data record is a previously-stored data record, the preliminary filter outputs the preliminary data record corresponding to the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to a preliminary determination threshold. See Paragraph [0129], (A terminal may obtain the hot data subset corresponding to the second terminal and store the hot data subset from the other terminal device, i.e. if the new data record is a previously-stored data record, the advanced filter (e.g. the first terminal may perform the method of FIG. 3) outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record (e.g. the record from another terminal may be provided to the first terminal for storage).) See Paragraph [0077], (Identification of hot data on a terminal device includes determining that a quantity of times that a user has accessed or edited data within a specific time period exceeds a specific threshold, i.e. new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to an advanced determination threshold;)
The examiner notes that, as discussed with regard to claim 12 above, the “second data-determining step” is optional as it is performed based on the determination of whether a new data record is a previously-stored data record. The claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives (e.g. the second data-determining step may or may not be performed based on the determining), the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art, see MPEP 2143.03.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (US PGPUB No. 2024/0078237; Pub. Date: Mar. 7, 2024).
Regarding dependent claim 2,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system wherein the preliminary filter comprises a preliminary hash unit, which receives and hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, and the preliminary processor unit determines whether the hashed-form data record is a previously- stored data record;
Ma discloses the system wherein the preliminary filter comprises a preliminary hash unit, which receives and hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, and the preliminary processor unit determines whether the hashed-form data record is a previously- stored data record; See FIG. 3 & Paragraph [0056], (Disclosing a system for early filtering of candidate rows for a join operator of a query statement. FIG. 3 illustrates a filter engine 101 configured to generate one or more Bloom filters via Bloom Filter Producer 152. Filter Producer 152 may be embodied as a hash operator for generating hashes for the Bloom filter which can be later queried to determine whether the hash of a new input to the Bloom filter exists in said Bloom filter, i.e. wherein the preliminary filter comprises a preliminary hash unit, which receives and hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, and the preliminary processor unit determines whether the hashed-form data record is a previously- stored data record;)
and the advanced filter comprises an advanced hash unit, which receives and hashes the new data record so as to obtain the hashed-form data record, and the advanced processor unit determines whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record. See FIG. 3 & Paragraph [0056], (Disclosing a system for early filtering of candidate rows for a join operator of a query statement. FIG. 3 illustrates a filter engine 101 configured to generate one or more Bloom filters via Bloom Filter Producer 152. Filter Producer 152 may be embodied as a hash operator for generating hashes for the Bloom filter which can be later queried to determine whether the hash of a new input to the Bloom filter exists in said Bloom filter, i.e. the advanced filter comprises an advanced hash unit, which receives and hashes the new data record so as to obtain the hashed-form data record, and the advanced processor unit determines whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record;)
The examiner notes that the system of Wang comprises a plurality of terminal devices that perform a filtering function. The method of Ma describes a Filter Engine 101 configured to process records using generated Bloom Filters. One of ordinary skill in the art, having both Wang and Ma would recognize that the filter engine 101 of Ma may be incorporated into more than one device in order to generate Bloom Filters for assessing hash matches such as the plurality of terminals in Wang.
Wang, BAO and Ma are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of generating bloom filters at a filter engine as disclosed by Ma. Paragraph [0060] of Ma discloses that the system may perform early filtering using Bloom filters to attain a performance benefit by reducing the number of records to be assessed before the join operator is executed by determining hash matches via the Bloom filters.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO and Ma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SELETSKIY et al. (US PGPUB No. 2024/0073224; Pub. Date: Feb. 29, 2024).
Regarding dependent claim 3,
As discussed above with claim 2, Wang-BAO-Ma discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO-Ma does not disclose the system wherein the preliminary filter is a Bloom filter, and the advanced filter is a Bloom filter.
SELETSKIY discloses the system wherein the preliminary filter is a Bloom filter, and the advanced filter is a Bloom filter. See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0031], (Disclosing a system for deduplicating malware scan attempts. FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 comprising computing devices 102a-102b which each comprise a local scanning deduplication module 108 comprising a bloom filter 113, i.e. wherein the preliminary filter is a Bloom filter, and the advanced filter is a Bloom filter (e.g. FIG. 1 illustrates a plurality of computing devices comprising bloom filters).)
Wang, BAO, Ma and SELETSKIY are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-Ma to include the method of utilizing a bloom filter to determine hash matches over a database as disclosed by SELETSKIY. Paragraph [0044] of SELETSKIY discloses that the use of a bloom filter to filter out objects based on hashes is beneficial in terms of saving computing capacity because computing costs for using bloom filters are less than for a scanning process. The scanning process is instead executed indirectly via a bloom filter microservice that identifies hash mashes over a database.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of SELETSKIY et al. (US PGPUB No. 2024/0073224; Pub. Date: Feb. 29, 2024).
Regarding dependent claim 16,
As discussed above with claim 12, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the method further comprising a first hashing step before the first data-determining step, wherein at the first hashing step, the advanced filter hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, and at the first data-determining step, it is to determine whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record in the advanced filter.
SELETSKIY discloses the method further comprising a first hashing step before the first data-determining step, wherein at the first hashing step, the advanced filter hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, See Paragraph [0039], (Disclosing a system for deduplicating malware scan attempts. GSD module 116 may search for a hash value in a shared verdict database 122 to determine a match and transmit the verdict back to LSD module 108 which in turn skips the scanning of an object 106, i.e. a first hashing step before the first data-determining step, wherein at the first hashing step, the advanced filter (e.g. the method is performed by local scanning deduplication module 108 of a computing device 102b) hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, hashes the new data record (e.g. via local hashing module 110 of a computing device) so as to obtain a hashed-form data record.)
and at the first data-determining step, it is to determine whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record in the advanced filter. See Paragraph [0039], (GSD module 116 may search for a hash value in a shared verdict database 122 to determine a match and transmit the verdict back to LSD module 108 which in turn skips the scanning of an object 106, i.e. at the first data-determining step, it is to determine whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record in the advanced filter.)
Wang, BAO and SELETSKIY are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of utilizing a bloom filter to determine hash matches over a database as disclosed by SELETSKIY. Paragraph [0044] of SELETSKIY discloses that the use of a bloom filter to filter out objects based on hashes is beneficial in terms of saving computing capacity because computing costs for using bloom filters are less than for a scanning process. The scanning process is instead executed indirectly via a bloom filter microservice that identifies hash mashes over a database.
Regarding dependent claim 17,
As discussed above with claim 16, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the method comprising a second hashing step before the second data-determining step, wherein at the second hashing step, the preliminary filter hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, and at the second data-determining step, it is to determine whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record in the preliminary filter.
SELETSKIY disclose the method comprising a second hashing step before the second data-determining step, See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0034], (Disclosing a system for deduplicating malware scan attempts utilizing hash-based object identification via a local scanning deduplication module 108 comprising a bloom filter 113. Object identification is made based on hashing algorithms applied to raw contents of an object or its normalized version, i.e. a second hashing step before the second data-determining step (e.g. hashing is performed prior to matching).)
wherein at the second hashing step, the preliminary filter hashes the new data record so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, and at the second data-determining step, it is to determine whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record in the preliminary filter. See Paragraph [0039], (GSD module 116 may search for a hash value in a shared verdict database 122 to determine a match and transmit the verdict back to LSD module 108 which in turn skips the scanning of an object 106, i.e. wherein at the second hashing step, the preliminary filter (e.g. the method is performed by local scanning deduplication module 108 of a computing device 102b) hashes the new data record (e.g. via local hashing module 110 of a computing device 102a) so as to obtain a hashed-form data record, i.e. and at the second data-determining step, it is to determine whether the hashed-form data record is a previously-stored data record in the preliminary filter (e.g. by determining if a match exists).)
Wang, BAO and SELETSKIY are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of utilizing a bloom filter to determine hash matches over a database as disclosed by SELETSKIY. Paragraph [0044] of SELETSKIY discloses that the use of a bloom filter to filter out objects based on hashes is beneficial in terms of saving computing capacity because computing costs for using bloom filters are less than for a scanning process. The scanning process is instead executed indirectly via a bloom filter microservice that identifies hash mashes over a database.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akar et al. (US PGPUB No. 2021/0097106; Pub. Date: Apr. 1, 2021) and Zhang et al. (US PGPUB No. 2015/0293937; Pub. Date: Oct. 15, 2015).
Regarding dependent claim 4,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system wherein the advanced filter is plural in number, and the advanced filters are serially connected to the advanced output unit and the serial input unit successively in a sequence, in which each of the advanced filters has the advanced input unit therein coupled to the data- providing module,
Akar discloses the system wherein the advanced filter is plural in number, and the advanced filters are serially connected to the advanced output unit and the serial input unit successively in a sequence, in which each of the advanced filters has the advanced input unit therein coupled to the data- providing module, See Paragraph [0041], (Disclosing a system for generating a dynamic Bloom filter. A dynamic Bloom filter may be queried for an element hashed using hash functions. A sequence of Bloom filters may be queried to determine if an element exists in the dynamic Bloom filter, i.e. wherein when the advanced filter is plural in number, and the advanced filters are serially connected in a sequence (e.g. the bloom filters are queried in sequence wherein each bloom filter may be the last in the sequence if the queried element is found), in which each of the advanced filters has the advanced input unit therein coupled to the data-providing module (e.g. Note [0107] wherein each Bloom filter of the sequence of Bloom filters can be queried for the element using the final indexes).)
Wang, BAO and Akar are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the sequence of Bloom filters for confirming the presence of a queried data element of a Bloom filter as disclosed by Akar. Paragraph [0042] of Akar discloses that the method is beneficial in that translation operations are performed to move elements from an existing Bloom filter to a dynamic Bloom filter, wherein the translation operations are computationally more efficient than hashing operations.
Wang-BAO-Akar does not disclose the system wherein the advanced output unit of the advanced filter that is last in the sequence is coupled to the hot-data storing device.
Zhang discloses the system wherein the advanced output unit of the advanced filter that is last in the sequence is coupled to the hot-data storing device. See FIG. 4 & Paragraph [0062], (FIG. 4 illustrates read server 400 comprising data storage 450 and bloom filter 460 which are connected via controller 410. Bloom filter 460 may be used to indicate key-value pair is stored on computer storage media that have been stored in data storage 450, i.e. the advanced output unit of the advanced filter that is last in the sequence is coupled to the hot-data storing device (e.g. bloom filter 460 is connected to data storage 450).)
The examiner notes that a "last bloom filter in a sequence" is not functionally or structurally distinct from a single bloom filter such as the one presented in Zhang. The method of Akar describes a sequence of Bloom filters wherein a first filter may also be a last Bloom filter used to retrieve an element in response to a query. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a sequence of Bloom filters such as that of Akar may be modified to be operatively coupled with a storage system such as via the system structure of Zhang to produce a sequence of Bloom Filters connected to a storage system.
Wang, BAO, Akar and Zhang are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-Akar to include the controller for connecting the functionality of a bloom filter to a storage system as disclosed by Zhang. Paragraph [0065] of Zhang discloses that the use of a bloom filter allows the system to produce faster response times for responding to read data requests when compared to directly accessing computer storage media.
Regarding dependent claim 5,
As discussed above with claim 4, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang further discloses the system wherein each of the advanced filters has the advanced output unit coupled to the hot-data storing device. See FIGs. 1-2 & Paragraph [0091], (FIG. 1 illustrates a plurality of terminals embodied using the hardware structure of FIG. 2. FIG. 2 illustrates the hardware structure of the plurality of terminal devices comprising an I/O subsystem 170, processor 180, memory 120 and RF circuit 110 for facilitating communication with other terminal devices, i.e. wherein each of the advanced filters has the advanced output unit coupled to the hot-data storing device (e.g. each of the plurality of terminal devices used for performing the filtering may store hot data subsets in memory).)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO, Akar and Zhang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sotnikov et al. (US PGPUB No. 2023/0199085; Pub. Date: Jun. 22, 2023).
Regarding dependent claim 6,
As discussed above with claim 5, Wang-BAO-Akar-Zhang discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO-Akar-Zhang does not disclose the method wherein at the hot data-storing step, the hot-data storing device preferentially stores the advanced data record output by the advanced filter that is later in the sequence.
Sotnikov discloses the method wherein at the hot data-storing step, the hot-data storing device preferentially stores the advanced data record output by the advanced filter that is later in the sequence. See Paragraph [0034], (Disclosing a system of managing the caching of objects. The system uses a sequence of Bloom filters that are used to determine if a required object exists. The method searches over the plurality of filters until reaching a final Bloom filter. If the final Bloom filter is reached, then the system is allowed to cache the object, i.e. wherein at the hot data-storing step, the hot-data storing device preferentially stores the advanced data record output by the advanced filter that is later in the sequence (e.g. the cache admission logic states that an object may only be cached once the final Bloom filter is reached).)
Wang, BAO, Akar, Zhang and Sotnikov are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-Akar-Zhang to include the cache admission logic employing a sequence of Bloom filters as disclosed by Sotnikov. Paragraph [0011] of Sotnikov discloses that the cache admission logic improves cache utilization by preventing single-hitter objects form pushing out multi-hit objects.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ZAYDMAN et al. (US PGPUB No. 2019/0065403; Pub. Date: Feb. 28, 2019).
Regarding dependent claim 7,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system wherein the hot-data storing device is a Cuckoo cache.
ZAYDMAN discloses the system wherein the hot-data storing device is a Cuckoo cache. See FIG. 8 & Paragraph [0030], (Disclosing a system for implementing a cuckoo cache comprising a plurality of buckets comprising a plurality of cells each. Cuckoo caching process 800 is implemented via cuckoo cache 100 as illustrated in the method of FIG. 8 wherein a new item may be inserted into a first cell of a first bucket of the cuckoo cache, i.e. wherein the hot-data storing device is a Cuckoo cache.)
Wang, BAO and ZAYDMAN are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of storing new data items in a cuckoo cache as disclosed by ZAYDMAN. Paragraph [0011] of ZAYDMAN discloses that the use of a cuckoo cache achieves space efficiency by eliminating a need for metadata to be stored in the cache, which allows the system to utilize the available storage capacity more efficiently such that less storage capacity is needed to store data.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GEDIK et al. (US PGPUB No. 2009/0100014; Pub. Date: Apr. 16, 2009) and Barash et al. (US PGPUB No. 2019/0164234; Pub. Date: May 30, 2019).
Regarding dependent claim 8,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system further comprising a sieve, which has an input end and an output end coupled to the data-providing module and the filter device, respectively, wherein the sieve receives the new data record and randomly input some of the new data records to the filter device according to a predetermined sieving ratio.
GEDIK discloses the system further comprising a sieve, which has an input end and an output end coupled to the data-providing module and the filter device, respectively, wherein the sieve receives the new data record and randomly input some of the new data records to the filter device according to a predetermined sieving ratio. See Paragraph [0043], (Disclosing adaptive source filtering and load shedding for a data stream processing system. CQ server maintains a throttler parameter "z" indicating a fraction of an aggregate source stream volume that can be processed without dropping data items.) See Paragraph [0093], (Throttler z is configured to reduce the system load so that the rate at which the data items are received and the rate at which items are processed is balanced to prevent dropping items from the input queue, i.e. a sieve, which has an input end and an output end coupled to the data-providing module and the filter device, respectively, i.e. wherein the sieve receives the new data record and input some of the new data records to the filter device according to a predetermined sieving ratio.)
The examiner notes that GEDIK does not explicitly disclose throttling randomly according to the throttling parameter "z".
Wang, BAO and GEDIK are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of throttling incoming data as disclosed by GEDIK. Paragraph [0092] of GEDIK discloses a process of throttler adaptation that adjusts the value of the throttler in response to incoming aggregate stream rates. This process ensures that the optimal throttling parameter value is selected to prevent random dropping of input stream data items.
Barash discloses the step wherein the sieve receives the new data record and randomly input some of the new data records to the filter device. See Paragraph [0025], (Disclosing a system for monitoring social media contagion relating to social media activity of a plurality of users. Contagion monitor 50 performs a two-stage data filtering prior to analysis wherein the first stage filter is a non-discriminating or random filter, i.e. wherein the sieve receives the new data record and randomly input some of the new data records to the filter device.)
The examiner notes that Barash does not disclose the first stage filter as utilizing a "predetermined sieving ratio" but does disclose randomly filtering input data. The method of GEDIK discloses using a throttling parameter to limit an incoming data stream but does not describe the input stream as being ingested randomly. The combination of GEDIK and Barash would allow for a system to randomly filter incoming data according to a throttling parameter.
Wang, BAO, GEDIK and Barash are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-GEDIK to include the method of filtering incoming data as disclosed by Barash. Paragraph [0025] of Barash discloses that the multi-stage filtering system is configured to filter features of interest out of a context stream that includes both features and other content in order to deliver relevant data items for further processing based on the multiple filtering approaches.
Regarding dependent claim 9,
As discussed above with claim 8, Wang-BAO-GEDIK discloses all of the limitations.
GEDIK further discloses the step wherein the sieve is plural in number and each of the sieves has the input end coupled to the data-providing module and has the output end coupled to the preliminary filter and the advanced filter separately. See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0043], (FIG. 1 illustrates CQ server 200 comprising throttle adaptation 208 being connected to a plurality of source nodes 212 individually.) See FIG. 6 & Paragraph [0099], (FIG. 6 illustrates one or more CQ servers configured to provide functionality including data stream throttling to the plurality of data sources, i.e. wherein the sieve is plural in number (e.g. CQ server 200 may be embodied as one or more CQ servers 200 comprising multiple throttling components, throttle parameters, etc.) and each of the sieves has the input end coupled to the data-providing module and has the output end coupled to the preliminary filter and the advanced filter separately.)
Regarding dependent claim 18,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system further comprising a sieving step in which a sieve randomly inputs some of the new data records to the filter device according to a predetermined sieving ratio.
GEDIK discloses the system further comprising a sieving step in which a sieve randomly inputs some of the new data records to the filter device according to a predetermined sieving ratio. See Paragraph [0043], (Disclosing adaptive source filtering and load shedding for a data stream processing system. CQ server maintains a throttler parameter "z" indicating a fraction of an aggregate source stream volume that can be processed without dropping data items.) See Paragraph [0093], (Throttler z is configured to reduce the system load so that the rate at which the data items are received and the rate at which items are processed is balanced to prevent dropping items from the input queue, i.e. further comprising a sieving step in which a sieve randomly inputs some of the new data records to the filter device according to a predetermined sieving ratio.)
The examiner notes that GEDIK does not explicitly disclose throttling randomly according to the throttling parameter "z".
Wang, BAO and GEDIK are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of throttling incoming data as disclosed by GEDIK. Paragraph [0092] of GEDIK discloses a process of throttler adaptation that adjusts the value of the throttler in response to incoming aggregate stream rates. This process ensures that the optimal throttling parameter value is selected to prevent random dropping of input stream data items.
Barash discloses the step wherein the sieve receives the new data record and randomly input some of the new data records to the filter device. See Paragraph [0025], (Disclosing a system for monitoring social media contagion relating to social media activity of a plurality of users. Contagion monitor 50 performs a two-stage data filtering prior to analysis wherein the first stage filter is a non-discriminating or random filter, i.e. wherein the sieve receives the new data record and randomly input some of the new data records to the filter device.)
The examiner notes that Barash does not disclose the first stage filter as utilizing a "predetermined sieving ratio" but does disclose randomly filtering input data. The method of GEDIK discloses using a throttling parameter to limit an incoming data stream but does not describe the input stream as being ingested randomly. The combination of GEDIK and Barash would allow for a system to randomly filter incoming data according to a throttling parameter.
Wang, BAO, GEDIK and Barash are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-GEDIK to include the method of filtering incoming data as disclosed by Barash. Paragraph [0025] of Barash discloses that the multi-stage filtering system is configured to filter features of interest out of a context stream that includes both features and other content in order to deliver relevant data items for further processing based on the multiple filtering approaches.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LEE (US PGPUB No. 2022/0405009; Pub. Date: Dec. 22, 2022).
Regarding dependent claim 10,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system wherein the preliminary filter has a preliminary determining unit that is programmed with a preliminary determination threshold, so that if the preliminary processor unit recognizes the new data record as the previously-stored data record, the preliminary determining unit outputs the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to the preliminary determination threshold to the preliminary output unit;
and the advanced filter has an advanced determining unit that is programmed with an advanced determination threshold, so that if the advanced processor unit recognizes the new data record as a previously-stored data record, the advanced determining unit outputs the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to the advanced determination threshold to the advanced output unit.
LEE discloses the system wherein the preliminary filter has a preliminary determining unit that is programmed with a preliminary determination threshold, so that if the preliminary processor unit recognizes the new data record as the previously-stored data record, the preliminary determining unit outputs the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to the preliminary determination threshold to the preliminary output unit; See Paragraph [0069], (Storage device 1000 may move first data stored in first cache memory 310 to second cache memory 320 based on determining whether the number of times that the first data has been read is equal to or greater than a threshold value and that the specific data is written once, i.e. wherein the preliminary filter has a preliminary determining unit that is programmed with a preliminary determination threshold, so that if the preliminary processor unit recognizes the new data record as the previously-stored data record, the preliminary determining unit outputs the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to the preliminary determination threshold to the preliminary output unit (e.g. the process identifies a data item for moving based on determining whether the read threshold is exceeded.);
and the advanced filter has an advanced determining unit that is programmed with an advanced determination threshold, so that if the advanced processor unit recognizes the new data record as a previously-stored data record, the advanced determining unit outputs the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to the advanced determination threshold to the advanced output unit. See Paragraph [0069], (Storage device 1000 may move first data stored in first cache memory 310 to second cache memory 320 based on determining whether the number of times that the first data has been read is equal to or greater than a threshold value and that the specific data is written once, i.e. the advanced filter has an advanced determining unit that is programmed with an advanced determination threshold, so that if the advanced processor unit recognizes the new data record as a previously-stored data record, the advanced determining unit outputs the new data record that has been accessed for a number of times that is greater than or equal to the advanced determination threshold to the advanced output unit. (e.g. the process identifies a data item for moving based on determining whether the read threshold is exceeded.);
Wang, BAO and LEE are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of identifying records for migration to a second storage system based on determining access metrics for said record as disclosed by LEE. Paragraph [0044] of LEE discloses that the system may improve resource utilization and operation efficiency of a multi-tier memory by assigning hot and cold data to different cache levels so that cache efficiency may be improved by preventing frequent evictions and loads, thereby increasing the operation efficiency of the multi-tier memory.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ZHOU et al. (China Invention Application Publication No.: CN 119166592 A; Pub. Date: 20-Dec-2024).
Regarding dependent claim 11,
As discussed above with claim 1, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the system wherein the preliminary processor unit and the advanced processor unit are programmed with a cycle period, so that the preliminary processor unit and the advanced processor unit regularly delete the data records from the preliminary storage unit and the advanced storage unit according to the cycle period.
ZHOU discloses a system wherein the preliminary processor unit and the advanced processor unit are programmed with a cycle period, so that the preliminary processor unit and the advanced processor unit regularly delete the data records from the preliminary storage unit and the advanced storage unit according to the cycle period. See Pg. 9, Paragraph 9, (Disclosing a system for data management based on cold data migration comprising an offline analysis task for identifying cold data to be migrated from the original storage location to a target remote station. The offline analysis task is triggered periodically by a scheduler and is automatically run for a preset time interval, i.e. wherein the preliminary processor unit and the advanced processor unit are programmed with a cycle period, so that the preliminary processor unit and the advanced processor unit regularly delete the data records from the preliminary storage unit and the advanced storage unit according to the cycle period.)
Wang, BAO and ZHOU are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of periodically migrating cold data out of an original storage location as disclosed by ZHOU. Pg. 9, Paragraph 9 of ZHOU discloses that the offline analysis task is run automatically at a preset time interval to ensure that the analysis process has minimal impact on the real-time system load.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Akar et al. (US PGPUB No. 2021/0097106; Pub. Date: Apr. 1, 2021).
Regarding dependent claim 13,
As discussed above with claim 12, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the method wherein when the advanced filter is plural in number, and the advanced filters are serially connected in a sequence, at the first data-determining step, data recognition is performed by beginning with the advanced filter that is last in the sequence, and if the new data record has been recognized as a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is last in the sequence, the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record; or if the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is not last in the sequence, the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record to the advanced filter that follows in the sequence.
Akar discloses a method wherein when the advanced filter is plural in number, and the advanced filters are serially connected in a sequence, at the first data-determining step, See Paragraph [0041], (Disclosing a system for generating a dynamic Bloom filter. A dynamic Bloom filter may be queried for an element hashed using hash functions. A sequence of Bloom filters may be queried to determine if an element exists in the dynamic Bloom filter, i.e. wherein when the advanced filter is plural in number, and the advanced filters are serially connected in a sequence, at the first data-determining step.)
data recognition is performed by beginning with the advanced filter that is last in the sequence, and if the new data record has been recognized as a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is last in the sequence, the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record; or if the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is not last in the sequence, the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record to the advanced filter that follows in the sequence. See Paragraph [0041], (The querying process includes determining bits corresponding to indexes to set to a first value using the hashes correspond to elements starting at an initial Bloom filter of the dynamic Bloom filter. FIG. 8 illustrates the method comprising a sequence of steps 806, 808, 810 which are repeated if an element is determined to not exist within a current Bloom filter of the sequence of Bloom filters. Note [0099] wherein the Bloom filter is queried to retrieve a particular element as indicated by the pseudo code that defines the Bloom Filter, including a command for returning an index indicating whether an item exists, i.e. data recognition is performed by beginning with the advanced filter that is last in the sequence, and if the new data record has been recognized as a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is last in the sequence, the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record;)
The examiner notes that the process of “or if the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is not last in the sequence, the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record to the advanced filter that follows in the sequence” is optional due to the use of the term “or”. The claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives (e.g. if the new data record is not a previously-stored data record, then the step of outputting the advanced data record does not occur), the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art, see MPEP 2143.03.
Wang-BAO and Akar are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the sequence of Bloom filters for confirming the presence of a queried data element of a Bloom filter as disclosed by Akar. Paragraph [0042] of Akar discloses that the method is beneficial in that translation operations are performed to move elements from an existing Bloom filter to a dynamic Bloom filter, wherein the translation operations are computationally more efficient than hashing operations.
Regarding dependent claim 14,
As discussed above with claim 13, Wang-BAO-Akar discloses all of the limitations.
Akar further discloses the step wherein at the first data- determining step, if the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is last in the sequence, when the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record, See Paragraph [0041], (The method comprises querying a sequence of Bloom filters for an element wherein a dynamic Bloom filter being queried may be the last dynamic Bloom filter in the sequence, i.e. wherein at the first data- determining step, if the new data record is a previously-stored data record in the current advanced filter and the current advanced filter is last in the sequence, when the current advanced filter outputs the advanced data record corresponding to the new data record.)
The method of Akar discloses a system for discovering whether an element is present in a Bloom filter. However, Akar does not disclose a process of opting to either delete or keep the previously stored data record.
Additionally, Wang discloses the step wherein the current advanced filter opts to delete the previously-stored data record or keep the previously-stored data record in the advanced filter. See Paragraph [0122], (A terminal may filter out hot data following the determination that the hot data exists, i.e. the current advanced filter opts to delete the previously-stored data record or keep the previously-stored data record in the advanced filter.)
Therefore, Akar describes a system wherein a sequence of Bloom filters may be queried to examine membership of an element by searching a sequence of bloom filters until a determination may be made. Wang discloses a filtering function that may determine whether to store or delete a hot record. The sequence of Bloom filters may be incorporated into Wang as the filter function for assessing whether a hot record exists in storage and make the determination whether to delete or maintain the record as disclosed in Wang.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO and Akar as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sotnikov et al. (US PGPUB No. 2023/0199085; Pub. Date: Jun. 22, 2023).
Regarding dependent claim 15,
As discussed above with claim 13, Wang-BAO-Akar discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO-Akar does not disclose the method wherein at the hot data-storing step, the hot-data storing device preferentially stores the advanced data record output by the advanced filter that is later in the sequence.
Sotnikov discloses the method wherein at the hot data-storing step, the hot-data storing device preferentially stores the advanced data record output by the advanced filter that is later in the sequence. See Paragraph [0034], (Disclosing a system of managing the caching of objects. The system uses a sequence of Bloom filters that are used to determine if a required object exists. The method searches over the plurality of filters until reaching a final Bloom filter. If the final Bloom filter is reached, then the system is allowed to cache the object, i.e. wherein at the hot data-storing step, the hot-data storing device preferentially stores the advanced data record output by the advanced filter that is later in the sequence (e.g. the cache admission logic states that an object may only be cached once the final Bloom filter is reached).)
Wang, BAO, Akar and Sotnikov are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-Akar to include the cache admission logic employing a sequence of Bloom filters as disclosed by Sotnikov. Paragraph [0011] of Sotnikov discloses that the cache admission logic improves cache utilization by preventing single-hitter objects form pushing out multi-hit objects.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of BAO as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of SELETSKIY et al. (US PGPUB No. 2024/0073224; Pub. Date: Feb. 29, 2024) and ZAYDMAN et al. (US PGPUB No. 2019/0065403; Pub. Date: Feb. 28, 2019).
Regarding dependent claim 20,
As discussed above with claim 12, Wang-BAO discloses all of the limitations.
Wang-BAO does not disclose the method wherein the preliminary filter is a Bloom filter, and the advanced filter is a Bloom filter,
SELITSKIY discloses the method wherein the preliminary filter is a Bloom filter, and the advanced filter is a Bloom filter, See FIG. 1 & Paragraph [0031], (FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 comprising computing devices 102a-102b which each comprise a local scanning deduplication module 108 comprising a bloom filter 113, i.e. wherein the preliminary filter is a Bloom filter, and the advanced filter is a Bloom filter (e.g. FIG. 1 illustrates a plurality of computing devices comprising bloom filters).)
Wang, BAO and SELETSKIY are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO to include the method of utilizing a bloom filter to determine hash matches over a database as disclosed by SELETSKIY. Paragraph [0044] of SELETSKIY discloses that the use of a bloom filter to filter out objects based on hashes is beneficial in terms of saving computing capacity because computing costs for using bloom filters are less than for a scanning process. The scanning process is instead executed indirectly via a bloom filter microservice that identifies hash mashes over a database.
Wang-BAO-SELETSKIY does not disclose the method wherein while the hot-data storing device is a Cuckoo cache.
ZAYDMAN discloses the method wherein while the hot-data storing device is a Cuckoo cache. See FIG. 8 & Paragraph [0030], (Disclosing a system for implementing a cuckoo cache comprising a plurality of buckets comprising a plurality of cells each. Cuckoo caching process 800 is implemented via cuckoo cache 100 as illustrated in the method of FIG. 8 wherein a new item may be inserted into a first cell of a first bucket of the cuckoo cache, i.e. wherein the hot-data storing device is a Cuckoo cache.)
Wang-BAO-SELETSKIY and ZAYDMAN are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, data storage. It would have been obvious to anyone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang-BAO-SELETSKIY to include the method of storing new data items in a cuckoo cache as disclosed by ZAYDMAN. Paragraph [0011] of ZAYDMAN discloses that the use of a cuckoo cache achieves space efficiency by eliminating a need for metadata to be stored in the cache, which allows the system to utilize the available storage capacity more efficiently such that less storage capacity is needed to store data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments to dependent claim 17 remedy the issue of antecedent basis indicated in the rejection of claim 17 under 35 USC 112(b). The corresponding rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with regard to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1,
Applicant argues the following:
Wang fails to teach or suggest a suitable equivalence to the claimed Preliminary Filter and Advanced Filter;
The examiner respectfully disagrees,
Paragraph [0148] of Wang discloses that a network device filters out hot data locally stored in at least one terminal from a hot data subset corresponding to the terminal device. Paragraph [0129] describes a second terminal coupled with other terminals via a network wherein the terminal devices may perform filtering functions. The network device executes filtering functions over different subsets of hot data at different terminals, wherein each terminal is embodied as a separate computing device having input/output components and is instructed to store subsets of hot data according to filtering functions according to the network device.
Wang fails to teach or suggest a suitable equivalence to the claimed Serial Input Unit and Advanced Input Unit;
The examiner respectfully disagrees,
While Wang is indicated as not disclosing the claimed “Serial Input Unit”, Paragraph [0091] of Wang describes the system architecture of the one or more terminals which include an I/O subsystem 170, processor 180, memory 120 and RF circuit 110 for facilitating communication with other terminal devices, wherein I/O subsystem 170 represents the “Advanced Input Unit” of a second terminal containing a second subset of hot data to which a filtering function may be directed.
Bao is instead relied upon to disclose the Serial Input unit based on Pg. 3, Paragraph 2 which describes a serial bus component of an integrated unit configured to deliver hot data to a processor 411.
Bao does not disclose or suggest a suitable equivalence to the claimed Serial Input Unit;
The examiner respectfully disagrees,
Pg. 3, Paragraph 2 of Bao describe a serial bus component of an integrated unit configured to deliver hot data to a processor 411.
As currently presented, the “Serial Input” unit is described as follows in claim 1:
wherein the advanced filter comprises a serial input unit, an advanced input unit, an advanced processor unit, an advanced storage unit, and an advanced output unit, in which the serial input unit is coupled to the preliminary output unit and receives and stores the preliminary data record into the advanced storage unit,
Which states that the “Serial Input Unit” is
Coupled to a preliminary output unit,
Receives and stores preliminary data records into an advanced storage unit.
The system of Wang does not explicitly describe a component for serial processing, however Wang does disclose components such as the I/O subsystem being coupled to a processor 180 for receiving and storing data across terminals, i.e. storing first hot data in a second terminal/storing second hot data in a first terminal based on execution of the filtering function(s).
Bao explicitly describes a system architecture comprising serial bus component used for communicating hot data from across devices, while Wang discloses the functionality associated with storing hot data across terminals. Therefore, the proposed combination of Wang and Bao would include incorporating a serial bus component to the filtering and data transferring process of Wang.
There is not suggested or proper motivation to combine the teachings of Wang and Bao, as asserted.
The examiner respectfully disagrees,
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both Wang and Bao are directed to computer systems and techniques for transmitting, communicating and filtering hot data across devices. The proposed combination includes an addition of a serial bus as part of the architecture needed to transfer hot data across terminals as in Wang, which is supported by at least Pg. 3, Paragraph 2 of Bao which performs similar tasks. Additionally, Pg. 23, Paragraph 2 of Bao discloses that the use of a serial bus supports memory semantics such that the transmission of memory data and control signals can be realized in a protocol mode of the serial bus supporting the memory semantics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FMMV/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159