DETAILED ACTION
America Invents Act
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 USC §119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, and Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 USC §120 is acknowledged:
This application, filed on 13-January-2025, is a continuation of application 18/079,533 (Parent), filed 12-December-2022, presently under examination.
Application 18/079,533 is a continuation of application 17/099,430 (GrandParent), filed 16-November-2020, and issued as US 11,527,143 B2.
Application 17/099,430 is a continuation of application 16/109,297 (G2parent), filed 22-August-2018, and issued as US 10,839,670 B2.
Application 16/109,297 is a continuation of application 15/400,731 (G3parent), filed 6-January-2017, and issued as US 10,062,262 B2.
This application also claims priority from Indian application IN201611039061, filed on 16-November-2016, and a certified copy of which may be found in application 15/400,731 file.
This application will, therefore, be accorded a prima facie effective filing date of 16-November-29016.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected for non-statutory double patenting:
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-19 of Vitt et al. (United States Patent # US 10,839,670 B2), hereinafter G2parent.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 10,839,670 B2 (G2parent)
Claim 1: A people meter comprising:
a communication interface;
a prompting indicator to emit a prompt for user input; and
a controller configured to perform operations comprising:
determining whether the people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration.
Claim 1: A meter comprising:
a prompting indicator to emit a prompt for user input; and
a controller to:
determine whether the meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, the meter to be able to operate in one of a plurality of modes, the plurality of modes including a quiet mode, the first prompting mode and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the meter to the second prompting mode: (i) activate the prompting indicator and activate a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a surface, and (ii) control the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the surface in response to expiration of a first time period without receipt of a user input during the second prompting mode, the second projection area different from the first projection area; and
activate the prompting indicator, but not activate the light projector, in response to a transition of the meter to the first prompting mode.
Claim 2: The people meter of claim 1, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Claim 2: The meter of claim 1, wherein the controller is further to deactivate the prompting indicator and deactivate the light projector when the meter is to transition to the quiet mode.
Claim 3: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Claim 3: The meter of claim 1, wherein the controller is further to: cause the meter to transition to the first prompting mode in response to a first condition; cause the meter to transition to the second prompting mode in response to a second condition; and cause the meter to transition to the quiet mode when the user interface receives a response to the prompt for user input.
Claim 4: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Claim 4: The meter of claim 3, wherein the first condition corresponds to receipt of a first trigger signal from a device separate from the meter, and the second condition corresponds to receipt of a second trigger signal from the device separate from the meter.
Claim 5: The people meter of claim 1, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via the communication interface, a first trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the first trigger causing the people meter to transition to the first prompting mode and commence the first prompting time interval.
Claim 5: The meter of claim 3, wherein the meter further includes an internal timing source, the first condition corresponds to receipt of a first trigger signal from a device separate from the meter, and the second condition corresponds to expiration of a second time period after the meter transitions to the first prompting mode, the second time period tracked by the internal timing source.
Claim 6: The people meter of claim 1, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via the communication interface, a second trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the second trigger causing the people meter to transition to the second prompting mode and commence the second prompting time interval.
Claim 6: The meter of claim 5, wherein the first time period is tracked by the internal timing source.
Claim 7: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a light projector configured to project light onto a first projection area of a surface corresponding to the first prompt for user input.
Claim 7: The meter of claim 6, wherein the controller is to:
activate the prompting indicator according to a first prompting configuration when the meter is to transition to the first prompting mode; and
activate the prompting indicator according to a second prompting configuration different from the first prompting configuration when the meter is to transition to the second prompting mode.
Claim 8: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a speaker configured to emit an audible signal corresponding to the second prompt for user input.
Claim 9: A method comprising:
determining whether a people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering a prompting indicator of the people meter to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration.
Claim 8: A metering method comprising:
determining, by executing an instruction with a processor, whether a meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, the meter to be able to operate in one of a plurality of modes, the plurality of modes including a quiet mode, the first prompting mode and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the meter to the second prompting mode: (i) activating, by executing an instruction with the processor, both a prompting indicator of the meter and a light projector, the prompting indicator to emit a prompt for user input, the light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a surface, and (ii) controlling, by executing an instruction with the processor, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the surface in response to expiration of a first time period without receipt of a user input during the second prompting mode, the second projection area different from the first projection area; and
activating, by executing an instruction with the processor, the prompting indicator of the meter, but not activating the light projector, in response to a transition of the meter to the first prompting mode.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Claim 9: The method of claim 8, further including deactivating the prompting indicator and deactivating the light projector when the meter is to transition to the quiet mode.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, further comprising:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Claim 10: The method of claim 8, further including:
causing the meter to transition to the first prompting mode in response to a first condition;
causing the meter to transition to the second prompting mode in response to a second condition; and
causing the meter to transition to the quiet mode when a response to the prompt for user input is received.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Claim 11: The method of claim 10, wherein the first condition corresponds to receipt of a first trigger signal from a device separate from the meter, and the second condition corresponds to receipt of a second trigger signal from the device separate from the meter.
Claim 13: The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via a communication interface, a first trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the first trigger causing the people meter to transition to the first prompting mode and commence the first prompting time interval.
Claim 12: The method of claim 10, wherein the first condition corresponds to receipt of a first trigger signal from a device separate from the meter, the second condition corresponds to expiration of a second time period after the meter transitions to the first prompting mode, and further including determining whether the second time period has expired.
Claim 14: The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via a communication interface, a second trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the second trigger causing the people meter to transition to the second prompting mode and commence the second prompting time interval.
Claim 13: The method of claim 8, wherein:
the activating of the prompting indicator when the meter is to transition to the first prompting mode includes activating the prompting indicator according to a first prompting configuration; and
the activating of the prompting indicator when the meter is to transition to the second prompting mode includes activating the prompting indicator according to a second prompting configuration different from the first prompting configuration.
Claim 15: The method of claim 9, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a light projector configured to project light onto a first projection area of a surface corresponding to the first prompt for user input.
Claim 16: The method of claim 9, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a speaker configured to emit an audible signal corresponding to the second prompt for user input.
Claim 17: A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a processor to perform operations comprising:
determining whether a people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering a prompting indicator of the people meter to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration.
Claim 14: A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable instructions which, when executed, cause a processor to at least:
determine whether a meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, the meter to be able to operate in one of a plurality of modes, the plurality of modes including a quiet mode, the first prompting mode and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the meter to the second prompting mode: (i) activate both a prompting indicator of the meter and a light projector, the prompting indicator to emit a prompt for user input, the light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a surface, and (ii) control the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the surface in response to expiration of a first time period without receipt of a user input during the second prompting mode, the second projection area different from the first projection area; and
activate the prompting indicator of the meter, but not activate the light projector, in response to a transition of the meter to the first prompting mode.
Claim 18: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Claim 15: The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to deactivate the prompting indicator and deactivate the light projector when the meter is to transition to the quiet mode.
Claim 19: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Claim 16: The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to:
cause the meter to transition to the first prompting mode in response to a first condition;
cause the meter to transition to the second prompting mode in response to a second condition; and
cause the meter to transition to the quiet mode when a response to the prompt for user input is received.
Claim 20: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Claim 17: The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the first condition corresponds to receipt of a first trigger signal from a device separate from the meter, and the second condition corresponds to receipt of a second trigger signal from the device separate from the meter.
Claim 18: The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the first condition corresponds to receipt of a first trigger signal from a device separate from the meter, the second condition corresponds to expiration of a second time period after the meter transitions to the first prompting mode, and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to determine whether the second time period has expired.
Claim 19: The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to:
activate the prompting indicator according to a first prompting configuration when the meter is to transition to the first prompting mode; and
activate the prompting indicator according to a second prompting configuration different from the first prompting configuration when the meter is to transition to the second prompting mode.
Consider independent claim 1: G2parent, claims 1, 3, 5 and 7, recite or suggest all of the limitations of independent claim 1, except for a communication interface. This is well known in the prior art however, and for example:
Dufresne discloses an apparatus and method for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-5; Col. 1, 6-9, Col. 2, 47-57], comprising various communication interfaces, including a television tuner (8), a control unit receiver (19) and an RS232 serial data interface (23) [Fig. 2; Col. 4, 27-39, 58-68].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide various communication interfaces, as taught by Dufresne, applied to the claims of G3parent in order to interface to a television and external systems.
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 3 and 5.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 2, and where Dufresne discloses turning off the prompt indicator after user enters ID [Fig. 4-5; Col. 7, 55 to Col. 8, 50].
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 1, and where Dufresne discloses a first notification mode as a flashing (pulsing pattern) indicator or an alternative audio beep [Fig. 4-5; Col. 6, 61-68; Col. 9, 29-54].
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 1 and 3-5, and where Dufresne discloses the first prompt may be triggered by the apparatus when a request for the television to be turned on is received via the remote control [Fig. 2, 5; Col. 6; 61-68; Col. 9, 3-9, 36-40].
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 3-5.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 1.
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 1, and where Dufresne discloses a speaker for audio prompts [Col. 9, 36-40].
Consider independent claim 9: G2parent, claims 8, 10, 12 and 13, and in view of Dufresne, based on the citations and analysis presented for claim 1 previously, teach the limitations of claim 9.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 8, 10-12.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 8 and 10.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 8, and where Dufresne discloses a first notification mode as a flashing (pulsing pattern) indicator or an alternative audio beep [Fig. 4-5; Col. 6, 61-68; Col. 9, 29-54].
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 8 and 10-13, and where Dufresne discloses the first prompt may be triggered by the apparatus when a request for the television to be turned on is received via the remote control [Fig. 2, 5; Col. 6; 61-68; Col. 9, 3-9, 36-40].
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 10-13.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 8.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 8, and where Dufresne discloses a speaker for audio prompts [Col. 9, 36-40].
Consider independent claim 17: G2parent, claims 14 and 16-18, and in view of Dufresne, based on the citations and analysis presented for claim 1 previously, teach the limitations of claim 17.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 17 The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 14 and 16-18.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 17 The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claims 14 and 16.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 17 The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G2parent claim 14, and where Dufresne discloses a first notification mode as a flashing (pulsing pattern) indicator or an alternative audio beep [Fig. 4-5; Col. 6, 61-68; Col. 9, 29-54].
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-18 of Vitt et al. (United States Patent # US 10,062,262 B2), hereinafter G3parent.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 10,062,262 B2 (G3parent)
Claim 1: A people meter comprising:
a communication interface;
a prompting indicator to emit a prompt for user input; and
a controller configured to perform operations comprising:
determining whether the people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration.
Claim 1: A meter comprising:
a user interface to emit prompts for user input;
a light projector to project light onto a surface;
a timing source; and
a controller to:
determine whether the meter is to enter a first prompting mode, the meter being able to operate in at least one of a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, or a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode;
activate the light projector to project the light according to a first pulsing pattern having a first frequency in response to determining the meter is to enter the first prompting mode;
determine, based on the timing source, whether a first time period has elapsed while the light projector has been activated, the meter to enter the quiet mode in response to detection of a user input while the meter is operating in at least one of the first prompting mode or the second prompting mode, and the meter to enter the first prompting mode when no user input is detected after the meter has operated in the second prompting mode for a second time period;
control the light projector to project the light according to a second pulsing pattern having a second pulsing frequency different than the first pulsing frequency in response to the first time period having elapsed while the light projector has been activated; and
deactivate the light projector in response to determining the meter is to exit the first prompting mode.
Claim 2: The people meter of claim 1, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Claim 2: The meter of claim 1, wherein the user interface is to emit a first type of prompt during the first prompting mode, the user interface is to emit a second type of prompt during the second prompting mode, the user interface is to perform no prompting during the quiet mode, and the controller is further to activate the light projector while the meter is operating in the first prompting mode, and not activate the light projector while the meter is operating in the second prompting mode or the quiet mode.
Claim 3: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Claim 3: The meter of claim 1, wherein the surface corresponds to an external surface of a display screen of a media device, and the light projector, when activated, is to project at least one of a white spot, a colored spot or a text message on the external surface of the display screen of the media device.
Claim 4: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Claim 4: The meter of claim 1, wherein the controller is further to control the light projector to at least one of change a color or change a projection area of the light in response to the first time period having elapsed.
Claim 5: The people meter of claim 1, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via the communication interface, a first trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the first trigger causing the people meter to transition to the first prompting mode and commence the first prompting time interval.
Claim 6: The people meter of claim 1, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via the communication interface, a second trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the second trigger causing the people meter to transition to the second prompting mode and commence the second prompting time interval.
Claim 7: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a light projector configured to project light onto a first projection area of a surface corresponding to the first prompt for user input.
Claim 8: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a speaker configured to emit an audible signal corresponding to the second prompt for user input.
Claim 9: A method comprising:
determining whether a people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering a prompting indicator of the people meter to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration.
Claim 5: A metering method comprising:
determining, by executing an instruction with a processor, whether a meter is to enter a first prompting mode;
in response to determining the meter is to enter the first prompting mode, activating, by executing an instruction with the processor, a light projector to project light according to a first pulsing pattern having a first frequency onto a surface, the meter being able to operate in at least one of a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, or a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode;
determining, based on a timing source, whether a first time period has elapsed while the light projector has been activated, the meter to enter the quiet mode in response to detection of a user input while the meter is operating in at least one of the first prompting mode or the second prompting mode, and the meter to enter the first prompting mode when no user input is detected after the meter has operated in the second prompting mode for a second time period;
controlling, by executing an instruction with the processor, the light projector to project the light according to a second pulsing pattern having a second pulsing frequency different than the first pulsing frequency in response to determining the first time period elapsed while the light projector has been activated; and
after the light projector is activated, deactivating, by executing an instruction with the processor, the light projector in response to determining the meter is to exit the first prompting mode.
Claim 10: The method of claim 9, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Claim 6: The method of claim 5, wherein the meter is to emit a first type of prompt while operating in the first prompting mode, the meter is to emit a second type of prompt while operating in the second prompting mode, the meter is to perform no prompting while operating in the quiet mode, and further including activating the light projector while the meter is operating in the first prompting mode, and not activating the light projector while the meter is operating in the second prompting mode or the quiet mode.
Claim 11: The method of claim 9, further comprising:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Claim 7: The method of claim 5, wherein the surface corresponds to an external surface of a display screen of a media device, and the light projector, when activated, is to project at least one of a white spot, a colored spot or a text message on the external surface of the display screen of the media device.
Claim 12: The method of claim 9, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Claim 8: The method of claim 5, further including controlling the light projector to at least one of change a color or change a projection area of the light in response to determining the first time period has elapsed.
Claim 13: The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via a communication interface, a first trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the first trigger causing the people meter to transition to the first prompting mode and commence the first prompting time interval.
Claim 14: The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via a communication interface, a second trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the second trigger causing the people meter to transition to the second prompting mode and commence the second prompting time interval.
Claim 15: The method of claim 9, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a light projector configured to project light onto a first projection area of a surface corresponding to the first prompt for user input.
Claim 16: The method of claim 9, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a speaker configured to emit an audible signal corresponding to the second prompt for user input.
Claim 17: A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a processor to perform operations comprising:
determining whether a people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode;
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering a prompting indicator of the people meter to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration.
Claim 9: A tangible computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions which, when executed, cause a processor to at least:
determine whether a meter is to enter a first prompting mode, the meter being able to operate in at least one of a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, or a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode;
in response to determining the meter is to enter the first prompting mode, activate a light projector to project light according to a first pulsing pattern having a first frequency onto a surface;
determine, based on a timing source, whether a first time period has elapsed while the light projector has been activated, the meter to enter the quiet mode in response to detection of a user input while the meter is operating in at least one of the first prompting mode or the second prompting mode, and the meter to enter the first prompting mode when no user input is detected after the meter has operated in the second prompting mode for a second time period;
control the light projector to project the light according to a second pulsing pattern having a second pulsing frequency different than the first pulsing frequency in response to the first time period having elapsed while the light projector has been activated; and
after the light projector is activated, deactivate the light projector in response to determining the meter is to exit the first prompting mode.
Claim 18: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Claim 10: The tangible computer readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the meter is to emit a first type of prompt while operating in the first prompting mode, the meter is to emit a second type of prompt while operating in the second prompting mode, the meter is to perform no prompting while operating in the quiet mode, and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to activate the light projector while the meter is operating in the first prompting mode, and not activate the light projector while the meter is operating in the second prompting mode or the quiet mode.
Claim 19: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Claim 11: The tangible computer readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the surface corresponds to an external surface of a display screen of a media device, and the light projector, when activated, is to project at least one of a white spot, a colored spot or a text message on the external surface of the display screen of the media device.
Claim 20: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Claim 12: The tangible computer readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the computer readable instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to control the light projector to at least one of change a color or change a projection area of the light in response to the first time period having elapsed.
Claim 13: The meter of claim 1, wherein the second pulsing frequency is higher than the first pulsing frequency.
Claim 14: The method of claim 5, wherein the second pulsing frequency is higher than the first pulsing frequency.
Claim 15: The tangible computer readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the second pulsing frequency is higher than the first pulsing frequency.
Claim 16: The meter of claim 1, wherein the controller is further to deactivate the light projector in response to a third time period having expired.
Claim 17: The method of claim 5, further including deactivating the light projector in response to a third time period having expired.
Claim 18: The tangible computer readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to deactivate the light projector in response to a third time period having expired.
Consider independent claim 1: G3parent, claim 1, recites or suggests all of the limitations of independent claim 1, except for a communication interface. This is well known in the prior art however, and for example:
Dufresne discloses an apparatus and method for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-5; Col. 1, 6-9, Col. 2, 47-57], comprising various communication interfaces, including a television tuner (8), a control unit receiver (19) and an RS232 serial data interface (23) [Fig. 2; Col. 4, 27-39, 58-68].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide various communication interfaces, as taught by Dufresne, applied to the claims of G3parent in order to interface to a television and external systems.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 1.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 1.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 1.
Consider independent claim 9: G3parent, claims 1 and 5 in view of Dufresne, and based on the citations and analysis presented for claim 1 previously, teach the limitations of claim 9.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 5.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 5.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 9: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 5.
Consider independent claim 17: G3parent, claims 1 and 9 in view of Dufresne, and based on the citations and analysis presented for claim 1 previously, teach the limitations of claim 17.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 17: The additional limitations of this claim are taught by G3parent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Dufresne et al. (United States Patent # US 5,373,315), hereinafter Dufresne, in view of Graham (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2014/0349622 A1).
Consider claim 1: A people meter, Dufresne discloses an apparatus and method for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-5; Col. 1, 6-9, Col. 2, 47-57], comprising:
a communication interface; the system comprising various communication interfaces, including a television tuner (8), a control unit receiver (19) and an RS232 serial data interface (23) [Fig. 2; Col. 4, 27-39, 58-68];
a prompting indicator to emit a prompt for user input; a prompting indicator (20) [Fig. 2, 4; Col. 4, 58-68; Col. 6, 61-68]; and
a controller, a CPU (17) [Fig. 2; Col. 4, 54-68], configured to perform operations comprising:
determining whether the people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode; Dufresne discloses a first prompting mode wherein the prompting indicator flashes to prompt one or more users to enter their identifiers, and mode in which the indicator is off and quiescent (quiet mode) [Fig. 4-5; Col. 7, 55 to Col. 8, 50];
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; when the TV is turned on, the first prompting mode is entered the indicator flashes until 10 seconds after the ID is entered or an exemplary 5 minutes [Fig. 4-5; Col. 9, 2-29]; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration; when the flashing (first) mode ends, the system enters a quiet mode for a different predetermined period [Col. 9; 36-40].
Dufresne discloses other prompting means (such as an audio beep) may be used, and that ancillary confirmatory information may be displayed by a second means [Col. 9, 29-54], but does not disclose a second prompting mode or configuration. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Graham discloses a method and device which allow escalation through notification levels [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0004], where a first notification and mode may present a visual prompt, and if not acknowledged within a predetermined period, enters a second mode with an audio prompt. [Fig. 1; Para. 012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide a second audio prompt mode if the user does not respond to a first visible prompt within a predetermined time, as taught by Graham, and applied to a method and device for collecting audience participation as taught by Dufresne, in order provide additional or escalating prompt level to capture user attention.
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
Dufresne discloses continuation of the first prompt until a user responds, or until a particular period [Fig. 4-5; Col. 9, 2-29].
Graham discloses a method and device which allow escalation through notification levels [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0004], where a first notification and mode may present a visual prompt, and if not acknowledged within a predetermined period, enters a second mode with an audio prompt. [Fig. 1; Para. 012].
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
Dufresne discloses turning off the prompt indicator after user enters ID [Fig. 4-5; Col. 7, 55 to Col. 8, 50].
Graham discloses moving to a second (and third) notification mode, until the user responds [Fig. 1; Para. 0012].
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern.
Dufresne discloses a first notification mode as a flashing (pulsing pattern) indicator or an alternative audio beep [Fig. 4-5; Col. 6, 61-68; Col. 9, 29-54];
Graham discloses a second notification mode as an audio (such as a beep) or tactile pattern [Fig. 1; Para. 0012].
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via the communication interface, a first trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the first trigger causing the people meter to transition to the first prompting mode and commence the first prompting time interval. Dufresne discloses the first prompt may be triggered by the apparatus when a request for the television to be turned on is received via the remote control [Fig. 2, 5; Col. 6; 61-68; Col. 9, 3-9, 36-40], and every 30 minutes (exemplary) thereafter.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via the communication interface, a second trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the second trigger causing the people meter to transition to the second prompting mode and commence the second prompting time interval.
Dufresne discloses the first prompt may be triggered by the apparatus when a request for the television to be turned on is received via the remote control [Fig. 2, 5; Col. 6, 61-68; Col. 9, 3-9, 36-40], and every 30 minutes (exemplary) thereafter.
Graham discloses moving to a second (and third) notification mode, until the user responds [Fig. 1; Para. 0012].
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a speaker configured to emit an audible signal corresponding to the second prompt for user input.
Dufresne discloses a speaker for audio prompts [Col. 9, 36-40].
Graham also discloses a speaker [Para. 0012].
Consider claim 9: A method, Dufresne discloses an apparatus and method for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-5; Col. 1, 6-9, Col. 2, 47-57]; comprising:
determining whether a people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode; Dufresne discloses a first prompting mode wherein the prompting indicator flashes to prompt one or more users to enter their identifiers, and mode in which the indicator is off and quiescent (quiet mode) [Fig. 4-5; Col. 7, 55 to Col. 8, 50];
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering a prompting indicator of the people meter to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; when the TV is turned on, the first prompting mode is entered the indicator flashes until 10 seconds after the ID is entered or an exemplary 5 minutes [Fig. 4-5; Col. 9, 2-29]; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration; when the flashing (first) mode ends, the system enters a quiet mode for a different predetermined period [Col. 9; 36-40].
Dufresne discloses other prompting means (such as an audio beep) may be used, and that ancillary confirmatory information may be displayed by a second means [Col. 9, 29-54], but does not disclose a second prompting mode or configuration. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Graham discloses a method and device which allow escalation through notification levels [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0004], where a first notification and mode may present a visual prompt, and if not acknowledged within a predetermined period, enters a second mode with an audio prompt. [Fig. 1; Para. 012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide a second audio prompt mode if the user does not respond to a first visible prompt within a predetermined time, as taught by Graham, and applied to a method and device for collecting audience participation as taught by Dufresne, in order provide additional or escalating prompt level to capture user attention.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 2 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, further comprising:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 3 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 4 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via a communication interface, a first trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the first trigger causing the people meter to transition to the first prompting mode and commence the first prompting time interval.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 5 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the people meter is to transition to the first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to the second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode comprises:
receiving, via a communication interface, a second trigger from a site meter disposed at a monitored site, the second trigger causing the people meter to transition to the second prompting mode and commence the second prompting time interval.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 6 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a speaker configured to emit an audible signal corresponding to the second prompt for user input.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 8 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Consider claim 17: A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a processor to perform operations Dufresne discloses an apparatus and method for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-5; Col. 1, 6-9, Col. 2, 47-57], and operated using a CPU (17) and program instructions stored in memory [Fig. 2; Col. 4, 54-57; Col. 5, 24-32]; comprising:
determining whether a people meter is to transition to a first prompting mode, or whether the people meter is to transition to a second prompting mode different from the first prompting mode, wherein the people meter is configured to operate in one of a plurality of modes comprising a quiet mode, the first prompting mode, and the second prompting mode; Dufresne discloses a first prompting mode wherein the prompting indicator flashes to prompt one or more users to enter their identifiers, and mode in which the indicator is off and quiescent (quiet mode) [Fig. 4-5; Col. 7, 55 to Col. 8, 50];
in response to a transition of the people meter to the first prompting mode, commencing a first prompting time interval and triggering a prompting indicator of the people meter to emit a first prompt for user input according to a first configuration; when the TV is turned on, the first prompting mode is entered the indicator flashes until 10 seconds after the ID is entered or an exemplary 5 minutes [Fig. 4-5; Col. 9, 2-29]; and
in response to expiration of the first prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to a second prompting mode by commencing a second prompting time interval and triggering the prompting indicator to emit a second prompt for user input according to a second configuration different from the first configuration. when the flashing (first) mode ends, the system enters a quiet mode for a different predetermined period [Col. 9; 36-40].
Dufresne discloses other prompting means (such as an audio beep) may be used, and that ancillary confirmatory information may be displayed by a second means [Col. 9, 29-54], but does not disclose a second prompting mode or configuration. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Graham discloses a method and device which allow escalation through notification levels [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0004], where a first notification and mode may present a visual prompt, and if not acknowledged within a predetermined period, enters a second mode with an audio prompt. [Fig. 1; Para. 012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide a second audio prompt mode if the user does not respond to a first visible prompt within a predetermined time, as taught by Graham, and applied to a method performed by a CPU under direction of instructions stored in memory, and a device for collecting audience participation as taught by Dufresne, in order provide additional or escalating prompt level to capture user attention.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 17: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein transitioning of the people meter to the second prompting mode is in response to the expiration of the first prompting time interval and not receiving the user input during the first prompting time interval.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claims 2 and 10 previously, and as applied to claim 17.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 17: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to expiration of the second prompting time interval and receiving the user input during the second prompting time interval, transitioning the people meter to the quiet mode and deactivating the prompting indicator.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claims 3 and 11 previously, and as applied to claim 17.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 17: The non-transitory machine readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pulsing pattern and the second configuration comprises a second pulsing pattern different from the first pulsing pattern. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claims 4 and 12 previously, and as applied to claim 17.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Dufresne et al. (United States Patent # US 5,373,315), hereinafter Dufresne and Graham (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2014/0349622 A1), further in view of Ryznar et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2008/0121168 A1), hereinafter Ryznar.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The people meter of claim 1, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a light projector configured to project light onto a first projection area of a surface corresponding to the first prompt for user input.
Neither Dufresne nor Ryznar discloses use of a light projector to generate prompts. This is known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Ryznar discloses a light guided assembly system in which one or more directional light devices (projectors) indicating lights (22, 24) to guide a user [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0007-0011]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to use a light projector to project one or more prompts as taught by Ryznar, and applied to a method and device for collecting audience participation as taught by Dufresne and modified by Graham, to allow presentation of a prompt at an individually desired location with more information, and larger size than may be possible with a simple indicator.
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 9: The method of claim 9, wherein the prompting indicator comprises a light projector configured to project light onto a first projection area of a surface corresponding to the first prompt for user input.
This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 7 previously, and as applied to claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Mears et al. (U.S. Patent # US 8,225,342 B2) disclosing methods and apparatus to collect audience information associated with a media presentation.
Terrazas (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2014/0189720 A1) disclosing Methods and apparatus to determine engagement levels of audience members.
Sun (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1) disclosing a multi-mode optical pointer for interactive display system.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571)272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685