DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 1/13/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 11,091,847), hereinafter YANG, in view of Kowal et al. (U.S. 9,469,390), hereinafter KOWAL.
Regarding claim 1, YANG teaches: A method for manufacturing (YANG teaches a method for manufacturing [Abstract].), comprising: disposing a first woven fiber sleeve over a first mandrel to provide a first overbraided mandrel (YANG teaches disposing a first woven fiber sleeve over a first mandrel [Col. 8, lines 64-67 – Col. 9, lines 1-5; Fig. 8]. YANG teaches multiple local properly orientated braided sleeves may need to be applied and overlaid [Col. 9, lines 8-13].), the first woven fiber sleeve wrapped circumferentially around the first mandrel (YANG teaches the sleeves are wrapped circumferentially around the mandrel [Figs. 1-2]), and the first woven fiber sleeve extending longitudinally along the first mandrel between a first overbraid first end and a first overbraid second end (YANG teaches the first woven fiber sleeve extending longitudinally along the first mandrel between a first overbraid first end and a first overbraid second end [Figs. 1-2].); disposing a polymer material with the first woven fiber sleeve to provide a first duct section (YANG teaches the sleeve is applied to a mandrel using a high temperature resin system for wetting and adhesion and provides a duct [Fig. 8; Col. 9, lines 1-5; Col. 10, lines 7-8].); and forming an acoustic structure with the first duct section, the forming of the acoustic structure comprising overmolding a cellular core onto a tubular first sidewall of the first duct section; arranging a back skin with the cellular core, the cellular core extending between the first duct section and the back skin; and bonding the back skin to the cellular core.
YANG teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: and forming an acoustic structure with the first duct section, the forming of the acoustic structure comprising overmolding a cellular core onto a tubular first sidewall of the first duct section; arranging a back skin with the cellular core, the cellular core extending between the first duct section and the back skin; and bonding the back skin to the cellular core. In the same field of endeavor, KOWAL teaches: and forming an acoustic structure with the first duct section (KOWAL teaches forming an acoustic structure with the first duct section [Col. 4, lines 54-67].), the forming of the acoustic structure comprising overmolding a cellular core onto a tubular first sidewall of the first duct section (KOWAL teaches at least one acoustic panel (20) which comprises an acoustic core (30) that comprises a plurality of cells (34) [Col. 5, lines 9-20]. KOWAL teaches forming the structure comprising overmolding, as KOWAL teaches laying up several composite ply layers [Col. 10, lines 14-30]. KOWAL teaches the cellular core is on a sidewall of the duct section and the shape of the male lay-up tool may vary depending upon the monolithic acoustically-treated airflow composite structure to be fabricated [Figs. 5-7, 10-12; Col. 6, lines 13-23].); arranging a back skin with the cellular core (KOWAL teaches the cellular core has a rear surface (42) [Col. 5, lines 36-39].), the cellular core extending between the first duct section and the back skin (KOWAL teaches the cellular core extends between the first duct section and the rear skin [Col. 5, lines 36-48; Figs. 5-7, 10-12].); and bonding the back skin to the cellular core (KOWAL teaches the rear skin is bonded to the cellular core (30) by a bonding agent [Col. 5, lines 54-57].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify YANG, by having the material be a cellular acoustic panel, as suggested by KOWAL, in order to be capable of maintaining superior high temperature properties [Col. 5, lines 61-63].
Regarding claim 2, GOULET teaches: wherein the polymer material comprises a thermoplastic (GOULET teaches the polymer material is a thermoplastic [0108].).
Regarding claim 16, GOULET teaches: further comprising: arranging one or more electric heating elements with the first woven fiber sleeve; the one or more electric heating elements configured for an anti-icing system (GOULET teaches heating the component in an oven or a heat gun or the like [0152].).
Regarding claim 17, KOWAL further teaches: wherein a portion of a tubular first sidewall of the first duct section is perforated and forms a perforated face skin of the acoustic structure (KOWAL teaches the sidewall is perforated and forms a perforated face skin [Col. 5, lines 36-48].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET, by having perforated face skin, as suggested by KOWAL, in order to be capable of maintaining superior high temperature properties [Col. 5, lines 61-63].
Regarding claim 18, KOWAL further teaches: wherein a duct structure includes the first duct section and the acoustic structure, and the duct structure is configured for an aircraft propulsion system (KOWAL teaches a first duct section and acoustic structure, and the acoustic structure is for an aircraft propulsion system [Figs. 5-7, 10-12; Col. 1, lines 20-25; Col. 1, lines 49-51; Col. 5, lines 61-63].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET, by having the structure for an aircraft engine, as suggested by KOWAL, in order to be capable of maintaining superior high temperature properties [Col. 5, lines 61-63].
Claim(s) 3-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goulet (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0329486), and Kowal et al. (U.S. 9,469,390), hereinafter KOWAL, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 11,091,847), hereinafter YANG.
Regarding claim 3, GOULET and KOWAL teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising: forming a second duct section with a tubular second sidewall extending longitudinally between a second duct section first end and a second duct section second end, the forming of the second duct section including disposing a second woven fiber sleeve over a second mandrel and disposing the polymer material with the second woven fiber sleeve; arranging the second duct section with the first duct section, the second duct section engaging a tubular first sidewall of the first duct section, and the tubular second sidewall located at and extending circumferentially around a first opening in the tubular first sidewall; and forming a duct structure by attaching the second duct section to the first duct section.
In the same field of endeavor, ducts, YANG teaches forming air ducts by laying braided sleeves on mandrel using high temperature resin system for wetting and adhesion and a number of subsequent layers required. YANG teaches multiple local properly orientated braided sleeves may need to be applied in high stress locations to overlay the sleeves [Col. 8, lines 65-67 – Col.. 9, lines 1-13]. YANG teaches the mandrel may be used to make multiple duct sections [Col. 9, lines 20-27; Col. 9, lines 63-67]. YANG teaches several duct sections engage each other at openings and form a duct structure with a complex geometry [Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 24-33]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET and KOWAL, by forming at least two duct sections and attaching the duct sections, as suggested by YANG, in order to have multiple sub-components can be integrated into a single one without increasing manufacturing complexity [Col. 9,lines 50-52].
Regarding claim 4, YANG further teaches: wherein the attaching of the second duct section comprises welding the second duct section to the first duct section (YANG further teaches a duct assembly may be attached by welding [Col. 1, lines 31-33].).
Regarding claim 5, YANG further teaches: wherein the attaching of the second duct section comprises mechanically fastening the second duct section to the first duct section (YANG further teaches mechanically fastening the duct assembly together [Col. 1, lines 25-27].).
Regarding claim 6, YANG further teaches: wherein the duct structure includes an inlet, a first outlet and a second outlet (YANG shows the duct structure includes an inlet, a first outlet and a second outlet [Fig. 1]); and the duct structure fluidly couples and branches out from the inlet to the first outlet and the second outlet (YANG shows the duct structure fluidly couples and branches out from the inlet to the first outlet and the second outlet [Fig. 1].).
Regarding claim 7, GOULET teaches: wherein the first duct section forms the inlet at the first duct section first end (GOULET shows the first duct section forms the inlet at the first duct section end [Fig. 13B].); the first duct section forms the first outlet at the first duct section second end (GOULET shows the first duct section forms the first outlet at the first duct section end [Fig. 13B].); and the second duct section forms the second outlet at the second duct section second end (GOULET teaches the second duct section forms the second outlet at the second duct section [Fig. 13B].). In the alternative, if the Applicant disagrees that GOULET does not teach: the second duct section forms the second outlet at the second duct section second end, in the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, ducts, YANG teaches the second duct section forms the second outlet at the second duct section [Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET and KOWAL, by forming at least two duct sections and attaching the duct sections, as suggested by YANG, in order to have multiple sub-components can be integrated into a single one without increasing manufacturing complexity [Col. 9,lines 50-52].
Regarding claim 8, YANG further teaches: wherein the second woven fiber sleeve disposed over the second mandrel includes a base section and a mount section (YANG teaches a flange over a base and the part of the duct is formed with the flange attached [Col. 5, lines 1-3].); the base section is wrapped circumferentially around the second mandrel, and the base section extends longitudinally along the second mandrel between the second duct section first end and the second duct section second end (YANG teaches forming air ducts by laying braided sleeves on mandrel using high temperature resin system for wetting and adhesion and a number of subsequent layers required. YANG teaches multiple local properly orientated braided sleeves may need to be applied in high stress locations to overlay the sleeves [Col. 8, lines 65-67 – Col.. 9, lines 1-13]. YANG teaches the mandrel may be used to make multiple duct sections [Col. 9, lines 20-27; Col. 9, lines 63-67].); and the mount section is disposed at the second duct section first end and projects out from the base section (YANG shows the flange section is disposed on the mandrel and base and projects from the base (630) [Fig. 6].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET and KOWAL, by having a mount section on the second duct section, as suggested by YANG, in order to have a subcomponent of the newly formed duct [Col. 7, lines 60-62].
Regarding claim 9, YANG further teaches: wherein the mount section forms a mount for the second duct section; the mount is abutted against the tubular first sidewall during the arranging of the second duct section (YANG teaches the flange section forms a mount for the second duct section and abuts against the sidewall of the duct section [Col. 7, lines 45-62].).
Regarding claim 10, YANG further teaches: wherein the mount comprises an annular flange which extends circumferentially around the first opening (YANG teaches the flange extends circumferentially for the newly formed duct [Fig. 1; Col. 7, lines 55-62].).
Regarding claim 11, GOULET and KOWAL teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising: forming a third duct section with a tubular third sidewall extending longitudinally between a third duct section first end and a third duct section second end, the forming of the third duct section including disposing a third woven fiber sleeve over a third mandrel and disposing the polymer material with the third woven fiber sleeve; and arranging the third duct section with the first duct section, the third duct section engaging the tubular first sidewall, and the third duct section first end located at a second opening in the tubular first sidewall; the duct structure further formed by attaching the third duct section to the first duct section.
In the same field of endeavor, ducts, YANG teaches forming air ducts by laying braided sleeves on mandrel using high temperature resin system for wetting and adhesion and a number of subsequent layers required. YANG teaches multiple local properly orientated braided sleeves may need to be applied in high stress locations to overlay the sleeves [Col. 8, lines 65-67 – Col.. 9, lines 1-13]. YANG teaches the mandrel may be used to make multiple duct sections [Col. 9, lines 20-27; Col. 9, lines 63-67]. YANG teaches several duct sections engage each other at openings and form a duct structure with a complex geometry [Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 24-33]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET and KOWAL, by forming at least three duct sections and attaching the duct sections, as suggested by YANG, in order to have multiple sub-components can be integrated into a single one without increasing manufacturing complexity [Col. 9,lines 50-52].
Regarding claim 12, YANG further teaches: wherein the arranging of the third duct section comprises inserting the tubular third sidewall through the second opening and into an interior of the first duct section (YANG shows the third duct section inserting the tubular third sidewall through the second opening and into an interior of the first duct section [Fig. 1].).
Regarding claim 13, YANG further teaches: wherein the third woven fiber sleeve disposed over the third mandrel includes a base section and a mount section (YANG teaches a flange over a base and the part of the duct is formed with the flange attached [Col. 5, lines 1-3].); the base section is wrapped circumferentially around the third mandrel, and the base section extends longitudinally along the third mandrel between the third duct section first end and the third duct section second end (YANG teaches forming air ducts by laying braided sleeves on mandrel using high temperature resin system for wetting and adhesion and a number of subsequent layers required. YANG teaches multiple local properly orientated braided sleeves may need to be applied in high stress locations to overlay the sleeves [Col. 8, lines 65-67 – Col.. 9, lines 1-13]. YANG teaches the mandrel may be used to make multiple duct sections [Col. 9, lines 20-27; Col. 9, lines 63-67].); and the mount section is disposed at the third duct section first end and projects out from the base section (YANG shows the flange section is disposed on the mandrel and base and projects from the base (630) [Fig. 6].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify GOULET and KOWAL, by having a mount section on the second duct section, as suggested by YANG, in order to have a subcomponent of the newly formed duct [Col. 7, lines 60-62].
Regarding claim 14, YANG further teaches: wherein the mount section forms a mount for the third duct section; and the mount is abutted against the tubular first sidewall during the arranging of the third duct section (YANG teaches the flange section forms a mount for the second duct section and abuts against the sidewall of the duct section [Col. 7, lines 45-62].).
Regarding claim 15, YANG further teaches: wherein the mount comprises an annular flange which extends circumferentially around the second opening (YANG teaches the flange extends circumferentially for the newly formed duct [Fig. 1; Col. 7, lines 55-62].).
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748