DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final action in response to application filed on 01/13/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-20 all includes limitations regarding various models. This feature first occurs in 15/429,074’s original filed specification on 02/09/2017. Therefore, claims 1-20 are given effective filing date of 02/09/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 03/31/2025 is not considered because the document appears to be blank.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: processing system in claim 14. In this case, despite using the word system, it’s not a generic placeholder.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA
Claims 14-20 includes the processing system that is part of a “when” clause to describe functions to be performed by content within previously discussed medium. It’s not clear if the processing system is part of the scope despite being placed in the body of the claim. Further, if the processing system is not part of a scope, then these claims may not be proper system claim, which should consist of parts.
Examiner recommends rewrite claim 14 to clearly establish whether processing system is part of a claim. Further, it might be helpful to use the term processor instead of processing system. Below examples are purely provided as a suggestion and are not a requirement.
[Suggestion A]
A system comprising:
A processor
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing executable functions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
[…]
[Suggestion B]
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instruction that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operation comprising:
[…]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 1, with the exception of the model being used, the rest of the body of claim 1 recites an abstract idea. In this case, the claim describes a series of step to determine a delivery estimate for a parcel. This is a business relationship as well as following rules, either of which falls within certain methods of organizing human activities. In addition, these limitation also describes a series of step of collecting data and analyzing them, which also falls into mental processes. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
As noted above, claim 1 includes the additional element of “using a model based on the set of features, wherein the model is selected from a set of models, trained using different sets of historic delivery data, based on a model selection criteria”. As this model is merely being used to produce a result, it is merely generally linking the abstract idea on a particular field of use. Examiner notes while claim language involves training using different data, its current language can be broadly interpreted that training are performed outside the scope of the claim where the model used contain certain characteristics. Therefore, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, the additional element is merely generally linking the abstract idea into a particular field of use and would not integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Step 2B
As noted above in step 2A prong 2, of which the analysis is still applicable in step 2B, the additional element, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, are nothing more than merely generally linking the abstract idea on a particular field of use. This wouldn’t provide a inventive concept. Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible.
Claims 2-20 merely further limit the abstract idea (e.g., by introduce additional characteristic for the model) and/or contain limitations substantially similar to claim 1-13, and would not be eligible over similar analysis.
Examiner suggest to reword the involvement of training models so it can no longer be interpreted as merely describing the characteristics of models being used. Additionally, claims 1-13 should also include computer hardware to perform the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kujat (US 10460332)
As per claim 1, Kujat discloses a method comprising:
receiving parcel data for a parcel (see at least Fig. 5, item 504, determine predicted delivery performance for an item. See 13:49-67 for further detail “… 504, prediction service may determine for an item … predicted delivery performances associated with a number of merchants”);
determining a set of features from the parcel data (14:1-26, “For example, for a more refined predicted delivery performance for a particular merchant, the prediction may determine contexts and conditions associated with that merchant”); and
predicting a set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a model based on the set of features, wherein the model is selected from a set of models, trained using different sets of historic delivery data, based on a model selection criteria (14:1-26, “For each, some, or all of these merchants, the prediction service may determine corresponding predicted delivery performance(s).” See also 17:9-32, “Nested within that prediction, the prediction service may train the machine learning algorithm to output a predicted delivery performance per merchant … Similarly, nested within that prediction, the prediction service may train the machine learning algorithm to output a predicted delivery performance per merchant per source location … And so and so forth”).
As per claim 2, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each model of the set of models is trained based on historic delivery data from a single carrier (see at least 14:64-15:23, “the prediction service may interface with … a carrier that delivered the item, to retrieve the information” regarding using historic delivery data. See also 16:42-61, “Each of the past performances and associated contexts and conditions may include … a carrier conducting the delivery …” for context being limited to a particular carrier. Lastly, see 14:1-26 cited above regarding prediction limited to associated context).
As per claim 3, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein predicting a set of delivery estimates comprises determining a set of transit times and a set of corresponding confidence scores (see at least Fig. 1, column 128, predicted delivery time with a percentage of confidence being presented).
As per claim 4, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising predicting a second set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a second model (see at least Fig. 1, column 128, row 1 and row 3 where both are delivered by the same merchant (same parcel) but using different delivery method. See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above).
As per claim 5, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the second set of delivery estimates is determined based on a second set of features for the parcel, different from the set of features (See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above).
As per claim 6, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the model is trained on historic delivery data for a first service level and the second model is trained on historic delivery data for a second service level, wherein the method further comprises selecting a service level based on the set of delivery estimates and the second set of delivery estimates (See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above. See also 5:18-39, “Eager to get the camera early in the day …, the consumer may select the by ground option of Merchant ABC”)
Alternatively, as per claim 4, Kujat also discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising predicting a second set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a second model (see 21:4-45, where progress is monitored including location using barcode scans and prediction on deviation is detected and modeled. See 2:58-65 where model can be dynamically computed)
As per claim 7, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising determining a final delivery estimate based on the set of delivery estimates and the second set of delivery estimates (see 21:4-45, where progress is monitored including location using barcode scans and prediction on deviation is detected and modeled).
As per claim 8, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of delivery estimates is determined based on a first origin and destination pair for the parcel, a second set of delivery estimates is determined based on a second origin and destination pair for the parcel, and a final delivery estimate is determined based on the set of delivery estimates and the second set of delivery estimates (see 21:4-45, where progress is monitored including location using barcode scans and prediction on deviation is detected and modeled).
As per claim 9, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the model selection criteria comprise an accuracy criterion (Kujat, 18:35-55, level of certainty being used as a metric to decide if pattern can be used to generate prediction).
As per claim 10, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the model selection criteria comprise a set of confidence levels for each model of the set of models (Kujat, 18:35-55, level of certainty being used as a metric to decide if pattern can be used to generate prediction).
As per claim 11, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein determining a set of confidence levels for each model comprises evaluating each model of the set of models using a different set of historical delivery data (see at least 18:35-55 where hierarchies of data sets can be considered at each hierarchy).
As per claim 12, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each model of the set of models is updated at a predetermined interval (20:21-30, noting update can be performed based on time intervals).
Claim 14 contain limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and would be rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
As per claim 15, Kujat further discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the parcel data is received via an API interface (4:34-41, API use is apparent).
Claims 17-20 contains limitations substantially similar to claims 8-12 and are rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Kujat (US 10460332) in view of Richter (US 20120254084).
As per claim 13, Kujat does not but Richer teaches wherein each model of the set of models comprises a neural network (see at least Richter, 0039, regarding using neural network for prediction)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to apply Richter’s known technique of using neural network to make predictions with Kujat’s prediction model for the purpose of achieving a desired level of precision (Richter: 0039)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujat (US 10460332) in view of Phillips (US 20170132617)
As per claim 16, Kujat discloses a monitoring system for monitoring progress based on status update (21:4-45). Kujat further discloses API uses are apparent for one ordinary skilled in the art (4:34-31). Kujat, however, does not disclose wherein the parcel data is automatically received via webhooks. Phillips teaches using webhooks to automatically generate status updates that works with API (0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to combine Phillips use of status update using webhook with Kujat’s API that can be used to monitor status for the purpose of automating status update.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11392967, 11514396, 11694154, 11810134, 1229791, 9953332 in view of prior arts cited above in 102/103 rejection.
In this case, each and every one of the Patent identified above discuss selecting multiple model to predict parcel transit time. In general, these claims substantially includes limitations that are recited in claim 1 of present invention and any difference(s) are obvious in view of prior art cited above and they’re combinable over similar rationale set forth above.
Examiner notes the above are double patenting rejection with reference to patented cases.
Claims 1-20 are also provisionally rejected over broadest claims in application 18134901, 184173863, 18628360, 18693867, 18960421 in view of prior arts cited above in 102/103 rejection over substantially similar reasons.
This portion of rejection identified above is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628