DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a final action in response to amendment filed on 06/08/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-20 all includes limitations regarding various models. This feature first occurs in 15/429,074’s original filed specification on 02/09/2017. Therefore, claims 1-20 are given effective filing date of 02/09/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 05/06/2026 has been considered.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments directed to 112(b) rejection is persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument directed to 101 rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive except for claim 12.
Applicant first argues on page 14 that limitation does not disclose any sales activities or behaviors or business relationships. Examiner respectfully disagree as predicting delivery is a business relationship. The invention is directed to “parcels” that is shipped between a sender and recipient. Estimating its delivery time would clearly be a type of business relationship among all parties involved. 0004 of current invention’s PG-pub also indicates that shipping service is important to people and businesses across the world. Therefore, this would clearly fall into certain methods of organizing human activities.
Applicant goes on to argue that training of models would not fall into mental process. The argument is persuasive with respect to claim 12 but not claims 1 and 14. Examiner notes claims 1 and 14’s training are outside the scope of claim. While the claim language in claims 1 and 14 includes training, the actual training is not part of claimed scope; instead, the training is used to describe characteristics of models. This is evident from Applicant’s specification. See at least Fig. 2 where training is performed at step s130 but receiving parcel data and generate estimate are performed between S140-S160. 0048 of PG-Pub goes on to describe S160 (determining delivery estimate) as a step that can be “alternatively be based on any suitable models and/or approaches” instead of using models “generated in Block S130”. Therefore, S160 does not require training of a model and instead can use an off-the-shelf model that’s previously trained. As such, it would not be reasonable to interpret “wherein each model of the plurality of models is trained using different sets of historic delivery data” to require actual training process; instead, the claim language is broad enough to encompass using a model where training of the model is performed outside the scope so long the model was previously trained with data having particular characteristic.
Therefore, 101 rejection is only withdrawn for claim 12 while being maintained for claims 1 and 14.
Regarding Applicant’s remaining argument, they’re based on training of models. Please see above regarding claim interpretation of the training limitation. Examiner would agree if training is actually performed as part of the scope (e.g., see claim 12) as opposed to being used to describe characteristics of models, it would very likely to overcome the 101 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments directed to art rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that Kujat does not disclose a plurality of models and instead only teaches a global model. Examiner respectfully disagree. In this case, Kujat uses a global prediction model but the model further includes algorithms that is specifically trained on a per merchant basis. This is illustrated in the cited portion (17: 9-33). 17:34-55 even goes on to illustrate the capability using region where data is divided by region and data within a particular region is used to trained on a per region basis. One ordinary skilled in the art would understand this example illustrated can be similarly apply to other criteria, especially the stated “per merchant” basis. As per criteria based on accuracy of claim 14, examiner notes these trained algorithm must pass particular accuracy (or have sufficiently large dataset per 17:34-55), therefore, the selection criteria would be based on model accuracy.
Applicant goes on to argue claim 4’s updated model is the same model as previously selected and not a second model. Examiner notes claim 4 merely describes “using a second model” but does not require such second model is part of the plurality of models in claim 1. Therefore, an updated model would meet the claimed “second model”.
Applicant’s arguments are based on dependency, please see above.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: processing system in claim 14. In this case, despite using the word system, it’s not a generic placeholder.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 1, with the exception of the model being used, the rest of the body of claim 1 recites an abstract idea. In this case, the claim describes a series of step to determine a delivery estimate for a parcel. This is a business relationship as well as following rules, either of which falls within certain methods of organizing human activities. In addition, these limitation also describes a series of step of collecting data and analyzing them, which also falls into mental processes. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
As noted above, claim 1 includes the additional element of “using a model based on the set of features, wherein the model is selected from a plurality of models based on a model selection criteria, wherein each model of the plurality of models is trained using different sets of historic delivery data”. As this model is merely being used to produce a result, it is merely generally linking the abstract idea on a particular field of use. Examiner notes while claim language involves training using different data, its current language can be broadly interpreted that training are performed outside the scope of the claim where the model used contain certain characteristics. Therefore, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, the additional element is merely generally linking the abstract idea into a particular field of use and would not integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Step 2B
As noted above in step 2A prong 2, of which the analysis is still applicable in step 2B, the additional element, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, are nothing more than merely generally linking the abstract idea on a particular field of use. This wouldn’t provide a inventive concept. Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible.
Claims 2-11, 13-20 merely further limit the abstract idea (e.g., by introduce additional characteristic for the model) and/or contain limitations substantially similar to claim 1-11, 13, and would not be eligible over similar analysis.
Examiner notes claim 12 is eligible. Applicant may consider incorporating claim 12 into all independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kujat (US 10460332)
As per claim 1, Kujat discloses a method comprising:
receiving parcel data for a parcel (see at least Fig. 5, item 504, determine predicted delivery performance for an item. See 13:49-67 for further detail “… 504, prediction service may determine for an item … predicted delivery performances associated with a number of merchants”);
determining a set of features from the parcel data (14:1-26, “For example, for a more refined predicted delivery performance for a particular merchant, the prediction may determine contexts and conditions associated with that merchant”); and
predicting a set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a model based on the set of features, wherein the model is selected from a plurality of models, based on a model selection criteria, wherein each model of the plurality of models is trained using different sets of historic delivery data (14:1-26, “For each, some, or all of these merchants, the prediction service may determine corresponding predicted delivery performance(s).” See also 17:9-32, “Nested within that prediction, the prediction service may train the machine learning algorithm to output a predicted delivery performance per merchant … Similarly, nested within that prediction, the prediction service may train the machine learning algorithm to output a predicted delivery performance per merchant per source location … And so and so forth”).
As per claim 2, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each model of the plurality of models is trained based on historic delivery data from a single carrier (see at least 14:64-15:23, “the prediction service may interface with … a carrier that delivered the item, to retrieve the information” regarding using historic delivery data. See also 16:42-61, “Each of the past performances and associated contexts and conditions may include … a carrier conducting the delivery …” for context being limited to a particular carrier. Lastly, see 14:1-26 cited above regarding prediction limited to associated context).
As per claim 3, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein predicting a set of delivery estimates comprises determining a set of transit times and a set of corresponding confidence scores (see at least Fig. 1, column 128, predicted delivery time with a percentage of confidence being presented).
As per claim 4, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising predicting a second set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a second model (see at least Fig. 1, column 128, row 1 and row 3 where both are delivered by the same merchant (same parcel) but using different delivery method. See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above).
As per claim 4, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising predicting a second set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a second model (see at least Fig. 1, column 128, row 1 and row 3 where both are delivered by the same merchant (same parcel) but using different delivery method. See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above).
As per claim 5, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the second set of delivery estimates is determined based on a second set of features for the parcel, different from the set of features (See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above).
As per claim 6, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the model is trained on historic delivery data for a first service level and the second model is trained on historic delivery data for a second service level, wherein the method further comprises selecting a service level based on the set of delivery estimates and the second set of delivery estimates (See 16:42-61, nothing that “delivery method” in conduction with “carrier conducting the delivery” can be context used to limit training of prediction service as cited above. See also 5:18-39, “Eager to get the camera early in the day …, the consumer may select the by ground option of Merchant ABC”)
Alternatively, as per claim 4, Kujat also discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising predicting a second set of delivery estimates for the parcel using a second model (see 21:4-45, where progress is monitored including location using barcode scans and prediction on deviation is detected and modeled. See 2:58-65 where model can be dynamically computed)
As per claim 7, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising determining a final delivery estimate based on the set of delivery estimates and the second set of delivery estimates (see 21:4-45, where progress is monitored including location using barcode scans and prediction on deviation is detected and modeled).
As per claim 8, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of delivery estimates is determined based on a first origin and destination pair for the parcel, a second set of delivery estimates is determined based on a second origin and destination pair for the parcel, and a final delivery estimate is determined based on the set of delivery estimates and the second set of delivery estimates (see 21:4-45, where progress is monitored including location using barcode scans and prediction on deviation is detected and modeled).
As per claim 9, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the model selection criteria comprise an accuracy criterion (Kujat, 18:35-55, level of certainty being used as a metric to decide if pattern can be used to generate prediction).
As per claim 10, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the model selection criteria comprise a set of confidence levels for each model of the plurality of models (Kujat, 18:35-55, level of certainty being used as a metric to decide if pattern can be used to generate prediction).
As per claim 11, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein determining a set of confidence levels for each model comprises evaluating each model of the plurality of models using a different set of historical delivery data (see at least 18:35-55 where hierarchies of data sets can be considered at each hierarchy).
As per claim 12, Kujat further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising training each model of the plurality of models based on different sets of historical delivery data at a predetermined interval (20:21-30, noting update can be performed based on time intervals; 17:9-55 regarding algorithm trained on per merchant basis).
Claim 14 contain limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and 9 and would be rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
As per claim 15, Kujat further discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the parcel data is received via an API interface (4:34-41, API use is apparent).
Claims 17-20 contains limitations substantially similar to claims 8-12 and are rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Kujat (US 10460332) in view of Richter (US 20120254084).
As per claim 13, Kujat does not but Richer teaches wherein each model of the set of models comprises a neural network (see at least Richter, 0039, regarding using neural network for prediction)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to apply Richter’s known technique of using neural network to make predictions with Kujat’s prediction model for the purpose of achieving a desired level of precision (Richter: 0039)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujat (US 10460332) in view of Phillips (US 20170132617)
As per claim 16, Kujat discloses a monitoring system for monitoring progress based on status update (21:4-45). Kujat further discloses API uses are apparent for one ordinary skilled in the art (4:34-31). Kujat, however, does not disclose wherein the parcel data is automatically received via webhooks. Phillips teaches using webhooks to automatically generate status updates that works with API (0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to combine Phillips use of status update using webhook with Kujat’s API that can be used to monitor status for the purpose of automating status update.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11392967, 11514396, 11694154, 11810134, 1229791, 9953332 in view of prior arts cited above in 102/103 rejection.
In this case, each and every one of the Patent identified above discuss selecting multiple model to predict parcel transit time. In general, these claims substantially includes limitations that are recited in claim 1 of present invention and any difference(s) are obvious in view of prior art cited above and they’re combinable over similar rationale set forth above.
Examiner notes the above are double patenting rejection with reference to patented cases.
Claims 1-20 are also provisionally rejected over broadest claims in application 18134901, 184173863, 18628360, 18693867, 18960421 in view of prior arts cited above in 102/103 rejection over substantially similar reasons.
This portion of rejection identified above is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628