DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first arm”, “second arm”, “first gear”, “second gear” and “interlocking gear engaging with first and second gear” of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minaguchi US 20110102982.
Regarding claim 1, Minaguchi US 20110102982 discloses an electronic device (1) comprising:
a first housing (2);
a second housing (3); and
a hinge apparatus (6 in Fig. 2-3) configured to foldably connect the first housing (2) and the second housing (3) to each other (as depicted in Fig. 3),
wherein the hinge apparatus (6) comprises:
a bracket (10/12 at 6 in Fig. 2, 4 and 6) comprising a first coupling portion (left portion of 2/12 at 6 in Fig. 1 and 4) and a second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6 in Fig. 1 and 6) spaced apart from the first coupling portion (left portion of 2/12 at 6 as depicted in Fig. 1);
a first rotator (31 in Fig. 4) comprising a first rotating portion (32 in Fig. 4) fastened to the first coupling portion (left portion of 2/12 at 6) of the bracket (10/12) to rotate relative to the bracket (10/12);
a second rotator (41 in Fig. 6) comprising a second rotating portion (42) fastened to the second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6) of the bracket (10/12) to rotate relative to the bracket (10/12); and
a damper (52) disposed on the second coupling portion (52 is disposed on protrusion 59 which is part of 12) to come into contact with the second rotating portion (42) depending on a degree of rotation of the first rotator and the second rotator relative to the bracket (see Fig. 7-15; torque is zero when no contact is present and non-zero with contacted).
Regarding claim 2, Minaguchi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second rotating portion (42) is configured to come into contact with the damper (52) in a predetermined section depending on the degree of rotation of the first rotator and the second rotator (41) relative to the bracket (10/12).
Regarding claim 3, Minaguchi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the damper (52) is seated in a second seating groove (groove of 59 receiving 52 in Fig. 7) provided in the second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6).
Regarding claim 4, Minaguchi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the damper (52) comprises a buffer member (52) seated on the second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6) of the bracket (10/12), and a pressing plate (51) disposed on the buffer member (52) to press the second rotating portion (42).
Regarding claim 5, Minaguchi discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the buffer member (52) is made of at least one of rubber (see [0072]), urethane, and silicone.
Regarding claim 7, Minaguchi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the damper (52) is disposed on the bracket (10/12) to form a predetermined angle (as depicted in Fig. 7) relative to one surface of the bracket (10/12) and comes into contact with the second rotating portion (42).
Regarding claim 13, Minaguchi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first rotator (31) comprises a first plate (plate of 32 in Fig. 4) comprising the first rotating portion (32) and coupled to the first housing (2), and the second rotator (41) comprises a second plate (plate of 42 in Fig. 6) comprising the second rotating portion (42) and coupled to the second housing (3).
Regarding claim 15, Minaguchi US 20110102982 discloses a hinge apparatus comprising:
a bracket (10/12 at 6 in Fig. 2, 4 and 6) comprising a first coupling portion (left portion of 2/12 at 6 in Fig. 1 and 4) and a second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6 in Fig. 1 and 6) spaced apart from the first coupling portion (left portion of 2/12 at 6 as depicted in Fig. 1);
a first rotator (31 in Fig. 4) comprising a first rotating portion (32 in Fig. 4) fastened to the first coupling portion (left portion of 2/12 at 6) of the bracket (10/12) to rotate relative to the bracket (10/12);
a second rotator (41 in Fig. 6) comprising a second rotating portion (42) fastened to the second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6) of the bracket (10/12) to rotate relative to the bracket (10/12); and
a damper (52) disposed on the second coupling portion (52 is disposed on protrusion 59 which is part of 12) to come into contact with the second rotating portion (42) depending on a degree of rotation of the first rotator and the second rotator relative to the bracket (see Fig. 7-15; torque is zero when no contact is present and non-zero with contacted).
Regarding claim 16, Minaguchi discloses the hinge apparatus of claim 15, wherein the second rotating portion (42) is configured to come into contact with the damper (52) in a predetermined section depending on the degree of rotation of the first rotator and the second rotator (41) relative to the bracket (10/12).
Regarding claim 17, Minaguchi discloses the hinge apparatus of claim 15, wherein the damper (52) is seated in a second seating groove (groove of 59 receiving 52 in Fig. 7) provided in the second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6).
Regarding claim 18, Minaguchi discloses the hinge apparatus of claim 15, wherein the damper (52) comprises a buffer member (52) seated on the second coupling portion (right portion of 2/12 at 6) of the bracket (10/12), and a pressing plate (51) disposed on the buffer member (52) to press the second rotating portion (42).
Regarding claim 19, Minaguchi discloses the hinge apparatus of claim 15, wherein the damper (52) is disposed on the bracket (10/12) to form a predetermined angle (as depicted in Fig. 7) relative to one surface of the bracket (10/12) and comes into contact with the second rotating portion (42).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-12, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein the first rotating portion of the first rotator comprises a first contact portion configured to come into contact with the damper in a predetermined section depending on the degree of rotation of the first rotator relative to the bracket, and
a first groove extending on the first contact portion in one direction not to come into contact with the damper in a remaining section other than the predetermined section, and
the second rotating portion of the second rotator comprises a second contact portion configured to come into contact with the damper depending on the degree of rotation of the second rotator relative to the bracket, and a second groove extending on the second contact portion in one direction not to come into contact with the damper in the remaining section other than the predetermined section”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein the first rotator comprises a first cam structure provided on the first rotating portion,
wherein the second rotator comprises a second cam structure provided on the second rotating portion, and
wherein the hinge apparatus further comprises:
a first cam slide comprising a first cam portion configured to be engaged with the first cam structure of the first rotator; and
a second cam slide comprising a second cam portion configured to be engaged with the second cam structure of the second rotator”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 9-12 depending from claim 8 would therefore also be allowable.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “further comprising:
a first arm comprising a first gear,
wherein the first arm is connected to the first rotator to be rotatable relative to the bracket and connected to the first housing;
a second arm comprising a second gear,
wherein the second arm is connected to the second rotator to be rotatable relative to the bracket and connected to the second housing; and
an interlocking gear engaged with the first gear and the second gear to rotate”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 15, a combination of limitations that “wherein the first rotating portion of the first rotator comprises a first contact portion configured to come into contact with the damper in a predetermined section depending on the degree of rotation of the first rotator relative to the bracket, and a first groove extending on the first contact portion in one direction not to come into contact with the damper in the remaining section other than the predetermined section, and the second rotating portion of the second rotator comprises a second contact portion configured to come into contact with the damper in the predetermined section depending on the degree of rotation of the second rotator relative to the bracket, and a second groove extending on the second contact portion in one direction not to come into contact with the damper in the remaining section other than the predetermined section”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feng US 20240302868 Fig. 12 shows a rotation mechanism with gears;
Liang US 20140055920 Fig. 5-9a discloses a rotation mechanism with a damper.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841