Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 1 (a) “an inner peripheral surface formation portion that is located on a vehicle inner side of a vehicle-outer-side surface of the vehicle door”, (b) “that is located at an end portion of the concave portion on one side in a front-rear direction of the vehicle door”, and (c) “the inner peripheral surface formation portion facing to a side substantially opposite to the one side in the front-rear direction of the vehicle door”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Kalesse, US Pub. App. 2021-0156174).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-5, a vehicle door handle device to be attached to a vehicle door including a door lock device that is switchable between a latching state of not allowing the vehicle door to be opened and an unlatching state of allowing the vehicle door to be opened (The vehicle door handle with housing 1 and frame 2, which forms external visual finish with vehicle body. The vehicle door actuates the door lock. Abstract. Para. [0031]), the vehicle door handle device comprising:
a casing being open on a vehicle outer side and including a concave portion into which a user can insert his or her finger from a vehicle outer side (The frame 2 forms the casing. Frame 2 has a recess 3 through which the user can reach and actuate the lever 4.); and
a latch release lever (4) attached to the casing in such a way as to be movable between an initial position and an actuation position, the latch release lever being linked to the door lock device in such a way as to switch the door lock device from the latching state to the unlatching state by moving from the initial position to the actuation position (The latch release lever 4 can be actuated from initial position, as in Figure 1, to actuation position, as in Figure 2. Actuating the release lever actuates the door lock. Abstract. Para. [0031]),
wherein
an inner peripheral surface of the concave portion (Inner peripheral surface of the recess 3 has concave portion, as shown below) includes an inner peripheral surface formation portion that is located on a vehicle inner side of a vehicle-outer-side surface of the vehicle door and that is located at an end portion of the concave portion on one side in a front-rear direction of the vehicle door (Since the frame 2 forms an external visual finish on the vehicle body, the recess 3 of frame 2 is on vehicle inner side. Thus, the inner peripheral surface of the recess 3 is disposed on the vehicle inner side of a vehicle-outer-side surface of the vehicle door. The inner peripheral surface formation portion that is disposed at an end portion of the concave portion on one side in a front-rear direction of the vehicle door, as shown below), the inner peripheral surface formation portion facing to a side substantially opposite to the one side in the front-rear direction of the vehicle door (Figures 1and 5.), and
the latch release lever (4) forms at least a part of the inner peripheral surface formation portion (Since the frame 2 includes recess3 and latch release lever 4, the latch release lever 4 forms at least a part of the inner peripheral surface formation portion. Figures 1-2, and 5.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the vehicle door handle device according to Claim 1, wherein the inner peripheral surface formation portion is located at a rear end portion of the concave portion, and faces to a substantially front side (Figures 1-2, and 4-5.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Kalesse, US Pub. App. 2021-0156174) in view of D2 (Patel, US Pub. App. 2014-0230329).
For claim 3, D1 discloses 3 the vehicle door handle device according to Claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a key cylinder linked to the door lock device in such a way as to be able to switch the door lock device between a locking state of not allowing the door lock device to be switched from the latching state to the unlatching state and an unlocking state of allowing the door lock device to be switched from the latching state to the unlatching state, wherein the latch release lever and the key cylinder overlap with each other when viewed in an up-down direction.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-4, an outside door handle 15 with bell crank 78, a key cylinder 30, which can be actuated to operate the door lock in case of power failure (Para. [00245, 0025, 0039].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a key cylinder such that the key cylinder is linked to the door lock device in such a way as to be able to switch the door lock device between a locking state of not allowing the door lock device to be switched from the latching state to the unlatching state and an unlocking state of allowing the door lock device to be switched from the latching state to the unlatching state, wherein the latch release lever and the key cylinder overlap with each other when viewed in an up-down direction, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a mechanism to open the door in the event of power failure.
For claim 4, D1 discloses the vehicle door handle device according to Claim 1, further comprising: a bell crank (pivoted lever 5) that is arranged to be movable between an initial position and an actuation position relative to the casing, and that is linked to the latch release lever in such a way that, when the latch release lever is located at the initial position, the bell crank is located at the initial position, and when the latch release lever is located at the actuation position, the bell crank is located at the actuation position (Actuation of latch release lever 4 actuates the pivoted lever 5. One end 7 of pivoted lever 5 is connected to the door lock by Bowden cable. Thus, actuation of latch release lever 4 actuates the door lock. Para. [0032].); and
a rod member that is linked to the bell crank and the door lock device in such a way as to switch the door lock device from the latching state to the unlatching state when the bell crank moves from the initial position to the actuation position.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-4, an outside door handle 15 with bell crank 78, a key cylinder 30, which can be actuated to operate the door lock in case of power failure (Para. [00245-0026, and 0039].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a rod member such that the rod member is linked to the bell crank and the door lock device in such a way as to switch the door lock device from the latching state to the unlatching state when the bell crank moves from the initial position to the actuation position, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a mechanism to open the door in the event of power failure.
For claim 5, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches the vehicle door handle device according to Claim 4, wherein the bell crank is configured in such a way as to move the rod member to a lower side by moving from the initial position to the actuation position (D2 teaches the bell crank 78 is connected to a rod 76 to actuate the door lock in para. [0024-0026, and 0039]. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Sobecki (US 8,786401); Heyduck (US Pub. App. 2022-0333413); and Harris (US 2021-0393831).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675