DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12 and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,226,765. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,226,765 claims a similar system and method.
Regarding claim 1 and 20, U.S. Patent No. 12,226,765 claims a system for plasma treatment of a fluidized bed of particles, the system comprising: a radiation source configured to provide microwave radiation to a plasma forming material and generate a plasma from the plasma forming material; a reaction zone; and a fluidization assembly positioned below the reaction zone, wherein the reaction zone is configured to: receive, from the fluidization assembly, a plurality of reactant particles in a fluidization plane, a direction of the fluidization plane being substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of plasma in the reaction zone, and form a product in presence of the plasma; and further comprising: an energy coupling zone configured to receive the plasma forming material and generate the plasma from the microwave radiation; and an interface element configured to propagate the plasma from the energy coupling zone to the reaction zone (see claim 1).
Regarding claims 13, 15, and 17, U.S. Patent No. 12,226,765 claims a method for plasma treatment of a fluidized bed of particles, the method comprising: generating a plasma from microwave radiation; receiving, in a reaction zone, a plurality of reactant particles in a fluidization plane, a direction of the fluidization plane being substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of plasma in the reaction zone; and forming a product in presence of the plasma (see claim 12); further comprising eliminating, via an exhaust assembly, an exhaust gas from the reaction zone (see claim 16); and further comprising: collecting sensor data that comprises collecting the sensor data from at least one of the following: temperature sensors, pressure sensors, optical emission spectrometers, or gas chromatographs, or gas mass spectrometers; and using the sensor data in the feedback control (see claims 17-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the interface element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the interface element" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dato et al. (US 2010/0301212 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dato et al. discloses a system (a microwave-generated plasma reactor, 10) for plasma treatment of a fluidized bed of particles, the system comprising: a radiation source (microwaves (26) from a source of microwaves) configured to provide microwave radiation to a plasma forming material and generate a plasma from the plasma forming material; a reaction zone (reaction chamber, 18); and a fluidization assembly, through delivery tube (14), positioned below the reaction zone (18), wherein the reaction zone (18) is configured to: receive, from the fluidization assembly, a plurality of reactant particles in a fluidization plane, a direction of the fluidization plane being substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of plasma in the reaction zone (10), and form a product in presence of the plasma (see Abstract; figure 1; and paragraphs 0032-0039), since the microwaves (26) enter the reaction zone (reaction chamber, 18) in a horizontal direction and the argon (22) and argon and ethanol (12) enters the direction tube (14) in a vertical direction (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Dato et al. discloses a system (10) further comprising an exhaust assembly (the top of microwave-generated plasma reactor including the exit in which a graphene stream leaves the reactor) comprising a conduit for receiving an exhaust gas from the reaction zone (18) (see Abstract; figure 1; and paragraphs 0032-0039).
Regarding claim 18, Dato et al. discloses a system (10) wherein the radiation source (microwaves (26) from a source of microwaves) and the reaction zone (18) are positioned so that the plasma forming material is supplied into the reaction zone (18) and the plasma is formed in the reaction zone (18) (see Abstract; figure 1; and paragraphs 0032-0039).
Regarding claim 13, Dato et al. discloses a method for plasma treatment of a fluidized bed of particles (an aerosol consisting of liquid ethanol droplets and argon gas), the method comprising: generating a plasma from microwave radiation (microwaves (26) from a source of microwaves); receiving, in a reaction zone (reaction chamber, 18), a plurality of reactant particles (an aerosol consisting of liquid ethanol droplets and argon gas) in a fluidization plane, a direction of the fluidization plane being substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of plasma in the reaction zone; and forming a product in presence of the plasma (see Abstract; figure 1; and paragraphs 0032-0039), since the microwaves (26) enter the reaction zone (reaction chamber, 18) in a horizontal direction and the argon (22) and argon and ethanol (12) enters the direction tube (14) in a vertical direction (see figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-11, 14, 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2, 5, and 19, Dato et al. fails to disclose or suggest a system wherein the energy coupling zone comprises: the radiation source; and a discharge tube coupled to the radiation source, the discharge tube configured to: receive the plasma forming material, and generate the plasma from the plasma forming material in presence of the microwave radiation; wherein the fluidization assembly comprises: a fluidization chamber; a distributor; and one or more fluidization ports for receiving a fluidization gas; and further comprising an interface element configured to receive the plasma forming material, generate the plasma, and propagate the plasma to the reaction zone.
Claims 6-11 depend on claim 5.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Dato et al. fails to disclose or suggest a method further comprising selecting a gas flow velocity of a fluidization gas for controlling a residence time of the plurality of reactant particles within the plasma; and further comprising using feedback control to control one or more process conditions.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774