Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,690,931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of ‘931 is a more specific set of limitations within the broader scope of instant claim 1.
Instant claims 2-6 are rejected over claims 2-6 of ‘931.
Instant claim 7 is rejected over claim 1 of ‘931.
Instant claims 8-14 are rejected over claims 7-13 of ‘931.
Claims 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,707. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 and 5 of ‘707 are more specific limitations within the broader scope of instant claims 15 and 19.
Instant claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected over claims 2-4 and 19 of ‘707.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term "high-voltage" in independent claims 1, 15, and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "high-voltage" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what voltage is required in order to be considered necessarily "high-voltage" as required by the claim and thus the scope of the claim cannot be determined.
The remaining claims are rejected for being dependent on one of claims 1, 15, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 13-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cha (KR 20110052006).
With regards to claim 1, Cha (KR 20110052006) (translation attached) teaches a germicidal partition system comprising: at least one negative ion generator (Abstract, Fig. 1 negative ion and plasma generator 40) comprising: at least one negative high-voltage source (Fig. 1 high-voltage power supply connected to electrode 54 and 56, Paragraphs [0031], [0039]-[0041]); at least one high-voltage
conductor electrically connected to the at least one negative high-voltage source; and at least one
anode electrically connected to the at least one high-voltage conductor (electrodes 54 and 56); and at
least one fan configured to: draw air into the system (blowing fan 32); direct the air through the at least
one negative ion generator (Abstract); and output the air through at least one manifold (discharge port
5), wherein the air outputted through the at least one manifold is configured to create a barrier
between a first air mass and a second air mass, such that the outputted air reduces at least one of the
transfer of contaminants or the concentration of viable contagions between the first air mass and the
second air mass (air barrier layer 100 shown in fig. 3).
With regards to claim 2, Cha further teaches the device is mounted above a doorway or portal
(Paragraph [0003]).
With regards to claim 3, Cha further teaches the air curtain is formed at the entrance of a door and extends downward to block air from communicating therethrough, necessitating the outputted air
extending at least 4 feet in order to traverse the length of a door. Furthermore, Apparatus claims cover
what a device is, not what a device does and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner
in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus
from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim
(see MPEP 2114, II). The device disclosed by Cha is well capable of performing the claimed function and
is reasonably expected to do so.
With regards to claim 10, Cha further teaches the air outputted through the at least one manifold is laminar; and the air outputted through the at least one manifold comprises at least 1 million negative air ions per cubic centimeter of air (Paragraphs [0002] and [0054]). Furthermore, Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114, II). The device disclosed by Cha is well capable of performing the claimed function and is reasonably expected to do so.
With regards to claim 13, Cha further teaches the net cross sectional shape of the air outputted is at least one of a polygon or circle (Fig. 3 shows this).
With regards to claim 14, Cha further teaches embodiments where the system does not comprise a filter (Figs. 1-5).
With regards to claim 15, Cha (KR 20110052006) (translation attached) teaches a germicidal partition system comprising: at least one negative ion generator (Abstract, Fig. 1 negative ion and plasma generator 40) comprising: at least one negative high-voltage source (Fig. 1 high-voltage power supply connected to electrode 54 and 56, Paragraphs [0031], [0039]-[0041]); at least one high-voltage
conductor electrically connected to the at least one negative high-voltage source; and at least one
anode electrically connected to the at least one high-voltage conductor (electrodes 54 and 56); and at
least one fan configured to: draw air into the system (blowing fan 32); direct the air through the at least
one negative ion generator (Abstract); and output the air through at least one manifold (discharge port
5), wherein the air outputted through the at least one manifold is configured to create a barrier
between a first air mass and a second air mass, such that the outputted air reduces at least one of the
transfer of contaminants or the concentration of viable contagions between the first air mass and the
second air mass (air barrier layer 100 shown in fig. 3).
The operation of the device in Cha results in the claimed method (the barrier of air reduces transfer of contaminants between either side of the air).
With regards to claims 17 and 18, Cha further teaches the air outputted through the at least one manifold is laminar; and the air outputted through the at least one manifold comprises at least 1 million negative air ions per cubic centimeter of air (Paragraphs [0002] and [0054]).
With regards to claim 19, Cha (KR 20110052006) (translation attached) teaches a germicidal partition system comprising: at least one negative ion generator (Abstract, Fig. 1 negative ion and plasma generator 40) comprising: at least one negative high-voltage source (Fig. 1 high-voltage power supply connected to electrode 54 and 56, Paragraphs [0031], [0039]-[0041]); at least one high-voltage
conductor electrically connected to the at least one negative high-voltage source; and at least one
anode electrically connected to the at least one high-voltage conductor (electrodes 54 and 56); and at
least one fan configured to: draw air into the system (blowing fan 32); direct the air through the at least
one negative ion generator (Abstract); and output the air through at least one manifold (discharge port
5), wherein the air outputted through the at least one manifold is configured to create a barrier
between a first air mass and a second air mass, such that the outputted air reduces at least one of the
transfer of contaminants or the concentration of viable contagions between the first air mass and the
second air mass (air barrier layer 100 shown in fig. 3).
The operation of the device in Cha results in the claimed method (the barrier of air reduces transfer of contaminants between either side of the air).
With regards to claim 20, Cha further teaches the air outputted through the at least one manifold is laminar; and the air outputted through the at least one manifold comprises at least 1 million negative air ions per cubic centimeter of air (Paragraphs [0002] and [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20110052006) in view of Carr (US 2014/0363333).
With regards to claim 4, Cha does not teach a sensor as claimed.
Carr (US 2014/0363333) teaches germicidal partition system (Abstract, fig. 2) comprising a proximity detector, wherein upon a detection of an occupant the system is activated for only a time during which said occupant is present (Paragraphs [0020], [0041], [0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Cha such that there is a proximity sensor configured to initiate operation of the device when a user is detected for the duration a user is detected as taught by Carr to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to operate the device only when a user is present to arrive at a more efficient device.
With regards to claims 5 and 6, Carr teaches the stimulus is a motion stimulus and that the system is operated only for a set duration of time after activation (See rejection of claim 4 above).
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20110052006) in view of Lau (US 2004/0047775).
With regards to claim 7, Cha teaches an output of 0.02 ppm of ozone but is silent of an output relative to ambient ozone (Paragraph [0054]). Lau (US 2004/0047775) teaches an ozone producing air conditioner (Abstract), disclosing that it is desirable to produce and output safe amounts of ozone (Paragraph [0058]) as ozone is known to be hazardous in substantial amounts, establishing the amount of ozone relative to ambient as a result- effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Cha such that the amount of ozone in the air output by the device is a concentration of less than .01 ppm higher than ambient ozone levels to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize a result- effective variable through routine optimization, and there exists a motivation for an ordinary artisan to optimize result-effective variables. See MPEP 2144.05(II) for more details.
With regards to claim 9, Lau further teaches the system is a portable garment (Fig. 2a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Cha such that it is a portable garment as taught by Lau to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to treat air anywhere the user goes conveniently.
With regards to claim 12, Lau further teaches the device is powered by a battery (Paragraph [0018]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Cha such that it is powered by a battery as taught by Lau to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so for convenient wireless operation.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20110052006).
With regards to claim 8, Cha further teaches the anode and manifold are connected (Figs. 1-3 the system is formed together and thus the parts are necessarily at least indirectly connected), but appears to be silent with regards to separability. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Cha such that the parts are removable and replaceable. The court has held that if it is considered desirable for any reason to fashion a component to be removable, then it would be obvious to do so for that purpose. MPEP 2144.04(V)(C). It would be desirable to fashion the manifold and anode to be removable in order to replace a broken part or to access the interior of the device for maintenance.
With regards to claim 16, Cha further teaches the air outputted through the at least one manifold is laminar; and the air outputted through the at least one manifold comprises at least 1 million negative air ions per cubic centimeter of air (Paragraphs [0002] and [0054]). It is taken that the amount would be achieved at 4 feet away. It is additionally and alternatively presented that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the amount of ions in order to achieve the desired air treatment and curtain.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20110052006) in view of Crapser (US 2008/0193328).
With regards to claim 11, Cha appears to be silent with regards to a decibel level.
Crapser (US 2008/0193328) teaches an air purifier that operates at less than 50 decibels, lying within the claimed range of 55 dBA. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Cha such that it operates at less than 50 dBA as taught by Crapser to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to have the device operate in an unobtrusive and relaxing way.
Conclusion
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799