DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “absent form” should be “absent from”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 11 and 15 capture a broader version of the patentable subject matter already claimed by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906.
Claims 2-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2-10 capture a broader version of the patentable subject matter already claimed by claims 2-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906.
Claims 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 12-14 capture a broader version of the patentable subject matter already claimed by claims 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906.
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 16-20 capture a broader version of the patentable subject matter already claimed by claims 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,906.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 11, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren et al. (Pub No US 2017/0324577) in view of Bruhn et al. (Pub No US 2017/0191693). Hereinafter, referenced as Warren and Bruhn, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Warren discloses a system, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer- executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor (Figure 1), cause the system to:
determine, based on data representing one or more vacation time periods for a geographic location (Paragraph [0006]; likelihood of an occupied premise may be calculated based on previous travel patterns, e.g. route, direction of travel, distance from premises, etc.), that a user is predicted to be on vacation within a period of time (Paragraph [0047]; determine a likelihood that the premises will be unoccupied for a predetermined time, e.g. vacation, in order to activate the smart vacation module 215);
and based on the determination that the user is predicted to be on vacation within the period of time, cause one or more signals activating a television during the period of time (Paragraphs [0028] figure 1; the smart vacation module 215 may turn on and off the television on the user premise).
However, it is noted that Warren is silent to explicitly disclose cause a set-top box to transmit one or more signals activating a television.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Bruhn discloses cause a set-top box to transmit one or more signals activating a television (Paragraphs [0050] [0174] figure 1; television receiver, which may include a set top box, may automatically turn on the television display at the day and time that the user watches that television program, and even tune the STB to the station that the television show is on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warren by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Bruhn, for the predictable result of implementing a home automation system that fits the user’s habits and profile (Bruhn – paragraph [0174]).
Regarding claim 2, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1, however, it is noted that Warren is silent to explicitly disclose that to cause the set-top box to transmit one or more signals activating the television, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: select one or more media channels based on television viewing history of the user; and transmit one or more signals to the television to cause the television to display the selected one or more media channels.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Bruhn discloses to cause the set-top box to transmit one or more signals activating the television, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: select one or more media channels based on television viewing history of the user; and transmit one or more signals to the television to cause the television to display the selected one or more media channels (Paragraphs [0050] [0174] figure 1; television receiver, which may include a set top box, may automatically turn on the television display at the day and time that the user watches that television program, and even tune the STB to the station that the television show is on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warren by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Bruhn, for the predictable result of implementing a home automation system that fits the user’s habits and profile (Bruhn – paragraph [0174]).
Regarding claim 6, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses that, to receive additional data representing one or more vacation time periods, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: for each respective user of one or more other users associated with the geographic location, access data representing one or more time periods during which the respective user will be on vacation (Paragraph [0055]; modify the likelihood of a type of absence based at least in part on determining the occupants are traveling together such as on vacation, business, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses that, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: in response to a determination that the user is predicted to be on vacation within the period of time: provide an inquiry to the user requesting confirmation that the user will be on vacation within the period of time (Paragraphs [0005] [0027]; sending a confirmation request based at least in part on the identifying for the occupant associated with the premises to confirm the absence).
Regarding claim 11, Warren and Bruhn disclose all the limitations of claim 11; therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Warren and Bruhn disclose all the limitations of claim 15; therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Warren and Bruhn disclose all the limitations of claim 16; therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses receiving the vacation time data by: for each respective user of one or more other users, accessing data representing one or more time periods during which the respective user will be absent form a residence associated with the respective user (Paragraph [0055]; modify the likelihood of a type of absence based at least in part on determining the occupants are traveling together such as on vacation, business, etc. Sending a confirmation request based at least in part on the identifying for the occupant associated with the premises to confirm the absence; paragraphs [0005] [0027]).
Claims 3-4, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren and Bruhn further in view of Eberhardt et al. (Patent No US 12,069,144). Hereinafter, referenced as Eberhardt.
Regarding claim 3, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses that the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: train to predict whether the user will be on vacation during a period of time based on historical vacation data associated with the geographic location (Paragraphs [0056] [0061]; determination module 320 may learn characteristics of the user, such as places the occupant regularly visits, times the occupant visits and/or returns from such places, frequency, etc.).
However, it is noted that Warren and Bruhn are silent to explicitly disclose training a machine learning model.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Eberhardt discloses training a machine learning model (Col. 4 lines 1-16, col. 51 lines 43-51; learning personalized device routines, e.g. turning on a television, based on learned behavior implementing machine learning models, e.g. neural networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warren and Bruhn by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Eberhardt, for the predictable result of providing hyper personalized experiences, optimizing efficiency and providing higher engagement that takes into account user routines.
Regarding claim 4, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses that, to determine that the user is predicted to be on vacation within the period of time, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: apply the period of time to obtain a prediction of whether the user will be on vacation within the period of time (Paragraphs [0056] [0061]; determination module 320 may learn characteristics of the user, such as places the occupant regularly visits, times the occupant visits and/or returns from such places, frequency, etc.).
However, it is noted that Warren and Bruhn are silent to explicitly disclose a machine learning model.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Eberhardt discloses a machine learning model (Col. 4 lines 1-16, col. 51 lines 43-51; learning personalized device routines, e.g. turning on a television, based on learned behavior implementing machine learning models, e.g. neural networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warren and Bruhn by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Eberhardt, for the predictable result of providing hyper personalized experiences, optimizing efficiency and providing higher engagement that takes into account user routines.
Regarding claim 19, Warren, Bruhn and Eberhardt disclose all the limitations of claim 19; therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, Warren, Bruhn and Eberhardt disclose all the limitations of claim 20; therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren and Bruhn further in view of Kennedy et al. (Pub No US 2017/0061779). Hereinafter, referenced as Kennedy.
Regarding claim 5, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses that, to receive additional data representing one or more vacation time periods, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: for each entity of one or more entities associated with the geographic location, access data (Paragraph [0056]; learn characteristics of places the user visits frequently, e.g. school, to predict behavior).
However, it is noted that Warren and Bruhn are silent to explicitly disclose that for each entity of one or more entities associated with the geographic location, access data representing one or more time periods during which the entity will be closed.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Kennedy discloses that for each entity of one or more entities associated with the geographic location, access data representing one or more time periods during which the entity will be closed (Paragraph [0022]; learn patterns of the user, wherein the system may determine seasonal schedules based on patterns, e.g. out of school months).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warren and Bruhn by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Kennedy, for the predictable result of taking into account and learning from well-known patterns of activity of the user, including times when they are out of school, in church, etc.
Regarding claim 17, Warren, Bruhn and Kennedy disclose all the limitations of claim 17; therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren and Bruhn further in view of Marino et al. (Pub No US 2019/0379887). Hereinafter, referenced as Marino.
Regarding claim 7, Warren and Bruhn disclose the system of claim 1; moreover, Warren discloses a test signal received by the television (Paragraphs [0028] figure 1; the smart vacation module 215 may turn on and off the television on the user premise. The disclosure of the original specification in the instant application defines that a test signal may be a power on command).
However, it is noted that Warren and Bruhn are silent to explicitly disclose determine whether a test signal was received.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Kennedy discloses determine whether a test signal was received (Paragraphs [0064] [0072] figure 1; sending a test command and verifying that the command was applied correctly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Warren and Bruhn by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Kennedy, for the predictable result of implementing a testing environment that allows the system to determine and verify that a command worked correctly.
Regarding claim 12, Warren, Bruhn and Marino disclose all the limitations of claim 12; therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
Conclusion
JUNIOR O. MENDOZA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/JUNIOR O MENDOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424