DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered and attached by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “a setting processor that sets”, “an acquisition processor that acquires”, “a conversion processor that converts”, “a generation processor that generates”, and “a display processor that causes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1 the limitations of “a setting processor that sets agendas for conversations; an acquisition processor that acquires voices uttered by users; a conversion processor that converts the voices acquired by the acquisition processor into text information; a generation processor that generates, based on the text information to be converted by the conversion processor, summary sentences summarizing utterance contents of the users for each of the agendas set by the setting processor; a display processor that causes the text information to be converted by the conversion processor and the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas and generated by the generation processor to be displayed side by side on a display screen, and one or more processors.”, as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. More specifically, the mental process of a human thinking of an agenda, hearing speech, transcribing and writing the speech on paper using a pen or pencil, think of summaries for transcribed text, and writing the summaries on the side of the transcribed text. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the --Mental Processes-- grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Regarding claim 12 and 15 the limitations of “setting agendas for conversations; acquiring voices uttered by users; converting the voices into text information, generating summary sentences summarizing utterance contents of the users for each of the agendas based on the text information; and causing the text information and the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas to be displayed side by side on a display screen.”, as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. More specifically, the mental process of a human thinking of an agenda, hearing speech, transcribing and writing the speech on paper using a pen or pencil, think of summaries for transcribed text, and writing the summaries on the side of the transcribed text. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the --Mental Processes-- grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recitation of a system and processor claim 1 and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in claims 16, reads to generalized computer components, based upon the claim interpretation wherein the structure is interpreted using P0047-P0049 in the specification. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generalized computer components to think of an agenda, hear speech, transcribe and write the speech on paper using a pen or pencil, think of summaries for transcribed text, and write the summaries on the side of the transcribed text amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 2, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes the text information for conversations currently in progress to be displayed in a first region of the display screen and causes the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users to be displayed in a second region of the display screen”, which reads on a human writing transcription and summary in different regions on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 3, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes the plurality of agendas set by the setting processor to be selectively displayed on the display screen and causes the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users from among the plurality of agendas to be displayed on the display screen.”, which reads on a human writing summaries of the transcription based on agenda on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 4, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes the text information corresponding to sources of the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users from among the text information to be converted by the conversion processor to be preferentially displayed”, which reads on a human writing summaries of the transcription based on agenda on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 5, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes, from among the text information to be converted by the conversion processor, the text information corresponding to sources of the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users and the text information corresponding to sources of the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas not selected by the users to be displayed in different display modes”, which reads on a human writing summaries of the transcription based on specific agenda on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 6, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes, from among the text information displayed on the display screen, the summary sentences generated based on the text information selected by the users to be displayed on the display screen”, which reads on a human writing summaries of the transcription based on agenda on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 7, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes the agendas for conversations currently in progress and the agendas selected by the users to be identifiably displayed on the display screen”, which reads on a human writing summaries of the recent transcription different from previous transcription based on agenda on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 8, the claim recites “wherein the display processor displays time information corresponding to utterance time of the voices to be displayed in association with the text information”, which reads on a human writing transcription with time information. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 9, the claim recites “wherein the generation processor generates the summary sentences per predetermined time or for every predetermined number of characters of the text information, and the display processor causes the summary sentences to be displayed per predetermined time or for every predetermined number of characters”, which reads on a human thinking of a summary for transcription every minute. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 10, the claim recites “wherein the setting processor receives, on a setting screen different from the display screen, at least one of an operation of adding a new agenda, an operation of designating the agenda and starting conversations, and an operation of changing the agenda for conversations currently in progress”, which reads on a human thinking and writing new agenda on paper. No additional limitations are present.
With respect to claim 11, the claim recites “wherein the display processor causes the agenda for conversations currently in progress to be identifiably displayed on the setting screen”, which reads on a human writing recent discussion agenda on top of paper. No additional limitations are present.
These claims further do not remedy the judicial exception being integrated into a practical application and further fail to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. PG Pub No. 20250238456 in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20250200852). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent anticipate the claims of the instant application. Please see below for mapping in the table, where the bold limitations indicate the corresponding limitations between the issued patent and the instant application. With respect to the dependent claims, each of the claims map to a corresponding dependent claim of the issued patent or are found within the scope of the independent claim.
Instant Application: 19019072
Pending Application: US 20250238456
An information processing method executed by one or more processors, the information processing method comprising:
setting agendas for conversations;
acquiring voices uttered by users;
converting the voices into text information,
generating summary sentences summarizing utterance contents of the users for each of the agendas based on the text information; and
causing the text information and the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas to be displayed side by side on a display screen.
An information processing method executed by one or a plurality of processors, the information processing method comprising:
acquiring voices uttered by users;
converting the voices into text information; and
generating summary sentences summarizing utterance contents of the users based on the text information; and
causing the text information and the summary sentences to be displayed side by side on a display screen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20250200852), hereinafter Suzuki.
Regarding claim 1 Suzuki teaches:
An information processing system comprising: (P0002, The present disclosure relates to a communication system, an information processing apparatus, a terminal device, and an information processing method.)
a setting processor that sets agendas for conversations; (P0149, The participant can input any content in the whiteboard work area. In other words, the participant can use the whiteboard work area like an electronic whiteboard.; P0188, The agenda and the topic are displayed in the whiteboard work area 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1.)
an acquisition processor that acquires voices uttered by users; (P0075, The terminal device is an information processing device operated by the participant. The terminal device transmits voice data spoken by the participant to the information processing apparatus.)
a conversion processor that converts the voices acquired by the acquisition processor into text information; (P0148, The voice recognition result display field displays in real time the language information converted from the voice data acquired by the voice input unit of the terminal device.)
a generation processor that generates, based on the text information to be converted by the conversion processor, summary sentences summarizing utterance contents of the users for each of the agendas set by the setting processor; (P0123, the arrangement of the analysis information is determined in association with “agenda and summary”.; P0156, When the summary is selected, the generative AI system generates a summary of the language information in the designated range of the conversation accumulation area. The summary is information in which the main points of the language information are summarized briefly.)
a display processor that causes the text information to be converted by the conversion processor and the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas and generated by the generation processor to be displayed side by side on a display screen, and one or more processors. (P0123, In the arrangement information storage unit, when the analysis content is “agenda and topic,” an arrangement in which the agenda is set as a parent hierarchy and the topic is set as a child hierarchy and the topics are arranged in parallel is registered in advance. Similarly, the arrangement of the analysis information is determined in association with “agenda and summary”, “topic and summary”, and “agenda, topic, and summary”, which are combinations of the analysis content.; Fig. 18, Conversation accumulation area and Analysis information area.; P0189, FIG. 18 is a diagram illustrating an arrangement of the analysis information displayed by the terminal device. In FIG. 18, the message boxes including the agenda and the topics to illustrated in FIG. 1 are displayed. The message boxes including another agenda and topics to are displayed. A combination of agenda and topic (e.g., agenda and topics) is generated from language information in a range specified by the time interval, the number of characters, or the automatic determination.; P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword. These five analysis content is the type of analysis information. The participant can select one or more of the five types at the same time. When the summary is selected, the generative AI system generates a summary of the language information in the designated range of the conversation accumulation area.)
Regarding claim 12 and 15 Suzuki teaches:
(Claim 12) An information processing method executed by one or more processors, the information processing method comprising: (P0002, Information processing method.; P0387, The functionality of the elements disclosed herein may be implemented using circuitry or processing circuitry which includes general purpose processors.)
(Claim 15) A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in which an information processing program is recorded, the information processing program causing one or more processors to execute: (P0388, There is a memory that stores a computer program which includes computer instructions. These computer instructions provide the logic and routines that enable the hardware (e.g., processing circuitry or circuitry) to perform the method disclosed herein.)
setting agendas for conversations; (P0149, The participant can input any content in the whiteboard work area. In other words, the participant can use the whiteboard work area like an electronic whiteboard.; P0188, The agenda and the topic are displayed in the whiteboard work area 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1.)
acquiring voices uttered by users; (P0075, The terminal device is an information processing device operated by the participant. The terminal device transmits voice data spoken by the participant to the information processing apparatus.)
converting the voices into text information, (P0148, The voice recognition result display field displays in real time the language information converted from the voice data acquired by the voice input unit of the terminal device.)
generating summary sentences summarizing utterance contents of the users for each of the agendas based on the text information; and (P0123, the arrangement of the analysis information is determined in association with “agenda and summary”.; P0156, When the summary is selected, the generative AI system generates a summary of the language information in the designated range of the conversation accumulation area. The summary is information in which the main points of the language information are summarized briefly.)
causing the text information and the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas to be displayed side by side on a display screen. (P0123, In the arrangement information storage unit, when the analysis content is “agenda and topic,” an arrangement in which the agenda is set as a parent hierarchy and the topic is set as a child hierarchy and the topics are arranged in parallel is registered in advance. Similarly, the arrangement of the analysis information is determined in association with “agenda and summary”, “topic and summary”, and “agenda, topic, and summary”, which are combinations of the analysis content.; Fig. 18, Conversation accumulation area and Analysis information area.; P0189, FIG. 18 is a diagram illustrating an arrangement of the analysis information displayed by the terminal device. In FIG. 18, the message boxes including the agenda and the topics to illustrated in FIG. 1 are displayed. The message boxes including another agenda and topics to are displayed. A combination of agenda and topic (e.g., agenda and topics) is generated from language information in a range specified by the time interval, the number of characters, or the automatic determination.; P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword. These five analysis content is the type of analysis information. The participant can select one or more of the five types at the same time. When the summary is selected, the generative AI system generates a summary of the language information in the designated range of the conversation accumulation area.)
Regarding claims 2, 13, and 16 Suzuki teaches claim 1, 12, and 15.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes the text information for conversations currently in progress to be displayed in a first region of the display screen and causes the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users to be displayed in a second region of the display screen. (Fig. 18, Conversation accumulation area 101, Analysis area 308.; P0156, When the summary is selected, the generative AI system generates a summary of the language information in the designated range of the conversation accumulation area. The summary is information in which the main points of the language information are summarized briefly.; P0190, The same type of analysis information generated from the language information in the designated range may be grouped. For example, the second display control unit displays a dotted line frame surrounding the same type of analysis information as the analysis information mouse-overed by a mouse pointer and prompt the participant to grasp the analysis information of the same group.)
Regarding claims 3, 14, and 17 Suzuki teaches claim 1, 12, and 15.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes the plurality of agendas set by the setting processor to be selectively displayed on the display screen and (P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword.)
causes the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users from among the plurality of agendas to be displayed on the display screen. (P0193, As the conference progresses, the analysis information (and other content) is increasingly arranged in the whiteboard work area.; Fig. 18, Analysis information area.; P0274, The participant can scroll the AI analysis area.)
Regarding claim 4 Suzuki teaches claim 3.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes the text information corresponding to sources of the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users from among the text information to be converted by the conversion processor to be preferentially displayed. (P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword.; P0193, As the conference progresses, the analysis information (and other content) is increasingly arranged in the whiteboard work area.; Fig. 18, Analysis information area.; P0274, The participant can scroll the AI analysis area.; P0140, When the state ID is s001, language information of t001 to t002 is displayed in the conversation accumulation area, and the content indicated by the state of the whiteboard work area with the state ID of s001 is displayed in the whiteboard work area in the state where language information of t001 to t002 is displayed.)
Regarding claim 5 Suzuki teaches claim 3.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes, from among the text information to be converted by the conversion processor, the text information corresponding to sources of the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas selected by the users and the text information corresponding to sources of the summary sentences corresponding to the agendas not selected by the users to be displayed in different display modes. (P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword.; P0193, As the conference progresses, the analysis information (and other content) is increasingly arranged in the whiteboard work area.; Fig. 18, Analysis information area.; P0274, The participant can scroll the AI analysis area.)
Regarding claim 6 Suzuki teaches claim 3.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes, from among the text information displayed on the display screen, the summary sentences generated based on the text information selected by the users to be displayed on the display screen. (P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword.; P0193, As the conference progresses, the analysis information (and other content) is increasingly arranged in the whiteboard work area.; Fig. 18, Analysis information area.)
Regarding claim 7 Suzuki teaches claim 3.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes the agendas for conversations currently in progress and the agendas selected by the users to be identifiably displayed on the display screen. (P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. There are five analysis content: a summary, a topic, an agenda, divergence, convergence, and a keyword.; P0193, As the conference progresses, the analysis information (and other content) is increasingly arranged in the whiteboard work area.; Fig. 18, Analysis information area.; P0190, The second display control unit displays a dotted line frame surrounding the same type of analysis information as the analysis information mouse-overed by a mouse pointer and prompt the participant to grasp the analysis information of the same group.)
Regarding claim 8 Suzuki teaches claim 1.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor displays time information corresponding to utterance time of the voices to be displayed in association with the text information. (Fig. 18, Conversation accumulation area conversation timestamp.)
Regarding claim 9 Suzuki teaches claim 1.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the generation processor generates the summary sentences per predetermined time or for every predetermined number of characters of the text information, and (P0156, In the analysis content selection field, the participant can select the analysis content and the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. … The participant can select one or more of the five types at the same time. When the summary is selected, the generative AI system generates a summary of the language information in the designated range of the conversation accumulation area. The summary is information in which the main points of the language information are summarized briefly.; P0158, A description is given below of the range of the language information of the conversation accumulation area to be analyzed. The analysis content selection field includes options of a time interval, the number of characters, and automatic determination as the generation timing of the analysis information. The time interval is, for example, a setting in which the generative AI system analyzes the language information for N minutes set in a time setting field by the participant. The number of characters is, for example, a setting for the generative AI system to analyze the language information of the number set in the number of characters setting field by the participant.)
Regarding claim 10 Suzuki teaches claim 1.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the setting processor receives, on a setting screen different from the display screen, at least one of an operation of adding a new agenda, an operation of designating the agenda and starting conversations, and an operation of changing the agenda for conversations currently in progress. (P0149, The participant can input any content in the whiteboard work area. In other words, the participant can use the whiteboard work area like an electronic whiteboard.; P0188, The agenda and the topic are displayed in the whiteboard work area 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1.)
Regarding claim 11 Suzuki teaches claim 10.
Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the display processor causes the agenda for conversations currently in progress to be identifiably displayed on the setting screen. (P0148, The voice recognition result display field displays in real time the language information converted from the voice data acquired by the voice input unit of the terminal device.; P0193, As the conference progresses, the analysis information (and other content) is increasingly arranged in the whiteboard work area.)
Conclusion
/DANIEL W CHUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659