DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending and examined in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Stortz et al., “Edible Oleo gels in Food Products to Help Maximize Health Benefits and Improve Nutritional Profiles” (from Lipid Technology, July 2012, Vol. 24, No. 7, pp. 151-154) in view of NPL Sagiri et al., “Stearic acid based oleo gels: A study on the molecular, thermal and mechanical properties” (from Materials Science and Engineering C 48 (2015) 688-699).
Regarding claims 1-5: Stortz discloses structuring vegetable oils (i.e., triacylglycerol oils and fats) with gelators, such as ethylcellulose and 12-hydroxystearic acid at levels below 8% to form oleo gels (see Stortz abstract; pages 151-152). Sagiri discloses structuring vegetable oils (i.e., triacylglycerol oils and fats) with gelators, such as stearic acid at levels between 1% to 25% (see Sagiri pages 688-689). Sagiri also discloses a preference of stearic acid over 12-hydroxystearic acid, as 12-hydroxystearic acid provides polarity to the molecules due to the hydroxyl group on the 12th carbon, which may favor the development of emulsion oleo gels. In hydrophobic gels, the presence of polar groups enhances the interfacial tension between the edible oil and the gelators, which results in poor stability of the oleo gels formed (see Sagiri page 688). Given the fact that both ethyl cellulose and stearic acid are known structurants/gelators of edible oils, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have combined both gelators (i.e., ethyl cellulose and stearic acid) in order to structure vegetable oil and form oleo gels, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations. As set forth in MPEP §2144.06(I), It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
As to the ethylcellulose polymer content in claim 3: Given the fact the ethylcellulose content in claim 3 overlaps the ethylcellulose polymer conbent in Stortz in view of Sagiri, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
As to the oil content in claim 4: Given the fact the oil content in claim 4 overlaps the oil content in Stortz in view of Sagiri, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
As to the stearic acid content in claim 5: Given the fact the stearic acid content in claim 5 overlaps the stearic acid content in Stortz in view of Sagiri, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 6: Stortz and Sagiri disclose forming oleogels without using emulsifiers (see Stortz whole document and Sagiri whole document), accordingly Stortz in view of Sagiri disclose structuring oils with ethylcellulose and stearic acid without any other constituents (e.g., emulsifiers) (see Stortz and Sagiri whole documents). Accordingly, Stortz in view of Sagiri meet the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792