DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-16, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20240031467 A1, hereinafter Jung) in view of Pong et al. (US 20200053450 A1, hereinafter Pong).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches a method, comprising: at an audio output device case that includes a display device: (Jung, Paragraph [0067], "a sub-display 250 a to display notification information corresponding to a specific event generated from the mobile terminal 100 may be exposed from one side of a front surface of the second body 220 including the second display 250") and (Jung, Paragraph [0332], "A first audio device el or a second audio device e2 may be a Bluetooth earphone set, a Bluetooth headset, a Bluetooth speaker, a speaker built in the electronic device 300, or the like"), detecting an occurrence of a first event (Jung, Paragraph [0067], "a sub-display 250 a to display notification information corresponding to a specific event generated from the mobile terminal 100"), in response to detecting the occurrence of the first event: in accordance with a determination that the display device is disabled, causing the display device to be enabled (Jung, Paragraph [0083], "the second display 250 and the controller of the second display 250 may be activated based on the signal received from the mobile terminal 100") and (Jung, Paragraph [0237], "the second display 250 is either in active state or in inactive state <read on disabled/enabled>"), [[wherein while the display device is disabled, the display device and an exterior of the audio output device case meet similarity criteria]], displaying, via a first portion of the display device, a dynamic visual element corresponding to the first event (Jung, Paragraph [0088], "The sub-display 250 <read on first portion of the display device> a to display predetermined information, for example, time information or event notification, may be provided on a front side of the second body 220"), wherein: the dynamic visual element changes over time (Jung, Paragraph [0088], "time information" <read on dynamic visual element that changes over time — time naturally updates>; and Paragraph [0164], "A signal output by the optical output module 154 may be implemented in such a manner that the mobile terminal emits monochromatic light or light with a plurality of colors. The signal output may be terminated as the mobile terminal senses that a user has checked the generated event"), [[and while the display device is enabled, a second portion of the display device, distinct from the first portion of the display device, and the exterior of the audio output device case meet the similarity criteria]].
But Jung does not explicitly disclose while the display device is disabled, the display device and an exterior of the audio output device case meet similarity criteria, nor while the display device is enabled, a second portion of the display device, distinct from the first portion of the display device, and the exterior of the audio output device case meet the similarity criteria.
However, Pong teaches while the display device is disabled, the display device and an exterior of the audio output device case meet similarity criteria (Pong, Paragraph [0011], "An example headphone system includes a frame having a first region, a second region, and an intermediate region. The system additionally includes a first speaker assembly coupled to the first region of the frame, a second speaker assembly coupled to the second region of the frame, a display coupled to the frame" <read on audio output device case — the headphone frame is the housing/casing that supports the speaker assemblies (audio output devices) and the display>; [0071], "Transparent display 702 includes a nose rest 802, a frame 804, and a transparent display screen 806... Frame 804 facilitates the support and positioning of transparent display 702 with respect to display units 704"; it is noted frame 804 of the transparent display is part of the headphone system's outer structure that houses/supports the audio output devices (speaker assemblies 108) i.e., the exterior of the audio output device case; [0075], "Display screen 806 is, for example, a transparent LCD or LED display that allows the user 400 to see through it while superimposing useful images thereon. When the power is off, display screen 806 is transparent" <read on similarity criteria — when off, the transparent display is visually indistinguishable from its surrounding frame because nothing of the display itself is visible>); while the display device is enabled, a second portion of the display device, distinct from the first portion of the display device, and the exterior of the audio output device case meet the similarity criteria (Pong, Paragraph [0076], "transparent display screen 806 can be operated to provide augmented reality by asserting images on transparent display screen 806 that are superimposed over the live scene viewable by user 400 beyond transparent display 702"; it is noted only the portion of the display showing the image is visible and the remaining portion remains transparent (and therefore indistinguishable from the surrounding exterior)).
Pong and Jung are analogous since both deal with electronic systems that include audio output devices (speakers/earphones) combined with displays that present visual information to a user in coordination with the audio output. Jung provided a way of enabling a case-mounted display to show event-driven information for an audio-connected electronic device. Pong provided a way of providing a display screen that, when powered off, is transparent/indistinguishable from its surrounding structure, and that selectively shows content only in the portion needed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Pong's "transparent-when-off" display into the modified invention of Jung such that the second display and sub-display of Jung's case visually blends with the case exterior when disabled and that only the active first portion presents the event-driven content while the remaining second portion continues to blend with the case exterior. The motivation is to provide an aesthetically integrated case appearance that hides the screen presence when not in use and only reveals minimal targeted information z(e.g., the event notification) on the portion needed — improving user experience and reducing visual clutter as discussed by Pong in Paragraph [0075] (transparency when off) and consistent with Jung's teaching in Paragraph [0088] of showing simple event notification through a localized sub-display region.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the display device is positioned behind a portion of the exterior of the audio output device case (Jung, Paragraph [0089], "the second body 220 may include a first cover 221, a second cover 222, and the second display 250").
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the display device meets one or more image quality criteria (Jung, Paragraph [0243], "brightness control signals <read on one or more image quality criteria>, can be transmitted and received through a first and a second signal processor 181, 281"; It is noted that image quality criteria encompasses any measurable display parameter bearing on visual quality, could including brightness, contrast, sharpness, color reproduction, and resolution, since "brightness control signals" applied to the second display 250 establishes that the second display's brightness is commanded to a specified level via dedicated control signaling i.e., the display is operated to satisfy a defined brightness criterion).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein displaying the dynamic visual element includes adjusting a parameter of the dynamic visual element selected from the group consisting of: a shape, a size, a location, and a color (Jung, Paragraph [0164], "the mobile terminal emits monochromatic light or light with a plurality of colors" <read on adjusting a color of the dynamic visual element — selection requires only one of the alternatives>).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the dynamic visual element is displayed on a surface of the exterior of the audio output device case (Jung, Paragraph [0067], "a sub-display 250 a to display notification information... may be exposed from one side of a front surface of the second body 220" <read on displayed on a surface of the exterior of the case>).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the dynamic visual element is monochromatic (Jung, Paragraph [0164], "the mobile terminal emits monochromatic light or light with a plurality of colors").
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the dynamic visual element is non-emissive (Jung, Paragraph [0088], "The sub-display 250 a to display predetermined information, for example, time information <read on dynamic visual element> or event notification <read on dynamic visual element>") displayed on a display that (Jung, Paragraph [0188], "may include at least one of a liquid crystal display (LCD), a thin film transistor-liquid crystal display (TFT-LCD), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), a flexible display, a 3-dimensional (3D) display, and an e-ink display <read on non-emissive>” it is noted e-ink is a reflective electronic-paper technology that displays content by reflecting ambient light rather than emitting light; by election of "an e-ink display" from the disclosed group of display technologies satisfies the non-emissive requirement, and the dynamic visual element (time information / event notification displayed on the sub-display 250 a) rendered via an e-ink display is correspondingly non-emissive).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the dynamic visual element includes text (Jung, Paragraph [0088], "The sub-display 250a to display predetermined information, for example, time information or event notification"; it is noted time information and notifications are displayed as text).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the dynamic visual element includes one or more points of light that move over a second period of time (Jung, Paragraph [0164], "A signal output by the optical output module 154 may be implemented in such a manner that the mobile terminal emits monochromatic light or light with a plurality of colors. The signal output may be terminated as the mobile terminal senses that a user has checked the generated event").
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the dynamic visual element includes a reference to one or more real-world entities in an environs of the audio output device case, wherein the one or more real-world entities includes an electronic device and/or a person (Jung, Paragraph [0332], " A first audio device el or a second audio device e2 may be a Bluetooth earphone set, a Bluetooth headset, a Bluetooth speaker, a speaker built in the electronic device 300, or the like" <read on real-world entities including electronic device and Bluetooth audio devices in the environs>; [0163], " an event generation using light of a light source. Examples of events generated in the mobile terminal 100 may include a message reception, a call signal recep-tion, a missed call, an alarm, a schedule notice, an email reception, an information reception through an application, and the like").
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 12.
The combination further teaches further comprising providing haptic feedback at the audio output device case (Jung, Paragraph [0060] “The second display 250 provided on the second body 220 may be configured to operate based on power supplied from the mobile terminal 100”; [0162] The haptic module 153 <read on at the audio output device case > may be configured to transmit tactile effects <read on providing haptic feedback> through a user's direct contact, or a user's muscular sense using a finger or a hand. Two or more haptic modules 153 may be provided according to the particular configuration of the mobile terminal 100).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the one or more real-world entities include one or more entities that are available to communicatively couple with the audio output device case (Jung, Paragraph [0205], "the interface unit 160 may be at least one of a connection terminal for connecting <read on available to communicatively couple> to another device (for example, an earphone <read on one or more entities>, an external speaker <read on one or more entities>, or another display), a port for near field communication (for example, an Infrared Data Association (IrDA) port, a Bluetooth port, a wireless LAN port, and the like)") and (Jung, Paragraph [0307], "The interface unit 160 may be connected <read on available to communicatively couple> to a plurality of audio devices <read on one or more entities> through a Bluetooth port or the like").
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches further comprising: detecting an occurrence of a second event; and in response to detecting the occurrence of the second event, displaying, via the first portion of the display device, content corresponding to the second event (Jung, Paragraph [0163], "the events <read on second event> generated in the mobile terminal 100, for example, may be a message reception, a call signal reception, a missed call, an alarm, a schedule notice, an email reception <read on second event>, an information reception through an application, and the like") and (Jung, Paragraph [0088], "The sub-display 250 a <read on first portion of the display device> to display predetermined information <read on content corresponding to the second event>, for example, time information or event notification <read on content corresponding to the second event>")
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the content includes more colors and/or detail than the dynamic visual element (Jung, Paragraph [0164], "the mobile terminal emits monochromatic light or light with a plurality of colors"; it is noted the optical output for a simple notification can be monochromatic while richer event content displayed on the second display 250 can include multiple colors/full graphical detail; selection requires only one of the alternatives).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 15.
The combination further teaches wherein the content includes a camera preview (Pong, Paragraph [0055], "The contents displayed by display screen 302 can be predetermined content (e.g., music video, picture, etc.) and/or content generated in real-time via touch instructions"; [0058], "Camera 308 enables unit 110 to record digital video and/or still images. The user control of camera 308 can be done directly through input devices of unit 110 (i.e., display screen 302, buttons 304, microphone 306, orientation sensor 310, motion sensor 312)").
Pong and Jung are analogous since both deal with electronic systems that include audio output devices (speakers/earphones) combined with displays that present visual information to a user in coordination with the audio output. Jung provided a way of enabling a case-mounted display to show event-driven information for an audio-connected electronic device. Pong provided a way of providing a display screen that with camera preview. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Pong's camera preview into the modified invention of Jung such that in the visual displaying process, system will enable the user to use the case's display as a viewfinder/preview for capturing images via an integrated camera, providing additional functionality beyond mere event notification.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 18.
The combination further teaches further comprising: while the camera preview is displayed, detecting a user input to capture an image associated with the camera preview; and in response to detecting the user input, capturing the image associated with the camera preview (Pong, Paragraph [0057], "a user could instruct camera 308 to capture a video by saying “record video” <read on user input to capture an image>; [0058], "Camera 308 enables unit 110 to record digital video and/or still images. The user control of camera 308 can be done directly through input devices of unit 110 (i.e., display screen 302, buttons 304, microphone 306, orientation sensor 310, motion sensor 312)").
As explained in rejection of claim 18, the obviousness for combining of camera preview of Pong into Jung is provided above.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 1, but in an audio output device case. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Jung and Pong disclose the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jung discloses an system that maps to Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0156], [0126], (Jung, Paragraph [0156], "The controller 180 may typically control the general operations of the mobile terminal 100") and (Jung, Paragraph [0237], "the controller of the second display 250"), memory storing one or more programs (Jung, Paragraph [0126], "the memory 170 stores data that support various functions of the mobile terminal 100"). Thus, Claim 20 is met by Caskey according to the mapping presented in the rejection of claims 1, given the method corresponds to the system.
Regarding Claim 21, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 1 and the combination of Jung and Pong teaches all the limitations as of Claim 1. And Jung discloses these features can be implemented on a computer-readable storage medium (Jung, Paragraph [0175], “Various embodiments described herein may be implemented in a computer-readable or its similar medium”; [0126], " the memory 170 may be configured to store application programs executed in the mobile terminal 100, data or instructions for operations of the mobile terminal 100, and the like").
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20240031467 A1, hereinafter Jung) in view of Pong et al. (US 20200053450 A1, hereinafter Pong) as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Haseltine et al. (US 20190251739 A1, hereinafter Haseltine).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Haseltine teaches wherein a visual appearance of the dynamic visual element changes by less than a threshold amount across a predefined range of viewing angles for viewing the audio output device case (Haseltine, Paragraph [0025], "the character <read on dynamic visual element> would appear undistorted <read on changes by less than a threshold amount> and visible from a nearly 360 degree viewing angle <read on across a predefined range of viewing angles for viewing the audio output device case>").
Haseltine and Jung are analogous since both deal with electronic systems that include an audio output and a display device coordinated together to present visual content to a user along with corresponding audio output. Jung provided a way of presenting an event-driven visual element on a case-mounted display associated with audio output devices. Haseltine provided a way of rendering a displayed visual element such that the visual appearance remains substantially undistorted across a wide field of regard approaching 360 degrees around the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Haseltine's viewing-angle-stable display rendering (anamorphic reconstitution / wide-field-of-regard optics) into the modified invention of Jung such that the dynamic visual element shown on the case display retains a substantially consistent visual appearance across a predefined range of viewing angles around the audio output device case. The motivation is to "encourage social viewing by multiple users in a room" without requiring users to be "stationed at a particular viewing location or angle" as discussed by Haseltine in Paragraphs [0023]–[0024] — so that event-related visual notifications on the case display can be perceived clearly by the wearer/user regardless of the orientation in which the case is being carried or placed.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20240031467 A1, hereinafter Jung) in view of Pong et al. (US 20200053450 A1, hereinafter Pong) as applied Claim 9 above and further in view of Chan et al. (US 7571015 B2, hereinafter Chan).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Chan teaches wherein the text is progressively displayed over a first period of time (Chan, Column 3, Line 24-27, "the lyric text <read on text> scrolling on display 8 is synchronized to the playing speed <read on progressively displayed over a first period of time>").
Chan and Jung are analogous since both deal with portable electronic devices that include audio output components (audio output jack / connected earphones) together with one or more displays presenting information (including text) coordinated with the device's operation. Jung provided a way of presenting textual information (e.g., time information or event notification) on a case display. Chan provided a way of presenting text on a narrow-format display by progressively scrolling the text over time synchronized to an underlying audio/time event. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Chan's scrolling text presentation format into the modified invention of Jung such that the textual content (e.g., Jung's "time information or event notification") shown on the case-mounted display is progressively displayed over a period of time, allowing longer text strings to be conveyed on the limited display real estate of the audio output device case exterior. The motivation is to allow longer text content (e.g., notification message, song title, contact name) to be legibly conveyed on a small case-mounted display strip without requiring the entire text to be statically fit at once by leveraging the principle expressly taught by Chan in its Summary of the Invention that "a display large enough to show entire song lyrics is not necessary" because users read text "in sequence," so a "single line scrolling text presentation format" is provided instead.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20240031467 A1, hereinafter Jung) in view of Pong et al. (US 20200053450 A1, hereinafter Pong) as applied to Claim 15 above and further in view of Olwal (US 11487249 B2).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Jung and Pong teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Olwal teaches wherein, in response to detecting the occurrence of the second event, the display device adjusts a parameter selected from the group consisting of a color depth, a contrast ratio, and a resolution associated with the display device (Olwal, Column 2, Line 45-50 , "in response to the user interface subsystem receiving input from the wearer <read on in response to detecting the occurrence of the second event>, the one or more processors are configured to control the emissive display element to render the input received from the wearer"; Column 1, Line 48-51, "non-emissive displays typically have a limited refresh rate and color depth <read on a color depth ... a resolution — confirming that the two display elements differ in color depth/resolution, so that the event-driven switch from non-emissive to emissive layer effects an adjustment of the claimed parameter>"; Column 8, Line 30-36(Transitioning Content Elements from Emissive Display to Non-Emissive Display), "content that is new or undergoing modification <read on the second event> is initially generated <read on the display device adjusts a parameter> by an emissive display element"; Column 6, Line 65-67, (Example System), "The emissive display element may be greyscale, multi-color or a full color display of, e.g., 6-bit, 8-bit or 16-bit <read on a color depth> resolution <read on a resolution>").
Olwal and Jung are analogous since both deal with portable wearable electronic devices that include audio output components (speakers/transducers/audio outputs) together with a graphical display configured to present event-driven content (e.g., notifications) to the user. Jung provided a way of presenting event-driven content on a case-mounted display via active/inactive state switching. Olwal provided a way of selectively engaging an emissive display layer (with higher color depth, higher resolution, and higher contrast) in response to a triggering input/event, while otherwise relying on a non-emissive layer (with limited color depth and limited refresh rate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Olwal's emissive-layer / non-emissive-layer switching architecture into the modified invention of Jung such that, in response to detecting the occurrence of the second event, the case-mounted display device transitions rendering to its emissive layer (thereby adjusting at least one of color depth and resolution upward to present richer second-event content), while reverting to the non-emissive layer for ambient state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230245630 A1 DISPLAY DEVICE AND CONTROL METHOD
US 20040021655 A1 User interface and method for displaying information on a plurality of displays
US 20030058197 A1 Apparatus and system for abstract visual representation of audio signals
/YuJang Tswei/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614