DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2025 and 12/03/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11711496 in view of Cowherd et al. (US 20170214982) (hereinafter Cowherd).
Regarding claim 1,
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11711496 Claim 1
A camera, comprising:
A wireless camera system, comprising:
an input device; and
a remote control comprising one or more input devices and a display;
a transceiver operatively coupled to the input device,
wherein, after an input is received via the input device, the camera records images or video, and the transceiver wirelessly transmits a start signal to one or more other cameras to also start recording images or video and to also wirelessly transmit the start signal, and wherein the camera and the one or more other cameras form a wireless camera network.
a first subset of cameras for starting and a second subset from the presented list of cameras for not starting; wherein, in response to input received via the one or more input devices, the remote control is configured to wirelessly transmit a first start signal; and wherein, in response to receiving the first start signal from the remote control and being in the first subset of cameras for starting, the first camera and the second camera are configured to record images or video to a respective memory of the first camera and the second camera, and wirelessly transmit a second start signal so as to initiate recording images or video by a third camera of the first subset not in range of the remote control.
Although claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11711496 does not specify a wireless camera network and transceiver operatively coupled to a device with an input, Cowherd paragraph 41-42 teaches a wireless camera network and transceiver operatively coupled to a device with an input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11711496 with the a wireless camera network and transceiver operatively coupled to a device with an input of Cowherd in order to enhance transmission capabilities between cameras through network functionality.
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected for their dependence on claim(s) 1.
Regarding claim 8,
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11711496 Claim 1
A wireless camera network, comprising:
A wireless camera system, comprising:
a first camera; a second camera in wireless range of the first camera, wherein, after an input is received by the first camera, the first camera records images or video, and the first camera wirelessly transmits a start signal to the second camera to start recording images or video and to wirelessly transmit the start signal.
a first subset of cameras for starting and a second subset from the presented list of cameras for not starting; wherein, in response to input received via the one or more input devices, the remote control is configured to wirelessly transmit a first start signal; and wherein, in response to receiving the first start signal from the remote control and being in the first subset of cameras for starting, the first camera and the second camera are configured to record images or video to a respective memory of the first camera and the second camera, and wirelessly transmit a second start signal so as to initiate recording images or video by a third camera of the first subset not in range of the remote control.
Although claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11711496 does not specify a wireless camera network , Cowherd paragraph 41-42 teaches a wireless camera network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11711496 with the a wireless camera network coupled to a device with an input of Cowherd in order to enhance transmission capabilities between cameras through network functionality.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected for their dependence on claim(s) 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowherd et al. (US 20170214982) (hereinafter Cowherd) in view of Sakiewicz et al. (US 20160021329) (hereinafter Sakiewicz), further in view of Cuddeback et al. (US 20160295172) (hereinafter Cuddeback).
Regarding claim 1, Cowherd teaches A camera, comprising:
an input device (see Cowherd paragraph 50 regarding a start or stop signal sent by button on a device to transmit signal to other cameras- in combination with Sakiewicz below, the input device that causes a start signal may be functionally performed by an input button on Sakiewicz); and
wherein, after an input is received via the input device, the camera records images or video (see Cowherd paragraph 8 regarding a primary communication device connected to first camera that detects signal to start recording to memory, and then transmits the start signal to second cameras, and paragraph 27-28 regarding wireless network and devices in any type of network including a mesh network, which obviously includes a partial mesh network where a primary device is directly connected to a secondary device A, but not secondary device B, while secondary devices A and B are connected, indirectly connecting the primary device with secondary device B, for example.), and
wherein the camera and the one or more other cameras form a wireless camera network (see Cowherd paragraph 8 regarding a primary communication device connected to first camera that detects signal to start recording to memory, and then transmits the start signal to second cameras, and paragraph 27-28 regarding wireless network and devices in any type of network including a mesh network, which obviously includes a partial mesh network where a primary device is directly connected to a secondary device A, but not secondary device B, while secondary devices A and B are connected, indirectly connecting the primary device with secondary device B, for example.).
However, Cowherd does not explicitly teach the hardware as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Sakiewicz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a transceiver operatively coupled to the input device (see Sakiewicz figure 1 and paragraph 49 regarding emergency device camera housing, paragraph 18 regarding emergency device camera with transceiver, paragraph 25 regarding emergency device with camera paragraph 29 regarding emergency device with processor and memory- all of these are obviously contained in the housing of the emergency device, and in combination with Cowherd, the camera and device may be integrated within the same housing),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Cowherd to include the teaching of Sakiewicz so that in combination with Cowherd, the camera and device may be integrated within the same housing with a transceiver.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate communication between cameras in a network (see Sakiewicz paragraph 18).
However, the combination of Cowherd and Sakiewicz does not explicitly teach the signaling flow as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Cuddeback, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the transceiver wirelessly transmits a start signal to one or more other cameras to also start recording images or video and to also wirelessly transmit the start signal (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54 regarding heartbeat and synchronization message signal that is transmitted by all nodes to each other, and figure 1 illustrating network layout, where a type of synchronization signal is successively transmitted from node to node. In combination with Cowherd, which already considers a partial network with similar topology to Cuddeback, it would be obvious to also be able to transmit a start signal from node to node, where cameras transmit the start signal to cameras in range, where therefore the cameras would be second, third, etc. cameras that are positively selected from a plurality of cameras. The second start signal is interpreted as a separate case from a first start signal, where the second signal is the case where the subject camera receives a start signal from a first object camera), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Cowherd and Sakiewicz to include the teaching of Cuddeback so that in combination with Cowherd, which already considers a partial network with similar topology to Cuddeback, it would be obvious to also be able to transmit a start signal from node to node, where cameras transmit the start signal to cameras in range, where therefore the cameras would be second, third, etc. cameras that are positively selected from a plurality of cameras. The second start signal is interpreted as a separate case from a first start signal, where the second signal is the case where the subject camera receives a start signal from a first object camera.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the camera is a first camera, wherein the one or more other cameras include a second camera, wherein the second camera wirelessly transmits the start signal to a third camera that is out of range of the first camera, but not out of range of the second camera, and wherein the first camera, the second camera, and the third camera form a wireless camera network (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54 regarding heartbeat and synchronization message signal that is transmitted by all nodes to each other, and figure 1 illustrating network layout, where a type of synchronization signal is successively transmitted from node to node. In combination with Cowherd, which already considers a partial network with similar topology to Cuddeback, it would be obvious to also be able to transmit a start signal from node to node, where cameras transmit the start signal to cameras in range, where therefore the cameras would be second, third, etc. cameras that are positively selected from a plurality of cameras. The second start signal is interpreted as a separate case from a first start signal, where the second signal is the case where the subject camera receives a start signal from a first object camera).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the start signal transmission is a periodic broadcast transmission (see Cuddeback paragraph 52 regarding periodic heartbeat message signal- in combination with Cowherd, which teaches an explicit start signal, the start signal can be periodically transmitted as a continual indication of recording status.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the input device includes a button that is depressed to cause the camera to record the images or video and to cause the transceiver to wirelessly transmit the start signal (see Cowherd paragraph 50 regarding a start or stop signal sent by button on a device to transmit signal to other cameras- in combination with Sakiewicz, the input device that causes a start signal may be functionally performed by an input button on Sakiewicz).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the start signal includes a time used to synchronize the other cameras (see Cuddeback paragraph 53 regarding propagating absolute local time to cameras in the network in order to correctly timestamp images- in combination with Cowherd, it is obvious that propagation would prove advantageous in assuring that the timestamps of video from multiple cameras are aligned, and in this process, the internal times of the cameras would be adjusted and then transmitted sequentially as the time is propagated with the start signal).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the time includes an internal time of the camera or a global time of a network (see Cuddeback paragraph 53 regarding propagating absolute local time to cameras in the network in order to correctly timestamp images- in combination with Cowherd, it is obvious that propagation would prove advantageous in assuring that the timestamps of video from multiple cameras are aligned, and in this process, the internal times of the cameras would be adjusted and then transmitted sequentially as the time is propagated with the start signal).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein at least one of the camera and the other cameras is mounted on a bow or a weapon (see Sakiewicz paragraph 25 regarding camera device and paragraph 61 regarding mounting device on a weapon including a bow).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate communication between cameras in a network (see Sakiewicz paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 8, Cowherd teaches A wireless camera network, comprising:
a second camera in wireless range of the first camera, wherein, after an input is received by the first camera, the first camera records images or video (see Cowherd paragraph 8 regarding a primary communication device connected to first camera that detects signal to start recording to memory, and then transmits the start signal to second cameras, and paragraph 27-28 regarding wireless network and devices in any type of network including a mesh network, which obviously includes a partial mesh network where a primary device is directly connected to a secondary device A, but not secondary device B, while secondary devices A and B are connected, indirectly connecting the primary device with secondary device B, for example.), and
However, Cowherd does not explicitly teach the hardware as needed for the limitations of claim 8.
Sakiewicz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a first camera (see Sakiewicz figure 1 and paragraph 49 regarding emergency device camera housing, paragraph 18 regarding emergency device camera with transceiver, paragraph 25 regarding emergency device with camera paragraph 29 regarding emergency device with processor and memory- all of these are obviously contained in the housing of the emergency device, and in combination with Cowherd, the camera and device may be integrated within the same housing);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Cowherd to include the teaching of Sakiewicz so that in combination with Cowherd, the camera and device may be integrated within the same housing with a transceiver.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate communication between cameras in a network (see Sakiewicz paragraph 18).
However, the combination of Cowherd and Sakiewicz does not explicitly teach the signaling flow as needed for the limitations of claim 8.
Cuddeback, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the first camera wirelessly transmits a start signal to the second camera to start recording images or video and to wirelessly transmit the start signal (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54 regarding heartbeat and synchronization message signal that is transmitted by all nodes to each other, and figure 1 illustrating network layout, where a type of synchronization signal is successively transmitted from node to node. In combination with Cowherd, which already considers a partial network with similar topology to Cuddeback, it would be obvious to also be able to transmit a start signal from node to node, where cameras transmit the start signal to cameras in range, where therefore the cameras would be second, third, etc. cameras that are positively selected from a plurality of cameras. The second start signal is interpreted as a separate case from a first start signal, where the second signal is the case where the subject camera receives a start signal from a first object camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Cowherd and Sakiewicz to include the teaching of Cuddeback so that in combination with Cowherd, which already considers a partial network with similar topology to Cuddeback, it would be obvious to also be able to transmit a start signal from node to node, where cameras transmit the start signal to cameras in range, where therefore the cameras would be second, third, etc. cameras that are positively selected from a plurality of cameras. The second start signal is interpreted as a separate case from a first start signal, where the second signal is the case where the subject camera receives a start signal from a first object camera.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the second camera wirelessly transmits the start signal to a third camera that is out of range of the first camera, but not out of range of the second camera, and wherein the third camera joins the wireless camera network (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54 regarding heartbeat and synchronization message signal that is transmitted by all nodes to each other, and figure 1 illustrating network layout, where a type of synchronization signal is successively transmitted from node to node. In combination with Cowherd, which already considers a partial network with similar topology to Cuddeback, it would be obvious to also be able to transmit a start signal from node to node, where cameras transmit the start signal to cameras in range, where therefore the cameras would be second, third, etc. cameras that are positively selected from a plurality of cameras. The second start signal is interpreted as a separate case from a first start signal, where the second signal is the case where the subject camera receives a start signal from a first object camera).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the start signal transmission is a periodic broadcast transmission (see Cuddeback paragraph 52 regarding periodic heartbeat message signal- in combination with Cowherd, which teaches an explicit start signal, the start signal can be periodically transmitted as a continual indication of recording status.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the first camera includes an input device that includes a button that is depressed to cause the first camera to record the images or video and to cause the first camera to wirelessly transmit the start signal (see Cowherd paragraph 50 regarding a start or stop signal sent by button on a device to transmit signal to other cameras- in combination with Sakiewicz, the input device that causes a start signal may be functionally performed by an input button on Sakiewicz).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the start signal includes a time used to synchronize the first camera and the second camera (see Cuddeback paragraph 53 regarding propagating absolute local time to cameras in the network in order to correctly timestamp images- in combination with Cowherd, it is obvious that propagation would prove advantageous in assuring that the timestamps of video from multiple cameras are aligned, and in this process, the internal times of the cameras would be adjusted and then transmitted sequentially as the time is propagated with the start signal).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 12, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the time includes an internal time of the first camera or a global time of a network (see Cuddeback paragraph 53 regarding propagating absolute local time to cameras in the network in order to correctly timestamp images- in combination with Cowherd, it is obvious that propagation would prove advantageous in assuring that the timestamps of video from multiple cameras are aligned, and in this process, the internal times of the cameras would be adjusted and then transmitted sequentially as the time is propagated with the start signal).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to reduce the need for cameras to extend their wireless range too far, conserving energy (see Cuddeback paragraphs 51-54).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Cowherd, Sakiewicz, and Cuddeback teaches wherein the first camera or the second camera is mounted on a bow or a weapon (see Sakiewicz paragraph 25 regarding camera device and paragraph 61 regarding mounting device on a weapon including a bow).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate communication between cameras in a network (see Sakiewicz paragraph 18).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483