DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 3 of Remarks, filed 1/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 10 under 102(a)(1) and 103 respectively have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eakins et al. (US 2012/0048206).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voogd et al. (US 2003/0084853) in view of Eakin et al. (US 2012/0048206).
Regarding claim 1, Voogd et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for dispensing feed material (14) to individual animals (24) of a herd, comprising: a feed hopper ((9) and/or (10)) with a body having a first opening for receiving the feed material into an inner space of the body and having a second opening in a lower portion of the body for discharging the feed material from the inner space of the body (Fig. 1); a lower support structure supporting the feed hopper (lower half of Fig. 1, support structure (1)); a feed tray (6) in the lower support structure (see Fig. 1); a feed dispensing mechanism operable to selectively dispense the feed material from the feed hopper into the feed tray via the second opening in the body (paragraph [0039] discusses the mechanism); a sensor assembly sensing data for a first transponder (paragraph [0044] discloses an identification means (7) which includes a transmitter ((38), i.e. transponder) disposed on a collar (39) of an animal (24) and a receiver (37)); and a controller ((8), (13), (19)) processing the data sensed by the sensor assembly to identify the first transponder (paragraphs [0069] and [0078]) and, in response to identification: command an access control mechanism to open (paragraphs [0069] and [0078], closing means ((65), (91)) movable across entrance opening (61)); retrieve a predefined mass of the feed material associated with the first transponder (paragraphs [0047]-[0048]); and operate the feed dispensing mechanism to dispense into the feed tray a volume of the feed material determined to provide the predefined mass (paragraphs [0041]-[0043] and [0082]).
Voogd et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller maintains the access control mechanism in a closed state in response to the sensor assembly sensing data for a second transponder for a predefined period of time after the first transponder is no longer sensed, wherein the access control mechanism is configured to be maintained in a closed state for the predefined period of time to reduce an amount of feed material consumed by an animal associated with the second transponder.
Eakin et al., like Voogd et al., teaches an apparatus for dispensing feed material to individual animals of a herd, and further teaches wherein the controller maintains the access control mechanism in a closed state in response to the sensor assembly sensing data for a second transponder for a predefined period of time after the first transponder is no longer sensed (paragraphs [0071]-[0072] disclose the gate is kept closed and periodically for a “known time” the transponder is checked, and when that time expires after the first transponder is no longer sensed then the gate is opened and space available to the animal with the second transponder), wherein the access control mechanism is configured to be maintained in a closed state for the predefined period of time to reduce an amount of feed material consumed by an animal associated with the second transponder (feed is distributed in timing to match the eating speed of the animal, therefore, when the first transponder associated with an animal is no longer read, the amount of feed material available is reduced for the animal associated with the second transponder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Voogd et al. to have the access control mechanism in a closed state for a predefined period of time after the first transponder is no longer sensed as taught by Eakin et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order increase the probability of more accurate analysis of the feed consumption of the animals, if there is less of an amount of feed consumed by the next animal in the space.
Regarding claim 3, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches (references to Voogd et al.) wherein the sensor assembly includes a weight sensing device for determining a weight of the feed tray and wherein the controller uses the weight of the feed tray to determine a remaining amount of the feed material and to reduce the volume of the feed material subsequently disposed based on the remaining amount (paragraph [0082] discloses the weight sensing device and use by the controller for reduction in subsequent feed material).
Regarding claim 4, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and teaches (references to Voogd et al.) wherein the controller maintains the access control mechanism in a closed state in response to the remaining amount of the feed material exceeds a predefined mass of the feed material assigned to a second transponder (paragraphs [0022], [0047], [0067], [0075], [0086]-[0087] disclose the controller maintaining a closed state when the remaining amount exceeds the predefined mass, animal deterred when not the right time, feed available).
Regarding claim 7, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches (references to Voogd et al.) wherein the access control mechanism comprises an electronic stimulation system (paragraph [0070] discloses the access control mechanism provides an electrical current which provides electronic stimulation).
Regarding claim 8, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 7, and teaches (references to Voogd et al.) wherein the electronic stimulation system provides a mechanism vibration signal (paragraph [0068] discloses a loudspeaker (55) which would produce sound (i.e. a mechanical vibration signal)) and wherein the electronic stimulation system provides an electrical current (paragraph [0070] discloses the access control mechanism provides an electrical current).
Claims 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voogd et al. (US 2003/0084853) in view of Eakin et al. (US 2012/0048206) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arnerdal (WO 2014/074057).
Regarding claim 5, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and teaches (references to Eakin et al.) wherein the access control mechanism comprises a gate (7). However, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the gate comprising an electronic lock.
Arnerdal, like Voogd et al., teaches an animal management system that includes feeding, wherein an access control mechanism comprises a gate, the gate comprising an electronic lock (p. 12 teaches a gate that may be provided with an electronic lock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Voogd et al. modified by Eakin et al. to modify the access control mechanism to be a gate with an electronic lock as taught by Arnerdal, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to maintain the closed position on the access control mechanism with more certainty by using a remotely controllable lock.
Regarding claim 6, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. and Arnerdal teaches the apparatus of claim 5, and teaches (references to Arnerdal) wherein the gate exerts a mechanical pressure towards a closed sate and wherein the mechanical pressure is capable of closing the gate (p. 12, gate is “urged to a closed position by means of a spring load or gravity force”).
Regarding claim 9, as modified by Eakin et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and teaches wherein the access control mechanism comprises: a gate (Eakin et al.: (7)); and an electronic stimulation system (Voogd et al.: paragraph [0070] discloses the access control mechanism provides an electrical current which provides electronic stimulation). However, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the gate comprising an electronic lock. However, Voogd et al. as modified by Eakin et al. does not explicitly teach the gate comprising an electronic lock.
Arnerdal, like Voogd et al., teaches an animal management system that includes feeding, wherein an access control mechanism comprises a gate, the gate comprising an electronic lock (p. 12 teaches a gate that may be provided with an electronic lock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Voogd et al. modified by Eakin et al. to modify the access control mechanism to be a gate with an electronic lock as taught by Arnerdal, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to maintain the closed position on the access control mechanism with more certainty by using a remotely controllable lock.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eakin et al. (US 2012/0048206) in view of Feilders (US 2242576).
Regarding claim 10, Eakin et al. discloses an apparatus (6) for dispensing feed material to individual animals of a herd (paragraph [0035] discloses the feeding of individual animals), comprising: a feed hopper (11) with a body having a first opening (Fig. 1) for receiving the feed material into an inner space of the body and having a second opening (with (12)) in a lower portion of the body for discharging the feed material from the inner space of the body (mechanism (12) dispensing feed from the hopper (11) to the feeder (10) for each animal); a lower support structure supporting the feed hopper (lower half of Figs. 1-3); a feed tray (10) in the lower support structure (see Fig. 2); an indentation coupled to an actuator (paragraph [0072], cup dispenser which is driven by a motor), the indentation comprising an interior volume configured to receive the feed material (paragraph [0072]); a controller configured to command the actuator (paragraphs [0010] and [0072], controller will operate a feed motor).
Eakin et al. does not explicitly disclose the actuator configured to linearly translate the indentation relative to the second opening and a third opening, the third opening disposed above the feed tray.
Feilders, like Eakins et al., teaches the distribution of feed, and further teaches a feed hopper (1) with a body having a first opening (top of (1)) for receiving the feed material into an inner space of the body and having a second opening (11) in a lower portion of the body for discharging the feed material from the inner space of the body (page 1, first column, lines 3-4); an indentation (3) coupled to an actuator (35), the indentation comprising an interior volume configured to receive the feed material (page 1, first column, line 44 – page 1, second column, line 9); the actuator configured to linearly translate the indentation relative to the second opening (11) and the third opening (Figs. 1-2, (from below (11) to above (22)), the third opening disposed above the feed tray (receptacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Eakin et al. to include an actuator configured to linearly translate the indentation as taught by Feilders, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a delay in access, for verification of amounts, identification, or other access means. Please note in the combination, the receptacle is the feed tray taught by Eakins et al.
Regarding claim 11, Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and teaches (references to Feilders) wherein the indentation includes one or more openings (33) for dispensing feed into the feed tray (receptacle).
Regarding claim 12, Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders teaches the apparatus of claim 11, and teaches (references to Feilders) wherein the lower support structure includes the third opening (22) providing the feed material a passageway from the indentation to the feed tray (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders teaches the apparatus of claim 11, and teaches (references to Feilders) wherein the indentation comprises a removable insert (page 1, column 2, lines 25-29, the size can be varied, which would indicate the removal and replacement of that portion that holds the feed material).
Regarding claim 14, Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and teaches wherein the controller (Eakins et al.: paragraphs [0010] and [0072], controller will operate a feed motor) is configured to command the actuator to linearly translate from the second position to the first position (Feilders: Fig. 2 to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders teaches the apparatus of claim 10. However, Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to command the actuator to linearly translate to a position only partially overlapping the second position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Eakins et al. as modified by Feilders to be configured to command the actuator to linearly translate to a position only partially overlapping the second position, with a reasonable expectation of success, as a way to control the flow of the feed to not be all at once.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Aoki et al. (JP H04252127), Huisma (US 2012/0089340) teach an apparatus with a controlled gated opening that allows for individual animals to enter for feed.
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643