DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 44-47 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 5 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/338503 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention are merely a broader form of the claims in the ‘503 application with minor obvious changes in claim language. A broader claim is never patentably distinct from a narrower claim that contains all the limitations of the broader claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 44, 46-48 and 52 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,274,520. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention are merely a broader form of the claims in the ‘520 document with minor obvious changes in claim language. A broader claim is never patentably distinct from a narrower claim that contains all the limitations of the broader claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 44-47 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lymberopoulos et al. (US 2012/0227983, hereafter Lymberopoulos).
With regards to claim 44, it discloses a system for regulating a wellhead control mechanism (valve 120), the system comprising:(a) an actuator system (para 30, element 200) that is configured to directly actuate the wellhead control mechanism;(b) a controller circuit (220) that is operatively connected to the actuator system and the controller circuit is configured for sending regulatory commands to the actuator system (para 32).
With regards to claim 45, it discloses a user interface (150) that is operatively communicatable with the controller circuit.
With regards to claim 46 and 47, it discloses a sensor that is configured for providing object-based or fluid-based information to the controller circuit and/or the user interface (para 32-35).
With regards to claim 52, it discloses the wellhead control mechanism is: a swab valve, a pump-down valve, a hydraulic master-valve, a side port valves, a zipper manifold valve, a flow-back valve, a pump-down valve, a choke or a blowout preventer (it is a safety valve, para 10, which is broadly read as a hydraulic master valve or BOP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lymberopoulos in view of Martino et al. (US 2011/0308619, hereafter Martino).
With regards to claim 48, Lymberopoulos shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to disclose the actuator system comprises an electronic actuator that is operatively coupled to the wellhead control mechanism for actuating the wellhead control mechanism under direction of the controller circuit. Martino discloses a valve element (38) that is controlled by a controller circuit (124) and is electronically actuated. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electronic actuation disclosed in Martino with the apparatus taught in Lymberopoulos with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done because electronic actuation is common downhole along with pneumatic and hydraulic actuation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 49-51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art all show similar features to those of the claimed invention.
/DANIEL P STEPHENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676