DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rusanovskyy et al. (US 20170332098 A1, hereinafter “Rusanovskyy”).
Regarding claim 1. Rusanovskyy discloses a method of video decoding (abstract), comprising:
receiving a coded video bitstream comprising coded information of a block (0071 and 0217; Figure 14);
extracting transform coefficients from the coded information (0165 and 0175; Figures 7A-7B and 8A-8B);
applying an inverse transform on the transform coefficients to generate scaled residual values (0175);
applying an inverse scaling operation on the scaled residual values based on one or more scaling values to generate restored residual values (Claims 11 and 13); and
reconstructing the block according to the restored residual values (0187 0190-0192 and 0212; Figures 10B, 11B and 12).
Regarding claim 2. Rusanovskyy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more scaling values include a constant value (0181-0190; Figure 9A-9B and 10A-10B; wherein the scaling parameter is the scaling value).
Regarding claim 3. Rusanovskyy discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
deriving a scaling value based on a function (0145);
deriving a scaling value based on a relative position of a sample in the block;
deriving a scaling value based on a context adaptive function with the scaled residual values being input to the context adaptive function;
deriving a scaling value based on a content characteristic of the block;
deriving a scaling value based on a motion vector of the block;
deriving a scaling value based on a texture of the block; and/or
deriving a scaling value using a neural network that is pretrained.
Regarding claim 7. Rusanovskyy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the applying the inverse scaling operation comprises:
determining a restored residual value corresponding to a scaled residual value according to a lookup table (LUT) (0212 and 0244; Figure 17; Claim 7).
Regarding claim 8. Rusanovskyy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the applying the inverse scaling operation comprises at least one of:
applying the inverse scaling operation when a block size and/or a block shape satisfies a requirement; and/or
applying the inverse scaling operation when the block is coded with a specific prediction mode (0225-0227 and 0233-0236; Figures 14-15).
Regarding claims 15-16 and 19. The encoding method claims 15-16 and 19 are drawn to the reverse method of the encoding method of using the corresponding decoding method claimed in claims 1-3 and 7. Therefore encoding method claims 15-16 and 19 correspond to decoding method claims 1-3 and 7 and are rejected for same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 20. Claim 20 recites similar features as the limitation of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasoning of anticipation as used to reject claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9-14 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ASMAMAW G TARKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482