DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 2 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,638,137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 4, 9 – 11, and 16 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al (US 2016/0337662, hereafter Pang) in view of Lim et al (US 2019/0297325, hereafter Lim).
As per claim 2, Pang discloses a method for video decoding, comprising:
decoding prediction information of a current block from a coded video bitstream, the prediction information indicating an intra block copy mode (¶ 143; video decoder 30 may be configured to receive a bitstream that includes a syntax element indicative of whether or not a picture referring to a PPS may be present in a reference picture list of the picture itself, e.g., for the purpose of coding one or more blocks of the current picture using intra BC mode.);
selecting a resolution of a block vector difference for the current block from a set of candidate resolutions (¶ 145; Pang discloses that terms such as motion vector and block vector may be used interchangeably), the selecting including:
determining whether a first resolution included in the set of candidate resolutions is used based on a first flag, and selecting one of the remaining two resolutions included in the set based on a second flag when the first flag indicates that the first resolution is not used (¶ 166; In some examples, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may code both Intra BC MVD and Inter MVD with integer-pixel resolution when AMVR is enabled (use_integer_mv_flag=1) and may code both Intra BC MVD and Inter MVD in fractional-pixel (e.g., quarter-pixel) when AMVR is not enabled (use_integer_mv_flag=0); The examiner argues that here Pang discloses at least two candidate resolutions that vary dependent on the “use_integer_mv_flag”. This flag indicates whether an integer-pixel resolution or a fractional-pixel resolution is selected);
determining a block vector of the current block based on the selected resolution of the block vector difference and a block vector predictor of the current block (¶ 167); and
reconstructing at least one sample of the current block based on the block vector (¶ 166).
However, Pang does not explicitly teach the set of candidate resolutions including at least two fractional pixel resolutions and an integer pixel resolution.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches the set of candidate resolutions including at least two fractional pixel resolutions and an integer pixel resolution (¶ 439).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Pang in view of Lim. The advantage is improving encoding/decoding efficiency.
As per claim 3, Pang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the first flag or the second flag is a 1-bin flag (¶ 163; “use_integer_mv_flag”).
As per claim 4, Pang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the selecting the resolution of the block vector difference comprises:
selecting a first component resolution for a first component of the block vector difference; and selecting a second component resolution for a second component of the block vector difference (¶ 148).
As per claim 5, Pang discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the selecting the first component resolution for the first component includes selecting the first component resolution for the first component of the block vector difference based on the first flag; and the selecting the second component resolution for the second component includes selecting the second component resolution for the second component of the block vector difference based on a third flag (¶ 148 and 167).
As per claim 6, Pang discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the selecting the second component resolution for the second component comprises: selecting the second component resolution for the second component of the block vector difference based on the block vector predictor (¶ 148).
As per claim 7, Pang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the selecting the second component resolution for the second component of the block vector difference based on the second component of the block vector predictor comprises: selecting the second component resolution based on whether the second component resolution is less than or equal to a threshold (¶ 240 - 270).
As per claim 8, Pang discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising: when the block vector predictor uses a resolution different from the selected resolution, adding the block vector difference to the block vector predictor without rounding the block vector predictor to calculate the block vector (¶ 240 - 270).
As per claim 9, Pang discloses The method according to claim 2, further comprising:
when the block vector predictor has a resolution different from the selected resolution, rounding the block vector predictor of the current block to the selected resolution; and adding a block vector difference to the rounded block vector predictor to calculate the block vector (¶ 164).
As per claim 10, Pang discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising: modifying at least one of the block vector difference or the block vector predictor to constrain the block vector in a valid region (¶ 240 - 270).
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 8 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 9 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 10 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 21.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487