DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2025, 4/25/2025 and 4/15/2026 were filed on or after the mailing date of the application. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract speaks to the merits of the invention i.e. ‘thereby effectively avoiding failure.’. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-26 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 16, the recitation of “…a processor; and a memory comprising control logic that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: determine one or more parameters associated with operation of a first compressor of the refrigeration system and a second compressor of the refrigeration system, wherein the first compressor and the second compressor are configured to be driven coaxially; determine whether respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced based on the one or more parameters; and in response to a determination that the respective loads are unbalanced, adjust operation of the first compressor to adjust a first flow rate of a first flow of refrigerant through the first compressor, adjust operation of the second compressor to adjust a second flow rate of a second flow of refrigerant through the second compressor, or both,” renders the claim unclear.
For example, the claim purports to have a processor and memory that is configured to perform the functional steps of “determining” and “adjusting.” However, pursuant to MPEP 2173.05(g), the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite.
For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result. Therefore, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim.
In this instance, the claim does not recite the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function of “determining” one or more parameters i.e. the claim is void of sensors or detectors that aid in the ‘determining’ step. The claim does not recite the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function of “adjusting” operations of the compressors to adjust respective flow rates.
Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 32, the recitation of “…a control device configured to: monitor a first flow rate associated with the first compressor and a second flow rate associated with the second compressor; determine a flow rate deviation based on a difference between the first flow rate and the second flow rate; determine that the flow rate deviation is greater than a threshold value; and generate a control signal to shut down the driving device, the first compressor, the second compressor, or a combination thereof,” renders the claim unclear.
For example, the claim purports to have a processor and memory that is configured to perform the functional steps of “monitoring.” However, pursuant to MPEP 2173.05(g), the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite.
For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result. Therefore, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim.
In this instance, the claim does not recite the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function of “monitoring” one or more flow rates i.e. the claim is void of sensors or detectors that aid in the ‘monitoring’ step.
Thus, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snell et al. (US2016/0265815).
Regarding Claim 16, Snell teaches a control device [90] for a refrigeration system [0037; fig 7], comprising:
a processor [96; 0051]; and a memory [0051] comprising control logic that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to:
determine one or more parameters associated with operation of a first compressor of the refrigeration system and a second compressor of the refrigeration system, wherein the first compressor and the second compressor are configured to be driven coaxially [0051; 0053; 0054; 0038];
determine whether respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced based on the one or more parameters [0057; 0096; where detection of a surge event indicates imbalance in the compressors];
and
in response to a determination that the respective loads are unbalanced, adjust operation of the first compressor to adjust a first flow rate of a first flow of refrigerant through the first compressor, adjust operation of the second compressor to adjust a second flow rate of a second flow of refrigerant through the second compressor, or both [0097; 0109; 0111; claim 2; figs 7 & 22; where is response to an imbalance, the flow rate of the compressor via PRV vanes are adjusted].
Regarding Claim 27, Snell teaches a control device [90] for a refrigeration system [0037; fig 7], comprising:
a processor [96; 0051] and a memory [92; 0051] comprising control logic that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to:
receive sensor data from one or more sensors of the refrigeration system, wherein the sensor data is indicative of one or more parameters associated with operation of a first compressor and a second compressor of the refrigeration system [See 0051; 0053; 0054];
control a driving device [14] to drive the first compressor and the second compressor coaxially [0038];
determine whether respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced based on the one or more parameters [0057; 0096; where detection of a surge event indicates imbalance in the compressors]; and
in response to a determination that the respective loads are unbalanced, transmit a control signal to one or more pre-rotation vanes of the refrigeration system to adjust a respective flow rate through the first compressor, a respective flow rate through the second compressor, or both [0097; 0109; 0111; claim 2; figs 7 & 22; where is response to an imbalance, the flow rate of the compressor via PRV vanes are adjusted].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20, 23, 24, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 27 and 32 are allowable over recited prior art references.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-19, 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,469, hereinafter the 469 Patent in view of Snell et al. (US2016/0265815).
Regarding Claim 16 the 469 Patent teaches determining one or more parameters associated with operation of a first compressor of the refrigeration system and a second compressor of the refrigeration system, wherein the first compressor and the second compressor are configured to be driven coaxially [469 Patent at claim 1];
determining whether respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced based on the one or more parameters [469 Patent at claim 1]; and
in response to a determination that the respective loads are unbalanced, adjust operation of the first compressor to adjust a first flow rate of a first flow of refrigerant through the first compressor, adjust operation of the second compressor to adjust a second flow rate of a second flow of refrigerant through the second compressor, or both [469 Patent at claim 1] in view of Snell
where Snell teaches a control device [90] for a refrigeration system [0037; fig 7], comprising: a processor [96; 0051]; and a memory [0051] comprising control logic that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to determine one or more parameters [0051; 0053; 0054; 0038].
Regarding Claim 17, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise the first flow rate of the first flow of refrigerant through the first compressor and the second flow rate of the second flow of refrigerant through the second compressor, and the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: calculate a flow rate deviation value between an initial value of the first flow rate and an initial value of the second flow rate; compare the flow rate deviation value to a preset value; and in response to the flow rate deviation value being equal to or greater than the preset value, determine that the first compressor and the second compressor are in an unbalanced state [469 Patent at claim 4].
Regarding Claim 18, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: in response to the determination that the first compressor and the second compressor are in the unbalanced state: determine updated values of the first flow rate and updated values of the second flow rate for a preset time period; and calculate, based on the updated values of the first flow rate and the updated values of the second flow rate, updated values of the flow rate deviation value between the first flow rate and the second flow rate for the preset time period [469 Patent at claim 17]
Regarding Claim 19, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: in response to a determination that the updated values of the flow rate deviation value are equal to or greater than the preset value for the preset time period: compare a value of the first flow rate and a value of the second flow rate; in response to a determination that the value of the first flow rate is less than the value of the second flow rate, increase a first opening degree of first pre-rotation guide vanes of the first compressor; and in response to a determination that the value of the first flow rate is greater than the value of the second flow rate, increase a second opening degree of second pre-rotation guide vanes of the second compressor [469 Patent at claims 6 & 7].
Regarding Claim 23, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: in response to the determination that the first compressor and the second compressor are in the unbalanced state: determine a shutdown time period, wherein a duration of the shutdown time period corresponds to flow rate deviation value; and upon lapse of the duration of the shutdown time period, initiate a shutdown operation of the first compressor and the second compressor [469 Patent at claim 8]
Regarding Claim 24, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein: the one or more parameters comprise a temperature TA of the first flow of refrigerant and a temperature TB of the second flow of refrigerant; and the control device is configured to determine whether the respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced by determining whether at least one of the temperature TA or the temperature TB exceeds a threshold temperature [469 Patent at claim 11].
Regarding Claim 25, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein: the one or more parameters comprise a degree of superheat ΔTA of the first flow of refrigerant upstream of the first compressor and a degree of superheat ΔTs of the second flow of refrigerant upstream of the second compressor; and the control device is configured to determine whether the respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced by determining whether at least one of the degree of superheat ΔTA or the degree of superheat ΔTs exceeds a threshold value [469 Patent at claim 12].
Regarding Claim 26, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise a degree of superheat ΔTc of the first flow of refrigerant downstream of the first compressor and a degree of superheat ΔTD of the second flow of refrigerant downstream of the second compressor; and the control device is configured to determine whether the respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced by determining whether at least one of the degree of superheat ΔTc or the degree of superheat ΔTD exceeds a threshold value [469 Patent at claim 12].
Regarding Claim 27, the 469 Patent teaches receiving sensor data from one or more sensors of the refrigeration system, wherein the sensor data is indicative of one or more parameters associated with operation of a first compressor and a second compressor of the refrigeration system; control a driving device to drive the first compressor and the second compressor coaxially; determine whether respective loads of the first compressor and the second compressor are balanced based on the one or more parameters; and in response to a determination that the respective loads are unbalanced, transmit a control signal to one or more pre-rotation vanes of the refrigeration system to adjust a respective flow rate through the first compressor, a respective flow rate through the second compressor, or both [469 Patent at claim 1] in view of Snell
where Snell teaches a control device [90] for a refrigeration system [0037; fig 7], comprising: a processor [96; 0051]; and a memory [0051] comprising control logic that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to determine one or more parameters [0051; 0053; 0054; 0038].
Regarding Claim 28, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: in response to a determination that the respective loads remain unbalanced after the control signal is transmitted, transmit an additional control signal to the driving device to stop the first compressor and the second compressor [469 Patent at claim 1].
Regarding Claim 29, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise a first flow rate associated with the first compressor and a second flow rate associated with the second compressor, and wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: determine whether a difference between the first flow rate and the second flow rate exceeds a threshold flow rate difference to determine whether the respective loads are balanced [469 Patent at claim 4].
Regarding Claim 30, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise a first temperature associated with the first compressor and a second temperature associated with the second compressor, and wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: determine whether at least one of the first temperature or the second temperature exceeds a threshold temperature to determine whether the respective loads are balanced. [469 Patent at claim 11]
Regarding Claim 31, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise a first degree of superheat associated with the first compressor and a second degree of superheat associated with the second compressor, and wherein the control logic, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: determine whether at least one of the first degree of superheat or the second degree of superheat exceeds a threshold superheat difference to determine whether the respective loads are balanced [469 Patent at claim 12].
Regarding Claim 32 the 469 Patent teaches monitoring a first flow rate associated with the first compressor and a second flow rate associated with the second compressor determining a flow rate deviation based on a difference between the first flow rate and the second flow rate [469 Patent at claim 4]; determining that the flow rate deviation is greater than a threshold value; and generate a control signal to shut down the driving device, the first compressor, the second compressor, or a combination thereof [469 Patent at claim 4].
In view of Snell where Snell teaches a system, comprising: a first compressor [12]; a second compressor [12]; a driving device [14] configured to drive the first compressor and the second compressor coaxially; and a control device [90; See 0038; 0051; 0053; 0054; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 33, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches wherein the control device is configured to: determine a shutdown time based on the flow rate deviation; and generate the control signal upon lapse of the shutdown time [469 Patent at claim 8].
Regarding Claim 34, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches first pre-rotation guide vanes configured to adjust the first flow rate; and second pre-rotation guide vanes configured to adjust the second flow rate, wherein the control device is configured to control the first pre-rotation guide vanes and the second pre- rotation guide vanes based on the flow rate deviation [469 Patent at claim 11].
Regarding Claim 35, the 469 Patent in view of Snell teaches a first flow rate sensor disposed downstream of the first compressor and configured to measure the first flow rate; and a second flow rate sensor disposed downstream of the second compressor and configured to measure the second flow rate [469 Patent at claim 4].
Claims not specifically addressed are rejected based upon dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arnou (US2017/0009775) cited to teach a chiller system.
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763